View Full Version : Lester signs for united

Olander
20/12/2006, 4:41 PM
more info http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/squad/lester-signs.html

20/12/2006, 4:52 PM
Juts shows TC is no fool.

He predicts a "fit" John Lester to be a success.Well done TC.

GUISAUltra
20/12/2006, 5:28 PM
so does this mean that the club have received the new contracts and we can sign players now. i wonder will there be anymore confirmed this week

galwaygirl
21/12/2006, 12:08 AM
so, magicmon maybe comin 2 galway 4 a few visits after all next season ;)
wud we now b ur 2nd fav team magic :D

21/12/2006, 12:25 AM
With him and Keith Foy on the western seaboard its in danger of breaking off at this stage. Even half fit he's a decent premier division player

Tir Oilean
21/12/2006, 8:52 AM
WElcome to United John! Anybody able to put up a link or details of Lester don't really know much about him

21/12/2006, 8:55 AM
John Lester was a team mate of Barry Roche for a highly successful Leicester Celtic team before he signed as a trainee for Everton. After two seasons John returned to Ireland in June 2001 where he was quickly snapped up by Bohemians. He was capped previously at Under 16, Under 18 and Under 21 levels for Ireland. He made his League debut away to Galway United and was then loaned to Monaghan United, where he was voted on to the PFAI's First Division Team of the Season 2002/03. In January 2004 he signed for Drogheda United where he established himself in the first team.

John was released from Drogheda United at the end of the 2004 eircom League season and then joined Waterford United. After an injury hit season, John moved to Limerick in 2006, where he will be hoping to establish himself as a first team regular.

http://www.leicesterceltic.ie/explayers.html

ciaraa
21/12/2006, 10:06 AM
WElcome to United John! Anybody able to put up a link or details of Lester don't really know much about him

Very intelligent player who gets his head up and can pick out a good pass. Used to really enjoy watching him when he played for us. He'll be good for ye no doubt.

JW.
21/12/2006, 11:49 AM
There aren't enough classy midfielders in the eL and he's arguably as talented as any of them if he can have the attitude and fitness to match.

21/12/2006, 11:55 AM
John Lester was a team mate of Barry Roche for a highly successful Leicester Celtic

And my brother, who'll tell you anything you need to now about Fatboy Lester. ;)

Delighted by this signing as Lester is one of our favourite hate figures. Would have missed him next season otherwise.

21/12/2006, 11:55 AM
Excellent signing see our scoring rate from set pieces take off. I think this is the first of many "good signings" rather than big names also maybe one or two mor local players extending their careers!!!!!!!!!

galwaygirl
21/12/2006, 12:09 PM
.... also maybe one or two more local players extending their careers!!!!!!!!!
U tryin 2 tell us something gufct:confused:

21/12/2006, 12:37 PM
Goughie for another year!:eek:

JW.
21/12/2006, 1:30 PM
Goughie will be grand as a back-up and he should stay on if he fancies another year.

GUISAUltra
21/12/2006, 1:36 PM
goughie is an absolute legend and i'd love to see him still playing but we do need to be seriously looking for a more than capable replacement

21/12/2006, 2:59 PM
Good player and could be one of the best if he lost weight (translated into if he gave a sh1t). Only problem is his stalker now:eek:

GUISAUltra
21/12/2006, 3:22 PM
there was someone on here that last week, that said that he is on a special fitness programme and has lost nearly a stone. if this is true than he must be really up for it

21/12/2006, 6:52 PM
so, magicmon maybe comin 2 galway 4 a few visits after all next season ;)
wud we now b ur 2nd fav team magic :D

:D You know me too well!

galwayhoop
22/12/2006, 9:01 AM
there was someone on here that last week, that said that he is on a special fitness programme and has lost nearly a stone. if this is true than he must be really up for it

pity tony folan didn't do the same. the lad is gifted

22/12/2006, 9:08 AM

Only abother couple to go now

corbyeire
22/12/2006, 9:42 AM
Only abother couple to go now

:D :D :D

29/12/2006, 4:33 PM
Best passer of a ball I've ever seen in the first division. Started the season brilliantly but seemed to lose form and interest as it wound to a rather grinding halt in Limerick. There's a lot made of his weight but it never seemed to hold him back a lot for us. He got involved and ran about as much as anybody else. An absolute stonewall bet to collect more yellow cards than anything else though, the man brings dissent to whole new levels. Good signing for Galway (though I can only say that through gritted teeth).

monutdfc
29/12/2006, 6:21 PM
We played 5-a-side against him a couple of weeks ago, he was in decent enough shape (we still won though:) . His fitness reached an all-time low about midway through last season, seemed to improve towards the end of the season.

I presume Cousins was at Drogheda when he was there, so he should know him well. No doubt about it, he is a quality player, but needs to keep in shape. Got his first under-21 call-up when playing in the first division with MUFC, but had returned to Bohs when he won his cap v Scotland. I wish him all the best, the league needs players of his quality.