View Full Version : Ticket Price Hike!

DeNiro
29/11/2006, 7:46 AM
Prices released for Croke Park games! Article on Ireland.com, nice to see the FAI are optimistic about our qualifying chances!

GuisaSaigon
29/11/2006, 8:39 AM
32% increase in prices, €50 for upper hogan / cusack stand, €70 lower stand, and some premium seats for €85.
they plan to put 6500 temporary seats on hill 16 for away fans.
prices seem a bit too steep, people will probably pay it but the FAI like everyone else in this country dont mind fleecing their customers.

29/11/2006, 9:19 AM
Anyone know how much the egg-chasers are charging for their tickets?

Paulie
29/11/2006, 9:29 AM
Anyone know how much the egg-chasers are charging for their tickets?

I don't know for sure but I'd say it will be more. I paid €75 for tickets for the recents games with South Africa and Australia (The Pacific Islands tickets were €30 but were coupled with the Australia fixture). They were decent seats (in line with the 22) but even still I thought that €75 for a non 6 Nations fixture was a bit steep. Having said that I'd pay it again.

29/11/2006, 9:30 AM
IRFU Prices :eek:

http://www.irishrugby.ie/htmlpage/62442.html

beautifulrock
29/11/2006, 9:43 AM
seems like both the IRFU and the FAI are making the most of Croker, still no harm in the fleecing the punter..is there ???????

29/11/2006, 9:56 AM
Well if they have to pay 1.5 milllion to the GAA before any match day costs (security etc)

29/11/2006, 10:29 AM
32% increase in prices.Based on where in Lansdowne? It's a 67% increase on the bucket prices.

29/11/2006, 10:40 AM
seems like both the IRFU and the FAI are making the most of Croker, still no harm in the fleecing the punter..is there ???????
Er, their costs have gone up substantially as well though, with the rental charged by the bigots. Both have to raise as much as they can from the internationals to pay for the domestic activities (obviously the IRFU more successfully than the FAI). Personally I don't have a problem with it for 5 or so games a season - it isn't much if that's your total spending on football or rugby.

Expect more carping on Liveline, and the Government to introduce some new law that only effects football though. :rolleyes:

29/11/2006, 10:43 AM
This might make me unpopular but one has to compare like with like.

We are not going to be sitting on bucket seats.

As far as I know tickets for the stand in Lr were €48 The equivalent will be 50 euro so that is a 2 euro increase.

beautifulrock
29/11/2006, 11:06 AM
Er, their costs have gone up substantially as well though, :

have they?, what was the cost of hosting a game at Landsdowne? Is there a rental charge only by the GAA? Do Croke Park pay for stewarding, security etc or does anyone know for certain about this

29/11/2006, 11:10 AM
Er, their costs have gone up substantially as well though, with the rental charged by the bigots.
The capacity has more than doubled, that should offset the costs comfortably.

29/11/2006, 11:23 AM
The capacity has more than doubled, that should offset the costs comfortably.
Would costs not have doubled too? Might be some economies of scale but they'll have certainly increased, and again that 1.5 million rent has to be paid...

29/11/2006, 11:25 AM
Well if they have to pay 1.5 milllion to the GAA before any match day costs (security etc)
If they sell out Croke Park at these prices they'll still be getting much more than they would for a packed Lansdowne Road even with the €1.5m fee.

29/11/2006, 11:28 AM
Would costs not have doubled too?Even if they did, that would still mean a doubling of the profits before the extra rent costs.

soccerc
29/11/2006, 11:36 AM
This might make me unpopular but one has to compare like with like.

We are not going to be sitting on bucket seats.

As far as I know tickets for the stand in Lr were €48 The equivalent will be 50 euro so that is a 2 euro increase.

Our seats were €30 and €36, the equivalent are €50 and €60

29/11/2006, 11:40 AM
Even if they did, that would still mean a doubling of the profits before the extra rent costs.

Yeah, and I have no problem with that (Should've really said that at the start...)

29/11/2006, 11:43 AM
Our seats were €30 and €36, the equivalent are €50 and €60

I dont think there are equivalent of the €30 seats. These were bucket seats which were totally exposed to the elements. These sort of seats will not exist in Croke Park to the home fans.

soccerc
29/11/2006, 11:52 AM
I dont think there are equivalent of the €30 seats. These were bucket seats which were totally exposed to the elements. These sort of seats will not exist in Croke Park to the home fans.

Equivalent of but not like for like, still a huge 100% increase.

29/11/2006, 11:57 AM
THe problem I have is they have nothing in the form about the singing section.

aidz1
29/11/2006, 12:00 PM
i see the fai totally milking this to its worth..all at the punters expense

dont forget, the fai were paying to rent landsdowne road. Now with the higher rent in croker (but at twice the capacity), they are charging us almost twice to watch...
there still should be €30 tickets made available... you may have a covered stand over you..but you could end up paying €50 to sit in the skys

soccerc
29/11/2006, 12:01 PM
there still should be €30 tickets made available... you may have a covered stand over you..

Yoo may have a covered stand but if it ****es rain you will still get soaked

29/11/2006, 12:11 PM
From the photos of Croke Park I've seen, the lower tiers don't seem to be covered by the roof so wouldn't be too different from the bucket seats.

29/11/2006, 12:35 PM
I'm glad someone brought that up about Croker, as I'm sure there are a few people who'll be going for the first time. All of the Lower stand is susceptible to rain as it the Hill obviously.
I just don't think that anything is justifying the price hike. Sorry but I think its out of order. Once the prices go up now it will be hard to change when we go back to Lansdowne.

Wolfie
29/11/2006, 12:35 PM
Have sat in the higher part of the Canal End Upper on a couple of occasions and it was the definition of a Birds Eye View.

The price don't always reflect where you end up.............

29/11/2006, 12:40 PM
Due to th GAA's intransigence over friendlies not being allowed to take place in Croke Park wouldn't the FAI be down a bit of revenue there too?

What concerns me is that these prices will remain the status quo once we move back to the new Landsdowne.

29/11/2006, 12:43 PM
From the photos of Croke Park I've seen, the lower tiers don't seem to be covered by the roof so wouldn't be too different from the bucket seats.

it actually depends on whether there is a northern wind or not, as to whether or not you get soaked creid e no na creid!!! But generally if you are lower cusack or lower hogan ( front 10 - 20 rows ) you are fcuked....but dont worry there will be the premium priced tickets!!!!

I am not sure but in terms of money they are making does anyone ACTUALLY KNOW the breakdown of seats and prices in landsdowne? i.e. how many seats at 50 euro etc etc.

What concerns me is that these prices will remain the status quo once we move back to the new Landsdowne.

thats the problem that you would want to worry about, as it is they know they will sell the tickets for croker at that price....

29/11/2006, 12:44 PM
THe problem I have is they have nothing in the form about the singing section.
Heard about that. Muppets. Hope to be talking to them tomorrow about it. Wouldn't surprise me if they just didn't care though.

29/11/2006, 1:27 PM
I rang them to give out and I was told that I should put a little note on my application form saying that I want to be in a singing section.

casso36
29/11/2006, 1:32 PM
Sure when did they ever care about the fans?

This could be costly to few people. Upper tiers should be only €30.00 each *******s!!!

29/11/2006, 1:38 PM
I rang them to give out and I was told that I should put a little note on my application form saying that I want to be in a singing section.

Ah haahahahahahaha. Sorry. Ahahahahahahah. Pardon me. Ahahahahahaha. They're a fcuking shambles. Honestly, what is the point of trying to organise things like this if thats the amateurism you'll be dealt with.
How can they coordinate something like this properly if some people know and people who may be interested don't because they haven't been told.
Ps I imagine the ss will be allowed to stand, ya?

29/11/2006, 1:44 PM
They cannot officially say we can stand as it is against the regulations as far as I know but a blind eye could certainly be turned towards people standing in the singing section.

I am very annoyed that they do not have an option on the form for a singing section.

29/11/2006, 1:46 PM

The poor call care/receptionists that work there....they must always get people giving them abuse, because of those that have the power to make decisions!!!

Ps I imagine the ss will be allowed to stand, ya?

Secret Service?!?! ;) what have they got to do with it. no auld lads should be allowed in the singing section as they will give out saying sit down and let me watch the match.

galwayhoop
29/11/2006, 1:46 PM
far be it from me to stand up for the FAI but i have heard so many times that the GAA need to get a crowd of 35,000 to a game before covering expenses for holding the event. now the GAA don't have to pay €1.5m rent and it still costs this much for them so perhaps the FAI are justified in the ticket prices. :eek:

the real fear is the prices for the revamped Landsdowne! :rolleyes:

BTW when the lady said to write a note on the application about singing section did she say where in the ground you should say you wanted to be or is it just writing it down and hoping someone somewhere decides to put in singing section:rolleyes:

29/11/2006, 1:48 PM
They cannot officially say we can stand as it is against the regulations as far as I know but a blind eye could certainly be turned towards people standing in the singing section.

I am very annoyed that they do not have an option on the form for a singing section.

Ah Neil come on! I understand that the regulations say x,y, and z, I suppose I meant is the concensus amongst those of us who want to be a part of the SS that we'll be standing. After all, the stewards aren't people friendly with the home crowd when it comes to this but no chance of them telling the Czech fans to sit down back in Lansdowne.

SuperDave
29/11/2006, 1:54 PM
50,000 seats at e30 is the e1.5m rent. that leave about 30,000 seats which, lets face it, is about the current capacity of lansdowne for football internationals.

or put another way, 40,000 seats at e40 a ticket covers the rent and leaves you with a greater capacity (around 40,000 left) than the old lansdowne.

these prices are a joke and indeed economies of scale do exist. i'm sure they won't need twice the number of stewards (and lets not forget the vast majority of those are unpaid. a free match programme? whoop-de-doo).

not to mention all those additional corporate boxes (i assume they come with the rent of the stadium? or do gaa ten year folks have the rights to these too? by that i mean folks who will sell them on cos they don't care for foreign games. a scam i tell thee.)

29/11/2006, 1:56 PM
far be it from me to stand up for the FAI but i have heard so many times that the GAA need to get a crowd of 35,000 to a game before covering expenses for holding the event. now the GAA don't have to pay €1.5m rent and it still costs this much for them so perhaps the FAI are justified in the ticket prices. :eek:

the real fear is the prices for the revamped Landsdowne! :rolleyes:

BTW when the lady said to write a note on the application about singing section did she say where in the ground you should say you wanted to be or is it just writing it down and hoping someone somewhere decides to put in singing section:rolleyes:

GHoop as far as I know that is to cover the cost of repaying the loan to build Croker. and the additional costs

29/11/2006, 1:59 PM
no auld lads should be allowed in the singing section as they will give out saying sit down and let me watch the match.

When the eL section was in the North Bucket there was always
a bearded chap from Bray complaining about people standing up.

(Always seemed to me that he was complaining anyways)

29/11/2006, 2:02 PM
[QUOTE=paul_oshea;583585]The poor call care/receptionists that work there....they must always get people giving them abuse, because of those that have the power to make decisions!!!

Just to point out I did not give abuse and I was quite decent on the phone to the girl and Just explained that it had been in the last 3 programmes and that ongoing discussions are happening with the supporters groups etc. They did not even seem to know that the idea was out there. Anyway I did not give out really just put my point across as I am a firm believer that verbally abusing strangers on a phone does not work.

They should have a singing section set up where we can stand up and sing. But I can understand the poltical and legal constraints in putting standing in the official description of this section. It would have to be an informal thing that the stewards turn a blind eye to it.

RogerMilla
29/11/2006, 2:16 PM
by the way lads i think you deffo have your guidelines for prices in landsdowne too , they are hardly going to lower them now are they??

galwayhoop
29/11/2006, 2:33 PM
GHoop as far as I know that is to cover the cost of repaying the loan to build Croker. and the additional costs

don't know bout that. you often hear the GAA wondering if x,y or z game should be played in CP or not .

their repayments are an annual figure like anyones mortgage etc but there is an additional running cost associated with the actual use of the venue for events which includes insurance (extra for each game on top of annual payment and quite high i'd assume), payment of gardai (and all of whom are surely on overtime!), stewards (inside and outside the venue), staff for the ground (turnstiles, food and beverage counters, cleaning staff) and i think that they have a fee to pay the corpo for road closing licenses, parking facilities ... etc

i pressume that they budget a certain amount of revenue from the total number of games played in any year toward servicing the debt but this obviously decreases the amount needed from each individual game the more times they play there.

29/11/2006, 2:55 PM
don't know bout that. you often hear the GAA wondering if x,y or z game should be played in CP or not .

their repayments are an annual figure like anyones mortgage etc but there is an additional running cost associated with the actual use of the venue for events which includes insurance (extra for each game on top of annual payment and quite high i'd assume), payment of gardai (and all of whom are surely on overtime!), stewards (inside and outside the venue), staff for the ground (turnstiles, food and beverage counters, cleaning staff) and i think that they have a fee to pay the corpo for road closing licenses, parking facilities ... etc

i pressume that they budget a certain amount of revenue from the total number of games played in any year toward servicing the debt but this obviously decreases the amount needed from each individual game the more times they play there.

3/4 of these apply already at landsdowne, they dont get much bigger just becaues the ground gets bigger!!!!

endabob1
29/11/2006, 3:06 PM
3/4 of these apply already at landsdowne, they dont get much bigger just becaues the ground gets bigger!!!!

Payment of Insurance will be directly linked to the number of people coming to the event -
Payment of Gardai costs will be based on the number of Garda required which
will be directly linked to the number of people coming to the event -
Payment of Stadium staff Stewards etc.... will be directly linked to the number of people coming to the event -

Sure there will be some fixed costs but given that an all seated lansdowne holds 36,000 and all seated Croker will be double that I think it's a reasonable assumption that there will be a sizeable increase in costs on top of the rent to the gaa

29/11/2006, 3:18 PM
ok i should have read that properly, bad day today....i knew insurance and gardai, i was more on about road closures/ground staff/parking facilities, all pretty much the same.

thing is it will be so much easier to get to croker and parking for those coming from outside dublin, paricurlaly, south west, west, north west/north and airport.

29/11/2006, 3:45 PM
The poor call care/receptionists that work there....they must always get people giving them abuse, because of those that have the power to make decisions!!!

I have to say that for the San Marino game I never spoke to a more ignorant
person in the ticket office in my life. I didn't get a chance to get her name as
Mary took over the call mid conversation.

Basically, I rang to ask about tickets being sent out and payment.
Started by explaining that I had my own block booking of 1 ticket which I had received with the Czech game, no problems, and so I was calling in relation to the eircom League Supporters allocation for ATFC which I administer.

She put me on hold and a few minutes later said I had already received the
tickets. I explained to her again, slowly, that I'd received my own 1 ticket
but was looking for the 10 for the ATFC supporters allocation. Asked her if she understood, she said yes, put me on hold again and a few minutes later said I had already received the tickets months ago and that it was in the system.

After a few more conversations like this I asked was the payment in the
system as I had no tickets and no money was taken from my account to which she said "yes its in the system".

Again I asked her again and quite rudely and abruptly she declared that I already had the tickets.

I then asked her what was I going to do with 10 people looking for tickets
that I haven't got, to which she replied "10, your only in the system for 1"
So I began to explain again about the allocation which she replied
"Well, why didn't you say that"
I replied "excuse me but I explained that a number of times" ... which she replied "No, you didn't" ... to which I replied "I most certainly did and on all occasions I asked if you understood, which you said you did" ... this went
on, back an forth for a few minutes until mid "arguement", the line cut to
Marys extension and the matter was resolved in under a minute as the tickets were on her desk.

Hopefully Emma will be back working there soon!

29/11/2006, 4:11 PM
women doing a mans job - sorting out tickets thats the problem :p :D

29/11/2006, 4:38 PM
Utter utter incompetent shower of idiots! And worse than that, I actually gave them a press release to issue to the papers to highlight the scheme for when the forms were being sent out! F***ing morons. I'll get on to them myself - I'd like a laugh listening to their excuse.

aidz1
30/11/2006, 8:07 AM

Payment of Insurance will be directly linked to the number of people coming to the event -
Payment of Gardai costs will be based on the number of Garda required which
will be directly linked to the number of people coming to the event -
Payment of Stadium staff Stewards etc.... will be directly linked to the number of people coming to the event -

Sure there will be some fixed costs but given that an all seated lansdowne holds 36,000 and all seated Croker will be double that I think it's a reasonable assumption that there will be a sizeable increase in costs on top of the rent to the gaa

but landsdowne was liable for rent too, albeit a smaller amount.
i reckon that the projected net intake for the fai per seat surely must be vastly greater than that achieved at landsdowne....

30/11/2006, 8:19 AM
but landsdowne was liable for rent too, albeit a smaller amount.
i reckon that the projected net intake for the fai per seat surely must be vastly greater than that achieved at landsdowne....

Of course it is but as mentioned earlier we won't be allowed play friendlies there so overall we won't be much better off.

30/11/2006, 8:51 AM
Of course it is but as mentioned earlier we won't be allowed play friendlies there so overall we won't be much better off.

ha? what has that got to with intake PER seat?