View Full Version : Maxi Jailed
BohsFans
13/01/2007, 2:05 PM
He was probably jailed as well for the stretch he put on Garda resources that day.
They had to find John Gill and drive him in from Portlaoise and look at all the Guards, fire and ambulance services at the scene.
Community service in Dundalk would have been sufficient.
Patrick Dunne
13/01/2007, 3:36 PM
He has two names and a previous conviction for drink driving !
been banned by the club.they are basically saying that they dont condem a person threatening to set a building on fire and thus do criminal damage-poor authority shown again by dundalk but then thats what cost them getting low off the field points and not being promoted in the first place so we shouldnt be surprised.
iceman
13/01/2007, 5:27 PM
Totallly agree Eamo , Dundalk FC should be leading by example on this one and they are not. Maybe they have a bit to go before they deserve a Premier Division spot.
Louth4sam
13/01/2007, 7:46 PM
been banned by the club.they are basically saying that they dont condem a person threatening to set a building on fire and thus do criminal damage-poor authority shown again by dundalk but then thats what cost them getting low off the field points and not being promoted in the first place so we shouldnt be surprised.
We are in the middle of employing new managment staff such as general manager so maybe that is why nothing has been done yet. What are you on about low off the field points???? We got the 7th highest! it was our on the field points for the past few seasons that let us down. Its idiots like you that really makes me hope Galway come crashing straight back down.
Louth4sam
13/01/2007, 7:49 PM
so whats the split within dundalk fans i mean do most think hes a dope or most think hes a hero
Most fans over the age of 12 think he is a dope. You only have to check out some of the polls on our forum to see this. Unfortunately there are some young or unintelligent fans that might see this clown as a hero.
14/01/2007, 12:25 AM
He should be given a Community Service Order and made to do it at Galway.....that would be a real punishment! ;)
Touché :D
Personally, I feel 4 months for such a stunt is very soft. 4 years would have been more appropriate, as he would have been made an example of. He'll probably be out come the start of the season. :mad:
ye were the ones complaining of not getting a higher off the fields point total thats what i meant.as for idiots,im not the one who thinks louth can win sam.:) .
iceman
14/01/2007, 10:30 AM
Seems to me that the judge took the view that the club could'nt be ars€d taking action against Maxi , so he decided to teach him a lesson.
14/01/2007, 10:00 PM
4 months seems harsh - what number District Court was it in?
Limerick 37..... :D
Maxi - Irelands first football terrorist! :cool:
15/01/2007, 1:23 PM
Totallly agree Eamo , Dundalk FC should be leading by example on this one and they are not. Maybe they have a bit to go before they deserve a Premier Division spot.
A bit?! Wont be surprised if he doesnt get banned really. Farce up there.........
GuisaSaigon
15/01/2007, 2:13 PM
Maxi will be out of jail by three today as the shed boys and his family are getting the bail together as we speak .
So what happened ? Is Maxi a free man or is he going to serve his 4 months?
15/01/2007, 4:42 PM
So what happened ? Is Maxi a free man or is he going to serve his 4 months?
Haven't you heard of the Good Friday Agreement??
15/01/2007, 5:08 PM
It's a sad indictment of our society when a man can walk free from court to the approbation of his peers for shooting another human being in the back, but protesting against a tinpot dictator incurs a custodial sentence.
15/01/2007, 7:46 PM
It's a sad indictment of our society when a man can walk free from court to the approbation of his peers for shooting another human being in the back, but protesting against a tinpot dictator incurs a custodial sentence.
You could also argue that a nutter who might have burned a number of innocent people alive over an unsporting decision is far more dangerous than someone who went too far in defending his home from an odious scumbag with a number of outstanding warrants for his arrest. Mostly, it's about putting bias on the situation with the words you use.
15/01/2007, 8:06 PM
You could, but why would you (except to expose yourself as an imbecile?)
someone who went too far in defending his home from an odious scumbag
Maybe he did, but four months is excessive.
blackholesun
15/01/2007, 10:29 PM
He was a disgrace to himself, to Dundalk FC, the town of Dundalk, Co Louth and the LOI as a whole. Hope he rots, got what he deserved.
BHS
GuisaSaigon
16/01/2007, 9:04 AM
Maxi is going to be on Newstalk after the 10 o clock news.
16/01/2007, 9:44 AM
You could, but why would you (except to expose yourself as an imbecile?)
I bow to your superior argument, *******. :p
16/01/2007, 9:49 AM
jaysus....there is a maxi junior on the way!!!
GuisaSaigon
16/01/2007, 10:01 AM
Bit of a tearjerker. highlights were "I didnt lose the head" and "I wasnt agressive". He also said he has sent flowers to the girl in recepion in the FAI and he had removed the flint in his lighter prior to the incident.
He had to raise €1203 for damages from friends and family. he has to decide whether to appeal or not if he appeals and loses he could face 12 months instead of 4 and his girlfriend is expecting a child.
I'm begining to feel a bit sorry for him, the sentence does seem a bit severe but his protest was way over the top and potentially very dangerous.
16/01/2007, 10:20 AM
He also said he has sent flowers to the girl in recepion in the FAI and he had removed the flint in his lighter prior to the incident.
Delivered in see-through asbestos wrapping by a man in a flame-retardant outfit....
16/01/2007, 10:21 AM
And his constantly blaming the FAI when it was the clubs who insisted on the "play off" which all clubs knew about. When will Dundalk hold their hands up and admit they were at least partially to blame for the situation arising in the first place?
What I find strange is that this man has been welcomed back to Oriel Park since the incident.
See http://orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?t=4183&start=0
I wonder will DFC continue to employ him as a steward?
GuisaSaigon
17/01/2007, 10:58 AM
What I find strange is that this man has been welcomed back to Oriel Park since the incident.
See http://orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?t=4183&start=0
I wonder will DFC continue to employ him as a steward?
Amazing :confused:
He got a "hero's welcome"in the club bar and he "didnt have to buy a drink all night". I thought he would have been banned from the ground for the season at least.Which would have been enough punishment. I felt a bit sorry for him but now i take it all back. Somebody has to teach him that football terrorism shouldn't be rewarded!
17/01/2007, 2:07 PM
Amazing :confused:
He got a "hero's welcome"in the club bar and he "didnt have to buy a drink all night". I thought he would have been banned from the ground for the season at least.Which would have been enough punishment. I felt a bit sorry for him but now i take it all back. Somebody has to teach him that football terrorism shouldn't be rewarded!
Sums up dundalk alright:rolleyes:
Patrick Dunne
24/01/2007, 12:29 PM
I see on Oriel Web that Dundalk FC are holding a fundraising night for Maxi in the Lilywhite Lounge, this Friday, June 26th.
What a Joke that is! I wonder is Dermot Ahern going to attend?
So- Dundalk did not bar this man from Oriel and are now hosting a fundraiser for him.
This sends out the message that DFC implicitly condone the actions of this sad lunatic. A dark day for Dundalk FC.
I see there is a fundraiser in the Lillywhite Lounge in oriel park this friday for Maxi.
Seriously, how can dundalk allow it to go ahead?
Imagine the uproar on here if bohs allowed a fundraiser in dalyer after the BSC did something
What a pathetic club :rolleyes:
blackholesun
24/01/2007, 9:06 PM
disgrace if true ...
bhs
It is true, and it is a disgrace http://orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?t=4183&start=30
24/01/2007, 9:24 PM
Lads, i am not saying anything but i would just like people to think before the post, so it doesn't get out of hand.
Was Maxi banned from Oriel Park at all?
Heard that Petrol Emotion are headline act with the Screaming Trees in support :)
Celdrog
25/01/2007, 1:16 AM
This is just sh*t stirring of the highest order.
Dundalk FC are organizing nothing for Maxi. The bar is there for hire by anybody and that is what some fool that sympathises with Maxi is doing. Personally, I think the booking should have been refused, but I don't think anybody should lose any sleep over it.
It's a pity that my Drogheda friend wasn't so full of indignation when his own club banned one it fans that attacked a match official in United Park, only to allowed him back when everybody looked the other way. Now, that's what I call "pathetic
C'mon now sduffy - give the full story here. On your post on Drogs web you also mentioned the fact that said individual was allowed back in after serving a 1 year ban and having approval from the guards and the match official himself who agreed he had served his punishment. What was his crime - at the end of the match he went over and pushed a linesman (not pushing him over). A bit different to threatening to burn down a building, endangering innocent people's lives and bringing Merrion square to a standstill while calling out several gardai units and fire crews. What was also different was the Drogs fans reaction - this guy was not allowed back into the crowd that night but was instead handed over to the guards by the fans.
Maxi on the other hand, has done no time for his misdemeanour and people who condone his actions are being allowed the use of Oriel Park. Dundalk FC will profit from this fundraiser and this is what all the fuss is about. If you then tell me Dundalk FC will not profit from it then are subsidising Maxi
Will he be getting the Freedom of Dundalk award?
25/01/2007, 8:11 AM
mr duffy your right in the interest of common sense the booking shouldve been quietly refused to save the club the hassle its gonna cause.on the other hand i got a leak of the dj's playlist
ring of fire
disco inferno
the unforgettable fire
oh christmas tree
the entire police back catalouge(all records of course)
gift grub sketches featuring roy keane
:p
Not to mention "Fire" by the prodigy
and "I'm on Fire" by Spruce Bringsteen :D
25/01/2007, 10:47 AM
Dundalk FC are not holding a fundraiser for him. The bar is run and hired out independently of the football club. The fundraiser, if that is what is to take place at this event, has nothing to do with Dundalk FC.
25/01/2007, 10:56 AM
Dundalk FC are not holding a fundraiser for him. The bar is run and hired out independently of the football club. The fundraiser, if that is what is to take place at this event, has nothing to do with Dundalk FC.
Ban Maxi and stop the fundraiser. Simple.
Imagine this was Rovers, the Herald would have a field day. :rolleyes:
As we said consistently last season, Dundalk are a joke of a club. And now I see we've a friendly up there next month....
25/01/2007, 12:03 PM
Maxi is nothing but a failure.
Now if he had actually burnt down the FAI then i'd go :)
25/01/2007, 2:42 PM
Not to mention "Fire" by the prodigy
and "I'm on Fire" by Spruce Bringsteen :D
We Didn't Start the Fire by Billy Joel?
passerrby
25/01/2007, 5:11 PM
silly event by silly people
WindmillWarrior
25/01/2007, 5:32 PM
I've heard that Maxi is a bit of a hero up in D*ndalk and that hes constantly been stopped in the street! He was in boriel the day of his first appearance in court and he got a standing ovation when he walked into the bar in his suit! Hes also doing a roaring trade in sponsorship for the club as every business (pubs especially!!) he goes into love to see him, think hes a star and want to help the club. I wonder will he get much sponsorship in the Joy!!
mcgonigle
25/01/2007, 7:24 PM
Go read the Dundalk forum windmill and find out what real dundalk fans think of maxi, his actions and this so called fundraiser. Stop listening to those Drog voices in your head telling you to make derogitory stuff up about Dundalk and their fans, a small minority of complete idiots condone his actions.
I think the FAI will see it as Dundalk supporting the event and will not take to kindly (especially JD) to the whole idea. They could even remember it at the end of next season !!!!! ;)
Celdrog
25/01/2007, 7:42 PM
Go read the Dundalk forum windmill and find out what real dundalk fans think of maxi, his actions and this so called fundraiser. Stop listening to those Drog voices in your head telling you to make derogitory stuff up about Dundalk and their fans, a small minority of complete idiots condone his actions.
I agree with mcgonigle here :eek: . Most Dundalk fans disagree with the club on this one. Unfortunately the small minority of idiots that condone his actions include the directors of Dundalk FC by hosting this fundraiser
Yawn.....
Maxi committed a stupid and highly dangerous offence.
He did so because of the stance taken by Dundalk F.C. - who decided - after all that licencing crap - that the old rules should count after all - because they better suited Dundalk.
Maxi is a joke - and Dundalk F.C. is a joke - because they refuse to face reality.
Have Dundalk F.C. condemned this fund-raiser???
I doubt it somehow. They probably still think that any publicity - no matter how stupid - will help them get back in to the premier division.
Dream on.