View Full Version : Olly Byrne on Liveline at 1.45 today

Pages : 1 [2]

09/01/2007, 3:40 PM
What with Ollie Byrne's increasing lunacy, the Dundalk/Galway scandal, Limerick's esteemed chairman telling all and sundry that he's taking the FAI to court, and just the downright half assed approach that seems to be given to the EL by our new bosses in Merrion Square it doesn't look like the FAI Premiership is going to get off to a great start now does it?

But-but-but Mr. Delaney said that everything was all right now. And it must be true because the other nice people in the FAI gave him a 6-year contract because he's so good at his job:confused: Well, now I don't know what to believe. :(

09/01/2007, 3:40 PM
How we're expected to attract new fans to a product that is being viewed national as a running joke is beyond me

Market it as Ireland's most compelling Soap Opera.

09/01/2007, 5:00 PM
Didn't hear this on the radio but going by the comments here this sounded like disasterous PR for thew league. The sooner clubs sign up to the participation agreement the better so can stop them going to the courts & also making fools of everyone on the National media.

Alan Hunter is some fool who was part of some irish supporters travel group (all sports) in the 70s. I think he claims to have 70,000 members but no one is able to find them. I'd be surprised if he is actually a member of his own group. RTE know he is a nutcase but continue to use him - fairly pathetic for organisation with public service charter.

09/01/2007, 5:19 PM
Sheridan doesnt like Hunter.

Sheridan doesnt like Rovers.

Therefore Hunter is Rovers.

Technically thats autism Sheridan.

You are hanging around here like a bad smell. Your 'club' is no longer in the EL. Why are you still on here posting every day? :confused:

he used the words 'rent-a-sham' (the sham in this case being an obvious reference to Hunter) and you automatically assumed it was a reference to your own club - without any prompting from Sheridan.

.....and he's got problems??

09/01/2007, 5:21 PM
Jesus, I actually think they're getting thicker. I'm going to clean up offering rudimentary literacy lessons to bewildered Shams. Here's a sneak preview for you, Hooperatzi.

CLAUSE 1
Hunter is an utter buffoon.
END OF CLAUSE 1

BEGINNING OF CLAUSE 2 (A DIFFERENT CLAUSE)
Fair play to Duffy for cutting off rent-a-sham before he could unleash his PR spiel.
END OF CLAUSE 2

I'm posting here for your benefit, not my own, incidentally.

Byrne: If you don't have anything to say, don't say anything. It didn't deter you from spouting sh1t about Dublin City on Newstalk a few months back, but I guess the Tolka issue complicates things. There's nothing less edifying than expediency masquerading as principle.

09/01/2007, 5:58 PM
Byrne: If you don't have anything to say, don't say anything. It didn't deter you from spouting sh1t about Dublin City on Newstalk a few months back, but I guess the Tolka issue complicates things. There's nothing less edifying than expediency masquerading as principle.

I think your obsession with the Press Officer of the Year is worse than your sad obsession with Rovers. Imagine a 'hoolocrat' being lauded by the powers-that-be! No wonder your club bowed out with such good grace. Shame you can't do the same.

Jack_2001
09/01/2007, 10:44 PM
Floating concrete? Interesting concept!

Do RTÉ make their radio shows available in a podcast?

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/

and click Tuesday

Billy Lord
09/01/2007, 10:45 PM
In fairness to Sheridan (there, I've said it), he's right about some of us jumping down his neck this time around, and I have no hesitation in apologising for making assumptions about his previous post. Sorry. I was wrong. Unlike Sheridan, I'm only human; and sometimes I make mistakes, say the wrong thing, or jump to conclusions.
I guess Shez's Kevin Myers-like smugness and condescending attitude gets up our noses more than we're willing to admit. At least we have a football club to support, so it's not all bad.
I hope Shels overcome their problems, and the Shels' fans who know me also know that I've a lot of time for their club and that there's a great historical link between the Hoops and the Reds. It's a very real and personal tragedy that Ollie's made such a hames of something that's clearly the love of his life.
But we saved Rovers and Dublin City died an ignominious death - and that's the real rub, I reckon, with the Alanis Morissette of the internet.

10/01/2007, 10:44 AM
In fairness to Sheridan (there, I've said it), he's right about some of us jumping down his neck this time around, and I have no hesitation in apologising for making assumptions about his previous post. Sorry. I was wrong. Unlike Sheridan, I'm only human; and sometimes I make mistakes, say the wrong thing, or jump to conclusions.
I guess Shez's Kevin Myers-like smugness and condescending attitude gets up our noses more than we're willing to admit. At least we have a football club to support, so it's not all bad.
I hope Shels overcome their problems, and the Shels' fans who know me also know that I've a lot of time for their club and that there's a great historical link between the Hoops and the Reds. It's a very real and personal tragedy that Ollie's made such a hames of something that's clearly the love of his life.
But we saved Rovers and Dublin City died an ignominious death - and that's the real rub, I reckon, with the Alanis Morissette of the internet.

Well said. Sheridan like Seery and CHF are a waste of time. For an example of his obsession look at his signature:eek:

10/01/2007, 3:22 PM
http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/

and click Tuesday

What program to I need to download for that file :confused: :ball:

10/01/2007, 4:04 PM
What program to I need to download for that file :confused: :ball:Probably Real Player. That's what their cup final clips a few weeks ago ran on.

10/01/2007, 6:41 PM
So any word of Shels new manager- he's to be appointed tonight is he not?

I wonder if Roy Coyle could emerge as a dark horse for the post....

10/01/2007, 8:29 PM
I thought I read Alan Matthews being mentioned again in the Indo.

10/01/2007, 8:31 PM
Yeah, the Longford fans seem to suspect that he'll take the job, ironically because Longford owe a fair few quid (25k) in wages. Talk about out of the frying pan...

higgins
10/01/2007, 8:31 PM
I thought I read Alan Matthews being mentioned again in the Indo.

You wish!!! ;)

10/01/2007, 8:38 PM
You wish!!! ;)

http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=12&si=1751637

Read that if you're registered.

11/01/2007, 12:16 AM
Rumours in dub circles have it that he's been offered the job but wants to know the full picture before making up his mind. There was a lot of phone calls flying back and forth before Christmas by all accounts. We dont actually owe 25k in wages at the moment either, a good bit of it's been paid off. He's always been friendly with the Shels people it wouldn't surprise me if they were considering him

11/01/2007, 12:25 AM
Rumours in dub circles have it that he's been offered the job but wants to know the full picture before making up his mind. There was a lot of phone calls flying back and forth before Christmas by all accounts. We dont actually owe 25k in wages at the moment either, a good bit of it's been paid off. He's always been friendly with the Shels people it wouldn't surprise me if they were considering him

Shels really would be scraping the barrel with Matthews.

What's he done in the last couple of seasons, apart from drive Longford's crowds to their lowest level this millennium....?

fbtn
11/01/2007, 12:31 AM
Is it just me or does it sound like Olly is having a Barry White at the start of the interview? Really sounds like a toilet flushing just over a minute in!

And Steve, re: Longfords crowds. Where you ever in Abbeycarton?

The Longford I remember so well used to get crowds of about 200 if they were lucky.

11/01/2007, 12:33 AM
Very popular with Mr. O. Byrne, always has been. His financial and commercial expertise may come in handy too!

Abbeycartron wasnt this millenium!

TommyT
11/01/2007, 1:59 AM
Sheridan:
You really ought to seek therapy, though. Such bitterness in one so young cannot be healthy.

Yeah Billy he should've taken my advice years ago
http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=10561

higgins
11/01/2007, 12:17 PM
http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=12&si=1751637

Read that if you're registered.

The you wish was that you wish it was Alan Matthews so Pete Mahon stayed where he was.

I got some news earlier than the papers for a change :p

11/01/2007, 12:22 PM
The you wish was that you wish it was Alan Matthews so Pete Mahon stayed where he was.

I got some news earlier than the papers for a change :p

I'd figured as much by now.;) I'd wish Alan Matthews on you anyway though.:p

higgins
11/01/2007, 12:46 PM
Saying you hate Shels is ok, but to wish Alan Matthews on us :eek:

Come on......

11/01/2007, 2:00 PM
At least he'll be able to preside over ANOTHER European disaster.

Seems to be his speciality so

Aaron
11/01/2007, 7:30 PM
Any truth Bobby Browne, Malahide manager might get it?

11/01/2007, 8:25 PM
He's been mentioned, anyway.

11/01/2007, 10:42 PM
Any truth Bobby Browne, Malahide manager might get it?

IIRC Shelsw on the Shelsweb posted that he has officially applied for it!

LukeO
11/01/2007, 10:47 PM
Bobby Browne applies for nearly every eircom League job that comes up!!

12/01/2007, 11:04 AM
Bobby Browne applies for nearly every eircom League job that comes up!!

Suppose he has to keep himself busy after the divorce from Whitney

12/01/2007, 12:07 PM
Roddy loses Shels job due to people with agendas (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=26022)

So predictable. :D

I would have brought Brooks Mileson in to invest...

12/01/2007, 12:13 PM
Roddy loses Shels job due to people with agendas (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=26022)

So predictable. :D

Change the bleedin' record Collins.

Some day the minutes of Mileson and Collins's meeting with our lads will be in the public arena and the 2 spoofers will be exposed as the chancers thay are. Not that most of us don't know already. :rolleyes:

12/01/2007, 2:02 PM
Change the bleedin' record Collins.

Some day the minutes of Mileson and Collins's meeting with our lads will be in the public arena and the 2 spoofers will be exposed as the chancers thay are. Not that most of us don't know already. :rolleyes:

Every club has their own personal roddy story at this stage.

BrayUnknowns
12/01/2007, 2:14 PM
Thank god weve had nothing to do with him yet

fbtn
12/01/2007, 2:15 PM

When he was interviewed for the Harps job (before he went to Rovers) he wanted the board to raise or borrow €1.2 million and he would take Harps from the First Division to the group stages of the Champions Leauge :D

No ambition in Donegal, that is what is wrong at Harps ;)

12/01/2007, 2:25 PM

Some more than others unfortunately.

12/01/2007, 2:50 PM

No time like the present :D

The 'third-party' that stopped The Rod getting the Shels job may be one of the following:

- Common Sense

- The final, dying remnants of Ollie's conscience

- The Will of the Universe

KROW