Sligo Rovers
UCD

11/12/2006, 4:50 PM
See yee next year!!!!!!!!
Can't ****an wait!!

11/12/2006, 7:49 PM
Congratulations on coming up with us. :)

Now, continue your progress off the field by playing your home games next season on Saturday nights, to allow bigger away support, please.

11/12/2006, 8:07 PM
Well done Galway....gutted tho as no more drunken nites in Fibbers/Foxes for me!

11/12/2006, 8:14 PM
Now, continue your progress off the field by playing your home games next season on Saturday nights, to allow bigger away support, please.
I think they care about their own support more.

Louth4sam
11/12/2006, 10:26 PM
Some off the park figures posted on our forum. Not sure if these are correct

Galway 389 points

Dundalk scored 348

Drogheda 300

Waterford 295

Shels 278

Thats all that were posted not sure what anyone else got

GUISAUltra
12/12/2006, 1:35 PM
Congratulations on coming up with us. :)

thanks for the congrats.

the issue of what day we'll be playing on next season is to be discussed today at a board meeting but i really cant see us changing to saturdays, it is too hard to create an atmosphere in terryland on a saturday evening.

Tir Oilean
12/12/2006, 2:28 PM
Hey Mypost going by the craic we all had down here it shouldnt be too hard to take the Friday as hols and make a full weekend out of it!

12/12/2006, 3:17 PM
Galway 389 points

Does anybody know if GUFC will be releasing the breakdown of where they got this total from, so we can see where we still need to improve, or do they even know the breakdown themselves?

12/12/2006, 3:22 PM
thanks for the congrats.

the issue of what day we'll be playing on next season is to be discussed today at a board meeting but i really cant see us changing to saturdays, it is too hard to create an atmosphere in terryland on a saturday evening.

Dont see how. But anyway friday night seems to be the night in Terryland so stick with it. At least there'll be no stupid thursday night footbal in the top league. But best of all no more trips to absolute pits like limerick, dundalk and monaghan:D

Up The Town
12/12/2006, 4:03 PM
At least there'll be no stupid thursday night footbal in the top league. But best of all no more trips to absolute pits like limerick, dundalk and monaghan:D

Thats a pity u stupid **** but the thing is we have our own playing pitch and stadium to play in :) eek:

Mayo Red
12/12/2006, 6:22 PM
Fair play to ye, looking forward already to the local derbies with Rovers again!

13/12/2006, 12:09 AM
Hey Mypost going by the craic we all had down here it shouldnt be too hard to take the Friday as hols and make a full weekend out of it!

Friday is a working day, and is therefore as hard to travel to as games played on any other working day during the week. Impossible too for kids to travel for Friday night games. You complained earlier in the year, that we didn't take many to Galway in October. When was it on? A Friday night. :rolleyes: Our game in Athlone the previous week, was on Saturday, and consequently we brought 3 times the amount that went to Galway.

You won't have problems maximising revenue, and generating atmosphere next season, when Cork, Derry, Pats, Sligo, and we head west. Unless they're on Friday night. :( As it's an FAI-controlled league, logic suggests that they alone will set the days and times of all games, and not leave it up to the clubs themselves, which is the right thing to do.

13/12/2006, 7:26 AM
Well, for us, if we move to saturday we drop our home attendance by a substantial amount that it wouldnt matter how many away supporters there is. For us to maximise our attendance the games will have to stay on friday nights, as everyone in both the city and county knows that is terryland night.

P.S. Sligo will be heading South ;)

13/12/2006, 10:29 AM
At least there'll be no stupid thursday night footbal in the top league. But best of all no more trips to absolute pits like limerick, dundalk and monaghan:D

Thats a pity u stupid **** but the thing is we have our own playing pitch and stadium to play in :) eek:

Stupid would be not reading the FAI proposals and then whinging when you dont make it. Enjoy the first division and here's hoping that you stay there indefinitely.

Mypost what would you know about working?:D

scotsbeer
13/12/2006, 10:36 AM
this issue was discussed by the club and supporters trust on many occasions last year with the supporters being in favour of friday nights being the norm at terryland. the two biggest attendances in the first division last season were friday night matches at terryland with both away teams fans having travelled a long way and bringing a good support with them. with the number of dublin based teams in the new league next season there will surely be friday night football in dublin most weekends so the glaway travelling support will have to make as many sacrifices and chioces when it comes to travelling away next season. each away team and any fans wishing to travel to galway will only have to come to galway twice (unless a cup tie adds to that) wereas the galway unoted fans will have many more journays than that on friday evenings i would imagine. this is not me complaining as we are now in the premier league (or whatever they decide to call it) and there will be no more limerick or athlone trips. in dreamland, do you think anyone would care what day of the week we were ever to play a european away tie?

13/12/2006, 10:40 AM
do you think anyone would care what day of the week we were ever to play a european away tie?

Yip, Europe here we come. Have to make a journey to Derry this year !! :D Only kidding city fans by the way !;)

GuisaSaigon
13/12/2006, 11:07 AM
We will almost definitely be playing on Friday nights. Connacht rugby's attempts to muscle in on our night will not work.
I would advise any fans thinking about travelling to Galway next season to look at the fixture list when it comes out and try to arrange friday off work and come down to Galway for the weekend.
The city is always buzzing in the summer and the nightlife is as good as you'll get anywhere. For family people theres Connemara and the cliffs of moher to visit.I'm begining to sound like bord failte so ill shut up now, but Friday night neednt keep you away.

13/12/2006, 10:50 PM
Right, where to start?

P.S. Sligo will be heading South...

South-West

Mypost what would you know about working?

:confused: :confused:

with the number of dublin based teams in the new league next season there will surely be friday night football in dublin most weekends so the glaway travelling support will have to make as many sacrifices and chioces when it comes to travelling away next season

Doesn't make it right.

Why should fans have to waste their holiday allowance to travel to Friday night games? Kids can't get time off school either to travel. I'm hoping we only have to travel to Cork, Derry, and Galway once next year. It won't happen with them all, but with the 3-round series, we are not automatically forced to travel to every ground twice.

No other country in Europe, plays games on Thursday and Friday nights, because it's a sh!te time to play, where the fan is inconvenienced. The English gave up playing on Friday nights in the mid-80's*. If your fans can't be bothered to watch yous play at home to Cork, Derry, Shels, and us every forthnight next season, you have a problem. It's a considerable step up from playing at home to Cobh, Kilkenny, and Monaghan.

*= Top Division.

13/12/2006, 11:05 PM
Why don't yee switch yere games to a Saturday so?Why?Cause we couldn't be arsed travelling on a Friday.:rolleyes:

14/12/2006, 10:21 AM
Why don't yee switch yere games to a Saturday so?Why?Cause we couldn't be arsed travelling on a Friday.:rolleyes:

For one thing tolka is not our ground but hopefully in Tallaght it will be saturday.

Mypost get it through your head. Friday night is football night in Galway. End of. Mypost is also the only Rovers "fan" that complained about Terryland last season. Says it all.

14/12/2006, 10:26 AM
For one thing tolka is not our ground but hopefully in Tallaght it will be saturday.

Mypost get it through your head. Friday night is football night in Galway. End of. Mypost is also the only Rovers "fan" that complained about Terryland last season. Says it all.

True Nyhoop.

I was surpsied alright when he thought the stewarding and crowd control in Terryland was inadaquete.
As you say Friday night=GUFC in Galway.That won't be changing to accomodate away fans.
It's quite simple really Mypost.At most ye'll be outisde Dublin(does Drogheda and Bray really count as long away trips??) 6 times on a Friday.Probably not even.Surely when the fixtures are announced,you could arrange a day off wok to travel?

14/12/2006, 10:31 AM
Surely when the fixtures are announced,you could arrange a day off wok to travel?

does he work in a chinese resturant? :D

GUISAUltra
14/12/2006, 1:57 PM
ye are complaining about having to go to galway on a friday night but how many times will we have to travel away on fridays. the only 2 teams that play on saturdays, would actually be our easiest trips on a friday night. we'll have to travel to dublin nearly every second friday

14/12/2006, 7:13 PM
I was surpsied alright when he thought the stewarding and crowd control in Terryland was inadaquete.

The crowd control was poor, at least up in our corner on both occasions, unless you consider fans being removed from grounds, and sporadic pushing and shoving/stand-offs between fans and stewards at the makeshift barrier segregating fans, as adequate crowd control. However, it's not Galway United's fault, that the local cops have no idea how to control sets of football crowds in a professional manner.

Why don't yee switch yere games to a Saturday so?

Something to do with having to rent a ground from a rival club, restricts our options considerably in that area. Would prefer Saturday, as we would get more away fans in, and make more money, but there's not much we can do about it atm.

Friday night=GUFC in Galway.That won't be changing to accomodate away fans.

Fair enough, prepare to lose up to 25% of gate receipts then from the rest of the league. We have a huge fan base, but we didn't take up our full allocation on our last visit. No prizes for guessing why. So it will be no surprise that our biggest long-haul travelling support will be at Longford and Sligo next season, and not Galway.

Tir Oilean
15/12/2006, 8:22 AM
Mypost your talking through you hoop!!!! No pun intended. If we were to change to Sat night we would lose a substantial number of our own supporters so to change it just because we "might" get more away support would be commercial suicide. Also remember not all clubs travels in the numbers that rovers do. As for crowd control the only comments from rovers lads after was that it was the best they'd seen and the garda in charge was actually personally thanked by some of yours fans after the game.

15/12/2006, 11:03 PM
If we were to change to Sat night we would lose a substantial number of our own supporters so to change it just because we "might" get more away support would be commercial suicide. Also remember not all clubs travels in the numbers that rovers do.

Playing on Saturdays, without competition from rugby, and which caters for bigger attendances, is sound commercial sense. All clubs' fans in next year's league, bar UCD and Bray, will travel to Galway in large numbers if possible. You're not playing clubs next year whose away support is nil, and the quality of the opposition should be enough to keep the locals turning up every week, regardless of when it's played.

As for crowd control the only comments from rovers lads after was that it was the best they'd seen.

I was at both games, saw all incidents, and overheard our fans comments at their treatment from the stewards there. If you were in or around our corner, you will know what went on. If not, you won't.

GUISAUltra
16/12/2006, 11:38 AM
just wondering why some of your fans were contacting your club asking them to contact the guard that was stationed in front of ye and congratulate him on a good night work. you are the only person that seems to be complaining about it

GuisaSaigon
16/12/2006, 1:07 PM
IMO there is no competition between football and rugby in Galway. Each sport has its own type of supporter, most United fans wouldn't be seen dead at a Connacht rugby game and vice versa.
the begining of the rugby season overlaps the end of the football season. This year connacht for some reason connacht 1st 9 games were played at home so they clashed with us a lot without affecting our attendances.
Galway United have worked hard to promote friday night football and it works better than Saturday. Fridays are harder on travelling fans but it's a lot harder on us to travel to Dublin every 3-4 weeks on fridays, and you dont hear us moaning about it.

Tir Oilean
16/12/2006, 3:34 PM
it's a lot harder on us to travel to Dublin every 3-4 weeks on fridays, and you dont hear us moaning about it.

Here Here Saigon mind you there's no talking to this guy

17/12/2006, 1:49 AM
just wondering why some of your fans were contacting your club asking them to contact the guard that was stationed in front of ye and congratulate him on a good night work.

So am I. :confused: Because they should have done a better job on both of our trips.

Fridays are harder on travelling fans but it's a lot harder on us to travel to Dublin every 3-4 weeks on fridays, and you dont hear us moaning about it.

Well you should moan about it. Like on other weeknights, Friday football should be done away with, as it restricts attendances throughout the country. Come next July, we'll have the usual stooges on here whinging about poor attendances. :rolleyes: Instead of blaming everyone else, they should look closer to home for the reason why.

17/12/2006, 4:05 PM
Just because your drug dealer got kicked out

GuisaSaigon
17/12/2006, 5:02 PM

sorry about that, left my compuer logged on to foot.ie last night while drinking here with a few people someone else posted that rubbish

GalwayFrancis
17/12/2006, 5:07 PM
sorry about that, left my compuer logged on to foot.ie last night while drinking here with a few people someone else posted that rubbish

always blaming others,eh saigon, if thats your real name!

GuisaSaigon
17/12/2006, 5:11 PM
always blaming others,eh saigon, if thats your real name!

it was probably you GalwayFrancis, if thats your real name:D

18/12/2006, 1:20 PM
just wondering why some of your fans were contacting your club asking them to contact the guard that was stationed in front of ye and congratulate him on a good night work. you are the only person that seems to be complaining about it

As per usual. Ignore. Complain is all he can do.

See you in foxes on a friday next season.

GUISAUltra
18/12/2006, 3:21 PM
it was probably you GalwayFrancis, if thats your real name:D

come on saigon, we all know that galwayfrancis fell asleep after around 10 seconds in the last place we were in

GUISAUltra
18/12/2006, 3:23 PM
As per usual. Ignore. Complain is all he can do.

See you in foxes on a friday next season.

We'll see ya there NY HOOP

GuisaSaigon
18/12/2006, 3:30 PM
come on saigon, we all know that galwayfrancis fell asleep after around 10 seconds in the last place we were in
Oh yeah, that narrows it down. You were wide awake though!.............Hmmm!!!!!!!

GUISAUltra
18/12/2006, 3:42 PM
well it wasn't me and there was only me you and trainee awake so i think ya have your answer there

GalwayFrancis
18/12/2006, 4:03 PM
wheres sherlock holmes when you need him?
had 20 hours sleep there last night, i should be good for another month yet