View Full Version : The return of the Foot.ie yuletide carols

15/12/2006, 1:08 PM
Fellow foot.ie-ers,

Those of you who have been around here for a couple of years - as well as recieving my commiserations, you may also recall an excellent thread 2 years ago in which numerous comedy EL-related Christmas carols were penned and posted on the site. I don't know who started it, but it was a stroke of genuis at teh time. Who can forget the numerous versions of 'Do they Know its Christmas....! (e.g. 'Feed-er cluuuuub' with reference to Bohs, 'Feed the Duuu-uuubbs' etc etc) :D

Well - it seems to me that this event should be reinaugurated as an annual tradiiton. To kick start the process, I've penned a little ditty about the arson scare at Merrion Square,. It's to the tune of 'Nelly the Elephant' - not a Christmas tune, granted, but I do believe it was a Yuletide No. 1 many years ago.

Anyway - here's a starter for 10. Let the creative juices flow, and then to top off the 'Post of the year' vote, we can have a 'Yuletide Foot.ie tune of the year' vote as well.

To the tune of Nelly The Elephant.

Maxi McAllister parked his cab
and said goodbye to his family
Off he went with a paraffin can
Splash, splash, splash !

Maxi McAllister parked his cab
and trumbled off to the City,
Off he went with a match in his hand,
Splash, Splash, Splash !

Up to the door he went strolling
without a care in the world.
Dundalk shirt on, a case that is strong,
and a bannner outside unfurrrrrrllleeeeed.

Maxi McAllister stormed HQ
Security they were sleeping
Off he went with his rantitty rant -
Farce, farce farce !

Maxi McAllister cleared the place,
the blazers did a runner
With that electro-static hair, Delaney was scared
He'd make a spark, spark, spark !

The Press and the Guards came pour-ing,
down to the Square to see
A fat football fan, with a match in his hand,
Molesting a Christmas treeeeeeeeee

Woooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhh (sound of Fire Engine siren).

Maxi McAllister said his piece
Delaney refused to engage him
Time it flew by, the petrol it dried
"Bhallacksh - woht noyyy" !

Maxi McAlister mulled over his plans
And just as it seemed he was struggling
McGill he appeared, old Maxi was cheered
Smile, smile, smile !

Surrender to the Guards was sor-ted,
And so our story ends
One question remains - what ever became,
Of his Christmas tree girl-friennnnnnnnndddddddddd

Wooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh (start again from beginning).

15/12/2006, 6:54 PM
Knocked up this version of The Police (or should that be An Garda?) hit "Message In A Bottle" a few months ago:

Just a castaway, a fan lost in the graveyard
Another lonely game, with no one here but me, oh
More loneliness than any fan could bear
Rescue me before I have to go to Athlone

Ill send an SOS to the Prem
I hope that someone gets my
Message from the First Div, yeah

A season's passed since Rovers went down
But I should have known this right from the start
Only Harps can keep me together
Cobh can mend your life but
Dundalk break your heart

Walked out this evening, dont believe what I saw
One hundred-fifty spectators down in Station Road
Seems I'm not alone at being alone
One hundred-fifty Kildare fans, looking for a home
Sending out at an SOS
Sending out at an SOS..

15/12/2006, 7:31 PM
Deck the Halls.....

Deck the halls with Bohs and Ollie
Fa-la-la-la-la, la-la-la-la
The FAI are such a folly
Don we now our fire apparel
Fa-la-la, la-la-la, la-la-la.
Stealing petrol from a barrel
Fa-la-la-la-la, la-la-la-la.

See the blazing tools before us.
Drink the harp and join the chorus.
Follow Maxi in bonfire pleasure.
And watch the fools under pressure.

Fast away Limerick passes.
Hail Dundalk, ye lads and lasses
Sing we joyous, all together.
Cheers to Maxi, the fu*kin' header.

15/12/2006, 8:19 PM
Going slightly off topic - I realised that Paddy Casey's song "Saints and Sinners" is quite apt for the League over the past few years:

Anyone can lose it all
If you don't heed your warnings call
Anyone can loose it all

Anyone can make a mess
Just take so much and make it less
Anyone can make a mess

When you got time and streets making saints & sinners
Ink on sheets makin' losers from winners
Well it's not what your dreams should be

Anyone can be a saint
Well anyone can be a saint
Well you just forget that you ain't
Well we can go and be a saint

Anyone can be a star
Well anyone can be a star
We'll just get in your car
And we can go and be a star

You know I wish we had more time
You know I think it was a crime
The things we waste trying not to waste our time

When you got time and streets making ends for beginners
Shuffling feets on these losers and winners

I remember in a drunken haze a few years ago being told that the song was actually written about the Registrations Debacle - apparently I heard somewhere that Paddy Casey is a Pats fan

Don't know how much truth is in that tbh

Dr.Nightdub
15/12/2006, 8:43 PM
You don't notice any of us rushing to claim him, do you? Mind you, who'd've thunk all those years ago that The Skids were Pats fans? :D

15/12/2006, 10:14 PM
I remember in a drunken haze a few years ago being told that the song was actually written about the Registrations Debacle - apparently I heard somewhere that Paddy Casey is a Pats fan

Don't know how much truth is in that tbh

Nah, he is a Shels fan, he wrote it about Shero ;)

:(

08/12/2008, 11:32 AM
Right so, all through the year we all make up chants to support our teams, or not as the case may be. Anyway, the season thats in it how about we put together a few Christmas Carols to describe the 2008 League of Ireland season and all that went on throughout the season.

I dunno does anyone want to compose their own carol but if you just want to change the lyrics then here is a handy website for Christmas Carols (http://www.christmas-carols.net/).

08/12/2008, 11:43 AM
Away in a Manger,
No crib for a bed,
the little lord jesus woke up and he said,
THE RAMBLERS, THE RAMBLERS!!!

08/12/2008, 12:22 PM
T'was Friday night babe,
in the Finn Park,
An old man said to me,
this is the place to be,
and then he sang a song,
a rare aul Finn Harps tune,
I turned my face away,
And dreamed about Harps.

Finn Harps, Finn Harps,
we're really on our way.....................and so on.

To the tune of Fairytale of New York.

08/12/2008, 12:25 PM
Cant remember the full verse (damn summer soccer :mad: )

Feed the muckers,
Let them know its christmas time.

Mr.A should know the rest of it.

08/12/2008, 12:56 PM
This was done 3-4 years ago on here and produced some real gems. Would be good to dig them out.

"Feed-er cluuubbbb "

shep
08/12/2008, 1:03 PM
Jingle Bells Jingle Bells Jingle all the way
Oh what fun it is to see Drogheda go away!!!!

passerrby
08/12/2008, 1:56 PM
god bless you derry mentalmen

or that old favorite

o christmas tree o christmas tree
the leagues unchanging
o christmas tree o christmas tree
i,ll get some petrol

08/12/2008, 2:07 PM
Cant remember the full verse (damn summer soccer :mad: )

Feed the muckers,
Let them know its christmas time.

Mr.A should know the rest of it.

Oh there'll be no jobs in Derry this Christmas time
The only gift they'll get this year is their dole
Because they've got no jobs
They just walk their skinny dogs
Do they know it's Christmas time at all?

Feed the Muckers, let them know it's Christmas time....

sniffa
08/12/2008, 4:46 PM
Stuff Fran Gavins hole with Holly tra la la la la...la la la la

Delaneys too for all his Folly tra la la la la...la la la la

08/12/2008, 4:54 PM
THE BOHS BOARD ARE OFF THEIR TROLLEY Fa la la la la...la la BOW-EZ
TRIED TO SELL OUR GROUND FOR LOADS OF LOLLY Fa la la la la...la la BOW-EZ
DUMB THEY ARE NOW, STUUUPID *******, Fa la la la la...la la BOW-EZ
THE BOHS BOARD ARE OFF THEIR TROLLEY Fa la la la la...la la BOW-EZ