View Full Version : Maxi Jailed

GuisaSaigon
12/01/2007, 1:07 PM
Maxi the Dundalk fan that attempted a self immolation protest at FAI headquarters has been jailed for 4 months according to newstalk!

12/01/2007, 1:09 PM
It's a "FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARCE"!

Patrick Dunne
12/01/2007, 1:15 PM
This might send a message to Paul Stokes and other loopers. The state has been far too lenient with this sort of rubbish in the past.

chippie0001
12/01/2007, 1:18 PM
The FAI mist have some pull, its take years to get justice for rape and murder victims, only weeks to ease Delaney's pain and suffering.

The man did not deserve to go to jail, simple as. He caused to harm to anybody and if anything made a spectacle of himself. Farce but that is Ireland for you.

Patrick Dunne
12/01/2007, 1:20 PM
I'll go into your place of work so, douse the place with petrol and start waving a lighter around the place !

12/01/2007, 1:21 PM
**** him, he got what he deserved.

12/01/2007, 1:23 PM
Hold on, he could have seriously harmed himself and others if, even accidently, he set himself on fire

12/01/2007, 1:37 PM
Anyone who treats a poor defenseless Christmas Tree like that should be locked up and the key thrown away, simple as that.

Dave drummerboy
12/01/2007, 1:57 PM
Maxi will be out of jail by three today as the shed boys and his family are getting the bail together as we speak .

12/01/2007, 2:00 PM
You can't get bail if you're convicted. Bail only applies in the interim between arrest and the case going to court.

12/01/2007, 2:06 PM
You can't get bail if you're convicted. Bail only applies in the interim between arrest and the case going to court.

Was thinking that myself.Sure think of all the thousands who'd get out of prison in an hour if all they had to do was pay money.

Dave drummerboy
12/01/2007, 2:10 PM
well he was told that in the court today and the money is now on the way up to him to get out .

12/01/2007, 2:12 PM
He was told he would have to pay E1200 in Compensation.

Dave drummerboy
12/01/2007, 2:13 PM
he payed 1200 for damages this mourning . he now has to pay 1500 for bail , and 2000 grand for insurancy

charliesboots
12/01/2007, 2:14 PM
Maxi will be out of jail by three today as the shed boys and his family are getting the bail together as we speak .

What he means is recognisance. When convicted in the District Court the Judge will set recognisance at a certain figure should you wish to appeal to the Circuit Court. Once this is paid you are released until your appeal is heard. The Circuit Court can allow your appeal and acquit you, uphold your conviction and sentence or uphold your conviction and set a different sentence.

Dave drummerboy
12/01/2007, 2:17 PM
thank you for explaining all that .

galwayhoop
12/01/2007, 2:19 PM
What he means is recognisance. When convicted in the District Court the Judge will set recognisance at a certain figure should you wish to appeal to the Circuit Court. Once this is paid you are released until your appeal is heard. The Circuit Court can allow your appeal and acquit you, uphold your conviction and sentence or uphold your conviction and set a different sentence.

that is a very concise explaination ... either a man with a legal background or a lad with a past!!!!

charliesboots
12/01/2007, 2:19 PM
thank you for explaining all that .

No problem. Any idea what the specific charges where. 4 months seems harsh - what number District Court was it in?

Dave drummerboy
12/01/2007, 2:22 PM
Dont know any of that at all just got a call this mourning telling me about the bail and the other 2000 grand that was it .

charliesboots
12/01/2007, 2:41 PM
that is a very concise explaination ... either a man with a legal background or a lad with a past!!!!

That's an awful accusation to make about a lad from Tallaght!!:)

GuisaSaigon
12/01/2007, 2:44 PM
2000 grand !!!!!!!!!! ye must be loaded up there in Dundalk:D

12/01/2007, 2:45 PM

Ah sure thats only an afternnon at the market selling bootleg CD's and DVD's.

12/01/2007, 2:46 PM

CB I want you as my defence attorney (which is the term I believe from watching LA Law) when I set Merrion Square on Fire.

charliesboots
12/01/2007, 2:50 PM
CB I want you as my defence attorney (which is the term I believe from watching LA Law) when I set Merrion Square on Fire.

God help them if you ever get through the door of the Faaaaarrrrccceeee Headquarters.

12/01/2007, 2:51 PM

Any chance of it being paid in used Northern Bank notes? :D

JW.
12/01/2007, 2:55 PM
I half-feel sorry for him but it's hard to suggest that four months in jail is harsh for what he did.

12/01/2007, 2:59 PM
says the galway fan who benefited by the shafting off simple folk like Maxi and John Gill by the FAI

JW.
12/01/2007, 3:00 PM
He must have had issues with the lack of transparency I suppose.

12/01/2007, 3:58 PM
He must have had issues with the lack of transparency I suppose.
If that was the case, surely he'd have just blown up Merrion square, so we could all see inside.

12/01/2007, 3:59 PM
Very harsh. Rugby judge, I'd say.

12/01/2007, 4:16 PM
Very harsh. Rugby judge, I'd say.

Aren't they all?

12/01/2007, 4:20 PM
Aren't they all?

Lets hope so come SDCC/SRFC v Thomas Davis on March 16.

12/01/2007, 4:24 PM
You'll get the Bohs judge for that. ;)

12/01/2007, 4:53 PM
You'll get the Bohs judge for that. ;)

He did us proud the last time, God bless his gypo socks. ;)

RĂ©iteoir
12/01/2007, 4:56 PM
Lets hope so come SDCC/SRFC v Thomas Davis on March 16.

I'm sure that if it ever went before a jury - they'd vote 4-6 in favour of SRFC ;)

passerrby
12/01/2007, 7:03 PM
maxi ,the micheal stone of irish football

The Sheliban
12/01/2007, 7:58 PM
He would have escaped a custodial sentence but John Delaney's victim impact statement detailing his love for the Christmas tree was very moving.

12/01/2007, 8:14 PM
Are you sure he jailed for that Merrion Square raid? Maybe he got done for bit of import/export...? is he any friend of Slab?

:p

iceman
12/01/2007, 8:39 PM
Whats the story with his name? When this thing happened he was called Maxi McAllister , now he appears in court as a Mark Kavanagh :confused:

12/01/2007, 8:44 PM
Slightly off topic, but a lad in work was telling of a fancy dress party he was at in Dundalk over the Christmas, and two people quite separately came dressed as Maxi.

iceman
12/01/2007, 8:50 PM
Maxi was interviewed in the Dundalk Argus and his original intention was to stage a rooftop protest at the FAI so he rented an industrial ladder and brought it with him , but then changed his mind. The petrol was Plan B.

BohsFans
12/01/2007, 8:58 PM
Maxi was interviewed in the Dundalk Argus and his original intention was to stage a rooftop protest at the FAI so he rented an industrial ladder and brought it with him , but then changed his mind. The petrol was Plan B.

you couldn't make this stuff up!

Brilliant :p

oriel
12/01/2007, 10:49 PM
the interview was priceless, he took the 'credit' for bringing together two gangs in two separate massive housing estates in the town 'for the common cause'

i`m sure it did his court case wonders !

Also re merrion sq. he was quoted as saying something like.

'when i got to the fai i realised the building was too high so i went through the front door instead'

jesus christ.

Billy Lord
13/01/2007, 2:18 AM
Four months for being a fruitcake for just one day is a bit much. Considering what others get away with . . . surely the probation act would've sufficed? Had Maxi been from Monkstown or an irate rugger fan with good connections he would've got a softer ride.
Pardon me for being class-conscious but I feel his greatest impediment was not being a Nigel or a Simon and being a fat working-class ******* from Dundalk. The middle/upper-class continually get away with murder.:mad:

13/01/2007, 2:22 AM
4 months does seem somewhat harsh, but from the snippets we see here it sounds like he did himself very few favours in court. Also, we don't know if he had any previous convictions, which might explain the harsh sentence.

dundalksarge
13/01/2007, 10:10 AM
I'm sure that his previous had a lot to do with the 4month sentence. I honestly think that he deserves what he gets. Next step is Dundalk Fc to ban him for life which i dont think they have done yet , which in my view is a disgrace.

iceman
13/01/2007, 11:47 AM
Next step is Dundalk Fc to ban him for life which i dont think they have done yet , which in my view is a disgrace.
Thats hardly going to happen considering Gill said in todays Sun that he was staggered at the sentence and said it was a disgraceful decision to jail Maxi. Gill was backed up by the Dundalk Supporters Club chairman who claims the decision was harsh.

BleusAvantTout
13/01/2007, 12:20 PM
He should be given a Community Service Order and made to do it at Galway.....that would be a real punishment! ;)

Louth4sam
13/01/2007, 12:30 PM
I think he deserved his four months in jail. I know some people might believe it was a harmless stunt but he still put himself and other people at risk by doing it.

Maxi is a farce

passerrby
13/01/2007, 1:14 PM
althought i think 4 months is a bit harsh dundalk fc should have taken the lead and banned him from oriel