View Full Version : LFC Gone?
clownboy
14/12/2006, 6:45 AM
:mad: :mad: A DAY of chaos at FAI headquarters ended with a double plea by leading club officials: "Don't let senior soccer in Limerick die."
Amid all the furore over a Dundalk fan's dramatic protest at Merrion Square, the news that Limerick had been given the red card went almost unnoticed.
taken from the irish independent website
http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/index.php3?ca=37&issue_id=14998
thelimerick
14/12/2006, 10:03 AM
"Drew admitted that Limerick owed €3,800 in unpaid fines, that managerial accounts had not been sent in on time, that their youth development programme was "not up to scratch" and that they had no physio signed for next year."
-The reality of how our club has been run has in the end robbed us of our club.
JohnD
14/12/2006, 10:18 AM
It's a Sad day for Limerick Football. Mismanagement and Ego Driven fools have killed our club.
If we cant even get our appeal in order what is the point in goning on ?
14/12/2006, 10:33 AM
surely it would be no problem raising such a minute amount of cash, and there must be one physio willing to offer there services for free somewhere in limerick if just for a short time till a full time one can be found? dont know about the rest?
see's it
14/12/2006, 11:33 AM
noel mooney has got a new job and john delaney said he was an ex player,when did he hang up the glooves?
superhero
14/12/2006, 11:37 AM
when he signed for Limerick!!
LFC in Exile
14/12/2006, 11:40 AM
surely it would be no problem raising such a minute amount of cash, and there must be one physio willing to offer there services for free somewhere in limerick if just for a short time till a full time one can be found? dont know about the rest?
I hear you - but if it was just that it would be handy. The problems are much more fundamental that that.
thelimerick
14/12/2006, 11:45 AM
Can we as supporters organise a time and venue to meet, invite Drew, and see whats what?
14/12/2006, 11:56 AM
Waste of time. He has shown nothing but contempt towards supporters in the past, and that certainly won't change now.
thelimerick
14/12/2006, 12:35 PM
Waste of time. He has shown nothing but contempt towards supporters in the past, and that certainly won't change now.
Grand, forget about him altogether. go ahead with the meeting, invite politicans, LDMC and any interested parties at all and get our club back
eamo1
14/12/2006, 12:47 PM
get together NOW and as terry said start doing something.3,800 isnt that much,get on the local radio,newspapers etc and get publicity for yer cause,seriously lads.and as said already if drew wont listen then maybe he might if there was a big meeting.
btw,i think ye will find that galway is the 3rd biggest city in the country now,has been population wise for last 2 census:) .and size wise too.
14/12/2006, 1:33 PM
I can never undertsand the Limerick situation, baring in mind that I'm not privy to all the comings and goings.
Its mad! They have the most competitive Junior League in the country, in the 3rd biggest city in the country, yet the team has never (while I've been somewhat interested in the league) been competitive, save for a decent run in the League cup a few eyars ago.
Would I be right in thinking the two major issues are
1) the ground
2) investment.
Surely there is something the supporters can do about both issues? Obviously the Munster Rugby will take away much needed support, but surely it would be handy enough to get a supporters trust of say, 1000 people, giving €10 a week each. Mightn't seem like much but surely €10,000 a week would be better than nothing?
And as for a ground there are a few available for rent surely.
A curious outsider!
thelimerick
14/12/2006, 5:26 PM
Whatever about this proposed meeting in January and the petition etc, all of which I support, surely to God at this stage it's vital that Drew has nothing to do with our future, should we have one.
Philly
14/12/2006, 5:42 PM
I can't see Limerick getting reinstated through the courts. They signed a contract with the League(/FAI) and as Drew openly admits, failed to fulfill their side of the deal. They didn't get their house in order and missed out on the appeal. It is sad to see them go. It is obviously down to mismaganement, one man should never be allowed to have total control over a club.
Unfortunately this is the evolution of the eircom League. The clubs are those that are being (mis)managed by one or two stupid people, they are the ones that will hit the wall. More than likely Limerick. Shelbourne are on a steady slope. It's a pitty you fell due to one idiots ego-driven regime.
Kerry Blue
14/12/2006, 5:57 PM
What a disaster. I never thought at the start of the season that both Dublin City and Limerick would no longer be in the eircom League by the end of the year. There is no doubt that a fresh start must be made in terms of club ownership whether or not it involves DD. Right now it seems obvious that we would be better without him but I don't know what the logistics would be to remove him as owner. It's clear that the club must be saved one way or another as I feel that if it isn't at this stage then it could be a long time before Limerick will have a senior football team again.:(
you`re wrong there eamo1,
limericks population is 94000,(52000 in antiquated city limits)
galways population is 67000 all told - the above been the reason for the
myth,
anyway very sad day for limerick fc,cant see a way back
best of luck to galway for the new season......
4tothefloor
14/12/2006, 9:22 PM
The main problem with Limerick senior football is basically mismanagement. The club doesn’t have and has never had any structure. The football club should not be run by one or two people. It’s been like this since Pat Grace, through Joe Young and Michael O’Sullivan, now Drew. What kind of football club doesn’t have a board? Doesn’t have any links to its local football community? Doesn’t have any links to its fans? Has no democratic structure where officers are elected to their positions? Has no democratic structure where issues are put to the floor, discussed and sound decisions made on the back of this? The club is a joke and we do not deserve a license.
For the club to move forward the following HAS to happen:
A board has to be set up. Links to the various grassroot leagues have to be established. We have 2 junior (LDMC & Desmond) and 3 schoolboy (LDSL, Desmond and Limerick County) leagues in the county. The chairman, or one elected member, of each of these leagues should each have a place on the board. That’s 5 places. The Supporters Club chairman should also sit on the board. As should the Limerick FC chairman, secretary and any other senior Limerick FC officer, in addition to any investors/shareholders in the club. You could also have someone from City Hall on the board. You could also have people from Ladies football and schools/colleges football on the board. The chairman would of course have the casting vote/final say on anything.
Creating a board like this will forge links to all football in Limerick and most importantly it will be football people, as well as business people, who will have a say in the clubs running. Currently we have no links to anyone, which is why we have no fans, poor gates and no presence within the Limerick sporting public/media/community in general. This HAS to change. Enough is enough.
If a structure like this were to be put in place and adhered to, a club charter/treaty/constitution would have to be drawn up. This charter would have to outline the rules of the club, how officers are elected, what power the board has, what votes people have, disciplinary action etc. Any well run club has this and it copper-fastens what people can and cannot do. And it prevents any one individual in the club, whether they ‘own’ it or not, making willy-nilly decisions by themselves. EVERY issue should be discussed by the board.
The club would have to appoint qualified people to important positions. For example the clubs public relations is a joke. It’s a media circus. Look at the website….never updated. Another example is marketing. The sponsorship around the ground is pathetic. The programme is poor. Limerick FC is not in the public domain.
That’s basically what needs to be done for the club to get its act together both internally and in the wider community in Limerick. Unless this happens, we’re ****ing against the wind. Drew has to realise this, maybe he will now that we’re in dire straits. It’s a sad state of affairs but if Limerick are to survive action has to start now, as the ball is already rolling on the new league…
14/12/2006, 9:24 PM
The gesture by Kilkenny City while generous on one level might not work unless some form of transport to and from Kilkenny was organised by the club to get supporters to the "home" games hosted there. It's do-able but will require a lot of organisation. It may prove a stop gap measure until a suitable venue can be found in Limerick itself.
14/12/2006, 9:38 PM
I took this from the petition just to show the type os ****e that exists.
"No not in its present form, the FAI were right not to grant a licence. Among other farcical practices, Limerick FC use a trailer and garden seats as the directors box. Also on several occasions this season away fans have been attacked by locals without any corrective action from Limerick FC. Of course the FAI were not going to grant a licence to such an amateur badly run club."
When as you say people were attacked they were attacked by locals not limerick fc fans ie its an external matter and is as such a prob of local government and local police force. Limerick Fc did make ovitures to the local bodies concerning this but what the **** else did you expect them to do? invent their own private police force and court system. Its a football club for **** sake! That trailer was used as a press box not a directors box and with the positive press coverage we've always recieved id say that it was too good for them.
dutchie
15/12/2006, 9:04 AM
Nearly everyone here on this fourm are slating DD,while i must admit he is a bit of a headcase and his decisions this season were sometimes baffling to say the least,i do feel a bit sorry for him,at the end of the day he pumped his own money(over 200k im told) into the club when no one wanted to know about the club,at the end of the day he put his money where his mouth was,what we are looking now is another DD with a bag of cash to waste,i don"T think we will have any luck.
15/12/2006, 9:09 AM
Wrong. What we're looking for now is a structure. Something solid, but unspectacular to see the club through until it finds its feet.
15/12/2006, 9:29 AM
Exactly Joe....sugar daddy's melt when there is rain.
This could be the best thing to happen to the STRUCTURE of football in Limerick in the long run. Its easy for us to look and shake our heads at what went on but so many clubs have been & some still are being run haphazardly. Its the nature of the beast, people who are committed to football are not always good at business and good business people often have no real interest in the football.
I for one will miss Limerick this year, I love that trip & have made some good friends down there. But I am (yeah I know Mr til I die) an optimist who does think that in a year or so a strong community based Limerick FC will be back in the league.
Best of luck lads and hope you can pull something together.
geezer
15/12/2006, 9:56 AM
why dont yee get a few of yee to set up a mobile retail/information stand in the shopping centres of limerick. It will generate debate, help find other supporters out there who might help, have a petition there and you will find people will respect yee for your love of the club. dont let it die ffs. The GUST guys and girls in galway nearly sold 3k in 4 hours at one shopping centre nearly enough to pay them outstanding fines yee have. Time for real actions not bitchin sessions and pointing fingers
Philly
15/12/2006, 10:25 AM
Guys isn't it too late now?
I mean unless the club drags this through the courts and wins what else can be done to get into the eL?
Re-apply perhaps?
15/12/2006, 11:33 AM
Watch this space............
BohsFans
15/12/2006, 12:52 PM
What did you do that you have fines of €3,800?:confused:
15/12/2006, 12:58 PM
UEFA related fines over the ground not being up to scratch.
FAI are now saying on there website they are looking for a replacement club in Limerick to replace Limerick FC?
Intersting piec on the RTE website:
"The adjudication both at first instance and appeal stages is carried out by two separate committees comprising independent outside experts in the fields of legal, financial, infrastructural and sporting administration,' Delaney commented.
He added that the FAI would welcome other applications for a license from the Limerick area.
'We want a healthy Limerick based club in the new eircom League of Ireland and if interested entities seek a licence, we would assess them carefully for their suitability to meet the criteria required to play in the league."
The Plot thickens:confused:
15/12/2006, 2:06 PM
He added that the FAI would welcome other applications for a license from the Limerick area.
'We want a healthy Limerick based club in the new eircom League of Ireland and if interested entities seek a licence, we would assess them carefully for their suitability to meet the criteria required to play in the league."
I can see where they're coming from. I've been thinking for some time this might need to happen to clear out the dead wood from the whole Limerick set up -in a one step back to take two steps forward way.
As a lapsed supporter I've been long since baffled as to what, for example, tethers us to Rathbane/Hogan Park. Why can't we just **** off somewhere else, be done with all connection to the place, the priest and the whole soap opera that goes with it?
..and if we did go -why keep approaching junior football to give us a home when we're only going to be getting in each others way?
Limerick is Rugby City ...surely one of the Rugby clubs would be interested in having us as a tenant when there's so little overlap in our seasons.
I'm thinking if someone else out there puts together a package for a team playing out of Limerick with that little bit done they'd be seriously considered.
JoeyFantastic
15/12/2006, 5:49 PM
Does anyone else suspect that the FAI just want to be shot of the whole Limerick FC fiasco, with Drew, Young and the others, and are hoping and praying another group will come in and set up a team away from all the above mentioned headcases?
UL are rumoured to want a team in the new league, they'd certainly have the resources to set a team up .
People always say Limerick is a rugby city, and a hurling county, but if that is the case, why are the junior sides so strong? Imo, football is still a huge sport in the city, just not as well run as intercounty GAA or Munster rugby.
Fair play to Kilkenny for offering us their ground, that said Limerick FC playing in Kilkenny would die a fast death next year. The only other point I'll make about this situation is to say that from what I've heard Michael O'Sullivan worked his arse off recently to try to keep this club going so fair play to him on that point too.
I'll leave the rest of my ranting off till I get back down to the pub
Kerry Blue
15/12/2006, 8:21 PM
"The adjudication both at first instance and appeal stages is carried out by two separate committees comprising independent outside experts in the fields of legal, financial, infrastructural and sporting administration,' Delaney commented.
I wonder does this mean that the FAI want another team completely to join the league by applying for a license or could it be that if new ownership of the club was put in place then Limerick FC could re-apply for their license?
I'm not that well up on junior football in the city but would any of the major clubs like Pike, Fairview etc be really interested in joining the eL and would they be able to meet the criteria to attain a license? It still seems to me that Limerick FC under whatever ownership or guise it will be in the near future is still the best bet for a senior club in the city. Obviously though the major stumbling block is still the ground situation. I'm not sure that ground sharing with one of the rugby clubs would work as the logistics of changing pitch markings and goalposts could prove a right pain. And anyway the two seasons would still overlap by quite a few months. Surely the main aim for the club has to be to obtain a permanent home for itself wherever that might be.
15/12/2006, 10:52 PM
Irish sugar daddies only invest in football clubs based in ENGLAND and SCOTLAND bloody batsards :(
thelimerick
16/12/2006, 11:47 AM
[QUOTE=JohnD;592794]
QUOTE]
An interesting quote and it certainly ssems to open the door for potential investors who do not want to deal with the "unhealthy" set-up currently in place. It could allow people to sidestep Drew and co. and even continue a Limerick FC in the league without loosing its history.
I do genuinely feel for Drew in the loss financially incurred by him during his reign but thats where my sympathies stop. Its not good simply enough to throw money at a problem, the lack of a clear strategy for the attaing the goals of the club (ie. promotion and a successfull club on and off the pitch) clearly let us down. If a proper structure was put in place then that money could have had a lasting effect. We can blame joe Young all we want (and yes he has a lot to answer for) but we have no birth right to Hogan Park and as soon as it was apparant we were not getting the lease we should have initiated a plan to get us out of there and shut up about the matter. Instead Drew harped on and on about it without making any provisions for the reality of being homeless come licence application time. And its not just the ground that failed us here, our blatant unprofessionalism that ruined us throughout helped finish us off.
There continues to be people standing up for Drew here and I just can't see why. The way he has conducted himself since taking over, firing loyal staff by text, hiring and firing coaches, installing himself as caretaker manager while an experienced manager sat in silence on the bench to name but a few examples, has put us where we are.
That said we now need to actually do something and stop talking, we need a meeting and we need it now. For a start just the supporters, get ideas going vote in on courses of action if needed. The main thing is we start the process. So can we just do that?
4tothefloor
16/12/2006, 12:59 PM
That said we now need to actually do something and stop talking, we need a meeting and we need it now. For a start just the supporters, get ideas going vote in on courses of action if needed. The main thing is we start the process. So can we just do that?
Set a date and venue then. You're one of the most vocal supporters on here, and you also know a lot of the posters on here personally. Set a date and venue for some night and those of us that are interested will attend. Even a pub would do as initially I can't see more than 20 turning up. Next wednesday night for example?
thelimerick
18/12/2006, 12:37 PM
Set a date and venue then. You're one of the most vocal supporters on here, and you also know a lot of the posters on here personally. Set a date and venue for some night and those of us that are interested will attend. Even a pub would do as initially I can't see more than 20 turning up. Next wednesday night for example?
This seems to be getting sorted on the "Meeting Now" thread, the consensus seems to be just after Christmas, see you there.
Maybe this has been suggested elsewhere, if it has apologies, but as relations seem to be improving between the LDMC and senior soccer in the city shouldn't the possibility of selling Jackman and developing another ground be seriously examined.
The site that Jackman is obviously unsuitable for EL but would probably be worth a nice few quid given its location and the cost of developing some place with a bit of space around it would probably be cheaper than trying to renovate Jackman.
Of course there'd be all kinds of issues like ownership etc but it could be explored.
18/12/2006, 6:45 PM
Maybe this has been suggested elsewhere, if it has apologies, but as relations seem to be improving between the LDMC and senior soccer in the city shouldn't the possibility of selling Jackman and developing another ground be seriously examined.
The site that Jackman is obviously unsuitable for EL but would probably be worth a nice few quid given its location and the cost of developing some place with a bit of space around it would probably be cheaper than trying to renovate Jackman.
Of course there'd be all kinds of issues like ownership etc but it could be explored.
Ive said this on many many an occasion. The LDMC would be nicely set up financially. If ye look at jackman, one field with as i see it limited dev potential as opposed to (im just saying) rathbane = three pitches and loads of dev oppertunity or markets field one pitch with tons of spare land and access routes etc. But its the LDMCs decision and one i have no say in its just my opinion.
19/12/2006, 3:26 PM
Have ye seen the ad in the Examiner today looking for applications for First Division licences from interested parties in the Limerick area?
Haven't time to paste it here but at least the FAI are giving senior soccer a last chance for next season.
Applications to be in by 2nd January.
PS After Cork United went bust in the 80's there was at least one season with no Cork team in the league before City was formed.
It might be no harm having a season "off" so that a proper club structure can be set up. All depends on there being a vacancy still available for 2008 of course.
Best of luck to all LFC fans anyway
LFC in Exile
19/12/2006, 3:51 PM
Applications to be in by 2nd January.
I take it from that they have someone in mind. Two weeks over Christmas isn't exactly a lot of time to put something like this together. :ball:
gombean
19/12/2006, 5:40 PM
I haven't seen the ad in the Examiner myself, but the gist of it is reported in the Limerick Chronicle today (back page). Colm Kinsella reporting, says the FAI are looking for "...an initial indication of interest, along with an outline of how it might meet the Club Licensing Criteria" to be submitted by 2 January.
That's quite vague, and seems to leave plenty of scope. But obviously, they would be looking for some meat to be put on those bones quite quickly. If there are two or more submissions, the strongest and most concrete proposal should get the FAI's backing.
BUT, I don't see junior clubs clambering for senior status (I have no connections whatsoever with junior football, so I could be way off the mark here). Given the recent history of Limerick FC (in football and business), it doesn't seem to me to be a very attractive business venture, so I don't expect any saviours from the local business community.
HOWEVER, I do think this is a fantastic opportunity for the supporters to take over the running of the club. (So many people here call it "our" club, but the reality is that it has been Drew's club for the last 2 years.) This would, imo, provide the strongest guarantee for the continuation of senior soccer in Limerick into the future.
I think there should be an initial meeting of supporters to discuss the various options for the club. Given the FAI's 2 Jan deadline, this initial meeting should happen by saturday at the very latest.
Everyone would then have a few days to think about the situation, and there'll be people home for the christmas who might be interested and who might be good to bounce some ideas off for feedback.
Then there should be a meeting on 29/30 Dec to put together a proposal for submission to the FAI.
This timescale would still leave room for a meeting on the night of 1 Jan if there were still some important issues to sort out, or some emergency croppped up (hopefully hangovers would be cured by afternoon!).
My personal preference would be for a supporters' trust to own 100% of the club. If there are genuine soccer supporters in Limerick with wads of cash to throw around, then the merits of a partnership should be discussed, but I think it would be better if such people were involved in the trust. The club should be about football -- not business. And your level of influence should be based on your passion for football/the club and the merit of any proposals you have, rather than the size of the cheques you can write.
After speaking to him briefly during the City Budget Meeting last night, Cllr John Gilligan raised the plight of Limerick FC. Although there's no money in the Council's budget for this year to help the club, if it was in the control of the supporters, we could lobby for some financial assistance from them in the future. The Mayor gave verbal support to trying to maintain a senior club based in the city, so any influence his position might have should be used. So when a submission is formulated, he should be asked for his endorsement. (A few of the Cllrs have strong rugby connections, and there was a lot of fuss made about how great the Munster team's exploits were for the image of Limerick as a "sporting city", so there are opportunities here.)
BTW, Gilligan also mentioned (unprompted) a possible return to the Market Field. Aren't the greyhound shower building a new stadium for themselves? If so, then that's not a complete non-runner (though obviously a few years down the line).
19/12/2006, 11:55 PM
[QUOTE=gombean;594436]
HOWEVER, I do think this is a fantastic opportunity for the supporters to take over the running of the club. (So many people here call it "our" club, but the reality is that it has been Drew's club for the last 2 years.) This would, imo, provide the strongest guarantee for the continuation of senior soccer in Limerick into the future.
My personal preference would be for a supporters' trust to own 100% of the club. If there are genuine soccer supporters in Limerick with wads of cash to throw around, then the merits of a partnership should be discussed, but I think it would be better if such people were involved in the trust. The club should be about football -- not business. And your level of influence should be based on your passion for football/the club and the merit of any proposals you have, rather than the size of the cheques you can write.
[QUOTE]
Good points gombean but imo a supporters trust should be there to support the main financial income of the club ie a big time charlie! Limericks hardcore is too small to finance a club which wants to be ambitious and challenge for top honours. If limerick were to set up a trust each person would have to contribute upwards of 20,000 per anam to keep the club afloat such is the size of the hardcore. I thinkwe need a major investor followed by a supporters trust. I would never favour a 100% supporters owned club (have you ever seen us in one room actually agreeing on something?) Id like to see a mojor investor have 51%, supporters, LDMC, schoolboys, ladies etc all have the remaining holdings. Again just my opinion but your ideas and points are good.
LFC in Exile
20/12/2006, 7:43 AM
BTW, Gilligan also mentioned (unprompted) a possible return to the Market Field. Aren't the greyhound shower building a new stadium for themselves? If so, then that's not a complete non-runner (though obviously a few years down the line).
AFAIK the greyhound track will be bulit out by the Coonagh roundabout on the Ennis Road. when I spoke to Councillors before one or two indicated that permission to develop the MF site would be contingent on retaining some of that space for sporting amenity.
I disagree with Gael. A ST owned club could be the fillip the club needs. The club is disconnected with the city and will remain so as long as it is owned by an individual (unless we start looking like we're winning the league - then everyone will be out). But a club that is owned by a supporters trust could renew that connection. If there was junior involvement in that trust it could also lead to renewed good will between the two elements of football in teh city that have been porr for too long.
fitzknows
20/12/2006, 10:49 AM
You're right Gael, Limerick's hardcore at the moment is too small to finance a club which wants to be ambitious and challenge for top honours. But there are enough people there just to get the club back up on it's feet and get a licence. If we can just manage to do that then we will have a much bigger input into the club whatever happens in the future. It will not take wads of cash, small regular contributions from even 50 people will make all the difference at the start. It's time to put what happened over the last few season's behind us and move on. A small group of supporters can do alot. Look at Shamrock Rovers, they were in a situation with millions of Euro of debt hanging over the club yet their supporters managed to get the club back on it's feet. Investors are always welcome to inject cash into a club but the supporters are always a vital asset if it all goes pear-shaped. I know there are people who feel sorry for Danny Drew but I couldnt give a rat's ass. He got plenty of support at the start. He was getting crowds initially that Galway United are only getting recently after alot of advertising & marketing and not only did he fail to capitalise on it, he managed to alienate alot of supporters and put the club into the situation where it is today. If he lost money as a result then that's tough. I don't know what's going to happen, maybe a junior club will step up to the ranks or maybe the FAI already have another candidate in mind but if the supporters cannot even get together before the Jan 2nd deadline and agree even the barest of frameworks to try and submit an application then we've no right to say that we deserve to have a senior club in the city.
thomas72
20/12/2006, 10:59 AM
You're right Gael, Limerick's hardcore at the moment is too small to finance a club which wants to be ambitious and challenge for top honours. But there are enough people there just to get the club back up on it's feet and get a licence. If we can just manage to do that then we will have a much bigger input into the club whatever happens in the future. It will not take wads of cash, small regular contributions from even 50 people will make all the difference at the start. It's time to put what happened over the last few season's behind us and move on. A small group of supporters can do alot. Look at Shamrock Rovers, they were in a situation with millions of Euro of debt hanging over the club yet their supporters managed to get the club back on it's feet. Investors are always welcome to inject cash into a club but the supporters are always a vital asset if it all goes pear-shaped. I know there are people who feel sorry for Danny Drew but I couldnt give a rat's ass. He got plenty of support at the start. He was getting crowds initially that Galway United are only getting recently after alot of advertising & marketing and not only did he fail to capitalise on it, he managed to alienate alot of supporters and put the club into the situation where it is today. If he lost money as a result then that's tough. I don't know what's going to happen, maybe a junior club will step up to the ranks or maybe the FAI already have another candidate in mind but if the supporters cannot even get together before the Jan 2nd deadline and agree even the barest of frameworks to try and submit an application then we've no right to say that we deserve to have a senior club in the city.
IMO i think pike rovers should step up to EL why not they have money plus a excellant set up they have a very powerful team this season add the likes of tommy barrett brain buckly robbie kell.. etc etc and ill think they will be more than able to hold there own. what do ye think lads??
thelimerick
20/12/2006, 11:44 AM
IMO i think pike rovers should step up to EL why not they have money plus a excellant set up they have a very powerful team this season add the likes of tommy barrett brain buckly robbie kell.. etc etc and ill think they will be more than able to hold there own. what do ye think lads??
I know the rumours are bound to be flying with all thats going on, but I've heard Pike have already made an application. Whether there's any truth in it I don't know, how'd they'd get on if the suceeded, I don't know either!
Voice of Reason
20/12/2006, 12:48 PM
Quick question that I hope isn't too simple.
How much does it cost to run a League team for a year?
Thx.
gombean
20/12/2006, 1:35 PM
Thx.
Ballpark answers to this question and others must be worked out between now and a possible meeting on 30 Dec. So I think that there should be an initial meeting of a few supporters tonight or tomorrow night to sort out what information needs to be gathered and divide up the tasks. The FAI deadline for expressions of interest is 2 Jan, so there would be no "working days" after 30 Dec to sort these things out.
Without this groundwork done beforehand, next week's meeting would be too little too late. If one individual wants to take on all of this, fine. But it's not fair to expect that to happen automatically, and it's not a good way of organising things.
gombean
20/12/2006, 2:16 PM
Thx.
The Companies Registration Office website has been down for the last few days (www.cro.ie), so I phoned them up. They told me that the last set of accounts submitted by JRM Sports (the company that currently owns Limerick FC) was for the year 2004 -- the year BEFORE it took over Limerick FC! So unless Drew or O'Sullivan or someone else provides the information directly to supporters, there's no way of finding out how much it has cost to run Limerick FC over the last two seasons!
Obviously it's important to get a ballpark figure on this if a serious submission is to be made. Anyone out there privvy to this kind of info? Anyone from other clubs with concrete info on their running costs?