View Full Version : Daily Mail January 3rd

Pages : 1 [2]

blackholesun
03/01/2007, 10:00 PM
> you either build on sound principles or you are defrauding everyone (theres a load more still doing exactly waht shels done) - hopefully an utter collapse of shels will force change on the rest - real change rather than delaney speak PR búllshít

WWS I hope you are including your own club in that list ... hiking up the gates to sign Ndo and ONeill on 1K a week each seems to be a move straight out of the Ollie managament handbook ...

BHS

03/01/2007, 11:43 PM
WWS I hope you are including your own club in that list ... hiking up the gates to sign Ndo and ONeill on 1K a week each seems to be a move straight out of the Ollie managament handbook ...

He most definitely is including Pats as a poorly run club

stann
04/01/2007, 1:15 AM
Think you'll find that Harps were 13th.

Eh... no.
15th, ye were, behind Dundalk and ourselves. Galway 649, Waterford 632, Dundalk 595, Harps 593, Cobh 559, that's the way it went. The figures were all on here though I'm too lazy to go linking. But I still have the Mail article. :)

But you're right, it won't matter anyway, and I actually am looking forward to a good scrap with Dundalk and yourselves. Have to have a look at who else is making moves in the market now, though they don't seem to be signing much yet. Cobh look to be leaking a few players, mostly to us. And McTiernan is a good signing for Athlone I think.
Anyway, back to the topic.

04/01/2007, 6:41 AM
Shels may well have to field a largely amateur and semi-professional side next season if there is even going to be a SHELBOURNE in 2008!

stickyjoe
04/01/2007, 7:18 AM
>
... hiking up the gates to sign Ndo and ONeill on 1K a week

is that true. how much have pats put the prices up to? I think Drogheda tried something similar last season and they had to reduce the prices again then.

Dr.Nightdub
04/01/2007, 8:13 AM
Terrace up by a fiver to €15, stand up by a fiver as well I think, to €20. The terrace price represents a 50% increase and the stand a 33% increase. Season tickets up by similar percentages. Everyone will get a free programme, which softens the blow for those who normally buy programmes.

Personally, I can see the need for an increase as the prices haven't gone up since the changeover from old money to the euro, and €15 for the terrace is the same as you pay into nearly every other ground, except Cork and Longford that I can think of. What bugs me is the way it was announced on its own, rather than as part of a wider strategy for improving the club's finances.

Student Mullet
04/01/2007, 8:24 AM
Everyone will get a free programme, which softens the blow for those who normally buy programmes.

and €15 for the terrace is the same as you pay into nearly every other ground, except Cork and Longford that I can think of.I'd be sceptical of the program offer. It's happened a few times in this league (Shels and UCD that I can think of) that a free program was used to soften the blow of price increases, only for the free program to be withdrawn a few matches later.

Also, your second point is a bit soft. Most grounds 15 euro gives you a choice of stand or terraces.

04/01/2007, 8:48 AM
What about "hel"?

As the $'s have seemingly disappeared...

OI That was my idea months ago! :mad:

Dr.Nightdub
04/01/2007, 8:49 AM
Most grounds 15 euro gives you a choice of stand or terraces.

Honestly wasn't aware of that, thought away fans just got put wherever they get put but home fans had to pay more for the stand.

Student Mullet
04/01/2007, 9:08 AM
Honestly wasn't aware of that, thought away fans just got put wherever they get put but home fans had to pay more for the stand.Fair point, I might be thinking as a UCD fan. We generally don't get put into an away section.

BohsFans
04/01/2007, 9:33 AM
Terrace up by a fiver to €15, stand up by a fiver as well I think, to €20. The terrace price represents a 50% increase and the stand a 33% increase. Season tickets up by similar percentages. Everyone will get a free programme, which softens the blow for those who normally buy programmes.

Personally, I can see the need for an increase as the prices haven't gone up since the changeover from old money to the euro, and €15 for the terrace is the same as you pay into nearly every other ground, except Cork and Longford that I can think of. What bugs me is the way it was announced on its own, rather than as part of a wider strategy for improving the club's finances.

Absolutely shocking!

Your trying to encourage people around Inchicore to go to games and what do you do? Slap an extra €5 on to the entrance price.
I actually hope your crowds plummet further than last season.

04/01/2007, 10:07 AM
The Drogs tried to do something similar a few years back and there was uproar.

Danny
04/01/2007, 10:30 AM
this is nothign like what drogs tried
pats havent increased the ticket prices since 2002 and so an increase was on the cards.
the uproar from the fans was caused by the way it was announced (€5 on individual tickets or atleast 30% increase on season tickets) but with the free programme it works out at only a €2 increase which everyone can live with. Ok some ppl may not what the programme but thats their choice.
With the new signings and the proper explanation of the increase there would not have been this reaction and the club know this and will hopefully learn from it

04/01/2007, 10:53 AM
> you either build on sound principles or you are defrauding everyone (theres a load more still doing exactly waht shels done) - hopefully an utter collapse of shels will force change on the rest - real change rather than delaney speak PR búllshít

BHS

i dnt give a fck what club it is - i dont have blinker vision like some on this forum

a badly run strategy is a badly run strategy
those running pats will tell you they are probably paying less than last season - which may even be true
its just re arranging the deck chairs - zero sum game

04/01/2007, 11:15 AM
CCFC have increased adult ground ticket from 13 to 15 euro for next season but having nice new stand makes that justified as well as fact already probably cheapest in the Premier division.

Anyway back on topic. Given Shels current obvious financial plight I have to wonder what budget did they declare for their league licence application & for the IAG process...?

04/01/2007, 11:41 AM
CCFC have increased adult ground ticket from 13 to 15 euro for next season but having nice new stand makes that justified as well as fact already probably cheapest in the Premier division.

Anyway back on topic. Given Shels current obvious financial plight I have to wonder what budget did they declare for their league licence application & for the IAG process...?

Pete

as if it wasn't abundantly clear by now that the "license" and the "IAG" process were complete shams.

I really feel for that Maxi fella - far from a nut he was an enlightened soul in more ways than one.

passerrby
04/01/2007, 11:41 AM
dont want to jump threads but does all this not give substance to danny drews argument that he was treated differently

BohsFans
04/01/2007, 11:43 AM
this is nothign like what drogs tried
pats havent increased the ticket prices since 2002 and so an increase was on the cards.
the uproar from the fans was caused by the way it was announced (€5 on individual tickets or atleast 30% increase on season tickets) but with the free programme it works out at only a €2 increase which everyone can live with. Ok some ppl may not what the programme but thats their choice.
With the new signings and the proper explanation of the increase there would not have been this reaction and the club know this and will hopefully learn from it

Hold on a sec... Pat's fans were also saying they got €100,000 from M'well for Molloy.
It's not like it's even decent value for the FACILITIES in Richmond. Nowhere in the ground has a decent unobstructed view!

04/01/2007, 11:51 AM
why are you so worked up about the charges?
most fans i know will pay nothing next year as most season ticket holders are 5 year patrons with another free year still available to them....

if you dnt know the ins and outs
and doesnt effect you bar one or two trips a season
why do you give a fck?

04/01/2007, 11:57 AM
As someone interested in starting to attend games, my previous experience being two Bray Wanderes games when student tickets were €3 a few years back, €20 seems a bit steep. I know clubs have various season ticket packages etc. for regular supporters, but for a neutral (at least until Wexford Youths FC arrive) I think it's a bit prohibitive. Everyone complains about over priced cinema tickets and they're less than a tenner, and you usually know the quality of what your getting and it's warm and indoors!

BohsFans
04/01/2007, 12:02 PM
why are you so worked up about the charges?
most fans i know will pay nothing next year as most season ticket holders are 5 year patrons with another free year still available to them....

if you dnt know the ins and outs
and doesnt effect you bar one or two trips a season
why do you give a fck?

it doesn't represent value for money and I don't want people associating that with the league I support.
The only logical explanation you've come up with is, to pay for a better team.

04/01/2007, 12:09 PM
it doesn't represent value for money and I don't want people associating that with the league I support.

two players signed over half a dozen left
we're hardly on a bohs like spending splurge are we....

Dr.Nightdub
04/01/2007, 12:34 PM

So you're saying Bohs v Pats in Dalymount for €15 a head is value for money but Pats v Bohs in Richmond for €15 a head isn't? Come on...

Your second sentence is closer to the truth - what drives crowds up or down is success or the lack of it. The cost of paying in to watch it is secondary - note, not unimportant, just secondary.

I still reckon a couple of €2.50 raises since 2002 would've been a better way to go about it, rather than taking four years' backlog of foregone increases all in one go.

(BTW, we're not getting €100k from Motherwell for Molloy - with appearances, etc the fee will increase, but it'll remain in five figures)

04/01/2007, 12:41 PM
but having nice new stand makes that justified as well as fact already probably cheapest in the Premier division.
Any chance you can start speaking in full sentences so we can understand for sure what the hell you're on about?! Try typing -

but having a nice new stand makes that justified as well as the fact that we are already probably the cheapest in the Premier division.

Not too difficult, no?

Going back on topic, I always find it funny when people complain about ticket prices for games. E15 is the cost of three pints, which nobody would complain about really. Go to an English Premier Division game - which many people do - and you're looking at the equivalent of at least E50 and at most double that again for the match alone, before you count flights, accommodation and rip-off travel agencies' fees. The prices aren't exhorbitant, although sometimes people like to use it as an excuse to justify not going to games.

04/01/2007, 1:08 PM
dont want to jump threads but does all this not give substance to danny drews argument that he was treated differently
I don't think so. AFAIK Shels passed all criteria to get a licence, which just shows how much of a farce it is.

04/01/2007, 4:00 PM
I don't think so. AFAIK Shels passed all criteria to get a licence, which just shows how much of a farce it is.

As did CHF which shows what a real farce it is.

TommyT
04/01/2007, 7:21 PM
Pats fans, you can't divorce the facilities on offer from the price charged. The fact that most clubs haven't put up their prices for ages shows how ludicrous the hike to 15 yoyos was in the first place. Any chance clubs could show enough cop on to raise prices roughly in line with inflation and/or other sectors of the entertainment industry (stop sniggering)

Dr.Nightdub
04/01/2007, 7:34 PM
Pats fans, you can't divorce the facilities on offer from the price charged.

True to an extent - and seeing as we've got the only two-storey jacks in the league, I reckon most people will gladly pay an extra fiver to p1ss on opposition fans from a height. ;)

04/01/2007, 7:36 PM
Why are all Pats fans lumped in together? I think its a shocking decision and will do us no good. IN saying that if we're top of the league after 2 months we'll be getting people in...

YankExile
05/01/2007, 1:08 AM
Hopefully they go bust, leaving Derry into the Champions League, and Pats into the UEFA.

I honstly don't think I'd stop laughing

I'm sorry, I think you lost me. Pats are 7th in the 2006 standings; why wouldn't the slot go to clubs above them? If Derry goes into the CL, then wouldn't this kick Cork into the UEFA Cup, and Sligo (being next in points after CCFC) into Intertoto action to replace Cork? (I'm kind of a soccer newb here, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.)

thedoyler
05/01/2007, 1:15 AM
That makes sense to me, you're right why would pats get the european spot ahead of others? I can only see it through being runners up in the cup is that why?

05/01/2007, 2:35 AM
I'm sorry, I think you lost me. Pats are 7th in the 2006 standings; why wouldn't the slot go to clubs above them? If Derry goes into the CL, then wouldn't this kick Cork into the UEFA Cup, and Sligo (being next in points after CCFC) into Intertoto action to replace Cork? (I'm kind of a soccer newb here, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.)

As it stand Derry won their european place by winning the FAI Cup, not their second place finish.

That makes sense to me, you're right why would pats get the european spot ahead of others? I can only see it through being runners up in the cup is that why?

If they were to be "promoted" to the Champions League spot, the european place allocated to the FAI Cup would then go to pats.

Its not going to happen so I wouldn't worry about it.

YankExile
05/01/2007, 2:52 AM
Ah, ok. Thanks for clearing that up. :)

CharlesThompson
05/01/2007, 7:21 AM
I don't think you're right there Dodge. As far as I understand, the 3rd place league finish is 'worth more' than the runner up in the cup. If Derry were to be offered the CL spot then their Uefa Cup spot would go to third place in the league.

monkey magic
05/01/2007, 9:24 AM
nope, dodge is right, it goes to the cup runers up, as witnessed when we lost the cup to bohsi n 2001 and still played in europe the year after...

05/01/2007, 9:47 AM
is he that greasy italian lawyer?

05/01/2007, 10:42 AM
is he that greasy italian lawyer?

Who? Dodge? ;)

05/01/2007, 3:34 PM
I'm proud of my italian heritage and resent the slur...

05/01/2007, 4:04 PM
going back to the article on Shels, We are still due money on the transfer fee from Shels plus acc to one part newspaper Shels have to pay us 25% of the transfer fee if Dillon leaves them for a fee.

imo I hope he goes for a fee so that we can use this money to pay off the creditors but realisitically he will go on a free I would reckon Dillon has a good case.

Student Mullet
05/01/2007, 5:05 PM
We are still due money on the transfer fee from ShelsBut Shels got their UEFA license. Surely that is proof positive that Shels owe no transfer money. The FAI would hardly give the license to a club that didn't meet all the criteria.

TommyT
05/01/2007, 5:33 PM
nope, dodge is right, it goes to the cup runers up, as witnessed when we lost the cup to bohsi n 2001 and still played in europe the year after...

If that was true we'd be witnessing Pats in the uefa this summer, the rules have changed in the interim.

Student Mullet
05/01/2007, 5:36 PM
If that was true we'd be witnessing Pats in the uefa this summer, the rules have changed in the interim.That's not correct. Derry are in the UEFA in the cup spot. The UEFA place only goes to second in the cup in the winners are in the champions league.

passerrby
05/01/2007, 6:10 PM

thats exactly my point is that not what dd is saying

Celdrog
05/01/2007, 6:17 PM
That's not correct. Derry are in the UEFA in the cup spot. The UEFA place only goes to second in the cup in the winners are in the champions league.
Spot on - Drogs were guaranteed UEFA last season before the cup final as Cork were champions. Win the cup and we got UEFA. Lose the cup and we still got UEFA as Cork were already in the CL

05/01/2007, 6:47 PM
The difference in Longford's case is that Bohs did the double in 2001.

05/01/2007, 6:51 PM
The difference in Longford's case is that Bohs did the double in 2001.

As would Cork have been in the Drog example. Its a moot point though. BTW the Setanta spot would drop to the 5th in the league to further complicate things

05/01/2007, 6:52 PM
Yeah, must start reading the rest of the thread before replying...!

09/01/2007, 6:52 AM

So even if Shels go bust UCD are waiting on the Fair Play lottery to get into Europe right?

09/01/2007, 12:54 PM
Yes - this whole thing is irrelevant to us from the point of view of getting into Europe. Don't see how it could be otherwise?