View Full Version : San Marino reccie mission

Mento
04/01/2007, 6:02 PM
Myself and another YBIG member are heading to San Marino in 2 weeks.
We arrive on Thursday morning and leave Saturday.
The plan is a day and night in San Marino and the same in Rimini.
We will suss out the bars, restaurants, transport and all the usual things worth knowing.
There will be a guide in the fanzine for the match in Feb
Any other things we should check out, let me know.

Sligo Hornet
05/01/2007, 6:25 AM
Myself and another YBIG member are heading to San Marino in 2 weeks.
We arrive on Thursday morning and leave Saturday.
The plan is a day and night in San Marino and the same in Rimini.
We will suss out the bars, restaurants, transport and all the usual things worth knowing.
There will be a guide in the fanzine for the match in Feb
Any other things we should check out, let me know.

With a large group heading to Bologna......any chance of a v short reccie there?:confused:

citizenerased
05/01/2007, 9:01 AM
nah san marino and rimini will suffice, cheers man!!!!!!!!!

Paulie
05/01/2007, 9:34 AM
There's an area in San Marino called Borgo Maggiore which seems to have a couple of bars (one of them is called Posto Pubblico). They seem to open quite late though (8 or 9pm) which is sort of useless. Will they be opening any earlier on Tuesday or Wednesday on account of the game and the Irish supporters? To be honest they'd really need to be opening at 2 or 3pm.

Is Rimini completely dead at this time of year, especially mid-week, or is there much craic about?

Cheers.

Collyontour
05/01/2007, 10:22 AM
Off-licences as well

Mento
05/01/2007, 3:13 PM
cheers all, unfortunately dont think we will make it to bologna

Mento
05/01/2007, 3:15 PM
sorry, my mate has just informed me that we fly to bologna on way over.
so we will suss out transport etc, dont know if we are doing a night there yet, we have to sit down and plan it this weekend

07/01/2007, 1:41 PM
that's great! Yeah transport would be good. Pubs are not important, our group don't drink :eek: :D

This is a great idea cos San marino does not have so much info on the web, kind of hard to find stuff on it

cheers

Babysis
07/01/2007, 4:21 PM
that's great! Yeah transport would be good. Pubs are not important, our group don't drink

This is a great idea cos San marino does not have so much info on the web, kind of hard to find stuff on it

cheers

Great idea, should be useful, any information is of help:)

Green Tribe I assume your no longer travelling with me if your not drinking :D
Looking forward to it:)

Beavis
07/01/2007, 8:41 PM
Could yiz look out for any dodgy car rental places ie. that might accept a provisional licence.
I failed my test again and its kinda blown our whole transport arrangements:o

Mento
08/01/2007, 10:38 AM
Could yiz look out for any dodgy car rental places ie. that might accept a provisional licence.
I failed my test again and its kinda blown our whole transport arrangements:o

willdo, where you travelling from

Beavis
08/01/2007, 1:12 PM
Cheers, for the record I'm a super driver but the system is all wrong:D . Into Bologna on the Tuesday but too late to get public transport and could badly use a van for transport and sleeping.

08/01/2007, 2:13 PM
you will do very well to find any place that will let you off on a provisional, especially considering most rental places dont allow anyone less than a year on a full license....

Mento
21/01/2007, 1:40 PM
After a hectic few days of heavy drinking, this is what I can say

RIMINI
All the bars we went in to didn't know about the match but do now. They usually open at 7 but don't worry, we tuned them in to open early. The Bounty and The Rose and Crown are definately the two in Rimini, question is which one? They are less than a minute walk from each other which is handy.
So maybe people can read this and then decide.
THE BOUNTY
Quality bar, very big with tasty beer at 4.50 a pint. No live music but we can bring CDs and they will be played.
It's Italian and has a Union Jack hanging on thr front (because the pub is named after a Marlon Brando film, i think.)
Manager Julianno is sound (gave us loads of free beer:) ) and he says we can replace the Union Jack with the Tri Colour.
They will open at 2 while we are there and serve till whenever we want basically, but we are hoping he will change opening hour to 11. Basically if enough people will be there, he will open

ROSE AND CROWN
Real English bar and again large in size.
We told Pam behind the bar the story and she rang us the next day
They are opeining at 11 o clock and are offering 10 per cent off all pints and food for the Irish.
They also have live music and we will be talking to her again in a couple of days to see what sort of band they can arrange (she mentioned "an Irish folk band")

Good food in both bars with similar prices.
For me, ther Bounty is a a better pub but maybe the earlier opening hours, live music and discounts will favour the Rose and Crown.
We will be talking to Bounty manager tomorrow or next day so when we tell him bout ther Rose and Crown, im sure he will open at 11 and do a discount as well

PINTE PUB
Right across the road from the National Hotel. Small bar and Paulo says it will be 3 quid a pint of lager and 10 per cent off all food. Good place to start off maybe

OTHER STUFF
The main area in Rimini is the marina area where all the hotels are along the beach road.
There is a McDonalds at one end of the road (10 min walk from the bounty and rose and crown)
There is also a pharmacy and a few restaurants.

THE GUIDE FOR YBIG SHOULD BE DONE BY THURSDAY OR FRIDAY SO EVERYONE CAN THEN SEE THE PDFS, COMPLETE WITH PICS ETC.

It's a pity the Barge is closed, looked like a good spot.
The fact that bounty and the Crown are close by should help, what do people think?

By the way it was sunny and 18 degrees there, but we were told that it aint normally that warm at this time of the year.

Mento
21/01/2007, 1:45 PM
eh, nothing there.

We saw a few bars that looked more like your kitchen that would fit about 10 people.
We asked taxi man to take us to lively spot with bars etc. He brought us right up to the top of the mountain and said there it is.
We looked over at 2 ****ty cafe bars and a couple of shops.
Excellent views from the hill top, but couldn't find any good 'meeting spot' for the fans.
Maybe a few pints in Rimini before the game might be a better option.
Taxis from Rimini to San Marino are 40 quid. But we got one back for 30. Some taxis WILL rip you off.
Bus from Rmini to San Marino is 4 quid. The time table will be in the guide

Mento
21/01/2007, 1:51 PM
Cluricaune is a quality bar.
All Italian staff, very big with four different bars.
Every Tuesday is a student night and happy hour all night so pints will be bout 3.50/4.0.
Student ID must be shown but after a little chat they agreed that there is a discount for all Irish fans.
Good food.
This bar is so big that maybe one of the Bolognites can e mail the manager and tell him to reserve one of the sections so that you dont have to mix with the students.
Ill post his e mail address tomorrow.
Taxis are very dear here, but arrive in less than 3 minutes after you ring them. Ill post taxi number tomorrow.

The Auld Dubliner is a small cafe bar and that's all really.

Mento
21/01/2007, 1:55 PM
Only there for a few hours on the way home but Finnegans is a quality bar.
Very central, five mins walk from the colosseum, 10 mins bus to Vatican.
Managed by Harry from Belfast and owned by and Irishman, Michael. They want to get a game against the fans on the Thursday or Friday after the match, either 5, 8 or 11-a-side

21/01/2007, 9:53 PM
By the way it was sunny and 18 degrees there, but we were told that it aint normally that warm at this time of the year.
Supposed to be snowing come the end of the week, according to wunderground.com. Can only imagine that San Marino would be colder still, what with being a few miles inland and 2000 feet up.

Cheers for the info though!

PaulB
22/01/2007, 9:21 AM
eh, nothing there.

We saw a few bars that looked more like your kitchen that would fit about 10 people.
We asked taxi man to take us to lively spot with bars etc. He brought us right up to the top of the mountain and said there it is.
Excellent views from the hill top, but couldn't find any good 'meeting spot' for the fans.
Taxis from Rimini to San Marino are 40 quid. But we got one back for 30. Some taxis WILL rip you off.

Well bugger that. May have to look at Plan B

Collyontour
22/01/2007, 4:24 PM
eh, nothing there.

Cheers Mento

Cancelled our accomodation in San Marino and staying in Rimini instead. Bring on the Bounty

Babysis
22/01/2007, 9:59 PM
Just so you know, it looks like we will be running a smaller bus along side our 77 seter bus from Rimni to San Marino due to demand.
If your interested in seats, let us know

cheers

Danny
23/01/2007, 8:38 AM
Pg 21 of todays star has a good write up with the YBIG lads.

"Come on you Booze in Green"

23/01/2007, 4:47 PM

Just seen that there, pretty big article...........

23/01/2007, 6:07 PM

lol! :D
Mento i know it is perched on top of a big hill, but was there no square or loitering area for us boozers, non? :p

Mento
23/01/2007, 6:35 PM
lol! :D
Mento i know it is perched on top of a big hill, but was there no square or loitering area for us boozers, non? :p

The very very top of the hill there is a couple of small cafe type bars on a small pedestrian street.
Maybe, people could visit this with bags of cans etc. It's bout 20 mins away from stadium and there is lovely views

If i had to choose, there is a sizeable car park beside the stadium. For those who dont have alcohol, there is an off license about 10 minutes down the main road (down the hill)

Personally, i will stay in the bounty till at least 6ish

23/01/2007, 6:56 PM
The very very top of the hill there is a couple of small cafe type bars on a small pedestrian street.
Maybe, people could visit this with bags of cans etc. It's bout 20 mins away from stadium and there is lovely views

If i had to choose, there is a sizeable car park beside the stadium. For those who dont have alcohol, there is an off license about 10 minutes down the main road (down the hill)

but you won't see much view-wise if you leave bounty at 6pm. It'll be dark. :eek:

Babysis
23/01/2007, 7:02 PM

Well we are kinda needing to sort out the bus times mento - but we werent planning on leaving Rimini that late AFAIK

23/01/2007, 7:07 PM
Well we are kinda needing to sort out the bus times mento - but we werent planning on leaving Rimini that late AFAIK

yeah that would get us there about 1840 ..not much time for people to look around san marino

Babysis
23/01/2007, 7:10 PM
The genral feeling from everyone on the bus that replied to my pm was to leave Rimini about 3-4pm!! Suits me as this gives us a couple of hours in San Marino. But nothing has been confirmed yet.

23/01/2007, 7:30 PM
http://www.travelnotes.org/Travel/images/san_marino.jpg
somwhere like this is the only place i can find to meet up in san marino, :eek: :confused:
assume this is place where cafes and the viewpoint is

Mento
23/01/2007, 10:17 PM
ye 6 is maybe pushing it a bit
bag up on the cans so

citizenerased
23/01/2007, 10:17 PM
That looks grand for a bit of banter

Mento
23/01/2007, 10:19 PM
its something very similar alright but dont remember that statue in the middle there.
I have pics of it if someone talks me through how i can put them up here

AidoP
24/01/2007, 8:40 AM
Hey we are staying in the Marina Centro area of Rimini so we would like to know where the meet-up pub is in relation to this area?

AidoM
24/01/2007, 9:11 AM
Hey we are staying in the Marina Centro area of Rimini so we would like to know where the meet-up pub is in relation to this area?

There isn't a meet up pub for that area. :confused: There'e only one (with a possible trailing second second) meet up pub in Rimini and that's the Bounty:eek: :D

AidoP
24/01/2007, 9:23 AM
There isn't a meet up pub for that area. :confused: There'e only one (with a possible trailing second second) meet up pub in Rimini and that's the Bounty:eek: :D

Ok thanks. Do you know where the Bounty is in relation to Marina Centro? How big is Rimini anyway?

samabu92
24/01/2007, 9:54 AM
Ok thanks. Do you know where the Bounty is in relation to Marina Centro? How big is Rimini anyway?

Were in Marino Centro area in Hotels Ariosto and Poker and going by the map they look only a 5-10 min walk to the Bounty:)

Sligo Hornet
24/01/2007, 10:02 AM
http://www.travelnotes.org/Travel/images/san_marino.jpg
somwhere like this is the only place i can find to meet up in san marino, :eek: :confused:
assume this is place where cafes and the viewpoint is

Agreed GT.....this looks the ideal spot (assuming one or two of the "shops" pictured are "Off-Licences".:) .......how far to stadium from this Meeting-Point?

Mento
24/01/2007, 10:55 AM

The Bounty is in the Marina centre, so you will be close.
What hotel are ya staying in?

AidoM
24/01/2007, 11:08 AM
The Bounty is in the Marina centre, so you will be close.
What hotel are ya staying in?

Check out the map on Green Tribe's signature and you'll get a good idea of where it is

AidoP
24/01/2007, 11:20 AM
We are staying in Hotel Atrium

AidoP
24/01/2007, 11:56 AM
By the way we are paying 25 euro a night for a single room in that place and that includes breakfast so don't think its too bad.

murtybyrne
24/01/2007, 12:12 PM
Are there many stayin in the Hotel Accademia?????

Does anyone know if it is Centrally Located? and more important is it far from the Bounty!!!!

SuperDave
24/01/2007, 12:17 PM
For people staying in the Sunflower, i think it's anout 10-12 minutes walk from the bounty, maybe 15. Nothing too serious. Though if you're getting the sunflower bus, it's probably a 20 minute stagger back to the hostel.

Mento
24/01/2007, 12:27 PM
I have a map at home so i will study it later for distances etc

joe_barry80
24/01/2007, 12:36 PM
Here is alink to an interactive map http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=rimini+Italy&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1&iwloc=addr
Thank god I'm only a few minutes away.:eek:

24/01/2007, 12:38 PM
Does anyone know if it is Centrally Located? and more important is it far from the Bounty!!!!Doesn't look too central, about 2.5 km from the Bounty.

SuperDave
24/01/2007, 12:49 PM
I have a map at home so i will study it later for distances etc

maps.google.com

SuperDave
24/01/2007, 12:56 PM
for those at the sunflower:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&saddr=viale+dardanelli,+rimini&daddr=via+weber,+rimini&sll=44.067021,12.584367&sspn=0.01366,0.028925&ie=UTF8&z=15&ll=44.067915,12.580376&spn=0.01366,0.028925&om=1

samabu92
24/01/2007, 1:28 PM
We are staying in Hotel Atrium

Yer 0.8km away aido. Were 1.4..These google maps are great job