View Full Version : Barcelona

23/11/2006, 9:53 PM
Following on from the other thread on Copenhagen...

Theirs at least 15 of us heading to Barca in mid January, mainly for a **** up but can anyone recommend something worthwhile going to? Barcelona are playing away in their local derby the same weekend, hoping to get to that if it's possible to get tickets.

23/11/2006, 11:49 PM
A good way to have a look around Barcelona is to use the Barcelona Tour Bus. There are two routes, Red and Blue, (there is a third but I think the Green route only runs in the summer) and there are 30 odd stops where you can get on and off. Takes just over an hour to go around each without getitng off.

By doing the two routes you will see all the major places of interest. The Red Route takes in the Sagrada Familia cathedral and the Nou Camp. The Blue Route takes in the Olympic Stadium, the World Trade Centre, the Colombus monument, the port, the Olympic water front and the zoo.

You can pick the bus up at any of the stops, but if you start and finish at the Placa de Catalunya in the centre of town you can change from one route to the other. Can't remember the cost but I think a one day ticket, that you can use as many times as you like, cost about 15 to 20 euro and a two day ticket is only about 5 euro extra. I thought it was excellent value.

24/11/2006, 1:44 AM
A good way to have a look around Barcelona is to use the Barcelona Tour Bus. There are two routes, Red and Blue, (there is a third but I think the Green route only runs in the summer) and there are 30 odd stops where you can get on and off. Takes just over an hour to go around each without getitng off.

This individual hath speaketh the truth.

24/11/2006, 5:23 AM
Mightn't be a place for 15 lads to go see but the best place to see in Barcelona (bar the Nou Canp) is Parc Guell. Crazy park designed by gaudi. If its sunny just walk around it and marvel...

The posher/hipper clubs are north of Placa Catalunya while the more relaxed places are in Port Olimpico were most tourists end up in Baja Beach Club (Beside the casino). Eat seafood, walk down las Ramblas during the day (but not at night), keep your hands in your pockets and do the Nou camp tour...

24/11/2006, 8:12 AM
Get a T-10 Metro ticket if you are planning a lot of toing and froing.
I was there mid January this year and it was lovely and sunny, warm enough during the day to. Stay away from Las Ramblas, its cr@p, full of pickpockets and people trying to drag you into bad restaurants.
The aquarium is worth a visit. Just make sure there are no school tours going in at the same time as you. They have a great Shark tank with a glass tunnel so you can walk through it.

25/11/2006, 4:58 PM
Get a T-10 Metro ticket if you are planning a lot of toing and froing.
I was there mid January this year and it was lovely and sunny, warm enough during the day to. Stay away from Las Ramblas, its cr@p, full of pickpockets and people trying to drag you into bad restaurants.
The aquarium is worth a visit. Just make sure there are no school tours going in at the same time as you. They have a great Shark tank with a glass tunnel so you can walk through it.

aquarium is fantastic. well woorth a visit.

25/11/2006, 6:08 PM
Ya Aquarium is sureal....definitely worth visting.I'd also go have a look at the fountain display in the City.Whether you go to a match there or not you must visit the Nou camp.

26/11/2006, 9:11 PM
.I'd also go have a look at the fountain display in the City..

forgot about the fountain...its so cool!:cool:

but one thing go to the toilet before you go.
only one portakabin in the place and its usually packed

26/11/2006, 9:17 PM
;las ramblas is spectacular...watching the waiters zig in and out of traffic:D

Paddyfield
26/11/2006, 9:52 PM
If you are going with Ryanair, prepare for long bus journey from the Airport. If you are with Aer Lingus etc, then you will fly into a nearby Airport.

The Olympic Port is beautiful; it is at the bottom of the Ramblas (toursity street). Check put the Aquarium (2nd biggest in Europe after the one in Hull:eek: ). Check out the yachts and liners beside the Olympic Port. Ollie Byrne usually ties his yacht on the corner of the marina. :rolleyes:

The city is buzzing in the early hours so pace yourself. There is an Irish Pub called the Michael Collins which is great for a lash at the beer. Give the bartender a good tip at the start of the night and he/she will give you great service for the night.

The first time I went to Barcelona, we went to the Nou Camp on the day before a game for the tour. We got tickets handy enough. Malaga won 2 - 1 :eek:

Taxis are plentiful and cheap but ask for a ballpark price first. Show him your hotel room key so that the driver knows the exact hotel that you are going to.

Enjoy!

26/11/2006, 10:56 PM
There is an Irish Pub called the Michael Collins which is great for a lash at the beer.

Better off going to one of the Café Bars the locals frequent. Booze half the price.

27/11/2006, 12:32 AM
The Olympic Port is beautiful; it is at the bottom of the Ramblas (toursity street).
Port Olimpico is about 10 minutes from the bottom of las ramblas in a taxi. Its basically just bars and food outlets. Ther pier you're talking about is different

Paddyfield
27/11/2006, 4:05 PM
Port Olimpico is about 10 minutes from the bottom of las ramblas in a taxi. Its basically just bars and food outlets. Ther pier you're talking about is different

I stand corrected Dodge. I always thought "the pier" is the Olympic Port.

monkey magic
28/11/2006, 5:10 PM
super hoops is right the tour bus is yer best option - the official barcelona one is called the bus touristic, id stick to that one, there were other tours going about at the time we were there but this is deffo the best, costs something like 18 euros and you get concessions for almost all the stops on the tour.

28/11/2006, 10:21 PM
Theirs at least 15 of us heading to Barca in mid JanuaryTheirs at least 28 of us going now:eek:.

30/11/2006, 10:27 AM

By doing the two routes you will see all the major places of interest. The Red Route takes in the Sagrada Familia cathedral and the Nou Camp. The Blue Route takes in the Olympic Stadium, the World Trade Centre, the Colombus monument, the port, the Olympic water front and the zoo.

You can pick the bus up at any of the stops, but if you start and finish at the Placa de Catalunya in the centre of town you can change from one route to the other. Can't remember the cost but I think a one day ticket, that you can use as many times as you like, cost about 15 to 20 euro and a two day ticket is only about 5 euro extra. I thought it was excellent value.
Thing is, you can see all of this stuff on foot, baring the Camp Nou and la Sagrada, which are beside metro/tram lines, and the public transport is cheap as dirt and good. Walking around the city is very enjoyable too.

30/11/2006, 10:36 AM
Thing is, you can see all of this stuff on foot, baring the Camp Nou and la Sagrada, which are beside metro/tram lines, and the public transport is cheap as dirt and good. Walking around the city is very enjoyable too.

Tour buses are good if there's an English speaking guide (and not one off tape...) but generally I'd avoid. Barcelona is a pretty small city (with only Nou Camp, Parc Guell and Sagrada Familia) not within 10 minutes walk of Placa Catalunya. I'd get the metro ticket for these. Far more enjoyable to walk around a find out things for yourself.

30/11/2006, 11:29 AM
THE PLACE URE ON ABOUT ABove is the Rambla del Mar - which translates as teh ramblas bit that stickes out into the sea and is basically a pile of old sticks

poto olimpico is five mins to the right as you walk down it sea wise

30/11/2006, 11:43 AM
Tour buses are good if there's an English speaking guide (and not one off tape...) but generally I'd avoid. Barcelona is a pretty small city (with only Nou Camp, Parc Guell and Sagrada Familia) not within 10 minutes walk of Placa Catalunya. I'd get the metro ticket for these. Far more enjoyable to walk around a find out things for yourself.
I forgot about Parc Guell. That's the only one that's at all tough to get to, and even it is only about a mile from the nearest metro stop.

30/11/2006, 11:47 AM
its just all uphill seems longer

30/11/2006, 11:50 AM
4 of us got a taxi from Placa Catalunya. Cost us €5 between us. Weel worth it for that hill. walked down to the metro to get back

30/11/2006, 12:01 PM
its just all uphill seems longer
It's good for you. :p

01/12/2006, 1:35 PM
Try the side streets off Las Ramblas. Had one the the best meals of my life in a restaurant there. Wish I could remember the name, but it was fantastic. Half a chicken and spuds for €3, with amazing Créma Catalana.
It's to the right, about 2/3 of the way down Las Ramblas. It's a tiny place, brown on the outside, I think.

03/01/2007, 10:34 PM
I'm going next week, bought my tickets for the Barcelona game:). Any last minute tips/suggestions?

16/01/2007, 9:46 PM
Just back from Barca late last night. Great city. Went to Parc Guell, tour of Camp Nou-Ice skating there also, got to a game in the Olympic Stadium aswell[Espanyol Vs. Barcelona].

Words of advice, don't ever burp in a taxi over there. One of the lads did and lets just say, the driver didn't like it!:D

17/01/2007, 10:00 AM
Any accomodation advise? Might be over there for a week at start of March...?

17/01/2007, 10:03 AM
Decent value hotel chain here: http://www.hoteles-catalonia.com Some of them are a couple of metro stops outside the centre but hotels are fine and great value for money. last time I stayed in one of their hotels they overbooked and we got upgraded to 4 star hotel, closer to centre for the same price.

17/01/2007, 11:49 AM
Any accomodation advise? Might be over there for a week at start of March...?

hostal centro

cheap as chips

17/01/2007, 5:24 PM
Any accomodation advise? Might be over there for a week at start of March...?Their was 9 of us staying in an apartment with 8 beds. Was only a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas(main street). Are you going on yer own or a few? If theirs a few, might be an idea to rent an apartment for the week. Think it's better craic than a hotel, more freedom too.

One thing to note, be weary about walking through Las Ramblas(and side streets off it), on yer own, when it gets dark, can be dodgy enough.

26/01/2007, 10:04 PM
Anyone flown with Iberia? Heard dodgy stories about them... Ryanair seems to be long trek from City & Girona arrival times late in the evening.

27/01/2007, 12:47 PM
Girona's about 90 minutes away by bus. Far better IMO to fly directly into Barcelona. Haven't flown with Iberia

27/01/2007, 10:25 PM
Anyone flown with Iberia? Heard dodgy stories about them... Ryanair seems to be long trek from City & Girona arrival times late in the evening.Bus from Girona airport isn't that bad. Takes about 60 mins and costs 20 euro return. Buses to Barca leave every 15/20 mins or so.

teckno
30/01/2007, 1:00 PM
Just back from weekend in Barcelona. We flew from Dublin with Ryanair to Reus airport. Flight cost around €60 return was excellent value. Bus then was €18 return to Barcelona and journey was around 1 hour 15 mins so was worth it compared to Aer Lingus which is a bit pricey. Girona Airport is also similas distance.
Nou Camp is an amazing place make sure you do the Nou Camp Tour €11 and was fantastic it is not guided so you walk around it yourself and can take your time. Got to Barcelona V Celta Vigo had my tickets before we went but you can buy them there at the box office, cheapest being €18 and dearest €60. Taxis are handy too, €10max get you anywhere in the city. We also got a taxi to the Olympic Stadium home of Espanyol and entrance is free so you get a nice look around. Beside the ground is a art gallery designed like a palace from the top the view of the city of Barcelona is amazing.
A fantasic trip and excellent value. Far cheaper then going to the UK where you are simply being ripped off. Would definatly return!!!

cullenswood
30/01/2007, 1:34 PM
I've flown over there a few times with Iberia and they have always been fine. The times of the day they fly at usually suit me handier than Aer Lingus aswell

30/01/2007, 10:18 PM
Just back from weekend in Barcelona. We flew from Dublin with Ryanair to Reus airport. Flight cost around €60 return was excellent value. Bus then was €18 return to Barcelona and journey was around 1 hour 15 mins so was worth it compared to Aer Lingus which is a bit pricey. Girona Airport is also similas distance.
Nou Camp is an amazing place make sure you do the Nou Camp Tour €11 and was fantastic it is not guided so you walk around it yourself and can take your time. Taxis are handy too, €10max get you anywhere in the city. We also got a taxi to the Olympic Stadium home of Espanyol and entrance is free so you get a nice look around. Beside the ground is a art gallery designed like a palace from the top the view of the city of Barcelona is amazing.Sounds like we did the exact same stuff so:D. Nou Camp/Camp Nou really is worth a visit, pure cheap price for tour too.

05/02/2007, 4:56 PM
How much is the tour?

05/02/2007, 5:17 PM
How much is the tour?€11 for tour of Nou Camp and visit to the Barcelona museum.

02/04/2007, 4:08 PM
Was in Barcelona for a week so heres my advice for what its worth...

Metro one of best ever used, so easy & impossible to get lost as so well sign posted. Met people who said the tourist bus poor so we skipped & used Metro to get to the important sights. I think the bus route too long.

Sagrada Familia - can't visit without seeing.
Camp Nou & Museum - football photos good but too much stuff on club founder. Half Day needed.
Montjuïc - Get the funicular railway from the Metro or cable car to the castle (great views) & walk down via the Olympic Stadium to the Palace onto Placa D'Espayana. Need full day for this.
Aquarium - has a few sharks but i did not think worth 15 euro.
Park Gaudi - was wet when there so did not stay too long but would be better for relaxing half day.
Port Olympic - Baja club closed & nothing particularily local about it at night time. If you there on lads trip worth 1 night. Drink a bit more expensive than oirish pubs but not by much. Need ID (not for age) for the casino.
Monserrat - day trip 1-1.5 hours by rail. Its ok but will take full day so not recommended if not there long.
City Centre drink & food - Just like anywhere its hit & miss so just wanter around. Drink maybe half the price of oirish pubs.

Wasn't my first choice but got Ryanair flights in the end. Bus in from Reus is comfortable (more leg room than plane) & efficient. The big problem is bus leaves its station for the airport at 7am :(

stann
10/04/2007, 1:00 PM
Got to Barcelona V Celta Vigo had my tickets before we went but you can buy them there at the box office, cheapest being €18 and dearest €60.

Is this defo teckno? Am heading there soon meself and have been on the Barca site where they say the cheapest tickets are €50, and that's right up top on the 4-high level.
I see Dodge and sligoman on another thread say there's no problem getting tickets to even the top games, and the ones I want are far from that, but would like to know the score before getting there.

Anyone with any info, it would be appreciated.
Also if anyone wants to resurrect this thread with suggestions of other places to go in the city that would be nice too. :)

10/04/2007, 1:14 PM
Going this weekend. The club website actually only sell tickets to tiers 1, 2 & 3. EDIT: (just checked this and it looks like they do sell them for 4 now too)

If there's only 2 of you going you can get them off touts for less than face value on the day for practically all games. They buy season tickets in bulk and will take anything for them if its not sold out

EDIT; Full explanatiopn of prices for each game (http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/entrades/preus_entrades/futbol/entrades.html)

10/04/2007, 3:29 PM
Cheapest advertised ticket was 30 euro for total level when i was over couple of week ago. I got the impression I should have bought the cheapest ticket & move to empty seat after 10-15 minutes as seemed to be few if any restrictions on movement...

10/04/2007, 3:41 PM
There's not between levels 2, 3 & 4

Docboy
10/04/2007, 9:19 PM
Try the side streets off Las Ramblas. Had one the the best meals of my life in a restaurant there. Wish I could remember the name, but it was fantastic. Half a chicken and spuds for €3, with amazing Créma Catalana.
It's to the right, about 2/3 of the way down Las Ramblas. It's a tiny place, brown on the outside, I think.

That sounds very like a place I went to when I was there last year, think it might have been called "La Fondu" or something like that. €33 for 2 main course, deserts, coffee & some vino. Classic.

stann
11/04/2007, 10:53 AM
Cheers for that lads, think we'll take our chances on the day so. :)

teckno
12/04/2007, 10:22 AM
The prices for tickets depends on who Barcelona are playing. How they work it is that they are 3 ticket price categories. Cat A, B,C. I went to a Cat C game that was Celta Vigo so ticket prices are minimum €18 and max €60. Because we are getting to end of season most games will now be classed as CAT B games so tickets will be more pricey but not by a whole lot. It's very easy to get them at the box office over there don't worry about touts etc, the only game which is hard to get tickets is for the Madrid game

stann
19/04/2007, 2:57 AM
Just back yesterday and what a place!
Recommended to anyone, we got to see most of the sights in the three days too though could have done with a couple more to spend a bit of time in some of them, the Maritime Museum, the cable car across the harbour, the Gothic Quarter and the Olympic stuff all had to get the skip.
Sagrada Familia, the oddball park Guell, Tibidabo up the mountain on the ancient tram and funicular, Montjuic and the best views from the Miramar area, and of course Camp Nou were the highlights, along with the food, drink and totally sound inhabitants. Genuinely never once felt in a dodgy area or situation, even on Las Ramblas.
Have design fatigue now too, even the lamposts are works of art.
Oh, and didn't see any sign of the cheap match ticket prices ye all got lucky with. Cheapest seats for the Mallorca game, as on the website, up in the gods, were €50. We went for second cheapest, classy! :D Pity the game wasn't great, but a pure joy nonetheless.
The local Estrella beer is gorgeous too. And the ham croquettes, flaminguilles and creme catalunya, oh man!!!!

joema
20/06/2007, 5:16 PM
Did anyone here who flew to Barcelona fly to Girona Airport? Im flying there with Ryanair. I understand there will be a bus there waiting to bring us to Barcelona. Would anyone who may have flew here and then got this bus to the city be able to tell me how frequently do these busses go to Barcelona and/or where does the bus stop in Barcelona city itself? Need to know because we have to tell the owners of the apartment we are staying in what time we think we will arrive.

Cheers for any info!

20/06/2007, 5:20 PM
Friends of mine have done it. I think the bus leaves 30/40 minutes after arriving. It leaves you in Placa Catalunya, which is smack bang in the middle of the city. Takes about 70 minutes

joema
20/06/2007, 5:45 PM
Friends of mine have done it. I think the bus leaves 30/40 minutes after arriving. It leaves you in Placa Catalunya, which is smack bang in the middle of the city. Takes about 70 minutes

Cheers dodge!

25/06/2007, 6:30 PM
Great City but watch out for pick pockets there everywhere and most of them are respectably dressed. me da had his wallet snatched by a rafa benitez look-a-like