View Full Version : Limerick 37
17/01/2007, 11:41 AM
I actually liked the idea of the club changing it's name to Gaillimh Aointaithe (that's Irish for Galway United) but they settled for including the word Gaillimh in the new crest and retaining the name. :)
As pro-Gaeilge as I am, that's a daft idea really !
Firstly - you might have received a warmer reception had you spelt it properly. There's only one 'i' in Aonthaithe... :o :D
Secondly - as much as I hate to say it, you'd actually alienate people with a name like that formally in Irish, and you wouldn't really gain any fans for doing it (Gaelgors tend to be much more GAA than football). Can you imagine anyone really going around and saying in English "yeah - I support Aointaithe Gaillimhe FC' !?! Even less likely - can you imagone anyone chanting it ?? It's just be the usual token gesture - name as Gaeilge, everyone referring to them still as Galway United. Even the GAA don't push the county names in Irish as much as they could - just the usual token measures, such as scoreboards and programme cover.
Though in fairness - Galway are the most pro-Irish of our clubs (not that the competition is particularly stiff though...!).
17/01/2007, 11:58 AM
Yes we will.
its we now? christ the rats jump ship pretty quickly
Even less likely - can you imagone anyone chanting it ??
we always sing "cathar chorcaí" when on Tg4 :)
17/01/2007, 12:10 PM
we always sing "cathar chorcaí" when on Tg4 :)
More tokenism...... :D
And more unforgivable school-boy spelling errors. It's 'Cathair Corcaigh' or 'Chorcai'.... :o
The irony of it all......
17/01/2007, 12:23 PM
More tokenism...... :D
And more unforgivable school-boy spelling errors. It's 'Cathair Corcaigh' or 'Chorcai'.... :o
The irony of it all......
actually i should have said "i sing cathar chorcai", as i just make the noises with the crowd, i have no intrest in knowing a backwards dead language for the sake of perpetuating some sort of patriotic myth.
17/01/2007, 12:38 PM
actually i should have said "i sing cathar chorcai", as i just make the noises with the crowd,
Well that'll teach you not to talk big about the Gaelic credentials of Cork fans then..... :p
i have no intrest in knowing a backwards dead language for the sake of perpetuating some sort of patriotic myth.
Thank God for that ! I suspect the language is all the better without the tokenistic faux-patronage of narrow-minded bafoons...
As for your wharped notion of "perpetuating some sort of patricotic myth" - how's about learning it for it's own intrinsic cultural and historical value, and for the key it gives to the way the Irish describe, view and encapture the world around them - even to this day ? A discussion for another thread, I suspect. Meanwhile - you may want to point out to the EU that the Irish language is dead... :rolleyes:
17/01/2007, 12:51 PM
Meanwhile - you may want to point out to the EU that the Irish language is dead... :rolleyes:
i wish we were allowed to do it democratically, im sure people wouldnt be pleased €3,000,000 a year goes to translation every EU document for the sake of a couple of thousand people availing of housing grants.
17/01/2007, 1:01 PM
its we now? christ the rats jump ship pretty quickly
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Sigh.
Another one of the gigantic Rebel Army talking about something he hasn't a clue about
17/01/2007, 1:04 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Sigh.
Another one of the gigantic Rebel Army talking about something he hasn't a clue about
well in fairness the club that he has in his avatar and username is still in existance and he's going about calling some featureless, storyless, charmless consortium "we"
17/01/2007, 1:09 PM
well in fairness the club that he has in his avatar and username is still in existance and he's going about calling some featureless, storyless, charmless consortium "we"
Tis a good thing for your lot that all the rats jumped off the sinking Cork Alberts/United and Cork Hibs ships.
I'll grant you though it took ye a few years to get the act together down there :rolleyes:
17/01/2007, 1:17 PM
Tis a good thing for your lot that all the rats jumped off the sinking Cork Alberts/United and Cork Hibs ships.
they're still about are they? :confused: even if city were stuck in the **** ploughing along in div1 and someone set up another club here, i wouldnt instantly be calling them "us".
17/01/2007, 1:22 PM
they're still about are they? :confused: even if city were stuck in the **** ploughing along in div1 and someone set up another club here, i wouldnt instantly be calling them "us".
Jaysus pedantic, twas a slip of the tongue man
Limerick F.C will never be allowed play in the first division with Danny Drew at the helm and no one else wants the gig.........FACT as people around here are so fond of saying
What would you have football fans in Limerick do??
Do you suggest we take a break from league football ala Cork for a couple of years just to make sure Limerick F.C are well and truly killed off??
LFC in Exile
17/01/2007, 1:24 PM
No, you'd wait a couple of weeks before switching to the shiny premier team. :)
Get a life Gavin, its a figure of speech. And by the way, Limerick FC don't exist anymore. Unless there is such a thing as a football club that isn't part of any league. As for the avatar - jaysus wept.....
17/01/2007, 1:28 PM
the truth of the matter is that Limerick FC are still Limerick's football club and if people got their acts together they wouldnt need to jump from club to club
17/01/2007, 1:30 PM
the truth of the matter is that Limerick FC are still Limerick's football club
How so??
Where do they play??
What league are they in??
Whats the squad like this season??
17/01/2007, 1:34 PM
How so??
Where do they play??
Dont be so quick to dance on their grave.
I think Gavin Zac has a point, as I for one, while I will support the new team as they will (presumably) be the Limerick representative, I do feel that the old team are "our" team, in a way Limerick 37 are not.
17/01/2007, 1:36 PM
How so??
Where do they play??
they are homeless, like a few eircom league teams.
the currently have not been awarded an eircom league license; but apparantly there is support in the city from the people and business to get one*, if things were done right that license would go to LFC rather than some piece of paper team.
i have no idea what the squad is like but i bet its as good as the premier division champion's.
"til i die"
*this is the main difference between the deaths of Hibs/Celtic in cork and limerick here - the reason for the lay off with no club is that there wasnt people or business willing to support a club in cork at the time.
GuisaSaigon
17/01/2007, 1:36 PM
As pro-Gaeilge as I am, that's a daft idea really !
you might have received a warmer reception had you spelt it properly. There's only one 'i' in Aonthaithe... :o :D
If were going to turn this thread into spelling class....theres only one h in aontaithe :o
I didnt like the idea of changing name at the time and i still dont like it but I dont think it was daft. Terryland park is the only LOI ground in the Gaeltacht. Most junior clubs in the Connemara Gaeltacht have Irish names (Mac Dara, Na Forbacha etc.)
Galway United have a large following from the Gaeltacht and its not unusual to hear the referee being referred to as an amadán or worse. Galway United have always tried to promote the use of Irish. This should be applauded not sneered at and referred to as tokenism.
17/01/2007, 1:38 PM
Dont be so quick to dance on their grave.
I think Gavin Zac has a point, as I for one, while I will support the new team as they will (presumably) be the Limerick representative, I do feel that the old team are "our" team, in a way Limerick 37 are not.
Indeed
I said it to one of the lads just this morning if Limerick F.C. were by some miracle to make it into the league, it's them I'd follow not the new crowd
But..........
Anyone got any answers for my questions above??
Thought not.
Also the plan was (and AFAIK still is) to amalgamate Limerick F.C. into the new group but imho the problem is the FAI won't allow a club in the league where Danny Drew has a seat on the board
17/01/2007, 1:40 PM
but apparantly there is support in the city from the people and business to get one*,
*this is the main difference between the deaths of Hibs/Celtic in cork and limerick here - the reason for the lay off with no club is that there wasnt people or business willing to support a club in cork at the time.
Don't know what you are talking about and you've just proved it there mate
17/01/2007, 1:42 PM
Don't know what you are talking about and you've just proved it there mate
which part? :rolleyes:
17/01/2007, 1:48 PM
which part? :rolleyes:
but apparantly there is support in the city from the people and business to get one
That part ;)
17/01/2007, 1:56 PM
That part ;)
well Limerick 37 seem to be doing an alright job of it
17/01/2007, 2:16 PM
well Limerick 37 seem to be doing an alright job of it
Because they are not Limerick FC, with D. Drew at the helm. There may be support in the city for a club, which Limerick 37 have tapped into, but there isn't much support for Limerick FC.
17/01/2007, 2:31 PM
If were going to turn this thread into spelling class....theres only one h in aontaithe :o
I didnt like the idea of changing name at the time and i still dont like it but I dont think it was daft. Terryland park is the only LOI ground in the Gaeltacht. Most junior clubs in the Connemara Gaeltacht have Irish names (Mac Dara, Na Forbacha etc.)
Galway United have a large following from the Gaeltacht and its not unusual to hear the referee being referred to as an amadán or worse. Galway United have always tried to promote the use of Irish. This should be applauded not sneered at and referred to as tokenism.
Apologies for the extra 'h' in Aontaithe...! :o
I'm sorry - but giving GUFC a name in Irish, when everyone would still refer to them as Galway United FC, would be tokenism. No better that the 'cupla focal' tokenism that governments, the GAA and the nation as a whole have repeatedly served-up to ease their conscience. Pointing that out is being realistic, not sneering.
I'd love to see a team 'as Gaeilge' in the league. But if the fans etc were just going to ignore it, what would be the point ? The Irish language has suffered with those sort of sops for far too long, and they do nothing to genuinely benefit the language's position within the country.
17/01/2007, 2:33 PM
Because they are not Limerick FC, with D. Drew at the helm. There may be support in the city for a club, which Limerick 37 have tapped into, but there isn't much support for Limerick FC.
so why isnt there a concerted effort to remove him? or to at least create some sort of compromise?
LFC in Exile
17/01/2007, 2:44 PM
so why isnt there a concerted effort to remove him? or to at least create some sort of compromise?
Because he owns the company that owns the club. Easier to start afresh.
17/01/2007, 3:04 PM
you are right, but it is pretty obvious from his actions over the season that he is not one to compromise. When you are somebody like Malcolm X, that is a good thing, but for Danny Drew, not so much......
17/01/2007, 6:19 PM
Because he owns the company that owns the club. Easier to start afresh.
I would question loyalty when at the time of most trouble, people take the path of least resistance.
Sure, maybe he's impossible to work with. Buy him out - how much good can he get from owning a club without a league. The FAI are in the position of power here, and therefore so are people wanting to take control of the club. I really hope thats all that Limerick 37 ever amount to - the threat of viability that forced your owner to face reality.
LFC in Exile
18/01/2007, 9:27 AM
Sure, maybe he's impossible to work with. Buy him out - how much good can he get from owning a club without a league. The FAI are in the position of power here, and therefore so are people wanting to take control of the club.
Thats effectively whats happening.
Gavin, your really starting to get on people's wicks now - particularly calling into question the loyalty of fans of a club that has been struggling for well over a decade and has retained a very loyal, hard core support. It is easy to be so black and white from your vantage point at the Cross. Of course loyalty is not an issue with Cork supporters - amazing how success creates so much instant loyalty. :ball:
fitzknows
18/01/2007, 9:58 AM
Limerick FC - Football entity owned by one man who has managed to alienate the support base, junior football, the national football federation and the freeholder of a potential football ground. He has no licence to enter his football team into the league, has little prospect of getting one and instead of appointing a coach with UEFA badges to manage the side he has decided to do himself.
Limerick 37 - Football entity made up of various stakeholders of Limerick football. Junior Football, schoolboy football, ladies football etc. They have a ground, are actively seeking a recognised manager, have promised to put a representive of the supporters club on the board, are seeking a licence in order to enter the league and have good prospects of getting one.
I know where my loyalties lie. If that makes me a jumping rat then I am one with a smile on my face. FFS there are millions of Irish people who support clubs in a foreign country and don't give a damn about Irish domestic football. Anyone questioning people's loyalty with regard to keeping a side involved in the League of Ireland from their city or region has some complex issues going on in their head.
LFC in Exile
18/01/2007, 10:29 AM
Anyone questioning people's loyalty with regard to keeping a side involved in the League of Ireland from their city or region has some complex issues going on in their head.
Or more likely none. :)
18/01/2007, 10:49 AM
Any word on the manager?
18/01/2007, 11:14 AM
alright, maybe "rats jumping ship" was a bit strong but it is that very same loyalty for the last ten years, as someone pointed out, that was the reason for my shock - in all honesty I didnt think people's allegiances would change so fast. while i like the idea of the football community in limerick backing a club can the same not be done for the existing club that people have sweated for through bad times?
as for loyalty because of sucess at the cross, while i'd obviously object to the implied accusation of bandwagon jumping (its not too long ago we were playing in front of 2 men and a dog too, with myself the fourteen year old in a yellow bib stopping people jumping the wall), i'd also argue that its wrong also; just look at the bitterness and bickering on the corkcityfc.ie forum from people who either did jump a bandwagon or let a little success get to their heads - i wouldnt call that loyalty either.
18/01/2007, 11:16 AM
Any word on the manager?
Tommy Lynch...............Possibly :confused:
bigmac
18/01/2007, 1:17 PM
can the same not be done for the existing club that people have sweated for through bad times?
Simple answer is no. Unless all parties involved in Limerick football have a stake in the club, then there won't be any viable future for the senior game in the city. While not knowing everything about the situation, the impression I have got is that other stakeholders were not welcome into the previous Limerick setup.
Franchise football has been derided on this message board many times, and each time the argument is (correctly) put forward that many teams have no relationship with the grassroots of the game in their local area. Limerick37 is a way forward that has been consistently advocated by everyone interested in the EL - a proper pyramid structure with the EL team at the pinnacle. If I were in the position of Limerick football fans I wouldn't have to think twice about which club I'd throw my weight behind.
Rather than think of it as jumping ship, I'd be more inclined to say that most football fans in Limerick lent their support to their local team in the absence of a team that really represented them. It would be sort of like Wexford people supporting Waterford United, or Kilkenny City until the emergence of a Wexford club.
LFC in Exile
19/01/2007, 10:35 AM
while i like the idea of the football community in limerick backing a club can the same not be done for the existing club that people have sweated for through bad times?
Jaysus Gavin - that's a great idea - we never thought of that one. :rolleyes: Sorry for the sarcasm but this is the best way forward - if it comes off. DD has shown in his actions last week that he is not interested in the support or supporting a community effort. If he was why not support Limerick 37.:ball:
Danny Drew cares not for Limerick FC/37 fans, he just cares about getting himself as much attention as possible. Gavin if you had been watching Limerick FC closely, for the last two years anyway, under the 'guidance' of Danny than you wouldn't be making any of your 'rats jumping ship' arguments here
LFC in Exile
19/01/2007, 3:07 PM
Danny Drew cares not for Limerick FC/37 fans, he just cares about getting himself as much attention as possible. Gavin if you had been watching Limerick FC closely, for the last two years anyway, under the 'guidance' of Danny than you wouldn't be making any of your 'rats jumping ship' arguments here
Although in fairness jebus is a lousy stinking turnout Judas ******* ship-jumping rat. Its the rest of are sound. :)