PDA

View Full Version : Laptop vs Desktop

jebus
03/01/2007, 12:56 PM
I'm purchasing a new computer in the next few days and was just looking up whether I should stick with laptops, or go with a desktop computer. On one hand I could move about with my laptop, but on the other getting desktop seems to be cheaper. I have no computer knowledge whatsoever so does anyone have any input on whether a desktop is up to a laptop's standards, like maybe this desktop (http://www.pcworld.ie/productDetails.aspx?productRID=1842&image=Packard_Bell) vs this laptop (http://www.pcworld.ie/productDetails.aspx?productRID=1845&image=Compaq)

SligoBrewer
03/01/2007, 1:08 PM
I'm purchasing a new computer in the next few days and was just looking up whether I should stick with laptops, or go with a desktop computer. On one hand I could move about with my laptop, but on the other getting desktop seems to be cheaper. I have no computer knowledge whatsoever so does anyone have any input on whether a desktop is up to a laptop's standards, like maybe this desktop (http://www.pcworld.ie/productDetails.aspx?productRID=1842&image=Packard_Bell) vs this laptop (http://www.pcworld.ie/productDetails.aspx?productRID=1845&image=Compaq)

i have that laptop that you have up and im finding absolutely fine atm..
has absolutely everything that i need although u'll need 2 buy microsoft office seperate:mad:

really fast for football manager and the wi-fi is really handy;)

jebus
03/01/2007, 1:19 PM
really fast for football manager and the wi-fi is really handy;)

Sold!! :D cheers for that

Drumcondra Red
03/01/2007, 1:55 PM
I have that laptop too, love it!!! The clarity of the screen is fantastic, I've mainly used it for music etc atm, some internet browsing and FM is great on it, have to check about MS office, but no real headache, have a disk at home, although I thought it was on it...

pete
03/01/2007, 2:16 PM
What do want to use the machine for?