View Full Version : Madrid

Pages : 1 [2]

29/12/2006, 12:49 AM
Madrid's classic area, 'Malasa'a'. One of the classic zones to go out at night. The streets of the area converge in the cosy Plaza 2 de Mayo. Fuencarral Street, San Bernardo Street, and the zones of Callao and Bilbao are its boundaries.
The whole district is full of small cafe's and night-time attractions.overthepost, do you know this area at all? Is it near city centre or not? Just been looking at a hostel which looks good but wanna know if it's conveniently located first. Cheers!

29/12/2006, 10:25 AM
Edinburgh is better than Glasgow.
Cork is better than Dubland
Er, Derry is better than Belfast?

I disagree with the first 2 i've singled out and were you just taking the p*ss with the last one or what?

30/12/2006, 5:30 PM
A bomb went off in the Car Park at Madrid Airport today....
Should add to the excitement when we are there anyway

30/12/2006, 5:35 PM
A bomb went off in the Car Park at Madrid Airport today....
Should add to the excitement when we are there anywayIt's only ETA, they're always doing it. The Spanish I.R.A.:D. At least it's out of the way now so they won't strike again for another few months[we'll be back by then, I hope].

31/12/2006, 3:01 PM
It's only ETA, they're always doing it. The Spanish I.R.A.:D. At least it's out of the way now so they won't strike again for another few months[we'll be back by then, I hope].

Excellent understanding of the situation there sligoman

31/12/2006, 4:20 PM
Excellent understanding of the situation there sligomanThank you!:p

I know a lot about ETA. I've been to Spain enough times now to know about them, what they're fighting for etc. so don't try acting smart Dodge;).

31/12/2006, 6:19 PM
OOohhhh Get you...

I stand by my comment ;)

13/01/2007, 8:49 PM
Anyone know any good nightclubs or popular pubs in Madrid that would be suitable for 5 rough looking buffs from Sligo?
No homosexual clubs either....we have does covered :0

Jaime
15/01/2007, 11:16 AM
Reading David Madrid's 'Insider' at the moment -

Can't find that, is it in English or Spanish? Got "Diario De Un Skin" for Christmas, dread to think how long it's going to take to read it, haven't read Spainsh properly in 3 years.

Heading to Madrid next week myself, staying in a place called Hotel Petit Palace in Plaza Del Carmen, so central enough. Keep the "things to do" tips coming long chaps. :)

EDIT: found the book http://www.amazon.co.uk/Insider-Policia-Infiltrado-Gradas-Confidencial/dp/848460425X/sr=8-19/qid=1168863431/ref=sr_1_19/202-5613671-8972632?ie=UTF8&s=books is there an English version?

15/01/2007, 2:11 PM
incidentally on the topic of things Spanish, anyone have any good links or podcasts on learning Spanish?

Jaime
15/01/2007, 2:34 PM
overthepost, do you know this area at all? Is it near city centre or not? Just been looking at a hostel which looks good but wanna know if it's conveniently located first. Cheers!

Did you book that place then? I stayed in a place in C/Fuencarral years ago, might even be the same place. From what I remember, Fuencarral runs parallel to Gran Vía, or is near it anyway, so if you want somewhere central it's fine.

lopez
15/01/2007, 2:48 PM
Can't find that, is it in English or Spanish? Got "Diario De Un Skin" for Christmas, dread to think how long it's going to take to read it, haven't read Spainsh properly in 3 years. Insider, despite the name hasn't been translated into English. I've just read it, and with a help of a dictionary, it took about two weeks of reading the book (about normal for 200pp for me), but then my Spanish is quite good. Excellent book, if somewhat not as hyped up with bull as an English hooly porn book would be. The nearest it gets to violence is the attack on a Rayo Vallecano lefty bar by the equivelent of the Ultrassur under-fives, which ends with the inhabitants coming out in crash helmets and thick chains; and a riot with the police in the street which the Ultrassur take over every home game near the Bernabeu. Also a visit to Fat Franks grave at the Valley of the Fallen on the anniversary of his passing is intriguing for how the burbury clad blue rinse brigade look on in disgust at what are the inheritors of Frank's 'movimiento.'

What is interesting is the how well-connected the US are, how well educated the 'casuals' are (so and so, aka so and so, DNI no. such and such, occupation; student of law/ solicitor, father such and such, occupation, retired judge), and police corruption/incompetence that leads Madrid to warn Antonio Salas that his superior has informed the US that there is a journalist infiltrating them and the Spanish neo-nazi movement. Diario de un skin has been made into a film, but again, there doesn't seem to be English subtitles to the DVD on sale.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0454121/

http://www.zonadvd.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=2555

Jaime
15/01/2007, 3:33 PM
Sounds class, will definitely be ordering it, and will definitely buy a DVD copy of Diario in Madrid next week. Can't see myself reading with a dictionary, will have to accept not getting every word, but just the jist of each paragraph. :o I was aware that there was more to US' influence than simply having a key to the Bernebeau, but didn't think they were that well connected. I suppose the fact is that in Spain, far right opinions aren't just something that people grow out of; a large percentage of both educated and uneducated people of the past 3 or 4 generations of Castilians all have far right views, and it's only normal that US would have a lot of sympathy, and even assistance.

I did read a story in one of the hoolie books that had a chapter on Spain, where Rayo and Celtarras joined up to smash a US pub in Madrid, think it was before a cup game in Madrid involving Celta. If public transport was cheaper in Spain, and away fans actually travelled in numbers, things would be a lot more interesting than they currently are. As it is, the price of rail and bus transport mean that all the skins can do is bait each other on Super Hincha.

lopez
15/01/2007, 4:01 PM
Sounds class, will definitely be ordering it, and will definitely buy a DVD copy of Diario in Madrid next week. Can't see myself reading with a dictionary, will have to accept not getting every word, but just the jist of each paragraph.
As I'm not fluent, and as there is some slang in the book, a dictionary is quite helpful for some parts. Obviously if you didn't know much Spanish, you'd be quicker typing it in a free translation service and getting a response.

I did read a story in one of the hoolie books that had a chapter on Spain, where Rayo and Celtarras joined up to smash a US pub in Madrid, think it was before a cup game in Madrid involving Celta. If public transport was cheaper in Spain, and away fans actually travelled in numbers, things would be a lot more interesting than they currently are. As it is, the price of rail and bus transport mean that all the skins can do is bait each other on Super Hincha.The bar attacked was where Athletic, Osasuna, Real Sociedad and Celta fans would meet before games with Madrid, according to Madrid. Vallecano fans tend to fly the red, yellow and purple flags of the 2nd republic at their games.

Interestingly Madrid himself claims he cut his teeth in the undercover game by infiltrating some Castillian Seperatists :confused: called Izquierda Castellana. I think the time of travel is the greatest hinderence although, football fans just don't tend to travel in large groups, even across town. Check out the attendance for Espanyol - Barca on saturday.

I remember Super Hincha from its fanzine days. That was an eejit fest of a mag. Hilarious though. I did notice a contributor I knew who lived in Germany (a Real fan I met at euro88 who I got a ticket for the Spain game in 1989 in Dublin). In doing a description of the Fortuna Dusseldorf firm who he hung out with he was asked to describe the other German gangs. St Pauli fans were to him a bunch of hippies. :D I see Super Hincha in the days of the internet now has a forum where they all can kick off with each other. Check out how you can build yourself a Millwall brick (http://www.superhincha.net/foro/viewtopic.php?TopicID=38331) :rolleyes:

Over the post
15/01/2007, 4:28 PM
Did you book that place then? I stayed in a place in C/Fuencarral years ago, might even be the same place. From what I remember, Fuencarral runs parallel to Gran Vía, or is near it anyway, so if you want somewhere central it's fine.

Fuencarral is indeed perpendicular to Gran Vía and is a good place to stay. Most of the hostels on the street are at the Gran Vía end (lower street numbers) and are therefore very central. Most of Malasaña is within ten minutes' walk of Gran Vía. Friends of mine stayed in Hostal Dominguez (www.hostal-dominguez.com) just off Fuencarral and liked the place.

Jaime
16/01/2007, 12:32 PM
As I'm not fluent, and as there is some slang in the book, a dictionary is quite helpful for some parts. Obviously if you didn't know much Spanish, you'd be quicker typing it in a free translation service and getting a response.
The bar attacked was where Athletic, Osasuna, Real Sociedad and Celta fans would meet before games with Madrid, according to Madrid. Vallecano fans tend to fly the red, yellow and purple flags of the 2nd republic at their games.

Interestingly Madrid himself claims he cut his teeth in the undercover game by infiltrating some Castillian Seperatists :confused: called Izquierda Castellana. I think the time of travel is the greatest hinderence although, football fans just don't tend to travel in large groups, even across town. Check out the attendance for Espanyol - Barca on saturday.

I remember Super Hincha from its fanzine days. That was an eejit fest of a mag. Hilarious though. I did notice a contributor I knew who lived in Germany (a Real fan I met at euro88 who I got a ticket for the Spain game in 1989 in Dublin). In doing a description of the Fortuna Dusseldorf firm who he hung out with he was asked to describe the other German gangs. St Pauli fans were to him a bunch of hippies. :D I see Super Hincha in the days of the internet now has a forum where they all can kick off with each other. Check out how you can build yourself a Millwall brick (http://www.superhincha.net/foro/viewtopic.php?TopicID=38331) :rolleyes:

I do take a look on the SH forum now and again alright, and always stock up on as many issues as I can when over there. Full of idiots, but handy for keeping up to date with the what's happening off the pitch, and the editors of the magazine know their onions. The issue from just after the Madrid train bombings was well worth getting, with pictures of all the "anti-terrorism" tifos from all around the country, and likewise the issue with pictures from the tifos dedicated to the memory of Julien the PSG fan was also interesting.

Met a few Vallecano fans in Eibar a few years back; they are absolute headcases, keep saying I'm going to go to a game but probably won't any time soon. Will try to have a wander around Vallecas next week though; it's a part of Madrid I've never seen.

23/01/2007, 6:33 PM
With it just over a week away we need everything ye got on Madrid nightlife,pubs,clubs and other recreational activities.......

23/01/2007, 9:16 PM
Looking forward to this now...should be good craic.

Over the post
24/01/2007, 5:01 PM
As regards what I imagine will be your main recreational activity: Steer clear of San Miguel, Mahou is yer only man.

31/01/2007, 11:30 AM
Planning to go to Spain with the better half (who’s Spanish) in March when she gets time off. About the week of Paddy’s Day!!!! convenient... :( anyway just wondering do they have St.Patrick’s celebrations in Spain, i know we do have parades all over the world, but do Madrid, Barcelona or any of the big cities in Spain celebrate it to anyone’s knowledge? ta!

Over the post
31/01/2007, 11:44 AM
Not outside the Irish bars.

lopez
31/01/2007, 2:03 PM
Planning to go to Spain with the better half (who’s Spanish) in March when she gets time off. About the week of Paddy’s Day!!!! convenient... :( anyway just wondering do they have St.Patrick’s celebrations in Spain, i know we do have parades all over the world, but do Madrid, Barcelona or any of the big cities in Spain celebrate it to anyone’s knowledge? ta!Best place in Spain is Murcia. Now the San Patricio celebrations there don't have pr*ts walking around as leprechauns or Irish-Americans in Aran sweaters, dark glasses and berets rattling tins, but it seems to be a good old fashioned spanish fiesta of which your better half should fill you in. The reason is that there was a battle against the Moors during the reconquest and in honour of the victory they devoted it to the saint of that day. Not sure if they still have them, but Spanish calenders have saints under each day. Patricio is naturally listed 17 March on them.

Here's a link to a letter from the Mayor of Murcia.

http://www.ayto-murcia.es/boletines/PDF/170305D1A.PDF

31/01/2007, 3:15 PM
Nice one mate! Im not looking for the usual celebrations/parades/Irish bars, just something a bit different. anything like this in south west Spain, say Seville direction as that's where we're likely to be...

Best place in Spain is Murcia. Now the San Patricio celebrations there don't have pr*ts walking around as leprechauns or Irish-Americans in Aran sweaters, dark glasses and berets rattling tins, but it seems to be a good old fashioned spanish fiesta of which your better half should fill you in. The reason is that there was a battle against the Moors during the reconquest and in honour of the victory they devoted it to the saint of that day. Not sure if they still have them, but Spanish calenders have saints under each day. Patricio is naturally listed 17 March on them.

Here's a link to a letter from the Mayor of Murcia.

http://www.ayto-murcia.es/boletines/PDF/170305D1A.PDF

01/02/2007, 6:57 AM
well we are in madrid now,sharing a room with a French/American lad....
went out last night to a couple of Irish bars,good times.Drink is cheap and we met up with some Irish girls,they were good craic.
Some of the crew had a bit too much to drink,mainly a certain wild rover.
Going to Bernabeu today so should be good

01/02/2007, 7:00 AM
Tis great craic:D.

Pauro, if yer looking for festivals etc. go to Valencia, they have a thing called "The Fallas". They make a load of special floats and then they're judged and all burned after. Fireworks stuck onto the side of them when they're doing it:D.

01/02/2007, 7:54 AM
Tis great craic:D.

Pauro, if yer looking for festivals etc. go to Valencia, they have a thing called "The Fallas". They make a load of special floats and then they're judged and all burned after. Fireworks stuck onto the side of them when they're doing it:D.

Sounds mental! Ill mention it to herself and check that one out! We're aiming for Seville or Valencia area, so that's a damn good idea!

01/02/2007, 8:53 AM
went out last night to a couple of Irish bars,good times.Drink is cheap and we met up with some Irish girls,they were good craic.

Could you not do that in Sligo?

01/02/2007, 9:26 AM
Could you not do that in Sligo?

I dunno, id like to meet as little Irish people as possible when Im going to Spain. I mean that in a good way.

01/02/2007, 10:05 AM
I dunno, id like to meet as little Irish people as possible when Im going to Spain. I mean that in a good way.
I'm the same. If you're going for a **** up its pretty hard to avoid an Irish bar, but there's nothing worse than going away and staying the entire time with people you're trying to get away from

01/02/2007, 10:38 AM
I'm the same. If you're going for a **** up its pretty hard to avoid an Irish bar, but there's nothing worse than going away and staying the entire time with people you're trying to get away from

As much as I like Irish people, its a bit unhealthy to mix with your own all the time. But always a useful option if the natives arent the friendliest!

01/02/2007, 11:09 AM
Could you not do that in Sligo?No cos theirs no Irish in Sligo:p

05/02/2007, 12:10 AM
2 days to go now and kinda looking forward to going home...drunkenly and stupidley told 10-15 guys to **** off about 2 nights ago and seeing them today has me sort of nervous to say the least.i was daz today.....whiter than white...

still...nice city...

05/02/2007, 4:57 PM
Mustn't be that good if you keep logging onto foot.ie :D

05/02/2007, 5:16 PM
Mustn't be that good if you keep logging onto foot.ie :DIt is, it´s just getting boring now cos we´ve done most of what we wanted.

theleprechaun
20/06/2007, 6:40 PM
Going there this summer. is there anywhere that i must go or anything that i must see? any advise would be great

20/06/2007, 6:46 PM
Going there this summer. is there anywhere that i must go or anything that i must see? any advise would be great
Read this. (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=48190)
Should help

theleprechaun
21/06/2007, 11:16 AM
thanks for that

Jaime
21/08/2007, 4:41 PM
Was in Madrid a few weeks back and visited the famous Finbarr's, home of the Madrid Emerald CSC, wouldn't be a fan of the place and a bit out of the way. Went to a class little indie bar in the same area named Supersonic (C/Meléndez Valdes) though, cracking little place, closed at 3 though, which felt strange. Does anyone know it?