View Full Version : Alan Hunter on Liveline now
06/12/2006, 11:46 AM
If these people want to go, let them pay for the privilege. However, the people who have supported all along eg current block bookers should be given a better deal.
I've no problem with the FAI maximising their revenue from these games but they should remember those fans who will still be around when the glamour goes out of playing in Croker/Lansdowne.
Selling tickets in blocks of 4 does reward current block bookers. You've got a guaranteed ticket for the Wales game and th eother games. I believe the waiting list is sorted also.
There is no equivalent system in rugby or the GAA AFAIK. The odd rugby club or GAA county board may do a season ticket of sorts but no central one that I'm aware of.
There will be far more real Ireland rugby fans or real Cork hurling fans left outside the big games at Croke Park than real Irish football fans watching the Wales game on tv.
The Swordsman
07/12/2006, 1:16 PM
Selling tickets in blocks of 4 does reward current block bookers. You've got a guaranteed ticket for the Wales game and th eother games. I believe the waiting list is sorted also.
There is no equivalent system in rugby or the GAA AFAIK. The odd rugby club or GAA county board may do a season ticket of sorts but no central one that I'm aware of.
There will be far more real Ireland rugby fans or real Cork hurling fans left outside the big games at Croke Park than real Irish football fans watching the Wales game on tv.
That may be true, but the real Irish football fans (ie block bookers) are facing a hefty price hike for the privilege. And if you think about it, it should be easier for the FAI, under their block booking system, to look after their most loyal customers.
soccerc
07/12/2006, 1:30 PM
That may be true, but the real Irish football fans (ie block bookers) are facing a hefty price hike for the privilege. And if you think about it, it should be easier for the FAI, under their block booking system, to look after their most loyal customers.
So the most loyal customers are the real fans who block book?
Give me a break1
soccerc already beat me to it, but what kind of pathetic statement is that??
hoops1
07/12/2006, 2:33 PM
Dortmund is the football ground I most want to visit. I've formed the opinion it's probably the best football ground in the world from what I've seen on TV and from an aeroplane window on the way from Prague to London (bit trainspotterish I know).
I agree about Croker being over-hyped, but it is a fine stadium nonetheless. I haven't been to Cardiff but my mate says it's the ''Bang & Olufsen of football grounds''.
I dont know what to say :eek: :eek:
Except its like English but doesnt make a blind bit of ****ing sense.
The Swordsman
07/12/2006, 3:15 PM
So the most loyal customers are the real fans who block book?
Give me a break1
Yes, they are the ones who shell out the money to go to every game.
Who would you suggest are the most loyal customers?
Mento - why pathetic? :confused: Please back up your statement.
lionelhutz
07/12/2006, 4:09 PM
This is typical GAA nonsense. I am not a GAA fan in anyway shape or form but given the fact that we were going to be playing there and I got offered free tickets for the game I decided to pay it a visit this Sept for the All-Ireland football game.
I am lucky to have visited stadia all over europe and found nothing world class about Croke Park. It an ordinary modern-day stadium. The terrace at the end is completely out of place and the atmosphere was very poor for 80,000+ people. I was sitting at the back of the centre of the Hogan stand lower tier and the view was ok but nothing special. If it rains at any of our games plenty of people will be getting very very wet. If Croke Park was truely world class they would have taken the irish weather into account and roofed the whole ground.
You cannot compare Croke Park to Cadiff, Cardiff is light years ahead in terms of look, feel and atmosphere and when the roof is closed Cardiff goes to a completely different level. The new emirates (another corporate wonderland), city of manchester, old trafford, stade de france and all of the german WC stadia are all well ahead of it.
Dont get me wrong Croke Park is miles ahead of lansdowne at the moment but im very sure Lansdowne will be well ahead when it is re-built.
As for the ticket prices, we (the fans) were always going to have to absorb the costs. I wasnt shocked when I opened the letter last week. The rates are in keeping with PL costs but are well above european standards. There will be plenty of spares flying about though, hopefully there will be a nasty atmosphere at the Wales game and the gaa-crossover type will run home with their tails between their legs and not come back again.
Also the tiger has roared for the middle and upper classes in the country, lionelhutz. Football is and ,(pray to god), will always be a working class game. I know 2 pensioners who have to put money aside each month to be able to go to ireland home games.
i must say the level of sh**e written above amazes me. I'm way more involved in soccer than GAA so to disregard my opinion as GAA nonsense is idiotic.
And just to let you know, I'm earning minimum wage and scraping by so your tear jerking story about the two pensioners doesnt really move me. Its my choice as well as theirs to save money to go Ireland matches, and we do it cause we love supporting them so for you to make it out to be such a chore is bsh*t
Alan Hunter says: 'Get back to talking about me. My ego is on a life support machine now ya bunch a bowsies.' :mad:
seriouslly though does he have any backing? did he self appoint himself? how did he get recognised by everyone else in the media?
I could swear that the first time I saw/heard of him was when RTÉ or tv3 went to the FAI HQ during Saipan to get a comment from the FAI to no avail and there was Alan just outside, draped in an Irish flag and so got interviewed..:o
Yes, they are the ones who shell out the money to go to every game.
Who would you suggest are the most loyal customers?
Mento - why pathetic? :confused: Please back up your statement.
no problem backing up my statement at all mate.
because you are a block booker does not make you anymore of a fan than anyone else.
Simple reasons - The block booking scheme has been going on for years, many a fan has missed the boat and has to get tickets elsewhere.
I have my own seats in lansdowne and so do some of the ejits who haven't a clue whats going on on the pitch (block bookers, true fans!!!)
the block booking scheme is a closed door with many people already guaranteed them tickets.
I am 28 and the only reason i have my own set seats is through someone i know. Without him, i AM, As you say, not a real fan.
What about the younger people who have missed that boat and dont have the luxury of a set seat. does that make them less of a fan than you?
Please dont be so condecending to the people who have to search high and low for a ticket for lansdowne raod.
The Swordsman
08/12/2006, 11:43 AM
no problem backing up my statement at all mate.
because you are a block booker does not make you anymore of a fan than anyone else.
Simple reasons - The block booking scheme has been going on for years, many a fan has missed the boat and has to get tickets elsewhere.
I have my own seats in lansdowne and so do some of the ejits who haven't a clue whats going on on the pitch (block bookers, true fans!!!)
the block booking scheme is a closed door with many people already guaranteed them tickets.
I am 28 and the only reason i have my own set seats is through someone i know. Without him, i AM, As you say, not a real fan.
What about the younger people who have missed that boat and dont have the luxury of a set seat. does that make them less of a fan than you?
Please dont be so condecending to the people who have to search high and low for a ticket for lansdowne raod.
Apologies if I came across as condescending - wasn't my intention. Looking back at the post, I could have perhaps phrased it better but I didn’t mean to imply that block bookers were the only real fans.
The block booking system is the system used by the FAI to distribute the vast majority of tickets for games at LR. Most of the fans who go to Lansdowne Road sit on seats that have been acquired through this system. I assume that the seat you get is block booked, which makes you a block booker. The system is a good indicator of who has been a loyal customer (note the word customer) and could be used to show a bit of good will. The FAI could also extend some good will to those on waiting lists.
The point I was making was in relation to those fans who will only go to the glamour ties or when it's fashionable. They would never consider going to a game against San Marino in November when the team are struggling. The move to Croker will make Ireland matches fashionable for a time as will a move back to a redeveloped LR.
Mento, I am going to pull you up on one of your statements:
Pot kettle black here? Just because someone doesn't know as much as you or has differing views to you doesn't make them less of a fan.
Mento
08/12/2006, 12:27 PM
Good points
on the eejits comment, i should of said that 4 people sitting behind me at one game never returned for the second half. These would of been block bookers but hardly proper supporters. Fair enough the vast majority of bb are genuine but some of those tickets fall into the wrong hands, ie business men who have them for business reasons.
PS - i agree that bb should be given some sort of deal
Wolfie
08/12/2006, 1:42 PM
Good points
on the eejits comment, i should of said that 4 people sitting behind me at one game never returned for the second half. These would of been block bookers but hardly proper supporters. Fair enough the vast majority of bb are genuine but some of those tickets fall into the wrong hands, ie business men who have them for business reasons.
PS - i agree that bb should be given some sort of deal
I've often thought the combination of compulsory seating at Lansdowne (which was, of course, a necessity following Hillsborough) and the alteration in how Ireland tickets were purchased in the early 90's - changed the atmosphere and who attended the matches.
Certainly, some who had regularly attended matches during the darker days had trouble getting tickets when the Boys in Green bandwagon really began to roll.
The South Terrace and at times the the North, were far more partisan and vocal places during the Italia 90 qualifying campaign (crowd were as influential as a crowd can be against Spain at home in '89) to what they are today.
I'd often see the same faces at Lansdowne to what were at Hill 16.
Some of these lads were disenfranchised at the time - and now attend more away games than home games.
Talk of tickets falling into the wrong hands - I usually sit / stand in the North Terrace but for the Italy game last year I was given a ticket for the East Stand.
During the match some oul wan asked "Whose that new lad at full back?" - it was Ian Harte.
Student Mullet
08/12/2006, 2:00 PM
During the match some oul wan asked "Whose that new lad at full back?" - it was Ian Harte.Can I ask for some understanding here. I don't follow foreign football so the ony time I see the players is four times a year at internationals. It can sometimes take me a little while to recognise everyone, particularly the new players (I'm pretty sure I'd know Ian Harte straight off). Maybe this lady was in the same position as me.
Wolfie
08/12/2006, 3:50 PM
Can I ask for some understanding here. I don't follow foreign football so the ony time I see the players is four times a year at internationals. It can sometimes take me a little while to recognise everyone, particularly the new players (I'm pretty sure I'd know Ian Harte straight off). Maybe this lady was in the same position as me.
That said - just to clarify - there's plenty of committed and informed support sitting in the East Stand amongst the Ignorami.
That new youth Carsley is a great prospect.
08/12/2006, 3:56 PM
To clarify just by going to Lansdowne a few times a year doesnt mean that you are a real Irish football fan.
Wolfie
08/12/2006, 4:02 PM
To clarify just by going to Lansdowne a few times a year doesnt mean that you are a real Irish football fan.
I agree. Never suggested it did.
Billsthoughts
08/12/2006, 4:21 PM
Of course it does. you can only go to the games that are on?
The Swordsman
08/12/2006, 4:31 PM
During the match some oul wan asked "Whose that new lad at full back?" - it was Ian Harte.
At least she knew what a full back was :D
I get the touchline tickets at the east stand. For friendlies, the terrace behind us is not seated. During that Italian match, there was a couple of Dublin howyas standing right behind me with Italian jersies on, who never shut up about how 'gorjuss' Del Piero and the other Italians were.
Luckily, these people don't want to go to all the matches (I hope).
Wolfie
08/12/2006, 4:33 PM
Seem to be straying into some sort of existential debate. What's real and what's unreal. You can the there but are you really there........
If a tree falls in the woods.......
Lets keep it simple - you support a team with commitment, passion and genuinely care about all facets of how the team progress, etc etc = real fan.
Wolfie
08/12/2006, 4:39 PM
At least she knew what a full back was :D
I get the touchline tickets at the east stand. During that Italian match, there was a couple of Dublin howyas standing right behind me with Italian jersies on, who never shut up about how 'gorjuss' Del Piero and the other Italians were.
Luckily, these people don't want to go to all the matches (I hope).
Groupies. I think Peter Beardsley complained about the same thing when England played at Lansdowne in 91.
The Swordsman
08/12/2006, 9:59 PM
Groupies. I think Peter Beardsley complained about the same thing when England played at Lansdowne in 91.
:D :D :D
Funny that! Ian Dowie complained about them too ('93 I think) !!
09/12/2006, 8:43 AM
By and large the atmosphere at Lansdowne has been spot on for the really big games and can seldom be bettered. I really don't worry about the atmosphere at friendlies - it's hard to get worked up when no points are at stake. Nearly all competitive matches have been good except the ones against minnows and that's understandable.
The best chant is "stand up for the boys in green" because the sit on their hands supporters have to get off their ar*e if they want to see the game :D
Supporters come in all shapes and sizes. However, the ones that bug me are the ones who spend the whole game abusing certain players in the team. I had one to my right at the San Marino game who spent most of the early part of the game hurling dogs' abuse at a few players at the top of his voice and he actually looked disappointed when we scored:rolleyes: A supporter should support and leave the criticism to the pub afterwards.
onenilgameover
09/12/2006, 12:36 PM
By and large the atmosphere at Lansdowne has been spot on for the really big games and can seldom be bettered. I really don't worry about the atmosphere at friendlies - it's hard to get worked up when no points are at stake. Nearly all competitive matches have been good except the ones against minnows and that's understandable.
The best chant is "stand up for the boys in green" because the sit on their hands supporters have to get off their ar*e if they want to see the game :D
Supporters come in all shapes and sizes. However, the ones that bug me are the ones who spend the whole game abusing certain players in the team. I had one to my right at the San Marino game who spent most of the early part of the game hurling dogs' abuse at a few players at the top of his voice and he actually looked disappointed when we scored:rolleyes: A supporter should support and leave the criticism to the pub afterwards.
I tend to agree with you on the abuse stuff...but while watching a match it can be very hard avoid criticism while in the heat of battle.....
By and large the atmosphere at Lansdowne has been spot on for the really big games and can seldom be bettered.
Disagree. Its been years since good atmosphere at Lansdowne. Even France & Switzerland last year were poor. I don't count a few 'stand for the boys in green' as great atmosphere. 80% of people at those games look like its a chore to get off their seat.
I really don't worry about the atmosphere at friendlies - it's hard to get worked up when no points are at stake.
I agree.
10/12/2006, 12:28 PM
Disagree. Its been years since good atmosphere at Lansdowne.
There was an excellent atmosphere at the Czech match given the circumstances. As good as you could really expect at an international.
11/12/2006, 3:32 PM
Hunter was in the Sun saturday saying he had "been fielding calls night and day from other concerned Ireland fans about the ticket prices".
Are journos stupid enough to believe his mythical Ireland supporters club exists? Why dont they contact the ROISSC??
BTW a real Irish football fan doesnt necessarily go to Lansdowne.