View Full Version : What did ye get for Christmas 2006?

25/12/2006, 1:55 AM
I got an iPod and the new Dara O'Brian DVD so far. More to come tomorrow...:D.

25/12/2006, 8:33 AM
american dad dvd, zelda for the wii, a book about pirates, a watch, a 6 pack of dr pepper, smellys, a cork city dvd, socks, and little plastic dinosaurs. i'll be getting the wii itself soon :D

edit:

i'm 22 :lol:

Neish
25/12/2006, 8:50 AM
Tom Waitts-Orphans
I Know I'm not alone(DVD)- Michael Franti
Back from the Brink- Paul Mc Grath
Citzen Smith- Series 1 & 2

All great presents :)

ccfcgirl
25/12/2006, 10:25 AM
money, cosmetics , scratch cards etc..

26/12/2006, 1:24 AM
More to come tomorrow...:D.Little Britain DVD, Podge and Rodge(A scare at bedtime) DVD and a disposable breathelyser(sp?)

and still more to come:D.

26/12/2006, 2:34 PM
Little Britain DVD, Podge and Rodge(A scare at bedtime) DVD and a disposable breathelyser(sp?)

and still more to come:D.
Spoiling yourself rotten then sligoman

Got a samsung mp3 player, armani perfume, newbridge jewellery, Waterboys plat cd collection, money money money :p

kdjaC
26/12/2006, 5:25 PM
Wii and Zelda ,PC parts (FX62 CPU, 2gb ram, 8800 GTX) and a 37" LCD :o

And the all important Adidas shower set :)

kdjac

steno
26/12/2006, 6:30 PM
A new watch, pair of jeans and some DVDs spinal tap, Gremllins box set, Leon, V for Vendetta and a years supply of D.O. and shower gel

Philly
26/12/2006, 7:37 PM
I got a Creative Zen. Money. Clothes. Books. Etc.

The Zen didn't work on our old banger of a PC, so i just bought this laptop for €700 - talk about impulse buying! :p

theleprechaun
26/12/2006, 7:41 PM
I got a Creative Zen. Money. Clothes. Books. Etc.

The Zen didn't work on our old banger of a PC, so i just bought this laptop for €700 - talk about impulse buying! :p

isn't well for some?

EDIT:
i meant to say isn't it

Philly
26/12/2006, 8:05 PM
Well I got my tax back you see, and the PC World salesperson was so damn persuasive! :p

26/12/2006, 8:36 PM
new laptop...nice :D

steno
26/12/2006, 10:30 PM
Well I got my tax back you see, and the PC World salesperson was so damn persuasive! :p

I'm scared to go in there at times for that reason, I just want to be left alone dammit!

Gareth
26/12/2006, 11:30 PM
I got...... nothing :)

Your all slaves to the commercialism and filthy greed that consumes your daily lives...for shame for shame....:)

I did however during the year buy myself a new laptop, sound desk, high spec video camera, new phone and a sack load of wires :)

27/12/2006, 1:35 AM
And to finally finish everything I got this Christmas...talking Little Britain slippers, a new jumper and some smellies:).
I got...... nothing :)Nobody loves you!:p

Ringy
27/12/2006, 2:21 AM
A james Bond photo of Sean Connery signed by Roger Moore

27/12/2006, 7:49 AM
GUFC home and away jersey, lynx gift set, armani after shave, 3 jumpers, best of season one podge and rodge DVD, Tommy Teirnan in America DVD, 6 cans of cider, €20 worth of scratch cards.

27/12/2006, 9:09 AM
Citzen Smith- Series 1 & 2

Absolute Classic! One of my all time favs. :cool:

Oh yeah I got...
book - The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins
CD's Zero DB - Bongo's Bleeps and Basslines
Keran Ann - Nolita
The Coup - Steal this double album
Casual - Smash rockwell
Amp Fiddler - Walz of a Ghetto Fly
Ali Farka Toure - Savane
DVD's
Slap Shot, Clerks (X), Back to the Future trilogy.

Other things:
Tripod for my camera, Trivial Pursuit Irish edition, War on Terror the boardgame!

27/12/2006, 10:43 AM
Trivial Pursuit Irish edition,
oh my, that version is painful.
What river runs through ballygobackwards?
What does the name of ballygobackwards translate to?
Which actor once stayed a night in ballygobackwards in 1939?

27/12/2006, 12:23 PM
oh my, that version is painful.
What river runs through ballygobackwards?
What does the name of ballygobackwards translate to?
Which actor once stayed a night in ballygobackwards in 1939?

Yeah some of the questions are a bit obscure but it aint to bad. If you keep an eye on the news at all it helps and if you store up useless info like I do. Also there are clues in the questions a lot of the time.

27/12/2006, 2:17 PM
I got:
- An electric razor
- Back From The Brink book
- A watch
- Homer Simpson tshirt/pjs set
- A set of wine glasses
- A football facts/trivia book
- Football shaped bottle opener that scream
GOOOOOOOOOOOAL when you open a bottle.

Brother and his family coming over tomorrow so the
all important Adidas deo and shower gel should arrive. :)

27/12/2006, 2:47 PM
Cork City season ticket
Cork City wallet
Cork City dvd - Biscuits, Balls & Bishopstown
Who stole our game book.
Sultans of Ping dvd
Tommy Tiernan dvd

Colm55
27/12/2006, 2:52 PM
I gave meself the best present of all and passed the driving test last friday (first time), two jumpers, two shirts and a tee shirt filled in the rest, and an ice scraper for the car thrown in for good measure..

Babysis
27/12/2006, 3:15 PM
I picked nearly all of my presents - new dress, boots, perfume, Cd's, dressing gown, underwear, jewellery, make up (all the usuals). Got the 3rd series of Killinaskully on DVD and the Pat shortt Dvd arrived today too with the wind that shakes the Barley. Happy days! :D

Enjoyed giving presents this year more than receiving. Got my Dad a large old framed picture of Longford Town that he wanted, made my aunty a calendar of all the pics I've taken round Renvyle where she grew up (she got quite emotional about it) and I am now number 1 cousin as Im taking my 13 year old Chelsea mad cousin to his first game - He is delighted! So, a very good Christmas.:)

27/12/2006, 3:31 PM
Got my Dad a large old framed picture of Longford Town that he wantedLongford Town the team or a pic of the town itself?:confused:

27/12/2006, 10:45 PM
few cds, clothes, money, naked camera, that sort of stuff.

28/12/2006, 8:28 AM
Cork City season ticket
Cork City wallet

You must have been on Santa's naughty list :D

Babysis
28/12/2006, 2:00 PM
Longford Town the team or a pic of the town itself?:confused:

Its an old black and white picture of the town - He decided he wanted that when I took some pics of Galway for my sister and Sylvo's house and for my mum - he wanted to even up the score :D He liked it anyway.

28/12/2006, 2:13 PM
New phone, Couple of PS2 games (Madden and Tiger Woods), Series 6 of Sopranos and Series 8 of the Simpsons, other random bits and this, the best of the bunch...
http://img321.imageshack.us/img321/4618/00008368308865iy8.jpg

Its a bobblehead of Dwight Shcrute from the US Office. Fans of the show will know its meaning

28/12/2006, 4:40 PM
You must have been on Santa's naughty list :DPurely by the grace of God. ;)

stann
28/12/2006, 5:02 PM
Digital camera from the gf. :eek: :D Surprised delight that is.
Practical household-y things from the folks, what I asked for in fairness.
Back from the Brink, as I think it's the law this year. Wow what a book by the way!
Curb Your Enthusiasm series 2 on DVD, the QI Book...
Am happy as a clam, specially as a token will secure for me the Dawkins book and the Apres Match DVD I thought I was getting. :D

28/12/2006, 7:03 PM
Digital camera from the gf. :eek: Surprised delight that is.The girlfriend or the camera?:p :D

Thunderblaster
29/12/2006, 11:14 AM
I got plenty of aftershave, a coat, a bluetooth, money, a voucher, a DVD on Liverpool's FA Cup Goals, a cooler and a wallet.

Thunderblaster
29/12/2006, 11:24 AM
Fairytale of Old Cork!!

It was Christmas Eve boy
In the drunk tank
An old man said to me, won't see another one
And then he sang a song
The Rare Old Mountain Dew
I turned my face away
And dreamed about you

Got on a lucky one
Came in eighteen to one
I've got a feeling
This year's for me and you
So happy Christmas
I love you boy
I can see a better time
When all our dreams come true

They've got cars big as bars
They've got rivers of gold
But the wind goes right through you
It's no place for the old
When you first took my hand
On a cold Christmas Eve
You promised me
Mayfield was waiting for me

You were handsome
You were pretty
King of Old Cork City
When the band finished playing
They howled out for more
O'Driscoll was swinging,
All the drunks they were singing
We kissed on a corner
Then danced through the night

The boys of the Shandon choir
Were singing "Bantry Bay"
And the bells were ringing out
For Christmas day

You're a bum
You're a punk
You're an old slut on junk
Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed
You scumbag, you langer
You cheap lousy skanger
Happy Christmas your arse
I pray God it's our last

I could have been someone
Well so could anyone
You took my dreams from me
When I first found you
I kept them with me boy
I put them with my own
Can't make it all alone
I've built my dreams around you

They don't talk in Cork, boy, they sing!!:D :D

Dahamsta to sing it!!:D

29/12/2006, 11:41 AM
I got plenty of aftershave, a coat, a bluetooth, money, a voucher, a DVD on Liverpool's FA Cup Goals, a cooler and a wallet.

to go with the gold one is it TB?;)

29/12/2006, 12:13 PM
I Know I'm not alone(DVD)- Michael Franti

I searched high and low for that for myself and my brother. Was sold out at the gig. Still trying to get it.

I got: 2 bottles of my favourite perfumes, a lovely hand & nail cream set, some coffee stuff, a voucher for my fav shop, a dvd pub quiz game, pjs, hair stuff, socks, wine, some gorgeous LUSH bath bombs, and loads of stuff that I love.

As babysis said, I had more fun with my giving this year. Got my ickle bro series 1 & 2 of the A Team and took my sis into town to get her hair done on Christmas eve & for Hot Choc after (she is 15 & we dont do enough girly stuff so was really nice). Best thing is tho Santa brought my 9 yr old a James Brown double CD with his life story. When I had to break the news to Jake that James had died that morning, Jake was convinced that Santa knew that James would die that day and wanted Jake to have something to remember him by. Bless, he was so upset.

Thunderblaster
30/12/2006, 11:41 AM
to go with the gold one is it TB?;)

:D :D

In Liverpool, I followed up by getting biogs of Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Terry Wogan and Bobby Robson, got a couple of DVDs and PS2 games (mostly footie of course and I got a PS2 game in which I'm a schoolboy knacker!!). In Sports World on Paradise Street, there is a sale with anything between 50%-80% off different items. Any forumites in the Liverpool area, please call in!!

30/12/2006, 8:51 PM
Cork City season ticket
Cork City wallet
Who stole our game book.
Sultans of Ping dvd
Tommy Tiernan dvd

i either gave or received all of those items from the club shop too! :D even bought a watch - the next day the place is robbed. typical, after we finally sell one..

03/01/2007, 11:17 AM
Well I was pretty happy with what I got :D:

The new Shels jersey
Shels season ticket
Shels scarf and monkey hat*
A hoodie
Football Manager 2007
Football Against the Enemy by Simon Kuper
Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?: and 114 Other Questions
Who Stole Our Game?: The Fall and Fall of Irish Soccer by Daire Whelan
Death On Holy Thursday: The Shooting of John Carthy in Abbeylara by Ciaran Mullooly
The Guinness Book of World Records 2007
Family Guy DVD Series 1-5
Dara O'Brien DVD
A couple of vouchers, a few smellys and alot of cash.

03/01/2007, 12:11 PM
- A watch

Cant believe the watch had faulty mechanism - had to bring it back
and waiting on a replacement. They had another one the same in stock
but mine was engraved so thay have to redo it

Brother and his family coming over tomorrow so the all important Adidas
deo and shower gel should arrive. :)

No Adidas set ... but a One4All voucher

stann
03/01/2007, 12:48 PM
The girlfriend or the camera?:p :D

Bit of both sligoman. ;)
Really enjoyed dishing out the pressies this year too, hit the mark with most of the surprise ones, hardly a frozen smile in sight!

Drumcondra Red
03/01/2007, 12:53 PM
Lets see now, altogether...
Podge and Rodge talking dolls, PS2 game, t-shirt, shirt, putter, a day quad biking, Paul McGrath's book, CD, DVD, and a bit of pocket money

03/01/2007, 12:57 PM
Picture hanging set from the parents in law: when they last stayed with us the picture over their bed fell off the wall when they were asleep and almost killed them :o On to Plan B.

From the wife PlayStation and the game Call of Duty. Keep getting shot by those nasty Germans. Very frustrating as one goes back to the start again.