View Full Version : Best Gaelic Football Match of the Year
well the title says it all.What do ye think?
Personally i have 2.
1.The All Ireland Schools final between Newry and Navan - went into extra time-savage game.all that is good in football was to be seen in this match.
2.Dublin and Mayo.The obvious choice.what takes the shine off it is that Mayo got hammered in the final but still a brilliant game of football.
28/11/2006, 7:21 AM
I can't comment on your first choice but going on past recent schools finals they are always excellent fare. On your second choice, I think there were better matches this year, biased as I may be the Kerry Armagh game was of a higher quality.
The fact that Tom Humphries is a Dublin GAA fan and everything he says is gospel disguises the fact that for excitement the Mayo Dublin game was right up there but skill wise it was a poor game.Still everyone has there own opinion.
28/11/2006, 10:06 AM
Kerry V Roscommon minor final first match in croker, all that is good about football was to be seen in this game, excitement, speed, determination, skill and above all PASSION, something their professional counterparts in association football dont seem to have anymore, all this from lads 18 and under.....
ollie
28/11/2006, 10:28 AM
Kerry V Roscommon minor final first match in croker, all that is good about football was to be seen in this game, excitement, speed, determination, skill and above all PASSION, something their professional counterparts in association football dont seem to have anymore, all this from lads 18 and under.....
yea forgot about that game actually.excellent.The great thing about underage games is that there is little or no negative tactics and you get free flowing games as a result.
28/11/2006, 10:59 AM
ya and that match kerry had some great players, that centre midfield player was nearly 6ft 5'' , that is some height, and he caught some great ball and got some height off the ground, he was eventually thwarted by balls out to the wing and that, but all around great performance from both teams, very free flowing as you say!!
A post in a thread about the best GAA game of the year by a GAA supporter, who feels the need to reference real football, as played by the rest of the world, to feel some sense of vindication or justification. Says it all really about the GAA and the breed that are connected with it.
28/11/2006, 11:59 AM
no im just saying in an amateur sport you see real passion, real commitment, real sense of worth, unlike in professional sports of similar kind, that are also quite popular in this country. no need just saying its one of the better aspects of Gaelic football.
28/11/2006, 1:52 PM
Limerick v Cork in the Munster Championship :p
Not Brazil
28/11/2006, 2:11 PM
The PSNI's victory over the Gardai. :)
no im just saying in an amateur sport you see real passion, real commitment, real sense of worth, unlike in professional sports of similar kind, that are also quite popular in this country. no need just saying its one of the better aspects of Gaelic football.
Type "Stew Byrne" into youtube......
no im just saying in an amateur sport you see real passion, real commitment, real sense of worth, unlike in professional sports of similar kind, that are also quite popular in this country.
Can you give me an example of any sportsman that does not exude passion while playing in Ireland?
28/11/2006, 2:48 PM
dodge im keeping this one on topic. i wont answer it, if you want another thread create it. this is solely related to best gaelic football match of the year.
Then delete your rubbish from earlier
Real ale Madrid
28/11/2006, 4:34 PM
I have played both Gaelic Football and soccer – I have coached young lads and lassies in both codes – been involved in administration in both codes. I follow the cork hurlers and footballers and Cork city the length and breath of the country (not looking for a medal btw just a bit of background) therefore I can safely say that, that post is the biggest load of horse manure of a post I have ever read ( although I must admit to never opening the “Bogball” thread)
In answer to the original question – I myself was at the Kerry v Armagh game which had its fair share of bad defending etc. but imo the Dublin / Mayo game was unquestionably the game of the year – (and I include the mid-cork u-12 “D” football final in this – another cracker) For pure excitement it would win alone but the score-taking in this game was great – loads from play – which unfortunately we don’t see as much of anymore. Kerry/Armagh only really opened up in the second half. Dublin/Mayo was a classic right from the pre-game shenanigans in front of the hill – excitement right throughout the game – to the sight of a few thousand shell-shocked Dubs afterwards! Game of the year possibly the game of the decade so far.
Thunderblaster
28/11/2006, 5:03 PM
The best bogball match of the year has to be in Kerry over the weekend when some supporters couldn't take their beating and kung fu kicked the referee!!:p :D
The best bogball match of the year has to be in Kerry over the weekend when some supporters couldn't take their beating and kung fu kicked the referee!!
well you know what paidi o se said not so long ago;)
soccerc
28/11/2006, 10:11 PM
no im just saying in an amateur sport you see real passion, real commitment, real sense of worth
That's the biggest load of b*llox FACT
Define Amateur - Define Passion - Define Commitment
Some of the biggest earners in Irish sporting circles happen to play the GAA code of football
29/11/2006, 8:51 AM
Some of the biggest earners in Irish sporting circles happen to play the GAA code of football
like who?
Real_Ale: did you see the ros v kerry minors first match? if yes it might give you more of an insight into where I am coming from.....
like who?
Mick O'Dwyer is BY FAR the highest paid person in Irish sport
29/11/2006, 10:05 AM
how long has it been since mick o'dwyer "played" football.....
btw its obvious he receives "expenses" but how do you know he is the highest earner in irish sport?
29/11/2006, 11:14 AM
Game of the year possibly the game of the decade so far.
You have got to be joking me! There is no point in contesting these opinions anymore.
29/11/2006, 11:20 AM
Real_Ale: did you see the ros v kerry minors first match? if yes it might give you more of an insight into where I am coming from...
Ha insight? you are optimistic Paul.
I wonder why some voyeuristic begrudgers seem to always find the time to log onto a GAA thread and express some grudge or another selected from the big sack they have hanging around their neck. I suspect that it's similar to those so called gay bashers who detest their own well suppressed nature.
I missed that minor match
Stuck in my memory from years ago is a performance by John O'Keefe in an all-Ireland minor final with Kerry.
This year for me it was Kerry and Armagh, a real duel.
Real ale Madrid
29/11/2006, 11:36 AM
You have got to be joking me! There is no point in contesting these opinions anymore.
course you can - it is after all an opinion. The general consensus is that the mayo-dublin game was the best game of the year - no one can say for certain that it was - its just opinion. My personal opinion was that it was and therefore it was one of the best games i've seen for the last 5/6 years.
Real ale Madrid
29/11/2006, 11:47 AM
Ha insight? you are optimistic Paul.
I wonder why some voyeuristic begrudgers seem to always find the time to log onto a GAA thread and express some grudge or another selected from the big sack they have hanging around their neck. I suspect that it's similar to those so called gay bashers who detest their own well suppressed nature.
I missed that minor match
Stuck in my memory from years ago is a performance by John O'Keefe in an all-Ireland minor final with Kerry.
This year for me it was Kerry and Armagh, a real duel.
Very clever geysir - this big sack full of grudges you are talking about was actually opened by Paul who for some unknown reason thought it was a good idea to take a swipe at "other professional sports" while having a discussion about the best Gaelic football game of the year - far be it from me - or anyone else to defend the sport this very MB is built around.
Real_Ale: did you see the ros v kerry minors first match? if yes it might give you more of an insight into where I am coming from.....
saw the game, and the replay - both very exciting. Still don't know where your "insight" into taking a swipe at other sports is coming from...sorry.
29/11/2006, 12:25 PM
was actually opened by Paul who for some unknown reason
point taken, i shouldnt have digressed, but as I did say the whole reason we love sport(s) of all kind, is for the commitment, passoin and skill. I was simply trying to draw parallells on how some people are becoming dis-illusioned with the professional game. I wasn't taking a swipe. i draw parallels to football to the same extent on gaa boards too! anyhow you are right nuff said, i shouldn't have drawn any parrallels.
Mayo game was very exciting to be honest, and in the game of gaelic sport ( where dare i say it ) the skill level mightn't be as high as that in Hurling ( ;) ), that is what we look for more so in football, the skill on show mightn't have been as high as other games this season, but speed, strength, passion and flair certainly were.
I wouldn't say the second game was exciting, i saw it afterwards ( as i slept through the alarm in chicago for hte replay ) and the game was sh1te tbh, sloppy, messy, slow, no skill on show really bar a handful or players, lacking everything the first one had!!!
Real ale Madrid
29/11/2006, 12:39 PM
I wouldn't say the second game was exciting, i saw it afterwards ( as i slept through the alarm in chicago for hte replay ) and the game was sh1te tbh, sloppy, messy, slow, no skill on show really bar a handful or players, lacking everything the first one had!!!
Well i was on holidays at the time - watched it in an Irish bar in Protugal - packed full of Rossies so i was hoping they would win it. Meant a lot to them. Made it a bit more exciting watching it probably.
Fair play for your other comments also.
29/11/2006, 1:07 PM
point taken, i shouldnt have digressed, but as I did say the whole reason we love sport(s) of all kind, is for the commitment, passoin and skill. I was simply trying to draw parallells on how some people are becoming dis-illusioned with the professional game. I wasn't taking a swipe. i draw parallels to football to the same extent on gaa boards too! anyhow you are right nuff said, i shouldn't have drawn any parrallels.
Mayo game was very exciting to be honest, and in the game of gaelic sport ( where dare i say it ) the skill level mightn't be as high as that in Hurling ( ;) ), that is what we look for more so in football, the skill on show mightn't have been as high as other games this season, but speed, strength, passion and flair certainly were.
I'd be like you PoS, I follow both codes and I couldn't possibly choose one over the other, all I can say is that I've never come away from a Kerry game disappointed because I felt the team weren't proud of wearing the jersey. But I'm not going to bash the soccer heads just because the GAA heads are amateurs. Remember Ciaran Whelan has a brilliant job at Allianz, where his interview consisted of two mins of job speak and 1 hr 28 mins about GAA. What the top GAA players miss out on professional pay, a lot make up for in cushy jobs, or if self employed, more business as a result of the exposure of the hobby.
As for the bit of your post that is highlighted, that for me sums up all that is wrong with the GAA. All the emphasis is on endurance, power, speed, instead of trying to combine the physical side with the basic skills. I lived opposite O'Toole Park in Dublin and would always see the Dublin Hurlers train during the winter. They would train for 3 hours and for two of those hours they wouldn't see a sliotar. Thenb the powers that be would bemoan the fact that they're one of the second tier and can't challenge the big guns.
I know the Ulster teams are castigated for their strength and their use of the tackle, but there's no stronger team than Kerry. This has been openly admitted by the likes of McGeeney and Mulligan. The difference is that Kerry don't spend more than 15 mins without a ball during the training sessions.
One of the reasons this years Minor final was so enjoyable was the execution of the basic skills of the game, pure.
Declan O'Sullivan is giving up the GAA for a year to go to OZ because he hasn't had a break since he finished his leaving 4 years ago. Thats fcuking crazy man.
29/11/2006, 1:43 PM
horses for courses in relation to games and all that kingdom, i agree in what you are saying, there was no little skill in the game i mentioned though.
30/11/2006, 10:20 AM
Very clever geysir - this big sack full of grudges you are talking about was actually opened by Paul who for some unknown reason thought it was a good idea to take a swipe at "other professional sports" while having a discussion about the best Gaelic football game of the year - far be it from me - or anyone else to defend the sport this very MB is built around.
Sorry about that misunderstanding, I don't have any problem with your opinions nor was I referring to you. It's a Gaelic football thread, Paul's opinion could not be classified as begrudgery. I don't agree with it in general but I can see the point he was making.
Just, in general if there is a thread (rare) opened on Gaelic football I get tired of narrow minded sport bigots who seem to pop up with the usual repetitive grudges. I couldn't be arséd going to some thread of a sport I had no positive interest in.
30/11/2006, 11:29 AM
Sorry about that misunderstanding, I don't have any problem with your opinions nor was I referring to you. It's a Gaelic football thread, Paul's opinion could not be classified as begrudgery. I don't agree with it in general but I can see the point he was making.
Just, in general if there is a thread (rare) opened on Gaelic football I get tired of narrow minded sport bigots who seem to pop up with the usual repetitive grudges. I couldn't be arséd going to some thread of a sport I had no positive interest in.
Here here! I'm sick of that happening. And thats not having a go at mods, cause I know they've enoughto worry about. And the arguement that this is a football website doesn't stand up, cause if thats the case, then get rid of the sub forums altogether,
lads look up a dictionary for the meaning of slander please b4 u make tits of yourselves
Real ale Madrid
30/11/2006, 12:26 PM
And the arguement that this is a football website doesn't stand up, cause if thats the case, then get rid of the sub forums altogether,
Not the point i was making at all. If you take a swipe at "other professional sports" then you should expect a backlash - referring to soccer in a GAA thread in that way is close to Trolling IMO - but Paul has realised his error and in fairness I among others were probably a bit quick to jump down his throat. case closed.
Couldnt agree more. I have an interest in most sports. Its for this reason i completly ignored the "Bogball" thread.
30/11/2006, 12:59 PM
Not the point i was making at all. If you take a swipe at "other professional sports" then you should expect a backlash - referring to soccer in a GAA thread in that way is close to Trolling IMO - but Paul has realised his error and in fairness I among others were probably a bit quick to jump down his throat. case closed.
Wasn't referring to yourself man, but I believe the point I'm making to be correct. In the Other Sports forum and GAA is an Other Sport, some of us have started threads on football because there is a large numer of posters who have a genuine interest in the game, and I reckon you'd do well to find a GAA thread that hasn't had a non-believer come on just to flare things up, which is out of order.
30/11/2006, 1:17 PM
Here here! I'm sick of that happening. And thats not having a go at mods, cause I know they've enoughto worry about. And the arguement that this is a football website doesn't stand up, cause if thats the case, then get rid of the sub forums altogether,
I agree too, but when a mod is moderating it and he still puts his twopence in we are fighting a corrupt board :D
I reckon you'd do well to find a GAA thread that hasn't had a non-believer come on just to flare things up, which is out of order.
here here, but again if the mod is adding to it, how can it be controlled? The age old adage that tim berners-lee always sprouted "use the internet as a source of information for yourself", taking that into this context only use the threads you have an interest in to reply, rather than Trolling just to rise or annoy people, even though you don't succeed might I add.
finally:
lads look up a dictionary for the meaning of slander please b4 u make tits of yourselves
what has this got to do with the price of milk?
Real ale Madrid
30/11/2006, 1:50 PM
here here, but again if the mod is adding to it, how can it be controlled? The age old adage that tim berners-lee always sprouted "use the internet as a source of information for yourself", taking that into this context only use the threads you have an interest in to reply, rather than Trolling just to rise or annoy people, even though you don't succeed might I add.
In future - PRACTICE WHAT YOU PREACH :D :D
I agree too, but when a mod is moderating it and he still puts his twopence in we are fighting a corrupt board :D
Well the mod of this board (nominally me, as there isn't one) hasn't posted in it in ages so not sure what you're getting at but... You retracted (ish) what you said so I left it alone. The only reason I posted on this thread was your claim that no sportsman can compare with gaelic players for passion (paraphrasing). Its not trolling if I disagree with this (strongly). If you didn't post this rubbish, I wouldn't have had to post. So rather than blame others for coming into your threads and challenging your views, maybe you should just stop posting rubbish about football in Ireland.
One last thing, mods have opinions, if I wasn't allowed express them I wouldn't be here
what has this got to do with the price of milk?
the bit it referred to as been deleted in the meantime
two ppl discussing slander who were trying to be too clever by half and actually highlighting their misunderstanding of the term
30/11/2006, 3:00 PM
Ok dodge, ill let you away with this one, as your sentence has both correct syntax and symantecs and it is also well structured grammatically.
So, have we agreed then that I am always right and the ros minors v kerry minors was the best game of the year?!?!? :D
30/11/2006, 10:11 PM
The only reason I posted on this thread was your claim that no sportsman can compare with gaelic players for passion (paraphrasing). Its not trolling if I disagree with this (strongly). If you didn't post this rubbish, I wouldn't have had to post. So rather than blame others for coming into your threads and challenging your views, maybe you should just stop posting rubbish about football in Ireland.
One last thing, mods have opinions, if I wasn't allowed express them I wouldn't be here
You don't to need much reason to 'have to' post in a GAA thread. Why would you give a shíte what opinions go on in this thread. Its sealed off and can't contaminate the rest of pure sporting footies. Any other poster can pick Paul up on his statement.
Mick O'Dwyer is BY FAR the highest paid person in Irish sport Have you any evidence to support this statement?
30/11/2006, 10:20 PM
You don't to need much reason to 'have to' post in a GAA thread. Why would you give a shíte what opinions go on in this thread. Its sealed off and can't contaminate the rest of pure sporting footies. Any other poster can pick Paul up on his statement.
You're right I didn't have to but I wanted to pick him up on it. Why shouldn't I?
Have you any evidence to support this statement?
None whatsoever. He was the only man in Ireland to arrive at traniing by helicopter though when in charge of Laois (I worked with a guy on their panel at the time and they all knew he was handsomely compensated. Thinking about it I'd guess Brian O'Driscoll is paid more
30/11/2006, 11:59 PM
None whatsoever. He was the only man in Ireland to arrive at traniing by helicopter though when in charge of Laois (I worked with a guy on their panel at the time and they all knew he was handsomely compensated. Thinking about it I'd guess Brian O'Driscoll is paid more
"Mick O'Dwyer is BY FAR the highest paid person in Irish sport"
I'd consider that statement to be utter rubbish. You seem to have the ability to swallow an assortment of chit chat and somehow it transforms itself with a few degrees of gullibility into a statement of fact when you put it into writing in this thread.
You can always qualify a written opinion you have by quoting the source.
I heard it said from a bloke I know who heard it from ??? that MOD is $$$.
Mick was interviewed on Radio when he took the Wicklow job. He was asked the question outright, does he receive renumeration/salary/ extras. He emphatically denied that he ever received a penny and went on and on about his dedication to the sport he loves.
Even if he did receive money, there is no way that the GAA budget of a county like Laos could come close to making MOD "BY FAR the highest paid person in Irish sport" as well as paying for his helicopter taxi fare.
It might be fair enough to say that Mick O'Dwyer is by far the most valuable sportsman in Ireland.
Without being personal, you;re being very very naive if you belive that Mick O'Dwyer is not being paid. Very very very naive.
Also my posts have nothing to do with being a mod. Personal opinions, and all that ********...
01/12/2006, 6:51 AM
"Mick O'Dwyer is BY FAR the highest paid person in Irish sport"
I'd consider that statement to be utter rubbish. You seem to have the ability to swallow an assortment of chit chat and somehow it transforms itself with a few degrees of gullibility into a statement of fact when you put it into writing in this thread.
You can always qualify a written opinion you have by quoting the source.
I heard it said from a bloke I know who heard it from ??? that MOD is $$$.
Mick was interviewed on Radio when he took the Wicklow job. He was asked the question outright, does he receive renumeration/salary/ extras. He emphatically denied that he ever received a penny and went on and on about his dedication to the sport he loves.
Even if he did receive money, there is no way that the GAA budget of a county like Laos could come close to making MOD "BY FAR the highest paid person in Irish sport" as well as paying for his helicopter taxi fare.
It might be fair enough to say that Mick O'Dwyer is by far the most valuable sportsman in Ireland.
Not that it matters much but he does receive a lot, but its based on the amount of miles he has to travel, the mileage is better than the players. A point of note though. A lot of county boards don't pay managers, the sponsors do. Do you know who sponsors the Laois county board? The Heritage. Whats that sound in the distance? Ca-ching!:D
Whatever about Micko, his record is incredible, he's been a success with every team he's been with, but when you hear of rumours about a former Dub player who missed a peno in an All Ireland getting close to a 6 figure sum to manage a team in purple and gold is when chairmen need to be sent to the funny farm.
01/12/2006, 8:50 AM
Without being personal, you;re being very very naive if you belive that Mick O'Dwyer is not being paid. Very very very naive.
Also my posts have nothing to do with being a mod. Personal opinions, and all that ********...
spot on, i thought everyone knew that Mick got paid for doing his "thing"
he must be a millionaire by now, remember he is from Kerry:)
01/12/2006, 11:24 AM
Just emphasising that it's rubbish to state that he is by far the highest paid sportsman in Ireland
and I never expressed any belief that Micko is not being paid.
Micko has been calling for professionalism to be introduced at coaching on all levels and managerial positions for years.
It's common enough knowledge that managers get paid. It's common enough that many reports are greatly exagerrated. Read Justin McCarthy's book "Hooked"
"I lost money coaching Clare. When I’d clock out early from work to go up to Moloney’s, I’d have £15 on me from the Clare County Board for the hire of the car. Often though, all the £15 cars would be taken and I’d have to use a £20 car"
01/12/2006, 11:26 AM
even so, you only backed up your "assumption" based on him getting a ride in a helicopter, he doesnt pay for it, completely tax deductable..........as a mod dodge you should know, to make a statment you have to back it up with facts, you can't just throw out any old remark as you feel. shame on you!