View Full Version : Good luck Quirkey
Paddyfield
05/12/2006, 9:32 PM
Ex GUFC defender, Mike Quirke, is player manager with Salthill Devon. On Wed night 6th Dec, they play Cork City in the Final of the Eircom League U21 Cup at Terryland [KO 7.30pm],
There might be a future GUFC players on show so it might be worth watching. In fact, we might be looking at a future GUFC manager in the making!!!:)
05/12/2006, 10:14 PM
I reckon they could get a pasting tomorrow night.I've seen them play a few times this year and i've seen Cork and really they'll have it all to do.
GUFC U-21's are a actually a better side than Devon who lost to Cork but with home advantage and this weather you never know...
Trainee
05/12/2006, 11:02 PM
should be a good game
anyone going
GalwayFrancis
05/12/2006, 11:14 PM
me and a few friends are going
05/12/2006, 11:15 PM
They knocked our U-21's out in the semi's so hope they go on to win it now:).
GUISAUltra
06/12/2006, 11:17 AM
should be up there alright, it'll be good craic.
GalwayFrancis
06/12/2006, 11:46 AM
any chance we can get one/both of the durms up to terryland tonight to get fullly behind quirkey and the lads?
Is there any chance one of ye could pick up a programme (if there is one) for a friend of mine?
GalwayFrancis
06/12/2006, 12:17 PM
Is there any chance one of ye could pick up a programme (if there is one) for a friend of mine?
ya. no prob
Thanks, I doubt there'll be one in any case, but it's good to have it covered :)
Conor
How can you say GUFC are better than Devon when they whipped them 4-0 earlier in the competition.They ****ed all over them that day and unless that was a completley different team than they usually have I can't see how they could be better.
Anyway, best of luck to Devon. They really need this considering all the work that has been put in off the pitch over the last few years.
Emlyn Long and Ski McGee have been influential during the season aswell.
06/12/2006, 3:59 PM
Conor
How can you say GUFC are better than Devon when they whipped them 4-0 earlier in the competition.They ****ed all over them that day and unless that was a completley different team than they usually have I can't see how they could be better.
Anyway, best of luck to Devon. They really need this considering all the work that has been put in off the pitch over the last few years.
Emlyn Long and Ski McGee have been influential during the season aswell.
Are you a Salthill head ya?
Well i've seen GUFC play Devon this year.....they beat them comforatbly that time 3-0 and they beat them before that aswell 2-1.
Cup games are a once off.GUFC finished ahead of Devon in the league by 6 points.Unfortunately the table never lies.GUFC are better than Salthill.You've never heard of a cup upset?:rolleyes:
You call 4-0 an upset! I'd call it a hammering. If you took an aggregate score it would be 5-5 for the year!
Anyway, to use another cliche, you're only as good as your last game...
Paddyfield
06/12/2006, 9:09 PM
I reckon they could get a pasting tomorrow night.I've seen them play a few times this year and i've seen Cork and really they'll have it all to do.
GUFC U-21's are a actually a better side than Devon who lost to Cork but with home advantage and this weather you never know...
GAME OVER: Salthill Devon beat Cork City 2-1. Great game in front of about 300 - 400 people including many United regulars.
06/12/2006, 9:39 PM
Ya got it wrong no doubt.Great and deserved win for Salthill against a Cork side that never showed up.
Good few from UTD there alright.
Best thing aswell is the guy who scored the winner is a die hard UTD fan aswell as a good friendwho goes to most matches home and away.
Aboy Ciano!
inthestand99
07/12/2006, 1:37 AM
Good side Salthill. These guys are together since 8 or 9 years of age . Didnt give Cork a chance to settle .Well done to SDFC.
TheLedge
07/12/2006, 7:43 AM
Are you a Salthill head ya?
Well i've seen GUFC play Devon this year.....they beat them comforatbly that time 3-0 and they beat them before that aswell 2-1.
Cup games are a once off.GUFC finished ahead of Devon in the league by 6 points.Unfortunately the table never lies.GUFC are better than Salthill.You've never heard of a cup upset?:rolleyes:
Conor, you seem to fail to realise that the Salthill side is a genuine under 21 side. When GUFC played SD earlier in the u21 league, they pasted them 4-0. GUFC have the luxury of being able to pick from their first team to put into the 21s when it suits them, due to the fact that there is no reserve league in operation. Salthill rely on experienced players deemed not good enough for GUFC.
Aside from that, I'm immensely proud today as my younger brother played in the Salthill side that beat Cork in the final. And as an ex Galway United player himself, he'll probably end up playing there again in the near future. There are some fantastic players in that u21 side who'll probably be making an appearance for GUFC in the future.
07/12/2006, 8:50 AM
Agree with most of what you said.
You do know that GUFC only had 11 players the day they lost 4-0.
Great win for Salthill last night. Super bunch of lads. I trained with them a couple of times mid season and they have some great players in the team. The three senior players(Quirkey, Breeno and Rab) keep the ship steady for them. Hopefully a few will move on to Eircom League and beyond.
Great for Salthill! Great for Galway football too!
GUISAUltra
07/12/2006, 10:03 AM
quirkey and seamie rabbitte were absolutely brilliant last night and i think that they definitely won them the game. i now the younger lads did great and never stopped running but the 2 lads completely owned the midfield last night. they never gave the cork midfield a chance to settle and impose themselves on the game.
Well done Quirkey, good to see him back in terryland again
TheLedge
07/12/2006, 12:26 PM
Agree with most of what you said.
You do know that GUFC only had 11 players the day they lost 4-0.
I didn't! :D
DotTV
07/12/2006, 12:45 PM
Isn't it 11 a side !?
geezer
07/12/2006, 4:06 PM
Well done to Devon, its a fair acheivement and a proud moment for everyone in soccer in Galway.
Bring Back Quirkey !!!!! :D
Paddyfield
08/12/2006, 4:59 PM
Bring Back Quirkey !!!!! :D
BBQ :D