View Full Version : Ever Fallen In Love...
06/01/2007, 9:50 PM
Have any of you heard a song that in your mind sounds so perfect, everything about that song clips so neatly in2 place and then you think that you will never ever get sick of that song.
i believe i have fallen for a song.. a quite discreet song.
L. Wells - Franz Ferdinand
Everything is just fantastic about it... and the video..
Any similar experiences?
Bully Bull
07/01/2007, 1:22 AM
Sigur Ros - Hoppipolla
Never grow tired of hearing that song.Always gives me a lift.
07/01/2007, 8:53 AM
Birdhouse In Your Soul by They Might Be Giants.
Can barely remember the video and don't want to as 'pop videos' are the devils work.
The song is perfect and timeless though.
07/01/2007, 10:27 AM
Babe I'm gonna leave you - Led Zeppelin
Neish
07/01/2007, 10:43 AM
Sigur Ros - Hoppipolla
Never grow tired of hearing that song.Always gives me a lift.
Agree 100%
Another two
At the River-Groove Armada
Unfinished Sympathy-Massive Attack
08/01/2007, 9:08 AM
Dam thought this was going to be a discussion on which version of "Ever Fallen in Love" was best. FYC win! Although do love the original by the Buzzcocks for its vim! Dont much like Pete Yorn's version in Shrek but it got my kids singing it. Just did a search on Wikipedia, jaysus there were loads of verisions! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ever_Fallen_in_Love%3F
Oh and back on topic, one of the most perfect moments in music, is High & Dry, Radiohead, or I am the Ressurection, Stone Roses. Another song that is timeless for me tho is Whipping Boy, Twinkle.
08/01/2007, 9:25 AM
Beetlebum - Blur
Tender - Blur
Down in the tube station at midnight- The Jam
Exit Music - Radiohead
08/01/2007, 9:29 AM
personal favourite: Black Star, Radiohead off the Bends. beautfiul stuff, along with Fake Plastic Trees, never fails to get shivers up the spine. same with Tears, Stone Roses.... most recent one to make me swoon. Maps by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs..
08/01/2007, 9:42 AM
Songs that i have discovered in the past six months that i have found myself playing over and over again
Maps - Yeah Yeah Yeahs - as Pauro said its beautiful
Apply Some Pressure - Maximo Park
Airbag - Radiohead
What Goes Around - Justin Timberlake
Sam's Town -The Killers
Read my Mind - The Killers
08/01/2007, 9:43 AM
Have any of you heard a song that in your mind sounds so perfect, everything about that song clips so neatly in2 place and then you think that you will never ever get sick of that song.
i believe i have fallen for a song.. a quite discreet song.
L. Wells - Franz Ferdinand
Everything is just fantastic about it... and the video..
Any similar experiences?Really want to hear it. I know it was a B side off the recent album. Was it the Bside to "Eleanor Put Your Boots On"?
Read my Mind - The Killers
thats an amazing song. Best song off the album by a mile. Justin Timberlake? seriously? although i have heard it's a belter. And anything with Scarlett Johannson in the video, i really cant fault.
08/01/2007, 9:52 AM
Really want to hear it. I know it was a B side off the recent album. Was it the Bside to "Eleanor Put Your Boots On"?
Its on youtube if you really want to hear it !
endabob1
08/01/2007, 10:04 AM
Uncertain - The Cranberries
If I can't change your mind - Sugar
08/01/2007, 12:36 PM
Dam thought this was going to be a discussion on which version of "Ever Fallen in Love" was best. FYC win! Although do love the original by the Buzzcocks for its vim! Dont much like Pete Yorn's version in Shrek but it got my kids singing it. Just did a search on Wikipedia, jaysus there were loads of verisions! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ever_Fallen_in_Love%3F
there was a bit of a pun intended.. i also love that song as well, i have only heard the buzzcocks version but still..
Blur - Blue Jeans
Gomez - Tijuana Lady
Godspeed You Black Emperor - East Hastings
Marvin Gaye - Save The Children/Mercy Mercy Me
Marvin Gaye - Oh Child
Marvin Gaye - Inner City Blues
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Maps
Closed Account 2
08/01/2007, 3:20 PM
Raindrops keep falling on my head - Manic Street Preachers
Born to Run - Springsteen
anto1208
08/01/2007, 4:29 PM
Tom Waits : I Hope That I Don't Fall In Love With You
almost brings me to tears
08/01/2007, 4:37 PM
Chasing Cars.
It may sound corny but it's true.It's really hard to describe but it's true.(some of the gufc posters on here will back me up on that)Also it's loved by a special girl to me aswell.:o
08/01/2007, 4:46 PM
Hurt by the cashmiester.
New ones I have found include:
Eric Clapton -Tears in Heaven (thanks sligoman)
Idaho - Nerina Pallot (strongly recommend anything from her,but this is my favourite)
08/01/2007, 5:45 PM
Smashing Pumpkins - a lot of the slower ones off Mellon Collie. Galapogos, Muzzle and In The Arms Of Sleep. Also throw in there Mayonnaise off Siamese Dream. Ill throw in Unintended - Muse and There Goes The Fear and The Man Who Told Everything by Doves. What the hell, Lucky Man by the Verve in there too. And Massive Attack, Safe From Harm.
Wow, beat to the punch by a lot of ye already.
I'd have Hoppipolla, Maps and Lucky Man in any list of such tunes.
Thinking for myself though: ;)
Airlock by Radioactive Man
Beautiful Freak by Eels
CF GF by Tindersticks
ah jaysus, hundreds more...
nedder
08/01/2007, 9:06 PM
Raindrops keep falling on my head - Manic Street Preachers
Born to Run - Springsteen
agreed, especially the live acoustic version ( Chimes of Freedom EP)
Paddyfield
08/01/2007, 10:21 PM
The Queen is dead - The Smiths (and every song on the album)
Born of frustration - James
Laid - James
Psycho Killer - Talking Heads
High and Dry - Radiohead
Are you ready to be heartbroken? - Lloyd Cole and Commotions
Brilliant mind - Furniture
09/01/2007, 7:57 AM
Thats freaky, I've had that song in my head all morning and I haven't heard it in years.
09/01/2007, 7:58 AM
I See You, You See Me - Magic Numbers
All I Need - Air
Roads - Portishead
09/01/2007, 8:34 AM
Chasing Cars.
It may sound corny but it's true.It's really hard to describe but it's true.(some of the gufc posters on here will back me up on that)Also it's loved by a special girl to me aswell.:o
Awww Conor didnt know u cared bout me that much!!! :p
Some great stuff there alright. Would have to add Nick Cave Into my Arms, my bro used it as first song at his wedding & it was just sooooo perfect. If I ever marry again (ha!) and the even more unlikely bit of having a "real" wedding I would have The Waterboys - A man is in love, Paul Weller - You do something to me or Relish - You I'm thinking of as my first dance. Gonna have to buy the Relish CDs again coz gave mine to a work colleague when he was leaving.
09/01/2007, 9:16 AM
Paul Weller - You do something to me is a lovely song alright.
09/01/2007, 9:34 AM
Smashing Pumpkins - a lot of the slower ones off Mellon Collie. Galapogos, Muzzle and In The Arms Of Sleep. .......................There Goes The Fear and The Man Who Told Everything by Doves.
Forgot about the Pumpkins. My LP of the nineties. To your choice cuts I'd add 'By Starlight'.
I picked up a brand new copy of Doves 'Last Broadcast' in Carrickmacross at Christmas. It cost me a fiver. Fantastic record.
Ah ...Brilliant Mind
reminds me of being 13 ...summer 86, a girl called Jo and her perfect ...diddys! :p :)
BRILLIANT MIND
I'm at the stage
Where everything I thought meant something
Seems so unappealing
I'm ready for the real thing
But nobody's selling
Except you and yours
Saying open up your eyes and ears
And let me in
You must be out of your brilliant mind
You're at the stage
You want your empty words heard
And everybody's ready
They want to know your secret
But you are not telling
You're just gesturing saying open up your arms and hearts
And let me in
I'm at the stage
Where I want my words heard
When no one wants to listen
Because everybody's yelling
About you and yours
And how I'd have the answer if I'd only open up, up, up
And let you in
They must be out of their brilliant minds
I said shame
Shame on you
Shame
Shame on you
Shame
Shame on you
And they must be out of their brilliant minds
Everyone out of their brilliant minds
I'm must be out of my brilliant mind
My brilliant mind
(Whelan/Irvin/Lee/Still)
09/01/2007, 9:40 AM
I picked up a brand new copy of Doves 'Last Broadcast' in Carrickmacross at Christmas. It cost me a fiver. Fantastic record.
Oi what was a Limerick man doing in Carrick??
09/01/2007, 9:42 AM
Oi what was a Limerick man doing in Carrick??
Umm ....I'm Santa?;)
09/01/2007, 9:44 AM
*sits on Lionel's knee & asks for the League Cup & first division winners medals for Mons for next Christmas*
09/01/2007, 9:58 AM
*sits on Lionel's knee & asks for the League Cup & first division winners medals for Mons for next Christmas*
I'm only Santa ...not a feckin' miracle worker.:p
Herself is a Mon ...which makes my boy half Mon. I looked into getting him a MonU shirt actually but it appears he's a bit too small (nearly 2).
This was in reprisal for the in-laws getting him a Monaghan Gah:eek: shirt which I pointed out to them is a garment very rarely worn by blokes ...training sessions aside.;)
09/01/2007, 9:59 AM
Forgot about the Pumpkins. My LP of the nineties. To your choice cuts I'd add 'By Starlight'.
Forgot about that one. The best thing about the album, so many emotions all across the album. Add “Tonight Tonight” to that too. Did I mention Massive Attack “Teardrop”?
09/01/2007, 10:11 AM
I'm only Santa ...not a feckin' miracle worker.:p
Herself is a Mon ...which makes my boy half Mon. I looked into getting him a MonU shirt actually but it appears he's a bit too small (nearly 2).
This was in reprisal for the in-laws getting him a Monaghan Gah:eek: shirt which I pointed out to them is a garment very rarely worn by blokes ...training sessions aside.;)
What a lovely child he must be! We have lovely Monaghan United T-Shirt for small kids and we mite have smaller sizes in the new strip that is coming out!
09/01/2007, 10:23 AM
What a lovely child he must be! We have lovely Monaghan United T-Shirt for small kids and we mite have smaller sizes in the new strip that is coming out!
Keep me posted!
Forgot about that one. The best thing about the album, so many emotions all across the album.
I think that's one of the reasons it started to lose them Gish and Siamese Dream era fans ...that it wasn't as uniform and also that the whole compression thing on the heavier tracks was drifting towards metal ...I agree with you though -it's what makes it a special record.
09/01/2007, 10:56 AM
I think that's one of the reasons it started to lose them Gish and Siamese Dream era fans ...that it wasn't as uniform and also that the whole compression thing on the heavier tracks was drifting towards metal ...I agree with you though -it's what makes it a special record.
I've always found it odd that Adore got slated as much as it did at the time, whilst losing the Pumpkins half their fanbase. For me any band that can produce three records as good as Siamese Dream, Mellon Collie and Adore should always have a place in any bodie's collection, yet thhey seem to be a bit forgotten these days. I mean I know Machina was a stinker of an album and all but still!
09/01/2007, 11:16 AM
What's A Telephone Bill? - Bootsy Collins
Crown Of Love - Arcade Fire
Little Red Corvette - Prince
Love Rollercoaster - Ohio Players
Hit It And Quit It - Funkadelic
Be Alright - Zapp
Int The Morning - The Coral
Love For The Sake Of Love - Claudja Barry
More Than A Woman - Beegees/Tavares
Jesus Of Suburbia - Green Day
Rocket Number Nine - SunRa
She Lives In My Lap - OutKast
The Whole World - OutKast
They are all songs I'd call perfect.
09/01/2007, 11:27 AM
I've always found it odd that Adore got slated as much as it did at the time, whilst losing the Pumpkins half their fanbase. For me any band that can produce three records as good as Siamese Dream, Mellon Collie and Adore should always have a place in any bodie's collection, yet thhey seem to be a bit forgotten these days. I mean I know Machina was a stinker of an album and all but still!
Adore was criminally under-rated. One of the most beautiful albums I’ve heard. And most of them had a theme of sadness as most of it was dedicated to his mother who passed away. Machina had a handful of good songs but all the other Pumpkins albums are classics.
09/01/2007, 11:30 AM
Anybody who doesn't get chills down there spine the first time they hear "I Wanna be Adored" is well, spineless I guess :)
Although it's cliche "There Is A Light" still does it for me every time aswell
09/01/2007, 11:37 AM
Generally I'd take this as my top ten Pumpkins songs I'd reckon, but Adore would probably be my favourite record of theirs
Perfect, Crestfallen, Appels + oranjes, blank page, by starlight, love, 1979, mayonaise, said sadly, jupiter's lament
all though what order I'd put those in is beyond me
Paddyfield
09/01/2007, 5:34 PM
Ah ...Brilliant Mind
BRILLIANT MIND
I'm at the stage
Where everything I thought meant something
Seems so unappealing
I'm ready for the real thing
But nobody's selling
Except you and yours
Saying open up your eyes and ears
And let me in
You're at the stage
You want your empty words heard
And everybody's ready
They want to know your secret
But you are not telling
You're just gesturing saying open up your arms and hearts
And let me in
I'm at the stage
Where I want my words heard
When no one wants to listen
Because everybody's yelling
About you and yours
And how I'd have the answer if I'd only open up, up, up
And let you in
They must be out of their brilliant minds
I said shame
Shame on you
Shame
Shame on you
Shame
Shame on you
And they must be out of their brilliant minds
Everyone out of their brilliant minds
I'm must be out of my brilliant mind
My brilliant mind
(Whelan/Irvin/Lee/Still)
Here's the video...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1JeEXP717T0
Oi what was a Limerick man doing in Carrick??Robbing :D
Only joking
Who wants to live forever - Queen .
And more recently The Raconteurs - Together.
10/01/2007, 8:04 AM
This morning on my MP3 player
Country - Paul Weller
10/01/2007, 8:19 AM
Anybody who doesn't get chills down there spine the first time they hear "I Wanna be Adored" is well, spineless I guess :)
Although it's cliche "There Is A Light" still does it for me every time aswell
They are spineless if they dont get the chill everytime they hear the opening bars on "I wanna be Adored"
As for me "Waiting" by the Devlins is better than "there is a light"....never seems to be a light at the end of my tunnel, am just always waiting!
10/01/2007, 9:41 AM
They are spineless if they dont get the chill everytime they hear the opening bars on "I wanna be Adored"
As for me "Waiting" by the Devlins is better than "there is a light"....never seems to be a light at the end of my tunnel, am just always waiting!
And now it's all Eva Cassidy
And aphids in Picardy
And so I can only ascertain
That the light at the end of the tunnel
Is the light of an oncoming train
10/01/2007, 10:41 AM
If only the train would hurry and put me outta me feckin misery!!!!!
Belle & Sebastian - This is just a modern rock song
Beta Band - Dry the Rain
Morrissey - Everyday is like Sunday
These are songs I have to repeat every time I listen to them.
10/01/2007, 11:17 AM
PJ Harvey - Good Fortune is a good one for repeating listening.
10/01/2007, 11:34 AM
never seems to be a light at the end of my tunnel, am just always waiting!You've loads of time
Shur it never goes out ;) :)
Robbing :D
Nah
Been there, done that
There's no electrical goods or cars or anything valuable to steal :)
GuisaSaigon
10/01/2007, 11:38 AM
the more i get the more i want - east west connection
fools gold - stone roses
the sea - morcheeba
reefer jones - judas diary
the only one i know - the charlatans
sometimes (masters at work mix) - brand new heavies
stann
10/01/2007, 12:12 PM
Forgot Nearer Than Heaven by The Delays!
How, I don't know. Suitably chastised. :o