View Full Version : Wallace - Wexford to fill Vacant League Spot

Pages : 1 [2]

BohsFans
09/12/2006, 11:20 PM
I remember O'Neill-C. on aertel said a Dublin club had applied a few weeks ago.

passerrby
10/12/2006, 12:41 AM
mountjoy inmates said they would love to join but we afriad of a visit fromshamrock rovers

10/12/2006, 7:04 AM
The Ireland on Sunday suggests that a Mayo club are the FAI's favourites in spite of strong support for Wallace's Wexford idea.

steno
10/12/2006, 12:34 PM
Heres a crazy idea if there are enough applications extend the league to two divisions off 12 teams. Its pretty obvious that a 10 team division doesn't work all that well.

11/12/2006, 1:50 AM
There isn't really any club in Kerry who would have the funds necessary to maintain an eircom league campaign and none would have enough of a fan base.

There don't seem to be any likely contenders from Kerry, but I wouldn't dismiss a junior club on the basis of "fan base". Crowds at our lower senior clubs are dreadful, so you can't be too harsh on the junior clubs in this area, as it's usually just friends, WAGs and relatives who watch the games anyway.

Just so long as the potential is there for crowds - i.e. letting teams in from urban areas, not dots on the map like Newcastle West :o

bigmac
11/12/2006, 9:16 AM
Dublin Incorporating County Kildare FC

Brilliant :D

11/12/2006, 6:45 PM
Anyone see him on RTÉ news this evening :eek: says he will manage the side himself. He really seemed as if he didn't know what he was talking about!

11/12/2006, 7:49 PM
The state of him. Anyone ever seen his hair?:eek: I didn't really hear the news report. I just heard Pat Dolan's name.

11/12/2006, 8:09 PM
The reporter said something along the lines of - Mick Wallace, looks move suitable to a scene in Braveheart than on the sidelines :D

:o something to that effect

11/12/2006, 8:12 PM
The reporter said something along the lines of - Mick Wallace, looks move suitable to a scene in Braveheart than on the sidelines :D

:o something to that effect

He looks absolutely demented!

12/12/2006, 8:49 AM
He might look a bit nuts, and he didn't come across great on the news but I think he does know what he's doing. He's the kind of man who's only too happy to lead people to believe he's a bit of an eejit. Plus he's kind of famous for hiding behind that wonderful hair! I'd imagine Dolan would be in some kind of advisory/director of football type role. I know a lot of people on here have issues with him but I think in this kind of capacity he could be very useful. I like the idea that the club will be amature and concentrate on local talent. A lot of good players have come out of Wexford and not travelled well and it would be nice to see tham get a chance at home.

Chippy
12/12/2006, 9:48 AM
I've nothing against Wexford but I'd prefer a team a little further away from Dublin just for a bit more regional variation or something. Ach, I'll shut up now.

Are you for real ??? - check out the distances between Dub/Gal & Dub/Wex and see if there's much of a difference

Tenderloins
12/12/2006, 2:48 PM
Wallace is no mug. For years teams have been trying to get him to invest but he hasn't. He knows his football (season ticket holder at Juventus!), knows Wexford football and has a good business mind.
Interesting though to see who the second applicant Delaney mentioned yesterday was.

1 9 2 8
12/12/2006, 5:00 PM
Did Wallace say he would build a 3000 seater stand in two years if they get in?

Clyngfilm
12/12/2006, 7:27 PM
He was on local radio here in Wexford this afternoon. He's practically sure of getting the go-ahead for the new club here in Wexford which is great news for the county. It's expected to be announced that Wexford Youths FC(what a stupid name!) will be the newest Eircom League team within the next 10 days and if/when they get the go-ahead, they will be playing as soon as March 2007 which is only 3 months away at this stage. He plans to build a 3000 seater stand at his grounds. He says that because his interests are primarily in the Wexford region, he wants to use mainly Wexford players which I think is quite admirable. He says that there is no regional Eircom League team at the moment which just players from that region in the team and he wants to change that with Wexford Youths FC. He gave the example of Kilkenny FC when they first started having 11 Dublin players which he said was stupid as the people of Wexford are not going to follow a Wexford team when it's only a recluse for retiring Dublin players. He plans to hold a trial in January for all players who would be interested in playing for the new team.

I'm certainly looking forward to seeing an all Wexford team competing in the League of Ireland.

Well done to Mick Wallace for putting Wexford soccer on the map, he really dose deserve a lot of credit and I hope the whole of Wexford are behind him in his endeavours.

12/12/2006, 9:12 PM
Interesting letter from Wallace (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-73984.html)

I don't there are many clubs queuing up to join the eL & wallace certainly has the funds to back up his interest. Be surprised if he not admitted. Spend a few years building up a fan base & structure. Wexford Youths is rubbish name.

onceahoop
12/12/2006, 9:45 PM
Great letter from Mick Wallace. He has a connection with Juve which could be of benefit if they are admitted to the League. No doubt his comments about the FAI will be the kiss of death for his application ;)

12/12/2006, 11:15 PM
No doubt his comments about the FAI will be the kiss of death for his application ;)

John Delaney is a keen follower of the 'keep your friends close & your enemies closer' strategy, :)

13/12/2006, 12:26 AM
I'll make 2 predictions re this new team, that I'm confidnet wil come true :

1) If called 'Wexford Youths' they'll change their name within 2 seasons.

2) They'll realise that you can't get anywhere in Irish football by exclusively selecting local players and, fed-up with the results it generates, will also after 2 seasons go for a more realistic mixed-approach - combining experienced talent with returning local talent and promising local youth.

I hope they do well and attract a decent support. Hopefully they accept that it'll take time to build anything in a completely new senior soccer county.

Ronnie
13/12/2006, 10:07 AM
Wallace is a serious operator, but if he can make a successful club thats basically amateur then he his a genius!

13/12/2006, 11:58 AM
Hmm, what about Youngboys Ferns?

On second thoughts...

13/12/2006, 12:02 PM
I'll make 2 predictions re this new team, that I'm confidnet wil come true :

1) If called 'Wexford Youths' they'll change their name within 2 seasons.

2) They'll realise that you can't get anywhere in Irish football by exclusively selecting local players and, fed-up with the results it generates, will also after 2 seasons go for a more realistic mixed-approach - combining experienced talent with returning local talent and promising local youth.

I hope they do well and attract a decent support. Hopefully they accept that it'll take time to build anything in a completely new senior soccer county.

Have to agree with the general idea here. I think launching the team as 100% local and giving local players a chance is a great way of attracting support, then gradually introduce more 'regional' players, following on to national. Once the stand etc. is built and if the crowds are turning up I'd say semi-pro will happen and maybe even full time. Wallace is no mug and he's taking a very sensible approach from where I'm sitting. If we're going with Wexford Youths as the name why not Wexford Young Boys? It'd attract a certain crowd anyway! ;)

13/12/2006, 12:03 PM

On second thoughts...

Beat me to the punch!:D

13/12/2006, 12:06 PM
Someone was saying on the news on Monday night (could have been Delaney) that they would be called Wexford Town FC.

13/12/2006, 12:15 PM
Someone was saying on the news on Monday night (could have been Delaney) that they would be called Wexford Town FC.

Now that's a much more sensible name than 'Wexford Yumphla's' or whatever it is.

How's about an echo on county history with 'Wexford Rebels' (as opposed to 'Wexford pikies'.... :) . Would annoy the Langer fans though...!

BohsFans
13/12/2006, 4:43 PM
I agree that our own association, the FAI, is a shambles and full of people who don't care about our game

Someone should tell him, that comments like that usually cost you at least a grand in the el.

G-Man
13/12/2006, 5:01 PM
Someone should tell him, that comments like that usually cost you at least a grand in the el.

Knowing Mick, he would prefer pay the fine rather than be kept quiet. Remeber his massive banner at his building at the Millenium bridge? No to War, No to Nice, No to Terrorism. Cost him a few contacts in Dublin Council who asked him to remove it. He's not one ot conform is Mick. Wears his jeans and tshirt everywhere, meetings, events, even when being presented an award at a black tie event in Wexford he turned up in his workclothes. He was on Matt Cooper giving out about building standards last week too.

BohsFans
13/12/2006, 6:20 PM
Wears his jeans and tshirt everywhere, meetings, events, even when being presented an award at a black tie event in Wexford he turned up in his workclothes.

typical culchie :rolleyes:

sonofstan
14/12/2006, 12:16 PM

On second thoughts...

ahem....

What do you suggest? Young Boys of Ferns?

about 2 months ago..

in this thread
http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=42466

18/12/2006, 1:24 PM
I just found this article which gives a bit more detail about the whole proposal and facilities. I'm sure most people are registered on the site already if not its free.

This is the link: http://www.unison.ie/wexford_people/stories.php3?ca=37&si=1738054&issue_id=14978

Buller
18/12/2006, 11:04 PM
:confused: i cant see it, can you copy it here please?

19/12/2006, 9:41 AM
Here's the most important part, you just need to register on the site to see the whole article.

The complex consists of two full-sized playing pitches meeting the UEFA requirements, which is something Wallace is quick to point out that 'many other Eircom League clubs do not currently have'.

'We have changing facilities that are way ahead of the norm, and a small gymnasium, with plans for a bigger one in the pipeline,' he explained. 'I am also planning to build a stand to provide 'x' amount of seating, and while it's not obligatory for the start of next season, plans must be in place to do so,' said Wallace, whose complex also offers one large artificial training area and three five-a-side pitches.

There is also a referee's room, a physio and first aid room, with plans for a recovery room already in place. All things considered, the charismatic county Youths manager feels that the ball is firmly in Wexford's court, and he is expecting a favourable decision early in the new year, with the season set to kick-off in March.

'We have a very good chance of playing Eircom League football next season and have the full support of the Wexford Junior League, which is great,' said Wallace, who confirmed that his team would be made up primarily of Wexford's best young players.

19/12/2006, 11:12 AM
Sounds like good for junior club but not much in the way of spectator facilities...

19/12/2006, 11:14 AM
they have plans to build a 3000 seater stawnd if theyget the license

19/12/2006, 11:58 AM
they have plans to build a 3000 seater stawnd if theyget the license

But on what time-scale, and where is the money for it coming from ??

We've been hearing 'plans' from clubs in the EL for years now. Very few actually come to life.

If I was him I wouldn't spend a penny on a new stand for at least 2 seasons. If he's smart he'll want to see how the club does both commercially and on-the-pitch. There's no point spending a fortune on 3,000 seats if you bankrupt the club by doing so, and/or drop back down to Junior football a year later. The LSL doesn't need a 300 seat stand, let alone 3,000.

Good noises though, and I genuinely hope it goes well for Wexford.

19/12/2006, 12:28 PM
So far Wallace has 100% financed the project himself. At the moment there is no facilities at all for supporters as far as I can tell so if the club attracts any kind of numbers in the first season it will have to be a priority build. With the Wexford League fully behind the idea I'm sure other sponsors will have been taken on board by then and the stand will draw finances from them. I really hope the team takes off although, living in Dublin, I'll probly end up going to more away games than home.

19/12/2006, 12:39 PM
So far Wallace has 100% financed the project himself. At the moment there is no facilities at all for supporters as far as I can tell so if the club attracts any kind of numbers in the first season it will have to be a priority build. With the Wexford League fully behind the idea I'm sure other sponsors will have been taken on board by then and the stand will draw finances from them. I really hope the team takes off although, living in Dublin, I'll probly end up going to more away games than home.

Running a football team in the EL First Division isn't cheap. Trips to Ballybofey, Dundalk, Limerick, Monaghan etc for 20+ people - probably involving accommodation on occassion etc.

It is nigh-on inevitable that attendances won't cover the running costs of the club on their own, so sponsor's money will be needed just to keep the team functioning. There will therefore be little or no sponsor money left to build a stand, unless it's dedicated money only for such a structure.

I don't know where Wallace got his money from, but if he's a savvy business man I'll bet he'll be hedging his bets to see how the club goes first, before sinking money into a big stand.

19/12/2006, 1:18 PM
Wallace is one of the biggest building contractors in the country, and in some ways this club is his plaything- in a sort of Abramovich way (actually more like your man at Hearts seein as he plans to manage the team himself) - the intention is for the team to be fully amature and locally based in the early stages at least. So the wage bill shouldn't be a problem.
Wallace is well known to be a very shrewd business man too so he's not going to be throwing too much more money away, but, in my view at least, a stand of some description is essential for any kind of league team, even if 3000 seats seems a bit much for a team that remains a concept at the moment.

19/12/2006, 1:55 PM
Maybe Bray could refer Mr. Wallace to their DIY stand supplier? :p

19/12/2006, 5:30 PM
Can't believe you don't know Wallace steve. :eek: :p
Anyway I've seen the acadamy he's talking about. Fine stuff. Had wondered about the seating plans alright, although I'd thought of the scaffold seating that was associated with Bray. How long would it take to erect?