View Full Version : BIG FLAG FUND

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

RedReb
05/11/2002, 7:54 PM
I think its about time we got ourselves a few big ones like the bohs have.. Maybe if we could get the FANZINE and the CCISA lads together we could discuss plans for a few large ones. Im sure you have all seen those big coors light ones in town hanging on patricks st. imagine the CITY crest covering the hole shed, what a sight me thinks. I for one anyway am willing to get the ball rolling by putting 50 euros into any such fund we can get going. So maybe we could get the ball rolling at a CCISA meeting in a few weeks. We could even try to get a collection going in the ground or ask a few of the turners x bars to sponser a few quid. lets make TURNERS X the best. busiest and the most colourful gaff in the hole the land. :D

05/11/2002, 10:00 PM
I'll be happy to throw in €25 to anyone serious about it.

RedReb
05/11/2002, 11:53 PM
that makes 75 euros not bad for a start

05/11/2002, 11:57 PM
Another €25...

= €100

ian
06/11/2002, 7:52 AM
i think that will be good for the club and the fans and i think that the ccisa could be looking in to that and i will give $50.

06/11/2002, 9:40 AM
50 yo-yo's ...... IF it starts before December, if not then 25. Just an extra incentive to start it off :D

06/11/2002, 10:05 AM
The three flags that Bohs had cost €600 (and that was with the sewing done for free)

If we want on with the crest on it, i can only imagine it would nearly cost that. If your going to do it, it should be done BIG, any other size is a waste of time. And also we have to bear in mind that is long over due !!

06/11/2002, 10:58 AM
Telescopic Flagpoles: here (http://www.tifo.it/prodotti/index.php3?foto=541DQ1L.jpg)
€67.14 x 1

Drum: here (http://www.tifo.it/prodotti/index.php3?foto=558DL.jpg)
€58.30 x 1

+ Postage Packaging

06/11/2002, 11:01 AM
like i said, I´m gonna get one of those drums in january/february. i would chip in for a flag but i´m in spain and i´m broke!

06/11/2002, 11:02 AM
I'll stump up some cash if thats the plan but could also stick a temporary surcharge (e.g. 1 euro) on the fanzine to make it more inclusive?

I'm not sure if people buy the fanzine just for the read or as form of contribution - just putting idea forward......

btw think one of the big costs of those flags is the lightweigh bendy poles at circa 60-100 euro.

06/11/2002, 11:05 AM
Originally posted by pete
btw think one of the big costs of those flags is the lightweigh bendy poles at circa 60-100 euro.

That's dem (http://www.tifo.it/prodotti/index.php3?foto=541DQ1L.jpg) yokes...

Casegrande
06/11/2002, 12:13 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
look at the size of the drumstick (ooerrr)

Is it small or far away? How can you tell how big it is btw?
Anyone else know where you could source a good big **** off drum?

06/11/2002, 1:08 PM
Is a great idea and I would contribute something, depending on available funds at collection time.

Shed End John
07/11/2002, 4:17 PM
Originally posted by Casegrande

Is it small or far away? How can you tell how big it is btw?
Anyone else know where you could source a good big **** off drum?

Try a music shop!:D

BTW lads, count me in for €20.

Murphy Out Now!!!

10/11/2002, 9:10 PM
€200 + so far .... any more offers to get it moving !!

10/11/2002, 10:27 PM
Try the local Orange lodge- oh aye- you don't have any down there:)

Real ale Madrid
11/11/2002, 10:15 AM
Count me in for €50

11/11/2002, 10:40 AM
Originally posted by Maribor
Try the local Orange lodge- oh aye- you don't have any down there:)
I knew that was a lambeg drum that you guys had:D

19/11/2002, 6:26 PM
Whats the story with this lads?
Is someone actually taking the task on themselves ?
It would be nice to have them for the start of next season.
My money is ready for whoever.........:)

NorthoftheLee
20/11/2002, 9:17 AM
You can put me down for €25 at least. It will have to be collected officially by 451 or the CCISA. But it would be great to have a coupleof those big flags.

rolo
20/11/2002, 9:46 AM
i'll throw some in defo, but i'm a broke student....

i'll start with e10 and more would come in dribs and drabs as i get it then....

a few of those pole flags up the st. annes end would be magic!!!

20/11/2002, 9:49 AM
Is this supposed to be a big flag or one of those ones you can drag along the crowd?

I've heard that the flags for dragging across the crowd need to be light & strong & could cost E500-1000.

If the telescopic poles are bought whoever uses them would want to be careful as i've heard they can break.

FourFiveOne
21/11/2002, 5:57 PM
There will be a write up in the next fanzine about this attempt to get some 'Big Flags'. Email us now if there is anymore to be said...

21/11/2002, 10:19 PM
It will be either the big one we pull over the crowd !!

OR

The three big ones with the telescopic poles !!

at this stage i dont care .... this 50 spot is burning a hole in my pocket ... someone better take it quick, or it will become 25 :(

It is now time to quit the crap and get it all sorted !!

ian
22/11/2002, 6:52 AM
I think that if we are going to do this we should have them up and runing befor the season is over. If we can do that we will be on or way to do some thing right. So lets get our fingers out and let's get the ball rolling.I whent out to blackpool to that dress maker and she said thet she could do the flags but she could not give me a price.She all so told me not to go in to the shops to by the cloth she said that to by it holesail and that there is a place down in john street and by it on a roll and then bring it up to her and that she wood do the flags for us.So boys and girls lets do this and stop all the talk and lets start this.

22/11/2002, 1:24 PM
Originally posted by A face
It will be either the big one we pull over the crowd !!
OR
The three big ones with the telescopic poles !!

IMO the crowd cover is a waste of time. Scuts in the Shed will burn it or rip it.

We need the three flags on poles with three people who will wave them AND take care of them.

22/11/2002, 2:00 PM
Originally posted by Neil
IMO the crowd cover is a waste of time. Scuts in the Shed will burn it or rip it.

We need the three flags on poles with three people who will wave them AND take care of them.

I agree. Froim what i was told the crowd covers are expensive because they've to be made strong enough to survive being dragged from all angles.

What kind of colours/designs proposed for the "big flags"?

ian
22/11/2002, 2:09 PM
THE WORD I MENT TO USE IS WHOLESALE IS THAT OK KNOW LETS GET ON WITH THE FLAGS.

NorthoftheLee
22/11/2002, 4:01 PM
I've sent on a few FLAG design ideas to 451 just to get the imagination ball rollong like. Well about 8 designs I think. if they don't like any of them i'll be destroyed like.... :)

22/11/2002, 4:05 PM
One like the pyjamas jersey would be original i think...

NorthoftheLee
22/11/2002, 4:13 PM
The bar code effect?? Ive sent in a couple variations on that one..

23/11/2002, 12:23 PM
The big flags on the poles would look great but we will need people who are committed to looking after them.

There is no point in wasting money on a crowd cover because I don't trust a lot of people coming to our games at the moment. As Neil said, they will rip it or burn it.

FourFiveOne
18/12/2002, 4:27 PM
We haven't forgotten about the BIG FLAG FUND (http://fourfiveone.net/flag.html)! We are serious about getting this done. Read more on fourfiveone.net (http://fourfiveone.net/flag.html) and also in the next Issue of FourFiveOne (out on 27th December). Let's get it going!

28/12/2002, 1:25 PM
As it said in the fanzine last night, we have to get this done before the start of next season. I have a person sorted who can do the sewing.... for a start! I'll also throw 20/30 euro to get the poles and material...

FourFiveOne
10/01/2003, 3:45 PM
Got a quote from TIFO.IT for three Telescopic Poles stretching out to 5.5 metres each... €241.98 (including delivery). That's not bad.

The material needed for making three big flags (12 x 9 or so) would be about €200.

If we can get someone to sew them together cheaply, we're looking good to do 3 BIG FLAGS for less than €500. Picture them on front of the Shed as the teams come out for the first game of next season!

- Will we go ahead and order them poles?
- Have we volunteers to wave and take care of the flags?
- Are people still willing to throw a few bob to help the fund?

Let's get it going...

10/01/2003, 5:16 PM
Whats been pledged so far for the fund?

I'm guessing tifo are the only place to get the telescopic poles?

I'd also suppose no point in having big flags if no bendy poles to hang them from?

Maybe E30 from 15 people?

Casegrande
11/01/2003, 10:18 AM
I'm good for 30 Euro

11/01/2003, 11:33 AM
I'm good for 30 Euro
ditto

ccfcman
11/01/2003, 11:39 AM
oh i cant be outdone ill have to have my turkey/cameroon flag edited methinks.whatever happened to all those flags at the start of the season?????

11/01/2003, 11:50 AM
I'm good for 30 Euro

I hear ya and i'll see it.

eoinh
11/01/2003, 1:55 PM
put in €30 as well.

Dr.Nightdub
11/01/2003, 11:51 PM
Lads, a word of warning: I've heard from both Rovers and Bohs fans that those tifo telescopic poles are prone to break easily, seeing as they're made out of graphite or something.

hayser
12/01/2003, 12:35 AM
Something like this?

http://homepage.eircom.net/~saintspics/blue_0002_ed.jpg

13/01/2003, 9:52 AM
Originally posted by Dr.Nightdub
Lads, a word of warning: I've heard from both Rovers and Bohs fans that those tifo telescopic poles are prone to break easily, seeing as they're made out of graphite or something.

I have heard that as well. The again i suppose you not meant to hit people with them ;)

I don't think 4-5-1 need a junket trip to Italy for telescopic pole training yet though. :D

FourFiveOne
16/01/2003, 3:51 PM
FourFiveOne today put in an order to TIFO for three telescopic flag poles and 2 big drums...

Next step is to sort out the material for flags.
And to get that material sewn together. Any advise lads?

Updates here.

Shed End John
16/01/2003, 4:00 PM
Originally posted by FourFiveOne
FourFiveOne today put in an order to TIFO for three telescopic flag poles and 2 big drums...

Next step is to sort out the material for flags.
And to get that material sewn together. Any advise lads?

Updates here.

Singer's on the corner of the Grand Parade/Washington Street could stitch it together.

Murphy Out Now!!!

NorthoftheLee
16/01/2003, 4:50 PM
Singer's on the corner of the Grand Parade/Washington Street could stitch it together.

singers is a rip off like most places these days. I'd say look in the yellow pages and ring around. Better chance at getting a reasonible quote that way.

FourFiveOne
17/01/2003, 10:06 AM
We'd be interested in hearing from people who have a sewing machine and would be willing to volunteer their services for free!

We're also still looking for people who want to help with the waving of the flags.

Cheers,
FFO

17/01/2003, 2:00 PM
Originally posted by FourFiveOne
We're also still looking for people who want to help with the waving of the flags.
count me in :)

FourFiveOne
24/01/2003, 12:42 PM
A few people were wondering if they can hand over their pledges to our sellers on Sunday so if you want to contribute to the fund, please do. We are expecting 3 telescopic poles and 2 drums to arrive on our doorstep next week and we'll go about getting the flags made up then.