View Full Version : Ideas for New Flag

Pages : 1 [2] 3

JW.
17/01/2007, 1:56 PM
I quite liked it. It succeeded in not being in any fashion politically correct and also attracted attention to itself and by extension the organisation.

Tribalhooie
17/01/2007, 4:59 PM
About this famous guisa flag, for those of you who were not in russia for the 4-2 beating, that flag got rave reviews from the 200 or so fans staying in our hotel. All the flags were lined out on the ground in the lobby and ours got the most interest and alot of people got a good laugh from the slogan "never send a boy on a man's job".

corbyeire
17/01/2007, 6:03 PM
http://img477.imageshack.us/img477/6676/gufcflagcc0.png

thats only a rough sketch on the computer now..:D

ill be honest - that needs a lot of work - and i dont know about the statement - its a bit lame - but maybe would look alright against a better proportioned word size etc.

as you said its rough...

damoGUFC
17/01/2007, 8:35 PM
I know where you are coming from alright, I wasnt too sure on it myself thats why I posted ere for more idea's.

GUISAUltra
18/01/2007, 11:04 AM
I really like the
"Never Send A Boy On A Mans Job" slogan.
its pretty original and since the old flag has disappeared i think it'd be good to get it on a new one

GUISAUltra
18/01/2007, 11:05 AM
francis where's the image you had that you were going to make into a flag, that was pretty cool

GalwayFrancis
18/01/2007, 11:54 AM
francis where's the image you had that you were going to make into a flag, that was pretty cool

threads merged! you can see my flag design here: http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/design2.png
got a good quote from a crowd in germany, hoping to get it made end of this month, start of feb.

18/01/2007, 1:31 PM
Why didn't you get the crowd in Westside to do it?
They've been good to GUFC supporters over the last year.

damoGUFC
18/01/2007, 5:22 PM
I was in their a couple of days ago and saw a pic of francis's design on the wall.
She showed me a few gufc flags she made awhile back, she did a brillant job on them.:D so any more idea's apart from the guisa slogan???

GalwayFrancis
19/01/2007, 11:36 AM
Why didn't you get the crowd in Westside to do it?
They've been good to GUFC supporters over the last year.

I was in their a couple of days ago and saw a pic of francis's design on the wall.
She showed me a few gufc flags she made awhile back, she did a brillant job on them.:D so any more idea's apart from the guisa slogan???

well, i emailed the westside crowd three times i think and got no reply, so was fairly p1ssed off at that. might drop into them in the next week and se what they say. the german crowd sound the business though and not a bad price either

19/01/2007, 11:44 AM
She told me the last day you never left any Contact number or name!obviously there's been a break down in Communications!:D

She has your design on the wall in there so i'd give her a ring.

damoGUFC
19/01/2007, 11:46 AM
I actually liked the GUISA slogan alright and I wouldnt mind designing a new one with the slogan on it...what ye think?

GuisaSaigon
19/01/2007, 11:49 AM
I actually liked the GUISA slogan alright and I wouldnt mind designing a new one with the slogan on it...what ye think?

Go for it, Damo.

damoGUFC
19/01/2007, 11:51 AM
Go for it, Damo.

Thanks!!:) I was thinking of putting the crest on it as well??

GuisaSaigon
19/01/2007, 11:54 AM

Yeah that Westside place did a good job with the crests on the most recent flags.

19/01/2007, 11:56 AM

That will cost you around E500.

damoGUFC
19/01/2007, 11:59 AM
€500?? :( would it be cheaper to hand make it??:D I'll work my way around it some how??

damoGUFC
19/01/2007, 12:01 PM
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/5895/ronanandtheflaglc9.jpg

did this flag go missing??

19/01/2007, 12:05 PM
That's the flag we were on about.
It's gone for ever.:(

Ya E500 with slogan,crest,design etc.

damoGUFC
19/01/2007, 12:10 PM
Aww loved that one!! sure if its outa my budget we'll come up with a new design?? :D :rolleyes:

Patrick Dunne
19/01/2007, 12:13 PM
Its rather pointless keeping a flag for an organisation that no longer exists.
The flag had nothing of intrinsic value on it eg embroidered crest.

It was also extremely difficult to hang up due to its length.

Nevertheless, it gave good service around the grounds of the EL.
We need more flags, with better proportions and with better designs.

GalwayFrancis
19/01/2007, 12:36 PM
She told me the last day you never left any Contact number or name!obviously there's been a break down in Communications!:D

She has your design on the wall in there so i'd give her a ring.

That will cost you around E500.

she was looking for contact details..... eh she had my email address! she's the one running a business, its not too hard to reply to an email, acctually two emails.

500quid, for a banner wit a crest n slogan.... i got quoted less than that from the german crowd and my flag is going to be massive (thanks to a small group of ppl)

corbyeire
19/01/2007, 12:45 PM
francis - you should definetly haggle with the galway crowd and show them how much cheaper the germans are

some business is better than none - and if you get sorted maybe other supporters would then use them

just a thought

damoGUFC
19/01/2007, 1:12 PM
Have they a website Francis???

GalwayFrancis
19/01/2007, 2:20 PM
Have they a website Francis???

nope, thats one of their problems!

Paddyfield
19/01/2007, 4:26 PM

Great idea Damo.

Why not ask a few to give you a few quid to help? I hereby pledge you €20. Anyone else?

damoGUFC
21/01/2007, 3:44 PM
Any more ideas?? Like PD said we need more flags and banners. Lets make Terryland Park and the away trips look more colourful, lets show our colours...Maroon and White!

damoGUFC
04/02/2007, 1:03 PM
http://img77.imageshack.us/img77/9507/gufcflag2ac7.png

Another idea ere..what ye think??? lets hear yer opinions!:p

JW.
04/02/2007, 5:05 PM
You should get a job with Sky Sports Damo ;)

Paddyfield
04/02/2007, 7:25 PM

It's a bit Primary School-ish. How about something bold like...

GALWAY UNITED LOYALISTS

or

TO HELL OR TO CONNACHT

?

GalwayFrancis
04/02/2007, 7:26 PM

love it, go for the design. i made a more polished version of your flag:
http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/damo_design.jpg

damoGUFC
04/02/2007, 9:25 PM
Love it Francis!!! Would you think many fans will like it, i love the slogan anywayz!!:D

GalwayFrancis
04/02/2007, 10:57 PM
Love it Francis!!! Would you think many fans will like it, i love the slogan anywayz!!:D

i cant see why they woulnt like it. ill post it over at the new forum and see what people think of it.

damoGUFC
05/02/2007, 2:09 PM
Fair play Francis, you've a nik for this! I made my design on da paint yoke, thats
all i can do!!:D :D

damoGUFC
06/02/2007, 2:15 PM
Priced the flag today, €250 (size 4 foot by 6 and a half!!!)

corbyeire
06/02/2007, 2:26 PM
that doesnt seem too bad at all - but like some of the others were saying - if ye all went in at the one time with the 3 or 4 designs ye have - maybe ye would get a deal??

damoGUFC
06/02/2007, 2:47 PM
Thats a good idea cobyeire!:D

galwaygirl
07/02/2007, 8:38 AM
It's a bit Primary School-ish. How about something bold like...

GALWAY UNITED LOYALISTS

or

TO HELL OR TO CONNACHT

?
No, "TO HELL OR TO CONNACHT" is on all the Connacht rugby posters. who had the sayin lately "To Connacht or to Hell", thought it was funny myself

corbyeire
07/02/2007, 1:25 PM
if your afraid of copying the rugby boys - just spell connaught as opposed to connacht

damoGUFC
07/02/2007, 3:04 PM
So what ye think of the polished up design????

gilberto_eire
07/02/2007, 4:52 PM
ya but ''to hell or to connacht'' is a famous historical statement made by cromwell was it during the plantations?. i dont think theres a prob using it the rugby boys didnt make it up!.

Paddyfield
08/02/2007, 10:07 PM
ya but ''to hell or to connacht'' is a famous historical statement made by cromwell was it during the plantations?. i dont think theres a prob using it the rugby boys didnt make it up!.

How about To Hell Or To Connacht Rugby ;)

corbyeire
08/02/2007, 10:43 PM
good idea, ha ha - but i think theyve got enough coverage already - a serious competitor to gufc for the fickle crowd - less said about them the better!

GalwayFrancis
08/02/2007, 11:15 PM
my flag should be here, three weeks from monday, all going well. so ill have it in time for the kick off! hopefully

Paddyfield
09/02/2007, 8:35 PM
my flag should be here, three weeks from monday, all going well. so ill have it in time for the kick off! hopefully

How much money did you collect for it from foot.ie members?

GalwayFrancis
10/02/2007, 5:23 PM
How much money did you collect for it from foot.ie members?

180 i think, thanks everyone again. cant wait to see it now. id like to especially thank Terry, for his kind contribution

JW.
10/02/2007, 5:37 PM
Francis, I'll drop that in Monday; sorry about the delay.

Patrick Dunne
10/02/2007, 5:39 PM
That money could have paid Regilios wages for two days :mad:

corbyeire
10/02/2007, 5:56 PM
That money could have paid Regilios wages for two days :mad:

what??? which money is this - :D only stirring it :o

11/02/2007, 7:26 AM
your more than welcome francis, i though we would have collected more though!!! :(