now let the bitching start!
GUISAUltra
11/12/2006, 2:58 PM
We Are Premier League
Said We Are Premier League
YA Baby,
Well done to eveyone at the club absolutely thrilled :D
Congrats lads. ConorH you were right :)
Surprisingly though Bray are there too- who loses out??
just got the press release from the club great news well done to everyone especially Nial O'Reilly who worked his butt of for the last five years.
GuisaSaigon
11/12/2006, 3:03 PM
Nice one !!!!!!!!!!!! after 5 years of 1st division crap were back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ShamTalk
11/12/2006, 3:04 PM
It is not often we are delighted to be wrong but thankfully I was wrong in thinking Galway United would miss on promotion to the Premier League.
Now I am looking forward to Thursday and the announcement of the first of Tony Cousin's Pre-season signings.
It will be brilliant to see the likes of Shels, Bohs, Cork, Derry etc coming to Terryland fortnight. Roll on.
ShamTalk
11/12/2006, 3:05 PM
It is not often we are delighted to be wrong but thankfully I was wrong in thinking Galway United would miss out on promotion to the Premier League.
Now I am looking forward to Thursday and the announcement of the first of Tony Cousin's Pre-season signings.
It will be brilliant to see the likes of Shels, Bohs, Cork, Derry etc coming to Terryland fortnight. Roll on.
gilberto_eire
11/12/2006, 3:09 PM
is it ucd down den?. if so its der fanz in my opinion dat killed dem. da 10% for attendences and 10% for future attendences. 500-600 adverage pretty lame. looks like gethins will sign now i reckon dey'd av left it otherwise
TheLedge
11/12/2006, 3:10 PM
Great news!
Delira and Excira! :D
DELIGHTED!!! :D :D :D
Well done to everyone in the club for their hard work gettin us there!
Trainee
11/12/2006, 3:18 PM
fair play to all esp Nick naill nd Co
we got the highest score in the 50% off the field critera
happy days
It like winning X factor !!!! I pity the UCD and wterford fans now as there will be one place left and they are the last 2 teams to find out, nail biting stuff and as JC said elsewhere we should do it this way anymore, more fun !!!!!!!!
GUISAUltra
11/12/2006, 3:18 PM
I Dont Care Who Goes Down, All I Know Is
We Are Premier League
Time to get behind the club now lads, lets all buy a season ticket and more and get the bank a/c rolling. I paid for mine at the Cobh match a tthe end of season :D money well invested :D
Paddyfield
11/12/2006, 3:21 PM
Great news.
Denmark failed to qualify for the European champonships in the 1992 but qualified by defaut when Yogoslavia started $h!tehawking. Denmark went on to become champions. This is an omen :rolleyes:
we got the highest score in the 50% off the field critera
happy days
As we were all saying, best run club in Ireland :D
gilberto_eire
11/12/2006, 3:21 PM
is it ucd down den?. if so its der fanz in my opinion dat killed dem. da 10% for attendences and 10% for future attendences. 500-600 adverage pretty lame. looks like gethins will sign now i reckon dey'd av left it otherwise
manofthemoment
11/12/2006, 3:22 PM
yah it has to be good lets hope the Galway public will get out and support the club in numbers. The amount of off the field work done for no personal reward is amazing in these times when 'volunteerism' is supposedly dead and at the very least deserves to be rewarded by large crowds.
11/12/2006, 3:23 PM
Congrats. See you next season. Thank fcuk we dont have to go oriel or monaghan again:D
GalwayFrancis
11/12/2006, 3:24 PM
i feel like ive just won the euro millions. cant wait for next season now. :D :D :D see you all in the rad on saturday, tickets still availible in O'Briens Newsagent
MyTown
11/12/2006, 3:24 PM
Well done to all concerned.
You know who you are & hard work coupled with a professional approach has reaped its own rewards.
Now - EVERYBODY - who cares about keeping senior soccer in Galway needs to try to go that extra mile. There must be somebody you could entice up to Terryland for a few games next season... Can you prise a season ticket contribution out of them?
Would anyone you know consider sponsoring a player, taking an ad in the Programme?
There's proabably justifiable euphoria around th eplace these few days - but we've just got to back it up with hard cash - otherwise - like so many others - we go under.
If there's any help you can give - the Club will gratefully accept.
Well done again to all who contributed to the clubs greatest achievement since our last promotion.
11/12/2006, 3:27 PM
Congratulations on the promotion, I think it is fair to say that the "lottery" aspect of it will leave a bad taste in some mouths (not yours I'm sure), but I hope you do well next year, hope we will still be around to knock you out of the cup.
Tir Oilean
11/12/2006, 3:29 PM
Great Stuff. I propose we open a fund to erect a statue of Nial O'Reilly..... Legend!! Well done to all involved and heres to happy Christmas and a prosperous New United!
Tir Oilean
11/12/2006, 3:29 PM
Waterford Missed out!
Tir Oilean
11/12/2006, 3:36 PM
Congratulations on the promotion, I think it is fair to say that the "lottery" aspect of it will leave a bad taste in some mouths (not yours I'm sure), but I hope you do well next year, hope we will still be around to knock you out of the cup.
Cheers Osarusan There is a bad taste in a lot of mouths up here but it wont last longs I tells ya! Just wondering where Conor H is with his told you so post!!!!!!!:D
GalwayFrancis
11/12/2006, 3:39 PM
Cheers Osarusan There is a bad taste in a lot of mouths up here but it wont last longs I tells ya! Just wondering where Conor H is with his told you so post!!!!!!!:D
hes not online, sent him a txt there telling him we got in, so i presume hell be here asap - for his 'I told you so' post, cant wait:D
11/12/2006, 3:40 PM
I'd say that tomorrow morning there will be a bad taste of old Guinness and whiskey and smoke in a fair few mouths!
heard john on gbfm.even though i was optimistic it was still a massive thrill,so much to think about now and look forward to.im sending niall and co a Thank You card,its not much but its something.
i think this must be the calm before the bit*hing storm.
Peterc
11/12/2006, 3:41 PM
Excellent news!
Tir Oilean
11/12/2006, 3:44 PM
At least we don't have far to travel for a few easy points:D
Cheats? :confused: I dont think so my friend we just done our homework and came top of the class so swats maybe but cheats definitely not!:D
Latcheko
11/12/2006, 3:45 PM
Sweetness! Congratulations to everyone at the club who made it possible, a few of whom post here. Pat yerselves on the backs, or back.
I'll get my new season ticket on Saturday and I have two mates who came regularly last year whom I can intimidate into doing the same. If ye know what I mean.
GuisaSaigon
11/12/2006, 3:48 PM
May I be the first to ask for this forum to be moved to its rightful place, under the heading of PREMIER DIVISION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !:D :D :D
11/12/2006, 3:49 PM
Well done to Galway. I'm glad to see ye up, not the way I would have liked but I couldn't care all that much. Looking forward to the trip to Galway next year.
GalwayFrancis
11/12/2006, 3:50 PM
May I be the first to ask for this forum to be moved to its rightful place, under the heading of PREMIER DIVISION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !:D :D :D
Ill second that Saigon
Rebel 84
11/12/2006, 3:51 PM
Congrats lads....
Looking forward to a weekend in the west already...
11/12/2006, 3:53 PM
A disgrace, and I hope you go straight down. But then I expect you knew I'd say that already. ;)
Commiserations to Dundalk fans, whose team were actually better than you. Gone are the days when that mattered, it seems.
GUISAUltra
11/12/2006, 3:55 PM
have to agree with ya NY HOOP, no more athlone or dundalk or kilkenny is brilliant. but the away day craic at theses games is unreal. hopefully we can have more good days in foxes on fridays before the games this year. it'd be brilliant to keep that going
Latcheko
11/12/2006, 4:03 PM
pineapple stu? Dundalk were the BEST team in the 1st division LAST YEAR but you know the drill. Cop on.
Tir Oilean
11/12/2006, 4:05 PM
May I be the first to ask for this forum to be moved to its rightful place, under the heading of PREMIER DIVISION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Here here
Saigon do you remember the night we talked about this til 5am you were **** sure we wouldnt go up... so **** sure you had drained me of all hope optimism devoured....well in your face:D :D Goin up on Merit!! Goin up on Merit!!
I wasn't even a shade surprised when gufct rang me with the good news. This is vindication for what Nial and everyone has done, they deserve a place in Galway United history.
Whatever it means to you sods living at home, for those of us living in Dublin, this is just manna from heaven.
Great news.
Kind of weird to go up like this but I suppose it's just rewards for people like Niall O Rielly, Neil McNeilis, Nick Leeson and everyone else behind the scenes at Terryland.
Can't wait for some big games and hopefully Cousins will sing a few quality players too!
well done galway .Gonna be great to have away trips to the west .Fcuk you dundalk .Rot in the graveyard for at least another year :)
corbyeire
11/12/2006, 4:13 PM
gobsmacked - still cant believe it
crazy with over 5 pages of posts in the last hour,unreal.its mostly b*tching dundalk fans.so thats where the b*tch storm is taking place,not here.couldnt care less.
so now theres so many questions,is barry ryan our new signing???who will be let go????how often will we be on t.v???:) .
def getting my season tic before christmas now,was gonna wait till after but demand will be huge now.they might get the 700 there looking for afterall.
i like that idea of a statue of niall and nick:) .
11/12/2006, 4:19 PM
To all the people who doubted my expertise knowledge on us been there...........I be you've never been so glad i was right!!!!!:D
WE ARE PREMIER LEAGUE SAY WE ARE PREMIER LEAGUE!!!!:cool:
Olander
11/12/2006, 4:28 PM
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!
back where we belong :)
first of all-i think you meant to say "couldnt" instead of could.anyway if you knew your facts youd know galway utd didnt "spend money they dont have",in the last year companies like Harrmack,AerArann,H.P have stepped up and put money into the club,guys like niall o reilly and nick went out looking for these type of companies and got them.the club stuck to a pre-planned budget and didnt "spend money recklessly".those were 2 reasons why we scored highest in the off the field criteria.GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT.
Only1Rovers
11/12/2006, 4:30 PM
Well Done GUFC, see ya'll next year in the PREMIERSHIP
tribesman78
11/12/2006, 4:30 PM
Premier league. Nice one well done to all involved:D