View Full Version : Ireland to play Ecuador and Bolivia in May

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

DeNiro
11/04/2007, 3:48 PM
I wonder how many sunderland players will go on this tour? That'll be an interesting squad. I'd say Stokes and maybe Elliott. Can't see Connolly making it.

Noelys Guitar
12/04/2007, 5:42 PM
I called the Boston venue today (April 12th) and they told me they should have full details of tickets within the next 7 days for the Bolivia game. You have to leave a message and then they call you back.

DeNiro
17/04/2007, 12:59 PM
McGeady and O'Dea out of summer tour due to Scottish Cup Final. As is Duff. We could possibly count out O'Shea and Finnan as well.

I'm sure we'll have people involved in the playoffs in Championship. Equally managers will withdraw players. Hard to call a squad at this stage. Might be for the best if some of the regulars don't go. I presume the Denmark game in August will take on a greater significance as it will be the only real warm up before the two crunch ties in September.

17/04/2007, 1:46 PM
McGeady and O'Dea out of summer tour due to Scottish Cup Final. As is Duff. We could possibly count out O'Shea and Finnan as well.

I'm sure we'll have people involved in the playoffs in Championship. Equally managers will withdraw players. Hard to call a squad at this stage. Might be for the best if some of the regulars don't go. I presume the Denmark game in August will take on a greater significance as it will be the only real warm up before the two crunch ties in September.

Damn, wanted to see McGeady given another chance on the right.
I'd imagine Hunt will start on the left so, with McGeady and Duff out.

youngirish
17/04/2007, 1:47 PM
S Quinn should be available on the left also. Probably will start one of the games though it could depend on how he performs in the last few games of the season.

17/04/2007, 1:53 PM
Have to be honest and would be delighted if we brought the backup first team squad and the B squad as they could gain invalkuable experience, particularily if he keeps up with this bullshyte of working towards 2010.
At least at the time of the Denmark friendly he would have a fair idea of what players he wants for the double header in Sept.

danonion
17/04/2007, 11:05 PM
I'd imagine C. Doyle will play one game and Kenny the other, as Given is ruled out. Doubt Keane will go, Kilbane or Dunne will probably captain the side

DeNiro
22/04/2007, 11:58 AM
Just watching Birmingham v Wolves. Doyle and Keogh both look excellent. There was talk of a premiership move for Doyle if if Birmingham don't go up. Keogh is a very busy front player and knows where the goal is as well. Jack Charlton would have loved him.

Irish_Praha
22/04/2007, 1:59 PM
Whatever the final squad will be it would be worth Staunton's while to have a short press conference to announce the squad, to clear up why some players are excluded and some included. At this stage sections of the media and fans will of course criticise him whatever squad he chooses. Just as long as he has some valid excuses ready and not something stupid like "Robbie never plays well in the last week of May so I decided to leave him at home" A few made up injuries would do the trick.

IMO he could leave O'Shea, Finnan, Keane and Kilbane at home.
Duff and Given are injured and McGeady and O'Dea are ruled out. There is the potential for Keogh, Miller, Stokes, Connolly and others to be involved in the play-offs. So there will be 5 to 10 players gone from the last squad.

Chances for Alan Lee, O'Donovan, Garvan, McCarthy (if he makes a return), S. Quinn, Randolf, Kenny, Tabb, Kelly

22/04/2007, 2:34 PM
RTÉ will be showing both games on the US tour.
From http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=12&si=1817678

A further coup in the national station's strong soccer portfolio is the securing of rights to all the Republic of Ireland's remaining away games in the Euro 2008 qualifiers and their friendlies in the USA next month.

"We will be showing the Ecuador game live from New York," said Killane. "It's a Wednesday night game which will mean a 1.0 Thursday morning show for us. The Bolivia game is on Saturday and we are showing deferred coverage, starting at 11.30."

theworm2345
22/04/2007, 4:46 PM
I can fly Southwest to Manchester, New Hampshire or to Providence, Rhode Island which are both about an hour's drive from Boston (at least that is what I am told). Would it be sensible to fly in and out of those two places? Would there be a train that could take me to Boston? Last, what time is the Boston game?

EDIT: The purple line of the MBTA goes through Foxboro and Providence, so that will serve me well if I can get a Southwest Fun Fare to Providence

I wonder how many sunderland players will go on this tour? That'll be an interesting squad. I'd say Stokes and maybe Elliott. Can't see Connolly making it.
Normally, in this situation I would actually agree with you (as he hasn't been scoring), however, Stokes and Elliott have not been scoring either, Murphy does deserve it, and hopefully Sunderland will go up automatically. Ward and Keogh (hopefully) will be involved with the playoffs. Long has not been scoring either, and I've heard Keane is not likely to go. Against everything I just said though, this is an opportunity to play younger people like Murphy, maybe Billy Clarke, Jon Daly, even Terry Dixon maybe so I can't really expect him to be picked.

23/04/2007, 2:43 PM
RTÉ will be showing both games on the US tour.
Thanks Tets - I think your DVD burner may need to be called into use again! I can't get RTE I'm afraid.

23/04/2007, 2:48 PM
Assuming it's going to be available for download somewhere, yeah, I'll burn off a few copies

theworm2345
08/05/2007, 1:20 AM
Squads out tomorrow

http://soccerscene.ie/p2036.html

08/05/2007, 9:00 AM
from http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=12&si=1826610

Colin Doyle and Wayne Henderson, who faced each other in Championship action last Sunday, may soon be paired together on international duty.

Steve Staunton is today expected to name the two goalkeepers in Ireland squad for the forthcoming friendly games in the US. The Irish meet Ecuador in New York on May 23 and Bolivia in Boston three days later.

With Shay Given ruled out, Doyle (Birmingham) and Henderson (Preston) are expected to share the goalkeeping duties.

Staunton must plan without several other players. Damien Duff is also ruled out by injury; Paul McShane and Andy Keogh are involved in the Championship play-offs; Celtic pair Darren O'Dea and Aiden McGeady have a Scottish Cup final date on Saturday week, when Manchester United's John O'Shea will be hoping to play in the English FA Cup final; and Liverpool's Steve Finnan has the Champions League final.

Wigan's Caleb Folan, Preston's Sean St Ledger and Sunderland's Daryl Murphy are amongst the players likely to earn their first caps.

Staunton is understood to be keen to invite US-based Irish players to train with the squad. Toronto FC's Ronnie O'Brien, New England duo Bryan Byrne and Michael Parkhurst and Notre Dame striker Joe Lapira are all expected to join in.

Dr. Ogba
08/05/2007, 9:54 AM
Bryan Byrne???? Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't he a Kildare County reject?

Surely a pointless call-up...:confused:

bawn79
08/05/2007, 9:56 AM
Any idea what time the squad is being announced?

08/05/2007, 10:06 AM
Bryan Byrne???? Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't he a Kildare County reject?

Surely a pointless call-up...:confused:

You're not wrong...

RogerMilla
08/05/2007, 10:16 AM
stan will just use them as extra bodies for training purposes i'm sure...

08/05/2007, 10:17 AM
Save the FAI some travel costs

DeNiro
08/05/2007, 10:22 AM
This will be an interesting squad. I reckon the american based guys are only training, but if one shows any sort of ability I reckon we might see more of him. I wonder will Lee Frecklington and Lewis Emmanuel be called up?

republicofwhite
08/05/2007, 11:31 AM
I sincerely hope Folan doesn't get called up, considering the embarrassment of riches we have up front at the moment. He has been absolutely hopeless for Wigan, and completely lacks ability of any sense.It would be the rpoverbial crying shame if he's called up ahead of the likes of Roy O'Donovan, and I'm as far from a dyed in the wool Eircom Leaguester as you can get!

kingdom hoop
08/05/2007, 11:43 AM
It would be the rpoverbial crying shame if he's called up ahead of the likes of Roy O'Donovan, and I'm as far from a dyed in the wool Eircom Leaguester as you can get!

Eircom league will be on going at the time so I'd imagine that won't happen. Though the MLS will be as well.

Agree on Folan though, reminds me of a new born horse (foal - geddit:o ) trying to find his feet.

soccerc
08/05/2007, 11:49 AM
I sincerely hope Folan doesn't get called up, considering the embarrassment of riches we have up front at the moment. He has been absolutely hopeless for Wigan, and completely lacks ability of any sense.It would be the rpoverbial crying shame if he's called up ahead of the likes of Roy O'Donovan, and I'm as far from a dyed in the wool Eircom Leaguester as you can get!Stephen Staunton has included 9 uncapped players as part of the Republic of Ireland squad which will travel to America later this month to play two friendlies against Ecuador and Bolivia.

Colin Doyle (Birmingham), Seán St Ledger (Preston), Alex Bruce (Ipswich Town), Derek Geary (Sheffield Utd), Joseph O’Cearuill (Arsenal), Darren Potter (Wolves), Caleb Folan (Wigan Athletic), Daryl Murphy (Sunderland) and Andy Keogh (Wolves) have all been drafted into the squad for the games on May 23 and 26.

Manager Staunton has named 23 players in his provisional squad, which will be finalised after the Championship play-off semi-final between Wolves and West Bromwich Albion.

Speaking at the announcement, Stephen Staunton said: “This is an opportunity for players to stake a claim to be in the squad when the Euro 2008 campaign resumes in the Autumn. It will give me and the management team a chance to look at these players up close and it will also give them valuable international experience”.

The Republic of Ireland play Ecuador in Giants Stadium, New York on Wed, May 23 (kick off 8.00pm local time/1.00am Irish time) while on Saturday, May 26 they take on Bolivia in Gillette Stadium, Boston (kick off 4.00pm local time/9.00pm Irish time)

Republic of Ireland Squad to play Ecuador and Bolivia, May 2007

Name Club DOB Caps Goals

Nicky Colgan Barnsley 19/09/73 8 -

Wayne Henderson Preston North End 16/09/83 4 -

Colin Doyle Birmingham City 12/08/85 0 -

Stephen Kelly Birmingham City 06/09/83 3 0

Paul McShane WestBromwichAlbion01/06/86 5 0

Sean St Ledger Preston North End 28/12/84 0 0

Alex Bruce Ipswich Town 28/09/84 0 0

Derek Geary Sheffield Utd 19/06/80 0 0

Joseph O’Cearuill Arsenal 09/02/87 0 0

John O’Shea Manchester United 30/04/81 38 1

Kevin Kilbane Wigan Athletic 01/02/77 78 7

Darren Potter Wolves 21/12/84 0 0

Stephen Ireland Manchester City 22/08/86 5 3

Stephen Hunt Reading 01/08/81 3 0

Alan O’Brien Newcastle United 20/02/85 4 0

Kevin Doyle Reading 18/09/83 7 2

Shane Long Reading 22/07/87 2 0

Caleb Folan Wigan Athletic 26/10/82 0 0

Daryl Murphy Sunderland 15/03/83 0 0

Stephen Elliott Sunderland 06/01/84 9 1

Liam Miller Sunderland 13/02/81 13 1

Anthony Stokes Sunderland 25/07/88 1 0

Andy Keogh Wolves 16/05/86 0 0

08/05/2007, 11:53 AM
Nicky Colgan - Barnsley
Wayne Henderson - Preston North End
Colin Doyle - Birmingham City

Stephen Kelly - Birmingham City
Paul McShane - WestBromwichAlbion
Sean St Ledger - Preston North End
Alex Bruce - Ipswich Town
Derek Geary - Sheffield Utd
Joseph O’Cearuill - Arsenal
John O’Shea - Manchester United

Kevin Kilbane - Wigan Athletic
Darren Potter - Wolves
Stephen Ireland Manchester City
Stephen Hunt - Reading
Alan O’Brien - Newcastle United
Liam Miller - Sunderland

Kevin Doyle - Reading
Shane Long – Reading
Caleb Folan - Wigan Athletic
Daryl Murphy - Sunderland
Stephen Elliott - Sunderland
Anthony Stokes - Sunderland
Andy Keogh - Wolves

Strange squad. Miller seems to be the only player capable of playing the holding role, maybe Potter.

greatbleddyman
08/05/2007, 11:55 AM
Can count himself extremely unlucky!

08/05/2007, 11:59 AM
John O’Shea - Manchester United
Darren Potter - Wolves
Andy Keogh - Wolves

Surely all going to pull out because of Cup finals and play offs?

Alan O’Brien - Newcastle United:confused:

bwagner
08/05/2007, 12:05 PM
what happened to looking at a few yankie boys and ronnie o brien....never a better time then now

youngirish
08/05/2007, 12:05 PM
Some astonishingly illogical choices as usual from du gaffur.

1. Alan O'Brien instead of Stephen Quinn.
2. No place for Leon Best a player if he really believed in his building for 2010 bull he should really be trying to get to commit to Ireland before he's drafted into the England U21s. Best could easily be playing and scoring in the Premiership next season. Again why in similar circumstances did he draft Terry Dixon into the squad? No consistenty.
3. No place for Owen Garvan who is younger and more talented than either Darren Potter or Liam Miller.
4. Nicky Colgan instead of Shane Supple?
5. Caleb Folan is pants and shouldn't be included. How many strikers do we need? If we need one more then take Best as detailed above or Roy O'Donovan.

08/05/2007, 12:06 PM
Agree entirely about Glenn Whelan, likewise O'Donovan unless his club commitments took precedent. Owen Garvan should have been in with a shout. I think Leon Best should also be there. Stange that some play off contenders are there and others aren't.

Nick Colgan must be in a position to blackmail somebody in the FAI. I am utterly dumbfounded by this.

I'm really disappointed by this squad.

08/05/2007, 12:08 PM

I assume he sorted that out as there's no Celtic players included because of the Scottish cup final.

Why is Kilbane included?

We're probably best to keep Whelan's name out of the limelight. Stan is so stubborn that if his name is constantly brought up he'll have less chance of a call up. :)

Metrostars
08/05/2007, 12:09 PM

Manager Staunton has named 23 players in his provisional squad, which will be finalised after the Championship play-off semi-final between Wolves and West Bromwich Albion.

Playoff schedule:
Saturday, 12 May 2007
Southampton v Derby, 12:00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday, 13 May 2007
Wolverhampton v West Brom, 12:00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, 15 May 2007
Derby v Southampton, 19:45

Wednesday, 16 May 2007
West Brom v Wolverhampton, 19:45

Monday, 28 May 2007
Southampton/Derby v Wolverhampton/West Brom, 15:00

So basically this means that if West Brom wins the playoff, Potter & Keogh will go on the trip, if Wolves win, McShane does. In any case it is strange because either Potter & Keogh or McShane are definetely not going.

08/05/2007, 12:10 PM
Alan O'Brien must have some very good photos of Stan is all I can think of!

08/05/2007, 12:11 PM
I find the squad a little worrying actually. I thought he had learnt after Cyprus. He doesn't seem to distinguish between the holding midfielders, attacking midfielders, box to box midfielders. They're just all central midfielders to him it seems.

youngirish
08/05/2007, 12:13 PM
I find the squad a little worrying actually. I thought he had learnt after Cyprus. He doesn't seem to distinguish between the holding midfielders, attacking midfielders, box to box midfielders. They're just all central midfielders to him it seems.

It's also ridiculous to have 7 strikers in an international squad. Wouldn't be surprised if he only plays 4-5-1 anyway.

08/05/2007, 12:14 PM
Douglas out on his ear too , unless he is one of Stans core men that have been allowed to skip it.Be interesting to see Geary at left back , He's probably the only of the uncapped players that I think could do a job for us in the current campaign

08/05/2007, 12:19 PM
Also, I guess this means Stokes is out of the U-19 squad, as expected?

08/05/2007, 12:21 PM
I'm really disappointed by this squad.

When was the last squad where somebody didn't say that?

08/05/2007, 12:23 PM
Alan O'Brien selection is due to the influence of Pat Devlin on Stan.

Whelan should be considered, he has had a great season. Owen Garvan should have been brought also. Why does he bother to bring Colgan instead of Supple and Logan.

08/05/2007, 12:35 PM
Why does he bother to bring Colgan instead of Supple and Logan.

Building for the future:confused: 4-year plan:confused:

You could go mad trying to work out the logic behind Staunton's squad selections. :eek:

youngirish
08/05/2007, 12:39 PM
Building for the future:confused: 4-year plan:confused:

You could go mad trying to work out the logic behind Staunton's squad selections. :eek:
Just proves what we already know. He doesn't have a clue. I fear that we won those two games a few weeks ago in spite of him rather than because of him.

He doesn't seem to have any idea of how Irish players are performing for their teams and what talent is available.

Noelys Guitar
08/05/2007, 12:41 PM
"Hes got pace" Its like when a manager has bought a player for loads of money. Turns out to be crap but must justify the fee by playing him! Cue Stan and O'Brien. Anyone going to the game in New Jersey should meet up at the "Grassphopper Also" across from Giants Stadium. Owner from Roscommon and when I was living there always showed the Ireland games no matter how many people came in. I hope to make it over.

Wolfie
08/05/2007, 12:52 PM
The Missing List:

Ruled out through injury:

Damien Duff
Shay Given
Steven Reid
Andy Reid
Joey O'Brien
Kevin Foley
Jonathan Douglas
Stephen Elliott
Ian Harte

According to this mornings "Metro" the following will not travel "due to club commitments":

Robbie Keane
Aidan McGeady
Darren O'Dea
Steve Finnan
John O'Shea

Speculation that Reading are keen to rest all of their players during close season so could lose Doyle, Hunt and Long as well...............

08/05/2007, 12:53 PM
Nicky Colgan - Barnsley
Wayne Henderson - Preston North End
Colin Doyle - Birmingham City
Stephen Kelly - Birmingham City
Sean St Ledger - Preston North End
Alex Bruce - Ipswich Town
Derek Geary - Sheffield Utd
Joseph O'Cearuill - Arsenal
John O'Shea - Manchester United
Kevin Kilbane - Wigan Athletic
Darren Potter - Wolves
Stephen Ireland Manchester City
Stephen Hunt - Reading
Alan O'Brien - Newcastle United
Kevin Doyle - Reading
Shane Long - Reading
Caleb Folan - Wigan Athletic
Daryl Murphy - Sunderland
Stephen Elliott - Sunderland
Liam Miller - Sunderland
Anthony Stokes - Sunderland
Andy Keogh - Wolves

a lot of strikers!!!

kingdom hoop
08/05/2007, 1:01 PM
Oh so easy to look at the many negatives, so positives from my perspective;

'O'Cearuill' - set to be first Irish (Gaelic) variant of a surname to don the jersey, afaik. Now that is cause for celebration. :)

Dr. Ogba
08/05/2007, 1:13 PM
Garvan, Whelan, McCann, Supple, Clarke, Kevin Foley, David Bell (supposed to be playing great for Luton despite being relegated), Paddy McCarthy, S. Quinn, Logan, Jay Tabb even??

Edit: Add Michael Doyle to that list, the type of combative midfielder that we need.

I don't care who we are playing but a potential CM combination of Ireland and Potter is likely to be completely and utterly overrun...

Ah welcome back pessimism, I've missed ye....

08/05/2007, 1:21 PM
There's a fine array of young talent in the squad alright, but from that list of players there's no central midfield combo that could hold its own. Given the players available Potter or O'Shea would have to play CM, if not both.

Joey O'Brien clearly isn't back training yet

republicofwhite
08/05/2007, 2:10 PM
So disheartened by this squad. Particularly with Colgan, Alan O'Brien and Folan included, I've never seen a more perfect example of regress rather than progress. Garvan has been outstanding in recent weeks, Whelan was player of the season at Wednesday, even someone like George O'Callaghan has a right to be there ahead of some of those players. Why does he call up Randolph in one squad, and then call up Colgan in the next, and completely ignore Supple, who is been heralded as probably the most talented of all our burgeoning netminders. Alex Bruce is ropey at best, but I suppose centre halves are thin on the ground. Its a shocking squad, I'm expecting some embarrassing results out of this now.

bawn79
08/05/2007, 2:21 PM
I think the best we can hope for is that a number of these guys pull out, its a bit like recalling Carsley this is was done against Stauntons "best" judgement.
So hopefully as lads pull out due to injury and the playoffs/cup finals then others will be called in.
I think this is a perfect time to try and solve the problem positions in midfield. I've never seen Garvan play but from what I hear could be very interesting to see how he gets on, Whelan likewise.

Ceirtlis
08/05/2007, 2:47 PM
Its a mickey mouse squad for mickey mouse games. Some of the selections are shocking, i thought stan had got over the downright bizarre selections like alan o brien.