View Full Version : GAA and FAI
21/12/2006, 11:19 AM
Paul O' Shea I dont know where to start with this!! Croke Park was built by government and tax payers money. Thats just a solid fact. Without that money, the stadium would never have happened. As I said previously the money was put aside well before anyone knew about the idea. It was a done deal. There is nothing more I can say about this, I can just tell you its 100000% fact.
do you what know mutually exclusive collectively exhaustive means, if not dont respond, if you do, then respond correctly. I say that because I know you dont. It was IN PART funded by the government, and those supporters of gaelic who go to matches, buy all things gaa and sponsors etc and funnily enough quite a few ( or all but .001% )of these would also be taxpayers. SO dont come out with a sweeping statement that is not mutually exclusive collectively exhaustive unless you can back it up. ;)
Donal81
21/12/2006, 12:02 PM
As usual, you are just waffling. The vast majority of the GAA grounds were of course attained after the brits had left. In the 20s and 30s (and later) the Catholic church totally controlled every village in Ireland. Like the GAA, a shower of bigots - and they ensured by coercion that the GAA got whatever they damn wanted.
It would be VERY interesting if all the county boards who are now presenting themselves as some sort of shrewd property speculators were to publicly state how much the properties cost in the first place. Most likely, nothing. At best, a couple of shillings.
Donal81
21/12/2006, 12:12 PM
Classic excuse.... if what they are doing is so reprehensible to the majority of GAA members then why don't the majority of GAA members issue a public statement condeming them.Also why aren't they expelled as well ????
Some of the clubs are very, very powerful. I'd like to think that most senior GAA people are way too smart for this squalid little dispute but whether they support it or not, they're in a difficult situation. Much more so than the FAI, the GAA is all about its grassroots and I'd imagine they're treading very carefully with this one. It's not right, of course, but that's politics for you. My own take on it is that these clubs will eventually shoot themselves in the foot and the dispute will be revealed for what it is. The GAA is playing it cute, I think, and leaving the clubs dangle by themselves. There has not been one word from the GAA on this whole thing although the Dublin GAA board issued its support. Very quietly, though...
If Shels, Bohs, Rovers, St. Pats and UCD were trying this on at a GAA ground somewhere, would the Dublin FAI immediately come out and castigate them for it? I doubt it.
21/12/2006, 12:20 PM
The Soccer versus Gaelic debate will endure for decades to come and beyond.
The stated animosity between the two organisations is all relative to the previous levels of bigotry that existed in the past.
Liam Brady and David O'Leary wote about their experiences of "The Ban" while they attended Christian Brothers Schools. I remember Liam Brady writing that he had to defy a Christian Brother and not turn up for a Gaelic Football game for the school because he had the honour of representing Ireland Schoolboys on the same day. He was suspended. An isolated incident - but symptomatic of the lunatics that were at large at the time.
The expedient and practical necessity is that Croke park has been secured for the Euro Qualifiers and hopefully beyond. Playing in Britain would have been a sad state of affairs.
It makes sound business sense for the GAA and they will derive some positive PR from opening up the ground the the other "codes" - in addition to the obvious monetary gains.
I still have positive vibes for the Croker games - hopefully the lunatic fringes on both sides don't jeopardise that with practically weeks to go to the Welsh game.
Liam Brady was expelled form school because he captained the Irish schoolboy team. Why was it an isolated incident? Con Martin was banned from GAA after playing in the Leinster final. He got caught playing football before the All Ireland, got banned for life and didn't get his Leinster winners medal for over 30 years until the ban wa slifted.
It is more than a lunatic fringe. Over 25% of the GAA congress voted against opening Croke Park. This is still a significant number.
Now perhaps you can give examples of bigotry the other way?
Can you also give examples of the FAI comments that have caused such offence. i know there are numerous GAA writers complaining about the FAI attitude etc
21/12/2006, 1:21 PM
Over 25% of the GAA congress
are you getting mixed up with congres or central council?!?! 2 countys (clubs) out of 32 voted against opening it up. that is not 25%. where did you go to school? or were you expelled as well because of playing association football?
are you getting mixed up with congres or central council?!?! 2 clubs out of 32 voted against opening it up. that is not 25%. where did you go to school? or were you expelled as well because of playing association football?
Clubs? You might want to get your facts right before you start lecturing others...
21/12/2006, 1:33 PM
the soccer community, whatever that is.
There it is in a nutshell - the ridiculous belief that the GAA are a vital part of the fabric of Irish society and yet scoffing at the very notion that there might even be a "soccer community".
The "soccer community" is the largest sporting community in the state and on the island. Unfortunately we've had decades of neglect from our ruling body but don't let that fool you into thinking that the work of the 1000s of coaches and volunteers every week doesn't actually happen.
The only thing I respect about the GAA is their PR machine. it's very impressive, still doesn't change any of the fundamental truths about the organisiation.
21/12/2006, 1:49 PM
are you getting mixed up with congres or central council?!?! 2 countys (clubs) out of 32 voted against opening it up. that is not 25%. where did you go to school? or were you expelled as well because of playing association football?
The 6 NI counties voted against as did Cork and Monaghan.
There was also virtually all the past presidents and warwickshire I believe.
It has been a long time since I sat in Maths class but 8 out of 32 is approx 25% isn't it?
21/12/2006, 1:50 PM
The 6 NI counties voted against as did Cork and Monaghan.
No they did not. everyone expected it but they didnt.
congress requires 227 votes for a change, 324 being the total, the problem is some northern counties have more votes than others ( in the north ).....but i see where you are coming from.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/4452449.stm
Congress voted it in by 227 votes to 97
"Cavan and Donegal were the only Ulster counties to vote in favour of allowing football and rugby to play at HQ, while all six of the northern counties were against any change"
21/12/2006, 2:07 PM
sorry i thought he said the 9 ulster counties, my bad.
however the second point is still correct
Which you added after the BBC link was added. Not a great day for you and editing is it?
21/12/2006, 2:17 PM
Excuse me, you mentioned GAA writers, I thought you meant anyone purporting to speak on behalf of the soccer community, whatever that is.
It is absolutely nothing like blacks and the Klan in the USA, come on.
Pointing out examples of GAA bigotry is one thing. Pointing it out while making patronising remarks about the entire organisation and crowing about soccer's popularity is another.
I was looking for examples of comments made by FAI officials. To the best of my knowledge there were no public statements until recently when Delaney said there was no problem.
Numerous GAA writers have been saying "the FAI are getting too cosy" "want photo opportunities" etc etc. Seems to me elements in the GAA are stirring it up internally and trying to blame the FAI.
The GAA are the ones that have had and still have the bigoted rules. It is GAA officials that are coming out with the nonsense like Fogarty and Lynch came out with recently.
Maybe it is time for somebody in the GAA to take on the bigots once and for all.
I find it mildly amusing you are upset by Dervan's article.
The lephant in the room that no journalist has touched yet (Well Kevin Myers did briefly but had to do a crawling piece on how wonderful the GAA were a few weeks later) is continued GAA support for terrorism. On the last sunday in July Nicky Brennan missed all the GAA championship because he travelled to Derry to open Kevin Lynch GAA grounds for Kevin Lynch GAA club. Lynch was a convicted terrorist who died on hunger strike in 1981. The ceremony that included Adams and McGuinness also include a paramilitary parade. It wasn't deemed worthy of a mention in any mainstream paper in the Republic. I wonder if Portadown renamed Shamrock Park Billy Wright Park and the president of the IFA joined in the ceremony with leading Loyalists would it cause an outrage. You bet it would!!!!!
21/12/2006, 2:21 PM
Which you added after the BBC link was added. Not a great day for you and editing is it?
No i am hungover, but i didnt edit that, i edited a dif part of it after the bbc link. As i had a dif link before that ;) good man nice try.
21/12/2006, 2:22 PM
sorry i thought he said the 9 ulster counties, my bad.
Maths lesson number 2.
227 Yes Votes
97 No votes.
Total valid poll 324.
97 No votes out of 324
= 29.94% approx
which is
greater than
25%
which was the point you disputed.
Wolfie
21/12/2006, 2:28 PM
Liam Brady was expelled form school because he captained the Irish schoolboy team. Why was it an isolated incident? Con Martin was banned from GAA after playing in the Leinster final. He got caught playing football before the All Ireland, got banned for life and didn't get his Leinster winners medal for over 30 years until the ban wa slifted.
It is more than a lunatic fringe. Over 25% of the GAA congress voted against opening Croke Park. This is still a significant number.
Now perhaps you can give examples of bigotry the other way?
Can you also give examples of the FAI comments that have caused such offence. i know there are numerous GAA writers complaining about the FAI attitude etc
I described Liam Brady's situation with the Ireland Schoolboys Team was an isolated incident as I was only referring to this one specific incident that I was aware of. I'm well aware that the Ban was far reaching and devised to keep Soccer in a state of arrested development in this country.
I think Brady himself has written that he bears no animosity towards the GAA over the incident and it was the bidding of one Christian Brother as opposed to the whole GAA organistation banning a 15 year old from playing foreign games.
A bit of balance never does any harm however - the fact that the vote was passed in the first place surely points to the fact that there are broad minded and moderate members within the GAA.
25% of the GAA Congress (Council et all) voting against opening Croker doesn't make them biggots. I'm certainly no GAA apologist (far from it) but in fairness - its their patch.
21/12/2006, 2:38 PM
my point was that some counties have more votes than others.....which would deflect a true representation of the individual counties and supporters "for" within those counties.
21/12/2006, 2:45 PM
I may hate the GAA and all their works but not because I'm a bigot but because I recognise that they are and that they have a "last man standing" agenda. Anyone who thinks that GAA aren't out to destroy Rovers, and on a larger scale to hold football back, is being just a wee bit naive.KOH
If I were in a Rover's shoe, so to say, then I would assume the worst scenaria of intention by the GAA clubs and retaliate appropriatly in order to win for the last time the right to control the use of the Tallaght stadium.
But save me the eve of destruction evil empire star wars scenario.
The ailing state of professional soccer in Ireland is a victim of it's own ineptitude.
GAA clubs throughout the country have themselves have bought the land, built up the grounds - owned by the members, controlled by the members since the 1900's.
And so have 1000s of football clubs throught the state
21/12/2006, 2:51 PM
And so have 1000s of football clubs throught the state
And whats your point? which is in better condition?
I blame the church, as my old man says "the church is owned by the community, therefore the land is the communities, not the church". :D
And whats your point?
The point was the geysir's point was redundant.
Moderator Notice: All posts referring to bigotry "discussion" will be removed.
21/12/2006, 3:49 PM
I described Liam Brady's situation with the Ireland Schoolboys Team was an isolated incident as I was only referring to this one specific incident that I was aware of. I'm well aware that the Ban was far reaching and devised to keep Soccer in a state of arrested development in this country.
I think Brady himself has written that he bears no animosity towards the GAA over the incident and it was the bidding of one Christian Brother as opposed to the whole GAA organistation banning a 15 year old from playing foreign games.
A bit of balance never does any harm however - the fact that the vote was passed in the first place surely points to the fact that there are broad minded and moderate members within the GAA.
25% of the GAA Congress (Council et all) voting against opening Croker doesn't make them biggots. I'm certainly no GAA apologist (far from it) but in fairness - its their patch.
The Ban was rigidly enforced. How was Liam Brady an isolated incident. The ban applied whether it was for Home Farm or Fairview or for the Irish schoolboys. Exceptions were only made for really top GAA stars such as Mick Mackey and Mick O'Connell. Even then the Limerick County board had to make Mick Mackey a "Watcher" and the Kerry county board had to pretend a front page photo in the Cork Examiner was made up.
Of course there are broadminded and moderate members in the GAA. They are in the majority. They are in a large majority in the Republic of Ireland.
Wolfie
21/12/2006, 3:58 PM
The Ban was rigidly enforced. How was Liam Brady an isolated incident. The ban applied whether it was for Home Farm or Fairview or for the Irish schoolboys. Exceptions were only made for really top GAA stars such as Mick Mackey and Mick O'Connell. Even then the Limerick County board had to make Mick Mackey a "Watcher" and the Kerry county board had to pretend a front page photo in the Cork Examiner was made up.
Of course there are broadminded and moderate members in the GAA. They are in the majority. They are in a large majority in the Republic of Ireland.
I think the phrase "isolated incident" was a misleading phrase to use on my part. What I'm trying to say is that I don't have any lived experience or further evidence of the Ban on a personal level though am no way suggesting the Ban was not restrictive or unfair to generations that endured it.
Donal81
22/12/2006, 12:36 AM
There it is in a nutshell - the ridiculous belief that the GAA are a vital part of the fabric of Irish society and yet scoffing at the very notion that there might even be a "soccer community".
The "soccer community" is the largest sporting community in the state and on the island. Unfortunately we've had decades of neglect from our ruling body but don't let that fool you into thinking that the work of the 1000s of coaches and volunteers every week doesn't actually happen.
The only thing I respect about the GAA is their PR machine. it's very impressive, still doesn't change any of the fundamental truths about the organisiation.
Where did I scoff? My point was with Dervan acting as chief spokesperson for the soccer community. I played juvenile football for years, never miss a game in Lansdowne, consider it my favourite sport and follow the whole thing religiously but Dervan certainly doesn't speak for me with his childish name-calling and I would have thought he didn't speak for a lot of football fans. Maybe I'm wrong. Either way, nowhere did I make the point that you're saying I did. GAA is vital to communities all around the country as are football clubs, obviously, and I've plenty of experience with both.
Donal81
22/12/2006, 1:00 AM
thats a ridicilous statement. the Dublin GAA voted to support TD after the Chairman of TD stated it was his intention to keep Rovers out. Its policy of the association and no doubt they will foot the legal bill.
They're not paying for this. One person in Thomas Davis is driving the whole thing. My information on this is that Dublin's GAA county board want the whole thing to go away but they've got to go along with their clubs. Also, at least one of the clubs is just putting its name to it out of respect for Thomas Davis.
A public example of this was the email sent from Dave Kennedy of Thomas Davis to John Costello of Dublin GAA's Central Council - this wound up in a number of newspapers when the story broke:
"I have also sought to be supportive of a multi-code use [keeping soccer]. Tactically I think this has to be right for now. I'm confident that in any bout with Rovers that the GAA will be the last man standing."
This is filthy, sneaky stuff and indicates what Thomas Davis are really thinking and the whole thing should have ended there. But how did an email sent from Kennedy to Dublin's Central Council end up with newspapers? From the very start, it weakened Thomas Davis and especially this Kennedy fellow. I don't know but there are only so many parties that could have leaked it.
Secondly, when the clubs were considering their legal move, Dublin GAA requested their solicitor to give them legal advice on the matter. They quietly told the solicitor to come back with negative advice. Obviously, it didn't make much difference.
Look, if Croke Park comes out and throws its full lobbying weight behind this, I'll put my hands up and admit to having been extremely naive in thinking that it was a local dispute pushed by a small band of chancers. That hasn't happened yet.
22/12/2006, 8:02 AM
The point was the geysir's point was redundant.
My point is entirely relevant to the homeless state ("the leagues most famous professional club") Shamrock Rovers had got into, which is the football club issue of the day, germane to the thread and to my general opinion that FAI have been doing it ars'eways since decades without any intervention needed by the GAA to help them along.
So why not say, nearly every other football club in Ireland has build a ground rather than bring the GAA into it?
Either way there is no defence for the despicable way Thomas Davis have acted in Tallaght (backed by Dublin GAA and GAA HQ). Thats the bottom line. I have no problem with Croke park receiving massive govt funding and nor did I have a problem with the GAA using it solely for their games (and concerts, conferences and american football - but anyway) but their actions in tallaght are ridiculous.
We can argue the semantics of what ahppened in previous GAA/FAI regimes but today, in tallght, the GAA are completely at fault.
And Pete, go onto any Gah forum, we are west brits, loyalists and all sorts. Why are we not allowed call them bigots in return?
Just because they lower themselves does it mean we have to as well? Just because they do it does it make it ok? Don't see why can't be debated without the abuse. If you have an issue with it you can make a complaint.
Billsthoughts
22/12/2006, 11:50 AM
Either way there is no defence for the despicable way Thomas Davis have acted in Tallaght (backed by Dublin GAA and GAA HQ). Thats the bottom line. I have no problem with Croke park receiving massive govt funding and nor did I have a problem with the GAA using it solely for their games (and concerts, conferences and american football - but anyway) but their actions in tallaght are ridiculous.
We can argue the semantics of what ahppened in previous GAA/FAI regimes but today, in tallght, the GAA are completely at fault.
This is a FACT I wish the GAA apologists would get into their heads!
Donal81
22/12/2006, 1:10 PM
This is a FACT I wish the GAA apologists would get into their heads!
This is rubbish Bill and it's the worst element of this website. Once the phrase GAA is uttered, everyone lines up to throw all manner of abuse at it. We've so far had an awful article by Dervan praised to the hilt and a conspiracy theory about the GAA in league with the Catholic Church went more or less unchecked. If someone dares to stray from this, they get called an apologist. What have I excused so far? All I've pointed out is that Shamrock Rovers don't own the ground and lost their hold on it through their own mucking about, leaving themselves open to Thomas Davis' opportunism, and that most evidence so far points to this being a local issue rather than a national one.
Like Pete pointed out, what good does it do us to respond to examples of the worst in GAA by simply lowering ourselves to their level of namecalling?
We've heard the same arguments about Croker get trotted out despite an overwhelming majority of the GAA voting in favour of opening it. This seems to get forgotten in the melee to slag off the whole organisation.
It drives me mad when GAA people I know mindlessly slag off soccer, grouping Shamrock Rovers, the FAI, Sky Sports and Jose Mourinho into one. What makes it worse is when soccer fans respond in kind.
The future for sport in this country will not be based around division and the GAA know it as well as the FAI and IRFU know it. The last few years have seen an unprecedented amount of cooperation between the organisations. Rednecks in Thomas Davis will have their big day out in court and make their little stand but when it all hopefully goes away, the GAA will be as relieved as any of us. They have nothing to gain from this and well they know it, especially with acres of land in Rathcoole waiting to be developed.
Billsthoughts
22/12/2006, 1:20 PM
How is it rubbish?
The GAA is at fault in Tallaght. They are dragging out a court case. They can tell the clubs to desist if they wanted to. They do it often enough in relation to other things.
The Dervan article was praised by Rovers fans because it highlighted the issue which is something other papers have not been doing.
Personally I mentioned the sunday indo article which is not actually on their website for some reason. but it was a whole article defending the GAA without mentioning the tallaght situation.
Football is the nations sport and should be accorded its proper status. Most people in the state participate in it. it should be funded accordingly.
Donal81
22/12/2006, 1:28 PM
How is it rubbish?
The GAA is at fault in Tallaght. They are dragging out a court case. They can tell the clubs to desist if they wanted to. They do it often enough in relation to other things.
The Dervan article was praised by Rovers fans because it highlighted the issue which is something other papers have not been doing.
Personally I mentioned the sunday indo article which is not actually on their website for some reason. but it was a whole article defending the GAA without mentioning the tallaght situation.
Football is the nations sport and should be accorded its proper status. Most people in the state participate in it. it should be funded accordingly.
It's rubbish if you're referring to me and others who haven't agreed with you as 'GAA apologists.'
Hang on, the Thomas Davis story made the Indo and the Irish Times when it came out. Emmet Malone has written regularly about Shamrock Rovers since the stadium story kicked off in the late 90s. Through the involvement of John O'Donoghue, it's become a national issue, rather than a council one. How much more attention does the club require? It's received the backing of the Council, most local councillors and the Department of Sport, not to mention favourable articles in the IT and the Indo. This is a well-known issue.
From what I could see, people didn't just like the raising of Thomas Davis in Dervan's article, they also liked the childish GAA-bashing.
The situatuion is basically the same as the council building a school...and the prison service wanting access to it to use as a prison as well.Logical of course...
This is rubbish Bill and it's the worst element of this website.
Firstly this is a football forum so i've no idea what goes on in GAA forums.
As you have been quick to remind people this is a thread about Tallaght & Thomas Davis yet you have not addressed that issue & prefer to talk in generalities.
Thomas Davis are being self serving & parochial in their opportunistic opposition to Tallaght Stadium. If they were to win that case would mean possibe end to public funding os sport. TD have no case at all & are just trying to delay the Tallaght stadium completion in the hope Rovers fold. The GAA Central bigwigs are supporting this. Now the FAI central bigwigs have come out to support Rovers to send out the message that issue won't go away just because Rovers can't afford the legal fees. The government amazingly enough is supporting the football club ahead of the GAA club for probably first time ever...
Donal81
22/12/2006, 4:32 PM
Firstly this is a football forum so i've no idea what goes on in GAA forums.
As you have been quick to remind people this is a thread about Tallaght & Thomas Davis yet you have not addressed that issue & prefer to talk in generalities.
What are you talking about? What do you want me to address? That Thomas Davis are chancers, making the most of Rovers' difficulties and deserving of contempt? I've said that more than enough times - where have I spoken in generalities? Where have I argued for Thomas Davis? Absolutely nowhere. But if I don't row in with slagging of the GAA that's as mindless as a GAA person slagging off soccer, I become a GAA apologist? Thanks for reinforcing my point, Pete.
Thomas Davis are being self serving & parochial in their opportunistic opposition to Tallaght Stadium. If they were to win that case would mean possibe end to public funding os sport. TD have no case at all & are just trying to delay the Tallaght stadium completion in the hope Rovers fold. The GAA Central bigwigs are supporting this.
I've addressed all this loads of times Pete. In fact, I used the same word you used plenty of times - opportunistic. I've never argued TD's case - I've argued that Rovers don't own the stadium and as such have left themselves open to this challenge, not that the challenge should have happened in the first place.
Now the FAI central bigwigs have come out to support Rovers to send out the message that issue won't go away just because Rovers can't afford the legal fees. The government amazingly enough is supporting the football club ahead of the GAA club for probably first time ever...
More 'us against the world' stuff Pete, it's unneccesary. The Government is supporting Rovers because it's their policy that this will be a soccer stadium and they're bang on.
Merc67
23/12/2006, 1:27 AM
The lephant in the room that no journalist has touched yet (Well Kevin Myers did briefly but had to do a crawling piece on how wonderful the GAA were a few weeks later) is continued GAA support for terrorism. On the last sunday in July Nicky Brennan missed all the GAA championship because he travelled to Derry to open Kevin Lynch GAA grounds for Kevin Lynch GAA club. Lynch was a convicted terrorist who died on hunger strike in 1981. The ceremony that included Adams and McGuinness also include a paramilitary parade. It wasn't deemed worthy of a mention in any mainstream paper in the Republic. I wonder if Portadown renamed Shamrock Park Billy Wright Park and the president of the IFA joined in the ceremony with leading Loyalists would it cause an outrage. You bet it would!!!!!
jaysus, ye might not like the GAA, but anyone who's calling themselves 'Irish' and comparing feking Billy Wright to a hunger striker can go and jump off the top of the Hogan Stand as far as I'm concerned.
Not that im on here very often, but your moniker will now go down on the 'ignore - hasnt a brain' list...:rolleyes: disgraceful.
Kevin Lynch Park = 'supporting terrorism'... wake up to the real world and the real history of this country fella. your a disgrace.
namechecking Myers only helps you prove so:) as does using Thathcher's terminology.
apologies for posting this on a football site, but the origingal poster went OTT in my eyes.
Merc67
23/12/2006, 1:47 AM
back to the original point...
here's a piece from the Sunday MIrror last April.. it may shed a little light on the GAA'S viewpoint - that has not been seen on here..
Football: CROKER CHOKER
Sunday Mirror, Apr 2, 2006 by CIARAN O RAGHALLAIGH
STEVE STAUNTON'S Republic of Ireland could be kicked out of Croke Park in 2008 if there is no solution found to the new row between the Government and the GAA.
The home of Gaelic Games agreed to open their doors to this 83,000-capacity super stadium as a gesture of goodwill while Lansdowne Road is being redeveloped.
But that could all change as the GAA are getting fed up at their treatment by the Government over Lansdowne and now Tallaght's municipal stadium. Having seen plans dumped to host Gaelic games in the new Lansdowne Road, the latest row is over Shamrock Rovers' half- built stadium in Tallaght - and who plays there.
The Government, who are funding the project, want only soccer played there, but the GAA are demanding they open it to all.
If they don't, the GAA are ready to withdraw their goodwill over opening Croke Park in 2008 - and that means no home for Staunton & Co.
A Croke Park insider said: "This started off as a local issue but it's now become a national one. We are disappointed that after the good gesture the Association made in opening Croke Park, this is being thrown back in our face.
"Only six months ago we were told that Lansdowne wouldn't be big enough for GAA after being promised it would be.
"Now we see a stadium 100 per cent publicly funded and we're not allowed in there either.
"This taps into an overall feeling of our members especially following the goodwill gesture in Croke Park.
"There is a hardening of attitudes from GAA members across the country now and while it won't trouble soccer and rugby games in 2007, it could easily affect 2008.
"It wouldn't take an enormous leap to see someone or club make a proposal next year to not allow soccer in again."
When Rule 42 was amended last year the new wording gave Central Council the power to open Croke Park to other sports while Lansdowne was being redeveloped. This power was used in December to open the ground for 2007, but no decision has yet been taken on the usage for 2008.
The spokesman added: "If there is goodwill there come next summer, then I'm sure it won't be an issue.
"However, you will see members applying the letter of the law to see Croke Park closed to soccer.
"After the Lansdowne fiasco there is a feeling that the wool could be pulled over our eyes."
23/12/2006, 10:55 AM
Amid all this discussion, everyone - including the GAA of course - is forgetting that the GAA have a prime site in every village and town in Ireland - many of which they now want to flog off for enormous profit - merely because the unholy trinity of the GAA, the Catholic church and the politicians ensured that the GAA got these sites, essentially for free, over the decades - while the "foreign" sports were banned to the wilderness.
Funny how the GAA always forgets where the ludicrous imbalance originally started.
def too true
this has to be the best post of the month, cheers mate
The Ga have had a 80 years of a head start over football, bloody ga heads try to wipe out the beautiful game as best they come, and beleive me i live in the countryside so i know what they are like down here
if i happen to mention that i have no interest in Ga, or how my county is doing.....its a lynchable offence..............****s
fcuk bogball
rant over
feeling better now!
p_o_r
23/12/2006, 11:36 AM
def too true
The Ga have had a 80 years of a head start over football, bloody ga heads try to wipe out the beautiful game as best they come, and beleive me i live in the countryside so i know what they are like down here
if i happen to mention that i have no interest in Ga, or how my county is doing.....its a lynchable offence..............****s
fcuk bogball
rant over
feeling better now!
Yawn,
Same old chiches, 'the beautiful game', 'bogball', yawn, any chance of a counstructive argumnet ?
Two points
1. For the last 100 years the GAA have saved the governmnets and thus the tax payersof this country billions by supplying and manintaining sports fields and facilities for kids to play and take part in sport. In the UK and other countries who do you think has to pay to maintain all the playing fields ?. So a partial funding of Croke Park is a small price to pay for all that has been saved over the decades.
2. The Liam Brady ban issue - The ban went over 30 years ago, the ban on British soliders and PSNI member being members of the GAA went 6 years ago. I know it's hard for some here top swallow but the GAA are moving on and are a progressive organisation.
Merc67
23/12/2006, 12:08 PM
imagine the church *who i have no time for* and irish politicians trying to mantain the country;s heritage...
shame on them eh!
ffs sake, wise up lads, your doing the sport of soccer in ireland a disservice. you are coming across so bloody anti-irish, like a fecking rangers website.
of course some of you share opinions the rangers fans do, without even knowing it. time to look in a large mirror...
23/12/2006, 9:59 PM
.........you are coming across so bloody anti-irish, like a fecking rangers website....
Can you give a link to an anti-Irish Rangers website?
24/12/2006, 12:53 PM
Yawn,
Same old chiches, 'the beautiful game', 'bogball', yawn, any chance of a counstructive argumnet ?
Two points
1. For the last 100 years the GAA have saved the governmnets and thus the tax payersof this country billions by supplying and manintaining sports fields and facilities for kids to play and take part in sport. In the UK and other countries who do you think has to pay to maintain all the playing fields ?. So a partial funding of Croke Park is a small price to pay for all that has been saved over the decades.
2. The Liam Brady ban issue - The ban went over 30 years ago, the ban on British soliders and PSNI member being members of the GAA went 6 years ago. I know it's hard for some here top swallow but the GAA are moving on and are a progressive organisation.
why dont you go back to your Ga websites and let us talk about the beautiful game
you are hardly comparing bogball to football are you?
my point is that the Ga have a stranglehood in a lot of communtities, you see what happens when a lot of the lads want to play football, the ga will rearrange their training for the same day
i remember when i was in school, we were NEVER allowed to play football, we did anyway, bit that was only 10 years ago,
tx to the ga for saving the tax payers so much money!
the facts are....................we have the same old same old ****e in ireland............catholic church, ff and fg, and ga heads, all into their country and western...........i dont have to go far to meet the above!!!!!!!
i know a lot of county players, and their ilk...............its so easy to wind them up about football.............i hate their attitude that they are more irish than the rest, cause they play a sh it sport, get over it
if im not making much sense, sorry i have a hangover!:)
Donal81
24/12/2006, 5:34 PM
imagine the church *who i have no time for* and irish politicians trying to mantain the country;s heritage...
shame on them eh!
ffs sake, wise up lads, your doing the sport of soccer in ireland a disservice. you are coming across so bloody anti-irish, like a fecking rangers website.
of course some of you share opinions the rangers fans do, without even knowing it. time to look in a large mirror...
This is when I tune out...:rolleyes:
Donal81
24/12/2006, 5:42 PM
def too true
fcuk bogball
rant over
feeling better now!
As long as you're slagging the GAA, you can write any old rubbish here, it seems.
khoop
24/12/2006, 11:43 PM
As long as you're slagging the GAA, you can write any old rubbish here, it seems
As long as you are blindly defending the GAA - you can write any old rubbish here, it seems.
The GAA doesn't need any detractors really - it's killing itself with it's own blinkered stupidity.
It's only a matter of time.....
24/12/2006, 11:47 PM
Thread locked. It might be re-opened