View Full Version : Best Song of 2006?

27/11/2006, 11:15 AM
Well if you clould vote for your favourite song what would it be?I know there'll be 1 or 2 more closer to xmas but they're usually dribble from that horrendous show X factor.

Song of the year for me would definitely be......
-Chasing Cars.

You're all i Have was a gem too aswell from Snow Patrol.

27/11/2006, 12:04 PM
Would this be singles? Chasing Cars would be definitely up there for me. Personal choice, Knights of Cydonia by Muse. Empire, Kasabian would be there too.

27/11/2006, 12:06 PM
Chasing Cars too....have it as ringtone/text tone for the man in my life and had to ring him last nite after hearing them play it live on BBC2.

Other honourable mentions go to Bell X1 Flame or John Mayer Waiting on the World to change.

27/11/2006, 12:19 PM
View From the Afternoon ,
When You Were Young
Heart in a Cage,
Heartbeats

27/11/2006, 12:37 PM
A few honourable mentions:
Razorlight-America
Primal Scream-Country Girl
Welcome to the Black Parade-My Chemical Romance
Muse-Starlight
Chelsea Dagger-the Fratellis
When You Were Young-The Killers
Atlantic-Keane

Neish
27/11/2006, 4:03 PM
My top 5
Gold lion-Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Country Girl-Primal Scream
View From the Afternoon - Arctic monkeys
Shoot the runner-Kasabian
Starlight-Muse

27/11/2006, 4:07 PM
When We Were Young
America
Chasing Cars

Pat O' Banton
27/11/2006, 4:52 PM
'Chasing Cars' - as Father Dick Byrne would say 'its the same note over and over again.' Its ben a fairly desperate year for music, The Feeling, Razorlight, Snow patrol all coming to the getting regular air play with music thats so dull it could make your brain melt through your ears.

'Bang, Bang Your Dead' by the Dirty, Pretty Things
'Young Folks', Peter, Bjorn and John
'Shoot the Runner', Kasabian
'Ali in the Jungle', The Hours...

are the only things that stand out in my mind at the moment.

27/11/2006, 5:10 PM
Knights of Cydonia by Muse...

I usually couldn't care less about videos but saw that yesterday & excellent. Homage/pi**take of Spaghetti Westerns.

YygyHCRrKho

27/11/2006, 5:29 PM
My 5
Vato-Snoop Dogg
Gangbangn 101-Snoop Dogg
Love-Prince
Run 4 Cover-Basement Jaxx
Morris Brown-OutKast

27/11/2006, 6:20 PM
Gold Lion - Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Leave Before the Lights Come On and When the Sun Goes Down - Arctic Monkeys
Shoot the Runner and Empire - Kasabian
She Moves in Her Own Way - The Kooks
Any Song From The New Razorlight Album
Welcome to the Black Parade - My Chemical Romance
You Are My Dick Brush 2nd Edit - BitoRedXp :D
Plus Many Many More...

Please Note...
No Red Hot Chili Peppers So Far!:D

27/11/2006, 6:33 PM
When We Were Young
America
Chasing Cars

DmanDmythDledge i'v noticed over a few music threads you pretty much like the exact same music as me!Great minds think alike eh.;)

ollie
27/11/2006, 7:24 PM
director- reconnect
killers-when we were young
The Feeling-fill my little world
Bob Sinclair - world hold on
Jack L's cover of gnarles barkley's "crazy"
Snow Patrol - Hands Open
Keane- crystal ball

HATE LIST:
sandi thom - i wish i was punk rocker
JT- Sexy back

27/11/2006, 7:50 PM
Jesus lads ye go on about X Factor drivel and then nominate manufactored indie like the Kooks, Razorlight, the Killers etc. as the bands of the year basically, shows where music is at these days I suppose, anyway my picks are

Joanna Newsom: Emily
Jarvis Cocker: Don't Let Him Waste Your Time
Sebastian Tellier: La Ritournelle
The Go Team: Ladyflash (was this released this year or last year?)

Kildare Lad
27/11/2006, 7:58 PM
My Favourite has to be: Smiley Faces - Gnarles Barkley

27/11/2006, 8:03 PM
HATE LIST:
sandi thom - i wish i was punk rocker
JT- Sexy back

I have to agree. Other songs to make the hate list 2006. Chamillionaire "Ridin", Black Eyed Peas "My Humps". good god that song is so bad its good.

ollie
27/11/2006, 8:42 PM
Black Eyed Peas "My Humps". good god that song is so bad its good.

the last few songs they have released have been god damn awful

27/11/2006, 9:17 PM
Black Eyed Peas "My Humps". good god that song is so bad its good.
Out one night in the pub, and that came on, one of the lads commented "If she's got lumps, she probably should get them checked out!". Funny at the time
My nomination goes to Dani California - Red Hot Chili Peppers

27/11/2006, 9:24 PM
DmanDmythDledge i'v noticed over a few music threads you pretty much like the exact same music as me!Great minds think alike eh.;)
Ah now I can only speak for myself on that one.:D

27/11/2006, 9:36 PM
Out one night in the pub, and that came on, one of the lads commented "If she's got lumps, she probably should get them checked out!". Funny at the time
My nomination goes to Dani California - Red Hot Chili Peppers

ah feck. there's one!:mad:

27/11/2006, 9:59 PM
Razorlight - America,
The Killers - When we were young,
Snow Patrol - Chasing Cars,
Muse - Knights of Cydonia.

27/11/2006, 10:48 PM
There's always one.....

As for Razorlight, they wreck my head, they are the new Darkness. That America tripe makes me wanna rip someones head off.

Forgot bout The Feeling Fill my world up. Love that song.

27/11/2006, 11:03 PM
As i said already Chasing Cars is easily number 1.
After that it's
2.You're all that i have
3.Hands open
4.Love don't let me go
5.When you were young
6.Sexy Back!:p

28/11/2006, 8:02 AM
the last few songs they have released have been god damn awful

not to mention Fergie the lead singer singing about London Bridge. In front of Tower Bridge in the video. And dont even get me started on the name of her new single “Fergalicous”. huh!?! :o :eek:

28/11/2006, 8:06 AM
The only bad thing about Urbz is that u have to listen to sim verisions of Black Eyed Peas songs....the good thing is u get to make Fergie cry!

28/11/2006, 8:46 AM
another song on the hate list 2006:
Shakira - Hips Dont Lie.
Dunno know why but her voice just melts my brain. awful.

28/11/2006, 8:51 AM
As i said already Chasing Cars is easily number 1.

You obviously haven't heard:
1. The Coup - We are the ones
2. TV on the Radio - Wolf like me
3. Seu Jorge - Carolina
4. The good the bad and the queen - Herculean

28/11/2006, 9:04 AM
the upper room- black and white
muse-starlight
U2-window in the skies
cheated hearts-yeah yeah yeahs
the fallen-franz ferdinand

First
28/11/2006, 9:15 AM
For raw energy.
The saints are coming- U2 and Greenday.

Also a special mention for:
Red Hot Chili Peppers - Snow (hey Oh).

First
28/11/2006, 9:19 AM
another song on the hate list 2006:
Shakira - Hips Dont Lie.
Dunno know why but her voice just melts my brain. awful.

Couldn't agree more , I actually turn of the radio / TV when i hear this song.
Its like nails on a blackboard.

28/11/2006, 9:37 AM
no it sounds like a male goat being castrated. Horrible horrible noise.

28/11/2006, 9:42 AM
no it sounds like a male goat being castrated. Horrible horrible noise.

yeah she does sound like she's bleating alright! :D just a horrible sound.

28/11/2006, 9:48 AM
Jesus lads ye go on about X Factor drivel and then nominate manufactored indie like the Kooks, Razorlight, the Killers etc. as the bands of the year basically, shows where music is at these days I suppose, anyway my picks are

Joanna Newsom: Emily
Jarvis Cocker: Don't Let Him Waste Your Time
Sebastian Tellier: La Ritournelle
The Go Team: Ladyflash (was this released this year or last year?)

I'm inclined to agree with Jebus.

There are some HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE songs being listed here.

Is it razorlight that sing that f***ing 'America' song? It sounds like Cry Before Dawn ffs. seriously Cry Before Dawn! ...them who sing about ...wexford hurling teams. Jesus wept!

2006 has not been a great year for new music at all.
The center ground has narrowed ever more and the supposed 'alternative' is muck like 'America', 'Chasing Cars', anything by Snow Patrol actually ...and Muse, ...that My Chemical Romance record is gravely disappointing after two decent singles on the last album.

28/11/2006, 12:09 PM
Fairplay jebus and Lionel

Some awful, awful pap being listed on here

Razorlight - terrible, terrible rubbish altogether
Snow Patrol - Nampy, pamby souless nonsense. They are actually blander than u2
Muse - More bland coffee table "rock"
The Killers - Don't get me started! Wetter than Angelas Ashes

It would appear Limerick folk are the only ones with taste :p :cool:

And before jebus comes on laying into me, yes I'll freely admit I'm trapped in a timewarp and have trouble acknowledging any good new music :p This doesn't in any way take from the rubbishness of the above listed bands btw

28/11/2006, 12:11 PM
And me! I hate all that tat.

28/11/2006, 12:16 PM
And me! I hate all that tat.

Yes having grown up on a partial diet of gangster rap I'm willing to acknowledge all your protest music as acceptable :p

28/11/2006, 12:20 PM
I guess what we're all trying to say is.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S6P-2GY-SgA

28/11/2006, 12:23 PM
Other honourable mentions go to Bell X1 Flame

Good God, just noticed that now :eek:

Bell X1 - Really?? I had always assumed they were some sort of student prank :confused:

28/11/2006, 12:31 PM
this is getting like the "dont read the tabloids thread". the thread is about opinions, but some of you guys dont have to force them upon us. if we were all into the same stuff, itd be an awful boring thread....

28/11/2006, 12:49 PM
Exactly.It's the " best song of 2006" thread.not the "i hate all your songs" thread.

28/11/2006, 12:54 PM
Exactly.It's the " best song of 2006" thread.not the "i hate all your songs" thread.

It's the only way you'll learn ;) :p

28/11/2006, 1:10 PM
Yes having grown up on a partial diet of gangster rap I'm willing to acknowledge all your protest music as acceptable :p

Nah, very little protest music in my collection. Probably more Gangster Rap come to think of it, not that that predominates either.

28/11/2006, 1:15 PM
Nah, very little protest music in my collection. Probably more Gangster Rap come to think of it, not that that predominates either.

I was being presumptous (Don't know what could have given me that idea though) :)

Now how shall we square the rampant money at all costs capitalism of NWA's lyrics with your political beliefs :confused: :p

28/11/2006, 1:25 PM
Its ok but Parental discrtion iz advised! :D

28/11/2006, 1:39 PM
Its ok but Parental discrtion iz advised! :D

BohsPartisan, Keepin it real :D

Oh how I miss early 90's gangsta, violence and scatter-brained social commentary in one neat little package :)

stann
28/11/2006, 2:03 PM
Best songs of 2006, off the top of me head, are:

The Flaming Lips - It Overtakes Me
Muse - Starlight
The Motorettes - I Am Blisters I Am
Herculean - The Good The Bad And The Queen
Peter, Bjorn & John - Young Folks
Faithless - Bombs

And as for that Thom woman; not the worst song of 2006, the worst song ever sung by anyone in the history of the world ever. By several orders of magnitude.

28/11/2006, 2:05 PM

Okay ...then my favourite songs of 2006 are ...

"Getting Gay With Kids" -South park Kids feat. Jennifer Anniston
"Hurray for Everything" - the Hurray for Everything Singers
"the perlico ad" - that *****in the perlico ad

No comebacks now ...don't you opress me.

28/11/2006, 2:23 PM
And as for that Thom woman; not the worst song of 2006, the worst song ever sung by anyone in the history of the world ever. By several orders of magnitude.

was it her that her single was hyped up through her "live concerts from her bedroom" or something like that through myspace? If so, what a load of bull....

28/11/2006, 2:27 PM
Okay ...then my favourite songs of 2006 are ...

"Getting Gay With Kids" -South park Kids feat. Jennifer Anniston
"Hurray for Everything" - the Hurray for Everything Singers
"the perlico ad" - that *****in the perlico ad

No comebacks now ...don't you opress me.

LMAO :D

stann
28/11/2006, 2:29 PM
was it her that her single was hyped up through her "live concerts from her bedroom" or something like that through myspace? If so, what a load of bull....

Yeah, that's her, the talentless bint! :D
I do agree with one thing though. I also wished she was a punk rocker and a hippy because then one side of her personality would have beaten the living sh!te out of the other side.