View Full Version : Bologna "Meet Up"

Sligo Hornet
10/01/2007, 1:20 PM
For those of us staying in Bologna ( i.e. Supasparx's Bus Tour & Others) is there a selected "Watering-Hole" where we can meet up on the Tuesday before Wednesday's festivities?:confused:

10/01/2007, 1:28 PM
Yeah I would be on for that. I am staying in the University Hotel on the Tuesday and Wednesday.

Sligo Hornet
10/01/2007, 1:59 PM
Having checked , briefly, the following seem the most likely "HQ Candidates".....The Cluricane Irish Pub ( Via Zamboni 18/b ), The Auld Dubliner (Via Cairoli 2/c ) or The Irish Times Pub ( via Paradiso 1/d )

Anyone know which is nearest to our two hotels ( i.e. University & Regina )?

Sligo Hornet
10/01/2007, 2:34 PM
More in depth investigation shows The Clauricane Irish Pub to be the best.....10 min (or less) walk from hotel Regina, right outside University ( so must be v close to Hotel University )

It's got favourable reviews, Happy Hour DAILY from 4pm to 8.30pm!!! :) Also, stays open until 2am ( useful for on arrival back from the game in San Marino ):D

Any other thoughts Gentlemen ( and Ladies! )?

10/01/2007, 2:36 PM
Talk to FanFromItaly on the Cork City FC forum if you need any advice about Bologna. We've an unofficial link between our clubs.

10/01/2007, 4:18 PM
Yeah SligoHornet sounds good to me I can just fall out of the pub into my bed.

supasparx
10/01/2007, 4:32 PM
I'm in Bologna for both nights, still need to book a hotel but will get that sorted soon. Definitely up for this.

still rooms available at hotel uni if you book direct off their site.

Moscow Mule
10/01/2007, 6:43 PM
More in depth investigation shows The Clauricane Irish Pub to be the best.....10 min (or less) walk from hotel Regina, right outside University ( so must be v close to Hotel University )

It's got favourable reviews, Happy Hour DAILY from 4pm to 8.30pm!!! :) Also, stays open until 2am ( useful for on arrival back from the game in San Marino ):D

You can count on the Russian contingent to be up for it. Looks like it could be a mental time so I will have to pack the spacehopper pants.

Moscow Mule
10/01/2007, 6:48 PM

SligoHornet

What about contacting the pub and see if they can lay something on for us

Saint Tom
10/01/2007, 7:09 PM
good idea about a meet. four of us going to arrive on monday afternoon. scoop?

Sligo Hornet
10/01/2007, 7:30 PM
SligoHornet

What about contacting the pub and see if they can lay something on for us

Good idea my Ruski mate....I'll email them to let them know we are invading, and to see if they can provide some good wholesome, educational entertainment.......like "The Hooters" chain perhaps!!:D

Link to the Bolgna Meet-Up HQ www.cluricaune.com

supasparx
10/01/2007, 8:36 PM
Meself and Missus Sparx shall be in attendance!
I take it this is where I'll receive all those 'pints' I've been promised from my 'passengers'?:p

supasparx
10/01/2007, 8:43 PM
Good idea my Ruski mate....I'll email them to let them know we are invading, and to see if they can provide some good wholesome, educational entertainment.......like "The Hooters" chain perhaps!!:D

Yeah, do that.
I'm actually arriving on the Saturday, so I'll pop in that night to make sure they're prepared.

Beavis
11/01/2007, 2:52 PM
Count us in for this one (6). We were going to try to get to San Marino on the Tuesday evening but seeing as there will be something doing in Bologna we may as well stay and make arrangements in the morning. I'm going to try book that University Hotel.

Sligo Hornet
11/01/2007, 6:05 PM
Count us in for this one (6). We were going to try to get to San Marino on the Tuesday evening but seeing as there will be something doing in Bologna we may as well stay and make arrangements in the morning. I'm going to try book that University Hotel.

If you can't get in there, try Hotel Regina ( it's where another section of the Bologna Green Army is residing.....5 mins walk fom Hotel University )

Moscow Mule
11/01/2007, 6:49 PM
Meself and Missus Sparx shall be in attendance!
I take it this is where I'll received all those 'pints' I've been promised from my 'passengers'?:p
Supa

Defo a pint from me. Name your poison and gargle away!

supasparx
11/01/2007, 8:27 PM

Did you get a chance to contact the cluricane, re. our meet-up?

Sligo Hornet
12/01/2007, 6:24 AM
Did you get a chance to contact the cluricane, re. our meet-up?

Hi Supa.....yes I emailed them......but as of yet not received a reply:( .....I'll try again today

12/01/2007, 10:45 AM
Any one fancy a game of 5 a side? Just an idea.

Sligo Hornet
12/01/2007, 11:38 AM

I assume you mean the strenuous game of "Shove Ha'penny":D

Mento
12/01/2007, 4:50 PM

Ill get 5 to take on your 5. Only thing is im staying in rimini and i bagsy home advantage!

Saint Tom
12/01/2007, 5:16 PM
Good to have you on board beavis. is that bowsie of a brother of yours heading over? my missus is coming so wont be any buzzstop style poaching for me :eek:

Beavis
12/01/2007, 10:08 PM
Good to have you on board beavis. is that bowsie of a brother of yours heading over? my missus is coming so wont be any buzzstop style poaching for me :eek:

Hes going alright but hes heading off with Rob towards San Marino.
I'll see ye in Cluaricanes on the Tuesday night, you can leave the poaching but the table diving buzzstop style is still on the cards;)

Saint Tom
13/01/2007, 4:04 PM
good stuff. Cluaricanes seems to be the hot spot alright. Those italian women are up themselves from what I've been told. They are good looking and they know it!

Sligo Hornet
15/01/2007, 8:22 AM
I have sent TWO emails to The Cluricaune Pub.........without a response!:(

Any of our intrepid Bolognaites arriving very early ( I know Supasparx is arriving Saturday )....could you please have a nice quiet word with them ahead of the main party.

AidoM
15/01/2007, 8:51 AM
I have sent TWO emails to The Cluricaune Pub.........without a response!:(

Any of our intrepid Bolognaites arriving very early ( I know Supasparx is arriving Saturday )....could you please have a nice quiet word with them ahead of the main party.

Could Mento drop in on his reccie mission ??:cool:

Sligo Hornet
15/01/2007, 9:15 AM
Could Mento drop in on his reccie mission ??:cool:

Good shout Aido:) .......I'll send him a PM

15/01/2007, 11:28 AM
Lads is there anybody who is staying in Bologna that would be interested in a game. If we got about 10 people we could arrange a 5 a side match.

Beavis
15/01/2007, 3:16 PM
Lads is there anybody who is staying in Bologna that would be interested in a game. If we got about 10 people we could arrange a 5 a side match.

Yeah we have 6, the only day we could do in Bologna would be the morning of match day, bearing in mind kickoff isnt until 8.45 local time.

15/01/2007, 3:57 PM
Well I have my mate and myself so that makes 8 so if we get 2 more we could have a game.

Mento
15/01/2007, 10:33 PM
I will be in the Cluricaune this saturday night to sample many beverages and have a chat with the manager:)

Sligo Hornet
16/01/2007, 7:30 PM
I will be in the Cluricaune this saturday night to sample many beverages and have a chat with the manager:)

Nice one Mento!.......make sure he gets plenty of spare barrells in!:D

Also, will he be prepared to stay open longer than the advertised 2am on the Wednesday night.....us Bologna lads will not make it back from the Match until after Midnight.....with raging thirsts!!;)

Sligo Hornet
18/01/2007, 6:07 AM
Just in case Mento's chat with the manager of The Cluricaune doesn't result in any entertainment being laid on:( ...........has any of our party got a guitar/ any other musical instrument, so we can be self-sufficient?:p

Saint Tom
18/01/2007, 10:00 AM
good call about the guitar. i dont play but every body enjoys a good sing song. ill make up the obligatory "war chant" cd just in case and bring it along with me!

casso36
19/01/2007, 11:28 AM
My Mates A BRIAN KENNEDY LOOK A LIKE IF THATS ANY USE???:D :D

Saint Tom
19/01/2007, 2:33 PM
Fair play Mento, can you see what the bioys in cluaricanes can do about late opening. maybe even reducing pint prices based on volume consumed??

AidoM
19/01/2007, 2:36 PM
Fair play Mento, can you see what the bioys in cluaricanes can do about late opening. maybe even reducing pint prices based on volume consumed??

Drink 20 and get 1 free :p :D

Saint Tom
22/01/2007, 11:22 AM
student night on the tuesday according to Mento, should be great craic in the Cluaricane. Have they replied to emails etc about arranging music or anything?

Sligo Hornet
22/01/2007, 11:36 AM
student night on the tuesday according to Mento, should be great craic in the Cluaricane. Have they replied to emails etc about arranging music or anything?

I never received a reply to the (several) e-mails I sent:( ..but Mento spoke with the Manager, so I am sure we will be well looked after:)

22/01/2007, 11:52 AM
Student night sounds good, I could do with brushing up on my Italian anyway with the locals.

23/01/2007, 7:18 PM
My Mates A BRIAN KENNEDY LOOK A LIKE IF THATS ANY USE??? :D

oh? ;) :D

Mento
23/01/2007, 10:14 PM
mauroted@alice.it - thats the e mail of the manager of the Cluricaune.

joe kehoe
23/01/2007, 11:49 PM
me and a mate staying in regina, is there buses going to san marino from here

Sligo Hornet
24/01/2007, 6:17 AM

Do you mean The Hotel "Regina"?.......this is where my group of 5 are staying, and we have booked to go on Supasparx's Bus from Bologna to San Marino.......sadly for you all seats are taken ( afaik )....see you for The Meet-Up in The Cluricaune!!:)

casso36
24/01/2007, 8:26 AM

You and The Brian Kennedy Look Alike!!!!!:D

supasparx
24/01/2007, 5:48 PM
All seats on the Bologna bus are now taken!:)

AidoM
24/01/2007, 5:54 PM
All seats on the Bologna bus are now taken!:)

How many travelling :confused:

24/01/2007, 6:08 PM
How many travelling :confused:

think about 20 something, just a baby bus compared to our monster :eek: :D

joe kehoe
24/01/2007, 7:57 PM
two of us looking to get down from bolonge. ahh we"ll sort something out but if theres anyone else with room for 2 more let me know. cheers!!!!!!!!

supasparx
24/01/2007, 10:25 PM
think about 20 something, just a baby bus compared to our monster :eek: :D

24 to be precise. But as I tell the girlfriend, size isn't everything!:D