View Full Version : How many penalty points do you have?
18/12/2006, 12:10 AM
Someone on Boards started a "how many driving bans would we accumulate" (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=52510268) thread, I said I'd start something similar here. Feel free to post what you got them for if you like.
Flat-cap Sunday driver comments will result in a permabans. Because you're worth it.
carrickharp
18/12/2006, 7:55 AM
Still on 0 but worried about my trip to Wexford yesterday first camera on the Nass road (100 Km zone three lanes for traffic, easy targets think I got away though) second was on way into Carlow where the speed limit drops down to 60 Km another easy target area:mad:
18/12/2006, 8:44 AM
0. Am a good girl! :D
Such a good girl in fact that this morning I flashed at a driver who came out of their drive way without their lights on in terrible fog. The car stopped and I rolled down the window to see a Garda sitting there. He asked if everything was ok and I said yeah but you need to put your lights on. He blushed and thanked me! Ha!
Such a good girl in fact that this morning I flashed at a driver...
I am sure he was very surprised but appreciative. :cool:
However flashing male drivers can be dangerous as very distracting. :D
18/12/2006, 11:20 AM
Still on zero, but I've had 2 close calls speeding on the N7 heading down to Limerick, still don't know how I got away with the second one and I've copped myself on since then and rarely go over the speed limit now
18/12/2006, 11:21 AM
Still on 0 points.
Granted I don't drive, but it is the principle that counts.
18/12/2006, 12:03 PM
got 14 points from the library in college,but i dont think that really counts
18/12/2006, 12:08 PM
Reading without due care and attention?
Drunk in charge of a scientific journal?
babydol
18/12/2006, 12:25 PM
4- oh the shame!!
Drumcondra Red
18/12/2006, 2:46 PM
0, just don't get caught folks!!! :D
Flat-cap Sunday driver comments will result in a permabans. Because you're worth it.
fascist :p
18/12/2006, 2:54 PM
113kph in an 80kph stretch of Dual carriageway at 6am on a sunday morning with the sun shining and not a car on the road.Fuppin' copper hiding in a filling station litterally jumped out in front of me with his Ray Gun 2pts and 80 yoyo fine
I've been known to do 140 plus on the M7 or M4 and ain't been clocked yet although I suppose I should be carefull now
was cruising along past the curragh heading for portlaoise the other day when I realised I was going over 100mph not bad for a 1.0 corsa
carrickharp
18/12/2006, 3:13 PM
was cruising along past the curragh heading for portlaoise the other day when I realised I was going over 100mph not bad for a 1.0 corsa
Were you going down a hill with the clutch down;)
Still on 0 points.
Granted I don't drive, but it is the principle that counts.
I don't get that logic. No point you voting if you doin't drive.
Its like a pioneer voting in a "ever been drunk poll"
manofthemoment
18/12/2006, 3:26 PM
thankfully still have zero points even though i do a fair bit of driving. Had a 'mandatory' breath test at 2:30 last Saturday night/Sunday morning. Feels so good when you havent been drinking
Paddyfield
18/12/2006, 4:20 PM
2 points. :mad:
I got caught on camera in the Culchie Trap on the N4 entering Dubland last year. I should've copped it when all ther D registered cars were slowing down.
18/12/2006, 9:02 PM
Drive a Northern reg car and have a Northern license so you get to hum along on the M1 with no bother (although I rarely do over 130kph).
Serving the Queen (as fans of every other EL remind club us) does have its benefits.
Until penalty points are harmonised.
I've no points in the North either, where there are a lot more speed checks, including a cop in a wideboy Golf GTI between Omagh and Ballygawley with bling bling alloys and tinted windows, which is verging on entrapment IMHO :D
Also, watch out for a unmarked red Hyundai Sante Fe (or a Subaru?) on the M1 around Drogheda who has no tolerance for any speeding and pulls over anyone doing anymore than 5kph over the limit, which on a motorway is ridiculous as the calibration of the speedo may not even catch that.
Also an unmarked black Toyota Avensis with blacked out windows around Carrickmacross (lives on the bypass, usually hiding behind fences).
18/12/2006, 9:35 PM
Been driving since September, 0 so far. Hope to keep it that way;)
18/12/2006, 11:56 PM
Still driving here on UK licence, a necessity on this N11, otherwise I'd have got more points than Bray this year :D
0 to date but have been lucky a couple of times. Drove straight past a garda car doing 100 in a 80 zone and I wasn't even pulled. They were busy dealing with some other unlucky soul.
19/12/2006, 8:41 AM
I am sure he was very surprised but appreciative. :cool:
However flashing male drivers can be dangerous as very distracting. :D
Jeeze! Of course it wasnt that kinda flashing! He was waaaay too old and not my type!
IMO starting at zero points doesn't make much sense as essentially the longer you been driving the more likely to have points. I believe in the US they have system that you start on something like 10 points & then for each point free year you get points deducted. Likewise you get points added for offenses.
3 for me though im in the uk and it works diffrently over here. Plus there are far too many speed camreas and not enought police patroling the roads imo.
The level of revinue generated in no way relates to the amount of police that it pays for because they either get called else where or get swamped down doing paper work.
got mine for speeding :o pesky camrea van :D
19/12/2006, 6:50 PM
been driving 2 years ,2 points, got them in curry :(
20/12/2006, 9:57 AM
Had a Real Near miss This Morning. Car in front was turning right but neglected to indicate or slow down till the last second, I skidded about 30 yards and stopped inches from her rear bumper (still fairly shaken)
20/12/2006, 2:52 PM
I don't get that logic. No point you voting if you doin't drive.
Its like a pioneer voting in a "ever been drunk poll"
Dont want to vote as I have never driven in Ireland, but I want to see the results of the poll, so what can I do?
Select View Poll Results on the bottom right hand side of the voting table??
20/12/2006, 5:01 PM
I have 2 points (113k on the Chapolizod by-pass, the ****er didn;'t have the illuminous jacket on nor a torch and it was 9 at night, at the end of October:eek: ). I've been driving since April. I drive the same route so often now I feel I could do it blindfolded. The new Naas road is an absolute pleasure to drive on, and for anyone who only experiences it during peak time, it is so easy to go over the limit its not funny. I do the shift work so more often than not I'm heading home at 4 in the morning or going to work at 5 in the morning. I've no problem saying it, I drive over the speed limits. And I'm a firm believer of what Dahamsta says, that Bad driving causes accidents, rather than speeding. Had the misfortune of driving into work this avo for 4 and the amount of tossers driving from Citywest in wasn't funny.
Over the post
20/12/2006, 5:43 PM
I've 12 as far as I know, but that's because in Spain you start with that many and get them deducted as you do bad things. I drive with an Irish licence though so I'm not sure how they apply the points thing; fortunately I haven't had the chance to find out.
The interviewed the first driver in Spain to lose all his points recently; he was caught speeding (60kmph in a 30 zone), smoking a joint (he always starts the day with one), without a seat belt (it clashed with his tracksuit) and no insurance (he was "between insurance companies"). You couldn't make it up!
21/12/2006, 1:13 PM
Select View Poll Results on the bottom right hand side of the voting table??
Very good. My question was a test and you passed it.:D
carrickharp
11/05/2007, 8:02 AM
Anyone get any points since?? Still none here yet anyway.
11/05/2007, 8:26 AM
I've none.
I do a lot of driving and have gone past speed cameras on numerous occasions doing 110.
So either I'm very very lucky or you have to drive a fair bit over the limit to get done.
11/05/2007, 8:30 AM
110k? There's no speed camera will go off at that, when tolerances and calibrations are taken into account it could be less than 5k over the limit.
I've driven past hairdryers at 70mph many times. Although they're generally up to the discretion of the Guard, there's very few would bother with anything under that.
I haven't picked up any since this thread started. My first two should expire shortly; before my insurance renewal thank christ.
11/05/2007, 8:34 AM
110k? There's no speed camera will go off at that, when tolerances and calibrations are taken into account it could be less than 5k over the limit.
You seem to know your speed-guns.
What do ya reckon you need to be doing so? 120?
11/05/2007, 8:43 AM
That's a Garda policy and I don't know it; I'm just going on my own experience. It's been said that there used to be an unofficial policy of 10% + 3mph (or possibly 4, I can't remember), but it's pretty likely that's an old wives tale propagated in the pub.
Generally I keep under 70mph in general speed limits, and 80mph on motorways. The former is probably on the cusp as it's mph thinking and new Guards won't think that way, but I reckon the latter is very unlikely to get you busted as it's very little over the limit anyway.
11/05/2007, 9:16 AM
Get ready for 600 new mobile speed cameras in September (I think),they will be visible for 6 months and then from then on hidden.
It will be impossible to keep a clean licence if you do any serious amount of driving.
11/05/2007, 4:02 PM
Had a Real Near miss This Morning. Car in front was turning right but neglected to indicate or slow down till the last second, I skidded about 30 yards and stopped inches from her rear bumper (still fairly shaken)
Do you still not understand that you were driving too close to the car in front even after nearly going into the back of one??
Mind you it's a common fault, you see it all the time.
Get ready for 600 new mobile speed cameras in September (I think),they will be visible for 6 months and then from then on hidden.
It will be impossible to keep a clean licence if you do any serious amount of driving.
That's my real worry, when they get a large amount of cameras and they're all hidden. It would then be well possible if you're driving a good distance, from Sligo to Waterford, say, to start clean but be over the points limit by the time you get home! :eek:
Something very underhanded about that, and I know that's rich and all but still it doesn't seem right.
Oh, and 2 points by the way.
monutdfc
11/05/2007, 4:50 PM
D
Also an unmarked black Toyota Avensis with blacked out windows around Carrickmacross (lives on the bypass, usually hiding behind fences).
I think I've seen that one a few times - are you sure it's not a Camry?
Generally I keep under 70mph in general speed limits, and 80mph on motorways. The former is probably on the cusp as it's mph thinking and new Guards won't think that way, but I reckon the latter is very unlikely to get you busted as it's very little over the limit anyway.
Its hard to know what the policy really is (do they nab people at 65mph on a slow day?) but i usually stick to those speeds too.
The speedometer is probably calibrated a bit high anyway so if it says 70 on your dash then probably closer to 65.
was trying to make some space on the M7 last Monday & probably stretching the 80mph a bit. Anyone know how long it takes to get fine in the post? Typical anyway, drive 500mph up & down the country & only speed trap is on the motorway. :(
11/05/2007, 7:09 PM
Anyone know how long it takes to get fine in the post? :(
3 weeks approx.
11/05/2007, 11:49 PM
The speedometer is probably calibrated a bit high anyway so if it says 70 on your dash then probably closer to 65.You're right, but it's very unlikely to be that much. A mile or two at most. (Sorry for pedantry!)
Anyone know how long it takes to get fine in the post?Weeks or even months I'm afraid.
Typical anyway, drive 500mph up & down the country & only speed trap is on the motorway.They were very specifically told to stop that by the Minister; assuming it was on a straight. Next time you see that, slow down, get the reg and report them. It's the only way to get them to stop; assuming enough people do it that is.
I got done doing 36mph in a 30 zone (was still mph back then) on the way into Ballinalack in Longford(I think). ****es me off that there certain spots where the speed limit is unusually low and thats where they try and get people. More of a money making excercise than trying to save lives. Got the points nearly 3 years ago so they'll be gone from my license soon.
They were very specifically told to stop that by the Minister; assuming it was on a straight. Next time you see that, slow down, get the reg and report them. It's the only way to get them to stop; assuming enough people do it that is.
I think that was politics by the Minister. I don't believe he cares as longs as the revenue comes in. Sure the policy leaflet the Gardai sent out to homes a few months ago had as its cover picture a Garda bike with radar gun on the side of a motorway. :rolleyes:
12/05/2007, 4:42 PM
Think the gaurds have certain targets to meet each month so they will pull you over sometimes if yer only doing slightly over the speed limit.
green army
12/05/2007, 4:42 PM
have 2 points on me licence. got caught at the lucan spa hotel doing 93 in an 80 zone.
12/05/2007, 5:44 PM
Think the gaurds have certain targets to meet each month so they will pull you over sometimes if yer only doing slightly over the speed limit.I honestly think that's quite unlikely. If it happened to me, I'd challenge the ticket and take my chances in court on the grounds of speedo and/or detector calibration. If it got that far - ie. the Garda actually turned up in court - there's a fair chance the judge would throw it out anyway, for wasting his time. I've seen it happen, and the Garda got a right boll0cking from the judge into the bargain.
carrickharp
26/05/2007, 12:48 PM
FFS just got letter with my first 2 points and €80 fine, M50 Santry 100 in 80 zone:mad: It'a a fcuking Motorway:mad:
26/05/2007, 2:19 PM
I just got a letter from the DOE taking two back, just in time for my insurance quote, which appears to knock about a hundred quid off! Yahoo!
31/03/2008, 8:12 PM
Anybody know how many points you require before it effects your insurance premium or do the Insurance companies differ?