View Full Version : Abbey United v Killester United

red metal
24/12/2006, 10:35 AM
Abbey Utd current super league and Connaught cup champions will play Killester Utd in this seasons FAI juinor cup in Sean Fallon park Cranmore

24/12/2006, 3:06 PM
When is it on red metal?

DonalE
24/12/2006, 5:26 PM
14th of january i think

red metal
25/12/2006, 9:06 AM
14th of january i think

I Think its the 21st or the 28th. They have Boyle Celtic on the 14th in the league.

Derek
11/01/2007, 5:09 PM
Abbey Utd current super league and Connaught cup champions will play Killester Utd in this seasons FAI juinor cup in Sean Fallon park Cranmore

Any directions to the Sean Fallon park?

SRFC Head
11/01/2007, 5:53 PM
Take N4 to Sligo
When you are coming into Sligo take exit from Dual Carraige way to Carraroe
Take 2nd Exit at Roundabout signpost Sligo
Go Straight Through Roundabout (at Retail park)
Go Through Lights (at GAA stadium)
Take Right immediately after Lights to go down by Cemetary
Take Left at T Junction
Take 2nd Right
Pitch is 200 metres on your left.

Derek
11/01/2007, 6:08 PM
Take N4 to Sligo
When you are coming into Sligo take exit from Dual Carraige way to Carraroe
Take 2nd Exit at Roundabout signpost Sligo
Go Straight Through Roundabout (at Retail park)
Go Through Lights (at GAA stadium)
Take Right immediately after Lights to go down by Cemetart
Take Left at T Junction
Take 2nd Right
Pitch is 200 metres on your left.

Thats great thanks.

Any idea if they will be charging a fee to watch the game?

red metal
12/01/2007, 11:50 AM
I think they will be charging about €-2 or €3.Neil mckenna is still out with injury! and Damien Shannon is struggling.Do ye think there will be a big crowd!

Derek
12/01/2007, 1:04 PM
I think they will be charging about €-2 or €3.Neil mckenna is still out with injury! and Damien Shannon is struggling.Do ye think there will be a big crowd!

Maybe 100 from Killester United

soccerc
12/01/2007, 1:21 PM
I wouldn't underestimate Abbey.

They played Neilstown Rangers at this stage last season in Dublin and were a very dogged outfit.

Watch out for the big centre half ( if he is still playing)at set pieces and corners as he caused Rangers huge problems.

duffbeer
12/01/2007, 1:53 PM
what you doing on this site soccerc:-)

12/01/2007, 3:35 PM

They played Neilstown Rangers at this stage last season in Dublin and were a very dogged outfit.

Watch out for the big centre half ( if he is still playing)at set pieces and corners as he caused Rangers huge problems.

Sasha Curran is the guy your think of i think. Rasher and McKenna are too great players and both are out for Abbey.
They can play both the passing game and get stuck in when needed aswell.
If things arent going there way,they will get physical.

red metal
12/01/2007, 5:05 PM

His name is Clive Summers and he has left the club!Plus rasher Shannon will be fit to start

DonalE
12/01/2007, 6:06 PM
Red Metal, how many ex Rovers players will start for Abbey? (Including under 18 & under 21) I count 6; Rashers, Ambu, Lee Marshall, John Gaffney, Glen Shannon and Keith Carty...

Soper
12/01/2007, 6:11 PM
Clive Summers, there's a name I know..

12/01/2007, 7:23 PM
Red Metal, how many ex Rovers players will start for Abbey? (Including under 18 & under 21) I count 6; Rashers, Ambu, Lee Marshall, John Gaffney, Glen Shannon and Keith Carty...

Paddy Conlon played aswell as Martin Ward,
thats 8 so.

red metal
12/01/2007, 7:58 PM
The 2 Shannon,s/Gaffney/Marshall/Andrew mc Loughlin/Carty/

Paddy and Wardy trained pre season with rovers a few years back but never played for them! It was the season mc Nally was tere!

12/01/2007, 9:02 PM
I was sure both of them played.I can actually picture Wardy playing,think he conceeded 3,a few howlers aswell.

DonalE
12/01/2007, 9:11 PM
Are ya sure Flash? I don't think so,maybe a few friendlies

12/01/2007, 9:32 PM
99%....sure.I can pisture him playing,and im 90% sure Paddy played,at least for the reserves

red metal
12/01/2007, 9:36 PM
il phone paddy and wardy now stars and see! you could be right

12/01/2007, 9:39 PM
I think Wardy played at least 1 first team game,not sure about Paddy but was defo at the club for a few months

red metal
12/01/2007, 9:44 PM
cant get a hold of them now but we are training in the morning so il post it tomorrow for you!

12/01/2007, 11:15 PM
I remember Conlon trained with the club for a while at the start of O'Riordans tenure but wasnt offered terms

13/01/2007, 1:58 PM
yeah, definately remember conlon at the club for a small while anyway, cant remember if he was in the first team squad or what? dont know about ward though!

13/01/2007, 4:10 PM
is it definately goin ahead tomorrow?

red metal
13/01/2007, 5:52 PM
Ya lads the pitch is sound.were all ready!

13/01/2007, 7:58 PM
who are you anyway? if ya cant disclose that information what position do u play....or are you a player or what??

DonalE
13/01/2007, 9:38 PM
I don't think he's a player Feo. Here's the team as far as i know

-------------------Wardy--------------------------

--Brian Dunne--- Rashers--- Paddy Conlon----Ambu

-John Conon-Sasha Curran-Gaffney-Carty-Marshall

--------------------Shannon---------------------

I'm not certain about Carty in the middle,he might be up front,swap with Shannon. Am i correct Red Metal???

C'mon Abbey! Do what Rovers needed 2 attempts to do!

red metal
14/01/2007, 3:19 AM
maybe jamesie!

red metal
14/01/2007, 3:21 AM
who are you anyway? if ya cant disclose that information what position do u play....or are you a player or what??

If your at the game! the Metal part should give it away!\m/ \m/

red bellied
14/01/2007, 5:57 PM
Killester 3 Abbey 0

red metal
15/01/2007, 7:28 AM
Well done to Killester Utd.Some shocking defending to gift them a early 2 goal lead with only 10 mins gone.It was allways going to be a tough game. But when you go 2 down after 10 min.Against a very good team like them. There is no way back for you.But i have give or lads credit they battle away until the final whistle.Best of luck to Killester Utd in the next round.

DonalE
15/01/2007, 3:35 PM
I counted 6 forum members present at the game yesterday! With the possibility of more if Rob, the chairman or Sutherland are members too :D

15/01/2007, 9:05 PM
wasn't a great game....in fairness they were a step ahead in some areas football wise at least! abbey kept batteling away till the end though fair play to them! that was keogh up front for them that scored a couple against rovers! poor wall for the free kick he scoreed and wardy was shockin for the 2nd! they kept at it and i think it was a fair enough result really!?

Derek
16/01/2007, 9:03 AM
It was a good day out for us, we were not sure what to expect, the early presents made it very hard for Abbey to get back into the game. We could have had more goals, even one dissallowed. Have a look at the match report on www.KillesterUnited.com latest news, in the article click on "Click here for a look at the disallowed goal".

Sign the guest book while your there. nothing rude or I will delete it.