View Full Version : Different words-Same Meaning

FarBeag
08/01/2007, 7:32 PM
Growing up in Ireland we used to use words in sentences that make no sense to the English. Here are a few.

Wash up the delf... Wash up the Dishes

Dress the bed.. Make the bed

Gone to buy the messages.. Gone to do the shoping

Clothes in the Press clothes in the cupboard

My friend My mate

The Range The oven

Mammy/Daddy(even still) Mum/Dad

Anyone else have any more.

08/01/2007, 7:47 PM
Too many to list, but...
Diddies-Breasts
Babby-Baby
Hames-Mess, as in 'Made a hames of it'
Jammy-Lucky
Piped telly -Cable television
Ronnie -Moustache
Traipse -Walk aimlessly...'Where are ya traipsein' off ta now?'

stann
08/01/2007, 8:15 PM
I'd have said mate is about as English as it gets, but other synonyms for friend (from various parts of the country) would be bud, butty, breaster, auld stock, and, of course (crap spelling aside), auld segosia.

'Made a bags of' things, instead of hames.
'Stalling the head off' instead of pecking on the cheek.
In fact, 'getting off with' is uniquely Irish, isn't it?
And 'put the tin hat on it' with the nice cuppa scald!

08/01/2007, 8:55 PM
I'd have said mate is about as English as it gets
I think mate was intended as the English substitute (the Irish way of saying it is first - gone to do the messages).

I'm only after having my dinner is one you wouldn't hear in England. And obviously the Irish words - slibhín, amadán and the likes.

08/01/2007, 10:07 PM
A typical Sligo one: Cat- Terrible,Bad etc.

08/01/2007, 10:22 PM

Along with 'shift'. Always liked that one.:o

08/01/2007, 10:22 PM
A typical Sligo one: Cat- Terrible,Bad etc.
Kind of like the football team...:D :p

08/01/2007, 10:31 PM
Son: Dad, can I have a pound for the pictures
Dad: Pictures, I'll give you pictures!

- a 'quare hawk' = a shrewdie
- he'd 'live in your ear' = a sponger/freeloader

FarBeag
08/01/2007, 10:38 PM
Just thought of a few others.. Ride----shag...Pants ----Trousers......That yoke..that thing..Tree and tirty tree ,dis dat, dare ,den, etc etc dont know why we pronounce without the H. S*ite..S*it..Geezer..bloke.Bird..Moth

08/01/2007, 11:39 PM
Vexed =Upset
Thick = Stupid
Stocious =Drunk
Wagon =Ugly female
Puss =A sulky face
Nip =Nude
Eat the head off =Attack verbally
Hunkers=Crouching down (squatting)
Lashing =Raining hard

09/01/2007, 9:05 AM
A brose - either a big feed or a mess
Caddy - boy
Cuttie - girl
Gasson - boy
Gersha - girl
Wild - as in a wild big feed
Our boy - brother
Our doll - sister
ould boy - dad
ould doll - mum
Coourse Beaast - rough person (a tyrone favourite in our house)
Halliyon (sp) - rough person
Rullya (sp) - rough person (south armagh I think)

Look at the cut of ya?
A very Monaghan thing is to say "I went to the shop so I did" or "My aunt had a baby so she did" why oh why oh why???? It drives me nuts!

It amazes me that I can speak English as I grew up with a dad who uses so many colloquialisims that he speaks a different language. Any kinda cooking sauce is called Sloouther, he always asks for a foosie to sweeten the cud after a meal or shortened to a "cudder". The male genitalia is known as a stroop and to use it for urination purposes is to "swizz the stroop" its a good job he is well travelled and has the cop on to use proper english when he is working in America or Florida people would think they are dumber than they are!

09/01/2007, 9:57 AM
cute - meaning sly
pup - my parents always use that one, maybe its just a roscommon thing, meaning cheeky, terrier etc
buck - he's a buck, like oh hes a cute one or a bit of a rascal
rap - she's a bit of a rap, a bit of a 'wan'
bullin
bull thick - same two meaning raging. a dub mate when i first went over to the states thought that was great. never heard it before he hadn't.

09/01/2007, 10:14 AM
cute - meaning sly
pup - my parents always use that one, maybe its just a roscommon thing, meaning cheeky, terrier etc
buck - he's a buck, like oh hes a cute one or a bit of a rascal
rap - she's a bit of a rap, a bit of a 'wan'
bullin
bull thick - same two meaning raging. a dub mate when i first went over to the states thought that was great. never heard it before he hadn't.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :mad:

09/01/2007, 12:43 PM
"I do be"

I do be doing this, I do be doing that.

09/01/2007, 12:48 PM
"Of a Friday"

09/01/2007, 12:54 PM
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :mad:

People in Galway say "bet" instead of "beat."
"You only bet us 'cause we were well bad!"

First
09/01/2007, 1:10 PM

We should hear alot of that next season :D

09/01/2007, 1:51 PM

Now that you say it it's actually very true.

We have a weird way of saying alot of things.We also put "like" at the end of every sentence.

09/01/2007, 1:52 PM
i do be and i does be, its not a word, but something i do be saying a lot in fairness.

no peader they say neither they say:

"you only bate us, cause we were well bad!"

First
09/01/2007, 3:32 PM
Now that you say it it's actually very true.

We have a weird way of saying alot of things.We also put "like" at the end of every sentence.

Thats nearly as bad as people who finish their sentences with "you know". Drives me mad:mad:

09/01/2007, 11:35 PM
An Australian I know had to ask me the meaning of this "Irish" word:

Bould(sp?)-Bold

Dr.Nightdub
10/01/2007, 12:25 AM
Magicme, "so I did" isn't just a Monaghan thing, it extends up to Belfast and all so it does.

It took me a long while after moving down here to get used to the idea that bacon is something people eat with cabbage whereas rashers are what they fry with sausages and eggs.

Considering most people who wear them can't actually do so, calling those items of footwear runners is just daft. Trainers at least preserves the fiction that you're only building up to a full-blown actual run.

A cupboard is still a cupboard though, airing or otherwise.

"See you?" as a threatening remark is one that simply has no southern equivalent. The only way to explain it is that it's normally followed by "You're dead."

10/01/2007, 12:29 AM
Magicme, "so I did" isn't just a Monaghan thing, it extends up to Belfast and all so it does.Belfast(and Northeners in general) also say "See" as in "See what I was on about there" even though you can't see anything:D. Also say "wee" a lot, "theirs a good wee man" "hold on a wee minute".

10/01/2007, 8:56 AM
It took me a long while after moving down here to get used to the idea that bacon is something people eat with cabbage whereas rashers are what they fry with sausages and eggs.

Bacon is something you have with cabbage and something you fry with sausages & eggs but the cut of bacon that you fry is called a rasher. Nothing to get your knickers in a knot over.

10/01/2007, 9:23 AM
Your right wee Sligoman, us nordies do use wee alot you see.

I another thing that bugs me is particularly prevelent with my lil sis and my sons...."You know Dylan, he did...." course I feckin know Dylan, didnt I squeeze him outta me??? AGGGH.

Also another thing that doesnt really make sense is starting sentences with "Well" as in "Well missus, you going out tonite?"

stann
10/01/2007, 12:32 PM
I think mate was intended as the English substitute (the Irish way of saying it is first - gone to do the messages).

I'm only after having my dinner is one you wouldn't hear in England. And obviously the Irish words - slibhín, amadán and the likes.

That's even worse then! I never knew friend was a purely Irish word, ya truly do learn something new every day. ;) :D

That's a good one though Stu, even without the 'having' part. I'm only after me tea is a very common expression down this way.
There's a dictionary of Waterford slang out just recently down here, has a few choice words and phrases in it, most I suspect are common to most of the country, but some examples:

Shellackybooky - Snail
Lacksy Daisy - Lackadaisical
Blaa - Soul food :)
Yer go - A good hiding
Ya cuncha - You not very likeable person, you
and so on...

10/01/2007, 12:46 PM
That's even worse then! I never knew friend was a purely Irish word, ya truly do learn something new every day. ;) :D
Actually, now that you say it, I think you're right, not me. "Me mate" is the Irish-ism, but in England they use "mate" a lot too, just in a different way ("Ai maite!" Or is that Australia?). I think.

10/01/2007, 9:41 PM
omg- wrecks my head

"Of a Friday"

10/01/2007, 10:20 PM
I go playing football of a Sunday.

11/01/2007, 5:42 AM
"I do be"
I do be doing this, I do be doing that.

There used to be a saying when I was a young buck
"does be and do be is a sign of a boobie" :D

Also, don't know if it's just a Midlands/West dialect,

saying "pounding" for "pain/hurts"
saying "me" for "my"

as in ... me head is pounding - my head hurts

11/01/2007, 10:06 AM
Thats nearly as bad as people who finish their sentences with "you know". Drives me mad:mad:

Well tbh it's quite often "ya know like" here in Galway!
Sorry!:D

12/01/2007, 12:02 AM

Nah Remember lister in Red Dwarf using it in classic one liner about him drinking a yard of curry sauce to impress a bird and when rimmer asks him if he got off with her he says the only thing i got off was the Jacks about 3 hours later. Classic toilet humour literarly
then again Liverpool is the 33rd county of Ireland so maybee it was passed down by the immigrants

sonofstan
14/01/2007, 7:23 AM
in fairness.

there's another one; or, 'in all fairness'

and another i just heard; 'Weary' meaning 'wary'