View Full Version : Favourite Away Fixture?
Of all Premier division teams, which ground/team is your favourite away fixture...
Please don't fcuk it up by voting for your own side??
As a Longford Town fan, I suppose most would say St. Pat's away is the poodles privates...
BTW Cork Fans may opt to select their Home games as their favourite seeing as many a road trip has been sour...:D
I probably could select the cross as is the furthest i have to travel for games.
However i'm a lazy b****** so i'll go for Bohs as can walk there :D
Have to agree Pats - Normally a large travelling support, Top pub in McDowells and Pats fans are probably the friendliest of all the jackeens.....
Surprised you don't just cycle down to Richer pete.... ;)
Only managed to get down to cork the once, but that was a top weekend as well - pity I can't afford it more often.....
As a City fan it has to be Longford. Very accomodating women and relaxed people. Nice stadium as well.
26/11/2002, 12:12 PM
well i was looking for galway - hmm i miss those guarenteed away wins every season
but i suppose longford is best of whats left
i hate pats and bray and ucd
go not much else competition wise for longford
drogs and derry - just 2 fuppin far away to enjoy,
Got to be Longford alright. Pats probably the best out the rest, seeing as Galway and Harps aren´t there. I´d like to make Derry sometime too
26/11/2002, 3:57 PM
Cork. Although the two trps to Derry were fun, the bus journey is too long (especially after drinking 6 cans with an hour to go:eek: )
Shed End John
26/11/2002, 4:30 PM
I would have to say $hel$ is my favourite away game as I've seen City beat them more often than any other Dublin club, some notable cases being:
1. 22/05/93, City win a cracker 3-2 to bring the title home to Leeside,
2. 26/05/98, City win their first FAI Cup, 1-0, thanks to a Derek Coughlan header; and last but certainly not least,
3. May 2001, City win another hugely entertaining game to deny $hel$ the title on the very last day and grab a European spot.
Murphy Out Now!!!
UCD_4_Life
26/11/2002, 5:11 PM
I voted Drogheda (the only one it looks) because it's about a two minute walk from my house.
Other than that, I like Dundalk. Again it's a short trip but the ground isn't too bad either.
In all honesty though Belfield Park is my favourite ground in the division and the fans (I think) are the nicest. Let me put it like this, if you go to Belfield Park as an away fan then you almost certainly won't get stabbed.
That'd make a great ad.
Originally posted by Shed End John
I would have to say $hel$ is my favourite away game as I've seen City beat them more often than any other Dublin club, some notable cases being:
1. 22/05/93, City win a cracker 3-2 to bring the title home to Leeside,
2. 26/05/98, City win their first FAI Cup, 1-0, thanks to a Derek Coughlan header; and last but certainly not least,
3. May 2001, City win another hugely entertaining game to deny $hel$ the title on the very last day and grab a European spot.
Murphy Out Now!!!
The playoff in 93 was played at ther RDS & the Cup Final was in Dalymount...While we played Shels we didn't play at shels/tolka...
I would say Cork so far especially since me and Gary only got the mobiles back on Monday from the last trip to cork :)
Already looking forward to the next one although I think I will make sure to be on the last train not stuck in Sin é till 2 on the sunday night and then trying to find a house in Bishopstown where a friend of mine lives.
Pats is the best Dublin game, Mc Dowells pre an post match pints, you can't beat it
Originally posted by pete
The playoff in 93 was played at ther RDS & the Cup Final was in Dalymount...While we played Shels we didn't play at shels/tolka...
nice one pete
i didnt want to go calling shed end john a liar or anything,but since you've mentioned it :D
Who the fcuk voted for UCbleedinD?
fosterdollar
27/11/2002, 2:34 PM
Originally posted by Xlex
i'd say their fan probably did. Gotta give it to him - he's got dedication.:D
Originally posted by Magoo
i'd say their fan probably did. Gotta give it to him - he's got dedication.:D
He's one of a kind alright...
Is see the Carlisle Grounds polling as wellas be expected.
27/11/2002, 5:19 PM
Originally posted by Xlex
:D Nice to see that someone appreciates us.
Wasn't me BTW.
TommyT
27/11/2002, 9:52 PM
Dalymount is my favourite away fixture as a Rovers fan. My favourite away trip though is Sligo if their doing well(small atmospheric ground) or Cork when they played on a Sunday. (Drunken atmospheric train)
Originally posted by GWA
As a City fan it has to be Longford. Very accomodating women and relaxed people. Nice stadium as well.
As the man said.
I've really started to hate Inchicore this season, something to do with the numbers 4 and 1.;)
fonzi
28/11/2002, 12:19 PM
dalyier is not a bad old gaff tolka too but any time ive been there the crowds dont match up to the nice stadiums.
st.colemans is a gas especially for City fans!
longford is brill too.
finn park is a good laugh too.
the MISTER MEN make that place look great.
even if it is just an over sized barn!1!!
Badweather Fan
28/11/2002, 1:47 PM
Ah yeah set up a poll to mock the oul' Cork eejits, is it? We'll win away . . . . . . . . . . some day . . . . . . . . .in a dark far away place on a blustery Cobh night in one years time.
How come everyone votin for bohs? IS it just cos you go up there, see the "great" crowd the "big"club gets and laugh? :)
Shed End John
28/11/2002, 2:59 PM
Originally posted by pete
True enough. But, in 92/93 Tolka was deemed to have insufficient capacity for the game, which with 13,000 at the game was proved right. Shels agreed the use of the RDS for the game. Besides, they were still the home team. This can be proved by a quick look at tye front cover of the match programme for that day, which was a $helbourne FC official matchday magazine. I can even show it to you.
The Cup Final in 98 was still a Dublin club in Dublin thing so I'm sure you understand.
Murphy Out Now!!!
JC_GUFC
29/11/2002, 4:58 PM
Originally posted by James
well i was looking for galway - hmm i miss those guarenteed away wins every season
Here are a few words for you...
1) Feck off
2) Gunther Must Stay!
Also I hate going to Turner's Cross (I'll give you 1 guess why!) my favourite away trip is probably Derry, who haven't got a vote yet, still have to experience Queenstown on the last day of this season! ;)
CU
JC
JC_GUFC
29/11/2002, 4:59 PM
Originally posted by James
Here are a few words for you...
1) **** off
2) Gunther Must Stay!
Also I hate going to Turner's Cross (I'll give you 1 guess why!) my favourite away trip is probably Derry, who haven't got a vote yet, still have to experience Queenstown on the last day of this season! ;)
CU
JC
UCD_4_Life
29/11/2002, 11:05 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
How come everyone votin for bohs? IS it just cos you go up there, see the "great" crowd the "big"club gets and laugh? :)
I thought that Bohs crowd was awful.
Not one chant during the whole game against us. And they were completely silent (bar a few annoying kids) after we scored.
Apparently there was about 2,000 people who got in for free.
Pearse St. Reds
30/11/2002, 1:31 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Have to agree Pats - Normally a large travelling support, Top pub in McDowells and Pats fans are probably the friendliest of all the jackeens.....
Surprised you don't just cycle down to Richer pete.... ;)
Only managed to get down to cork the once, but that was a top
weekend as well - pity I can't afford it more often..... :mad: Pats fans are the friendliest of all the jackeens?
You've got o be ****ing joking! **** on you when you're on fire
is about as friendly as those inbred *******s get!
Love the trip to Cork; Cork fans are viciously partisan during the
match but friendly afterwards in the pubs and its ALWAYS a great
**** up!
Originally posted by Pearse St. Reds
:mad: Pats fans are the friendliest of all the jackeens?
They are, by a mile. they have just as many scumbags in their ground as any of the others, but the difference is you can go for a drink with the real fans after much more easily then shels, bohs, rovers, bray etc
Originally posted by JC_GUFC
...my favourite away trip is probably Derry, who haven't got a vote yet...
If your favourite trip is Derry, why didn't you vote for them? And come on lads, I know Derry is far away, but there's always a warm welcome - 'specially for Cork fans.
01/12/2002, 12:18 PM
thats true
was in the brandywell this year when cork city played there
nice ground .. but prefer galway.. or longford
Gotta be Longford. Its always 3 points, there are plenty of nice boozers, and the journey time is not too long. Even the stewards are nice!!!:D
fosterdollar
04/12/2002, 4:56 PM
Originally posted by Jaime
Gotta be Longford ... are nice!!!:D
which parts of that were jokes :mad: ;)
The Money Man
04/12/2002, 10:11 PM
Most venues have something going for them (even though there seems to be consensus that Bray is not a cherished day out!).
But how come you need a higher degree in map reading to get to some of the non-Dublin grounds. Some away fixtures aren't footballing occasions - they're initiative tests!
The only part that was a joke was the bit about the stewards. The rest is true.