View Full Version : Copenhagen

23/11/2006, 12:59 PM
I'm thinking of heading to Copenhagen for the weekend, well going
1st thing Saturday morning, back some time on Sunday evening
(In Sweden at the moment so getting bus/train)

Anyone here been there before? And recommendations on what to do?

As far as I know the Carlsberg Brewery don't do tours on weekends.
FC Copenhagen playing a game on Sunday so I'm hoping to head to that.

I'm heading by myself and not overly into theme parks so wouldn't be
too bothered with Tivoli

Basically I'm just going there for something to do cos the place I'm based
at the moment is a bit like Moate on a wet day :eek:

If it turns out theres feck all there to go, has anyone been in Malmo or
Gothenburg and can recommend stuff!

I've a stopover in Stolkholm on my way home so I'll see that then!

23/11/2006, 1:03 PM
But if they did, they'd probably be the best tours in the world. :p

[Sorry, couldn't help myself... :o]

endabob1
23/11/2006, 1:03 PM
Basically I'm just going there for something to do cos the place I'm based
at the moment is a bit like Moate on a wet day :eek:

depends on whether it's Mart day or not surely:D

23/11/2006, 1:08 PM
I say this to everybody but make sure you get to the Mouse & Elephant pub. Go up stairs and get Elephant Beer from the trunk of a carved, wooden elephants head. Have a few pints of that stuff and watch your step on the way back downstairs. :D

Tivoli probably has it's winter theme going now so you can check that out. Don't forget to try the roasted chestnuts.

23/11/2006, 1:08 PM

But if they did they'd probably be the best tours in the world! :D

edit: Damn you pinapple stu!

Actually I was there a few years ago. Lovely city. On what there is to do it depends what you are into but if you're going to a match on Sunday there should be plenty to fill the rest of your time. Obviously I paid a visit to the Workers' Museum which is interesting if you are into that type of thing. At the opposite pole (scuse the pun) theres the museum of erotica. Theres a Ripley's believe it or not visitors centre. The national museum is one of the best I've been in. You'd need a couple of days to see it all. Wouldn't bother with the little mermaid. She's just like the Molly malone statue at college green only beside water. Loads of other museums. If you are into all things Viking you could take a trip out to Roskilde on the train (half an hourish) to see the Vikingskibs Museet (Viking Ship Museum) where they actually have workshops showing how the ships were built.

23/11/2006, 1:22 PM
Get tour bus to the little mermaid & check if she has all her limbs (apparently she prone to vandalism) this year. :D

Viking museum ok but think need to be fairly bored for that.

As far as I can remember pubs & clubs literally stay open all night.

The train journey across bridge from Sweden (Malmo) is very good.

23/11/2006, 1:35 PM
Cheers one and all.

Yep, there was a direct train from Karlskrona (where I am) to
Copenhagen but part of the track is under construction so I have
to get a bus and then the train.

About 5 hour trip all in apparently, about €60 return.

I was over here for a week before in Summer and done some sightseeing.
Went to the tourist office last weekend to see if they could recommend
anything to do this time around ... their advice was to go to the pub!

23/11/2006, 2:39 PM
their advice was to go to the pub!

The Globe is a good old spot so then. The owner is a dub but he's been away long enough to have cultured a bit. :D

23/11/2006, 5:04 PM
Don't forget to pack your Brondby jersey

:p

BleusAvantTout
23/11/2006, 7:42 PM
I was there in 1977 and again, this time with Linfield in 1993! :(

There's a "walking street" (pedestrian area) where I spent 2 hours trying to get my ma a present! :mad: I've never seen the mermaid so that's an option and I've seen ships seemingly close to the city centre so maybe that's worth checking out!

I don't drink now but when I did the Carlsberg brewery in 1977, I got one free beer! :( Carlsberg also do soft drinks!

As a footnote, Denmark is rather expensive, but then so is Sweden!

23/11/2006, 11:31 PM
Have a stroll down the Nyhavn area, where the canal is. The old boats and buildings are quite pleasant and there are plenty of bars and cafes along the canal.

24/11/2006, 8:29 AM
As a footnote, Denmark is rather expensive, but then so is Sweden!

Tell me about it! Beer here is very expensive so I'm on the dry at the moment.
Dry is just a little bit cheaper!

Actually, chatting to the lads in work and as beer is so expensive, rather
than buying their beer in for Christmas here its cheaper for them to bus it
to Germany for a weekend and stock up from there.

They had to get permission from the mayor or local council or something to
do it, but they got clearance this week to go for it!

24/11/2006, 9:01 AM
I'm in Copenhagen regularly and yes, drinking out in Copenhagen is expensive - especially in the city centre. Beer off-trade is expensive as well but there are a few economy brands out there that are cheap such as Harboe (known locally as the "poor man's drink"). The brewery that Harboe comes from, Harboes Bygerri, has a number of brands that are very cheap but they are only available to buy in supermarkets. Danes do like their beer though, and are prepared to pay high prices for premium, specialised beers. For example, have you noticed how many different Carlsberg variants there are in pubs and shops?

Off-trade spirits are very cheap in Denmark, compared to Sweden and home anyway. I brought a bottle of Jägermeister (700ml) for SEK 250 in Stockholm last week. It wouldn't cost more than SEK 120 in a Danish supermarket. So my advice is to stick to the supermarkets (Netto and Fakta) when you get thirsty.

24/11/2006, 9:07 AM
Yeah, I remember finding the beer in Netto quite reasonable compared to the pubs.

24/11/2006, 9:19 AM
Yeah, I remember finding the beer in Netto quite reasonable compared to the pubs.

Yeah - Netto is technically a discounter like Lidl and Aldi so prices are good. However there don't have a broad range of beers and you have to ask at the cash register for your spirits needs. Forgot to add in my earlier post that wine in supermarkets is very cheap, compared to Ireland. But I think Ireland is the most expensive in Europe when it comes to wine so nothing surprising there.

24/11/2006, 9:36 AM
I remember doing my shopping in Netto on Fridays and there used to be a massive queue for the beer. Crates of the stuff being bought at a time. Isn't there some restrictions on selling alcohol from shops during the weekends?

shiv_ire
24/11/2006, 9:38 AM
You can get to CPH from Karlskrone in under 4 hours- with the Malmo train (http://euspirit.rejseplanen.dk/bin/query.exe/mn?seqnr=1&ident=3k.017200140.1164362914&ml=m&OK#focus) You could also try Safflebussen or Eurolines. That way you can stop in Malmo on the way down, and jump back on the train for the 40 minute journey to CPH.

You can drink 24hours here- but you need to bar hop- some pubs only open at 6am.
Beer is expensive, but if you drink bottles in pubs you won't really notice the price difference (you'll pay up to 30 DKK in a pub so roughly the same as Ireland) But regardless of price- I recommend that you stick with either Carlsberg or Turborg- there's a lot of cheap muck out there! (And be careful of the Julebryg- its letal!!)
Spirits should be avoided if you're on a budget (its half the shot at double the price!) But you can buy it cheap in the supermarkets (WARNING: Do not be tempted by the cheapest bottle of vodka in Netto- only 8 euro, but methylated spirits is cheaper and tastes better! ;) )

As for sightseeing, you should definitely check out Tivoli. It is so much more than a theme park!
Also, I'd recommend visiting Christiania (http://www.christiania.org/main/lan.php?lan=gb)

As for nightlife- it depends what you're in to.... Scala beside Radhuspladsen has lots of bars and nightclubs- generally they're pick up joints, but as expected, the beer is expensive! but The Hard Rock across the road do a happy hour from 12 to 1am! :D

If you arrive on Saturday afternoon, head to one of the Irish pubs for the football (try the Globe at Norreport St- just down from the 711)

Enjoy your trip! ;)

24/11/2006, 9:43 AM
(And be careful of the Julebryg- its letal!!)

I used to love that stuff. Remember finishing off the Easter brew in The Globe in May. :D

24/11/2006, 9:46 AM
I remember doing my shopping in Netto on Fridays and there used to be a massive queue for the beer. Crates of the stuff being bought at a time. Isn't there some restrictions on selling alcohol from shops during the weekends?

Not that I know of. Supermarkets close quite early on a Saturday, around 5pm and usually are closed on a Sunday. It was probably just people who live in Sweden packing up their supplies for the weekend. Swedes usually bring beer trollies with them wherever they leave Sweden, hence the buying of beer in crate loads.

24/11/2006, 9:53 AM
As for nightlife- it depends what you're in to.... Scala beside Radhuspladsen has lots of bars and nightclubs- generally they're pick up joints, but as expected, the beer is expensive!

I was in one of Scala's pubs a few weeks ago and I paid DKr 130 for 2 beers - I think that's about 16-17 euros.

24/11/2006, 10:55 AM
You can get to CPH from Karlskrone in under 4 hours- with the Malmo train (http://euspirit.rejseplanen.dk/bin/query.exe/mn?seqnr=1&ident=3k.017200140.1164362914&ml=m&OK#focus) You could also try Safflebussen or Eurolines. That way you can stop in Malmo on the way down, and jump back on the train for the 40 minute journey to CPH.

Some of the track is under renovation at the moment so theres a bus
from Karlskrona to Kristianstad and then a connecting train to Copenahgen.
Leaves here around 5am I think so hopefully I'll get to that.

Cheers to everyone for all the info.

Docboy
24/11/2006, 4:27 PM
If you like a bit of a smoke or not Christania is worth a visit. Have a laugh at the inhabitants, not all of whom are friendly. Personally I found the Danish a bit dry.

Women are gorgeous though.

30/11/2006, 8:29 AM
Cheers for all the advice.

Unfortunately the weather was fairly miserable, I wasnt in the best
of form and seeing as I was there on my tod I decided not to bother
staying over and just went up for the day instead.

Despite the timetable I found on some touristy site, the Carlsberg Visitor
Center was indeed open on Saturday (open till 4pm). 40 DKK to get in
(about €4.20) and its a self guided tour with 2 free beers at the end.
Once you've seen 1 brewery you've seen 'em all but as a Carlsberg drinker
I had to go for a look. :)

I also done a City Tour bus trip around the main sights, cost DKK 195
(around €24) for a 2 1/2 hour trip. Stopped off at the Little Mermaid
(fully intact :D ) and also at the Palace for the changing of the guards.
The guide himself was fairly good.

Tivoli was very well lit up but I didn't go in as I was getting the train
back and didn't fancy strolling around in there on my own.

I got a strange lifeless vibe off Copenhagen although maybe that was
to do with the weather and the mood I was in.

Definitely like to go for another visit during Summer and go on trip along
the canals and all that.

30/11/2006, 10:04 AM
I got a strange lifeless vibe off Copenhagen although maybe that was to do with the weather and the mod I was in.

No, that's Copenhagen alright.
No real buzz outdoors, during the winter.
It's not the entertainment capital of Europe by any stretch of the imagination.

citizenerased
04/04/2007, 3:18 PM
yeah lived there for a year a few years back, nice city, expensive to go out in...but there are cheap bars aswell, like the moose, who have a 2 for 1 offer, works out at 2.50 a pint not bad, considering ya might pay 6 in most of the tourist trap pubs..

The danes are a very very dry race, the folks in copenhagen a bit arrogant also..Women are class though..

Christiannia is deffo worth a visit, great place, surreal almost.
Kennedys Irish Bar in gamelconvej near vestorport is excellent for watchin the footie...cheaper than the other irish bars for drink aswell about 4 quid a beer.