View Full Version : Rovers in The Herald, again...

Pages : 1 [2]

rebs23
22/11/2006, 1:53 PM
Unfortunately WAR it is a catch 22 you are in and I am not going to be part of the hysterical mob and I don't mean to be (especially not considering the amount of trouble city fans have been involved in at times over the years) but there does seem to be far more incidents and serious ones at that involving Rovers than other clubs and it really is up to the club to take active measures maybe similar to the ones Milwall and others have taken in order to show the club is doing something about it.

My own club has banned people from the ground and I think at the start of the 98/99 had cameras permanently positioned in front of the shed by the club to identify known trouble makers and ban them. It rears its ugly head at City at certain times against some clubs but it is never consistant or organised. With Rovers it is consistant, involving substantial numbers and on occasion seems to be organised.

Other clubs have their problems definitely but I don't think on the same scale or same consistancy and it is really up to yourselves to do something about it and stop some of the media hysteria.

Jaime
22/11/2006, 1:53 PM
they taunted Tony O'Dowd about his dead brother.

Hardly an isolated incident, but I suppose one that's perfectly suited to this thread as few or no people reading your post know the history, so they will throw us in the same bracket as Rovers (thought we were already :rolleyes: ), and you will feel better having got a Bohs dig in right in front of the high horse brigade. You could also add in the bit about Bohs' very own high horse crew, who paid fines for O'Dowd, but that wouldn't be much use to you...

rebs23
22/11/2006, 1:59 PM
Bohs fans are on their MB slating Rovers over this Herald story. Most of them seem to have forgotten that they taunted Tony O'Dowd about his dead brother. A far worse incident which didn't excite the Herald or the moral majority on here. Go figure..........

And also forgetting the trouble during a game between Bohs and Cobh at Cobh involving broken bottles, fighting, etc holding up the start of the second half of their cup match a few years ago.
I think everyone accepts its not just Rovers but .......

22/11/2006, 2:04 PM
Hardly an isolated incident, but I suppose one that's perfectly suited to this thread as few or no people reading your post know the history, so they will throw us in the same bracket as Rovers (thought we were already :rolleyes: ), and you will feel better having got a Bohs dig in right in front of the high horse brigade. You could also add in the bit about Bohs' very own high horse crew, who paid fines for O'Dowd, but that wouldn't be much use to you...

Trust me Jaime, that wasn't a pop at Bohs it was merely to illustrate the double standards in the media and among certain fans.

Louth4sam
22/11/2006, 2:33 PM
I know this is going off topic here but isn't that part of the problem with Rovers, for as long as I can remember Rovers have been the "Millwall" of the Eircom League. The perception out there based on years of incidents involving Rovers fans is that there is a substantial minority willing to engage in trouble, sometimes with provocation, sometimes without and Rovers have not really done an awful lot about it over the years due to in fairness the circumstances the club has been in, financial ruin, no ground, etc, etc.

While I accept that this paticular story may not be true, there were incidents in Cobh before, during and after the game. Some seem serious enough. All the incidents over the last season(last few years) involving Rovers fans always seem to be a blatant exaggeration or someone elses fault, according to Rovers. While sometimes this may be true there is always that minority amongst Rovers fans willing to get involved or instigate trouble.

It would really be refreshing for a change for Rovers fans to come along and say yes we have problems and are doing x, y and z to eradicate it. If Rovers cannot break the cycle themselves then the Herald and other papers will always have a story to print. Blaming minor provocations of opposiong fans, blaming the media, boycotting the media, conspiracy theories, etc is not the answer when there are clearly problems with the behaviour of Rovers fans on a consistant basis.

Honestly I think the main problem that a lot of people have with Rovers (me included) is that if you make any sort of accusation/remark/etc. regarding the club their fans jump on the offensive and start insulting you straight away. I don't believe a word the Herald ever says, and I'm sure that even if there were a few Rovers fans singing an offensive song it was probably just two or three mindless idiots, every club has them so no big deal.

If that was the only incident involving Rovers at that game than that would be that, but according to reports from Cobh there was a pitch invasion during the game by some Rovers fans, threats shouted at a group of Ramblers supporters and a few fights in town afterwards. If thats true (I wasn't there, I don't know) than Rovers really need to stop pretending that they don't attract a certain variety of knobs and start weeding this element out of their club. We held our hands up at the last Limerick-Rovers game and admitted when some non-Limerick FC fans came into the ground with the specific intent of starting trouble with the travelling Rovers supporters, but they didn't do the same when a lot of non-Rovers supporting scum came down from Dublin for the first Limerick-Rovers match with the intention of starting fights in and around the ground.

I'm sure I'll probably get attacked for saying that, but in my eyes thats the way it is, and the proper Rovers supporters should stand up, stop denying that there is an element that 'follows' Rovers and put a stop to it if at all possible

Two excelent posts and how most fans of other clubs feel. Rovers fans dont do themselves any favours at all. If you point out anything at all they just go on the attack. Most clubs that have problems or had problems will admit to it. Rovers never do.

Jaime
22/11/2006, 2:36 PM
Trust me Jaime, that wasn't a pop at Bohs it was merely to illustrate the double standards in the media and among certain fans.

I believe you, but it's just part of the "No-one likes, we care" vibe that doing the rounds lately.

Passive
22/11/2006, 3:10 PM
I believe you, but it's just part of the "No-one likes, we care" vibe that doing the rounds lately.

That's because all this rubbish written about Rovers becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy - people go into 'us against them' mode when all we ever hear from media and other supporters is that we're the scum of the earth and we should all be locked up in Guantanamo Bay for crimes against the Eircom League.

22/11/2006, 3:17 PM
So why didn't they give the guy money as they were going through the gate?

Your club really is unbelievable and your head in the sand attitude is $hels like to say the least. :rolleyes:

The irony of that coming from a club that condones a hooligan group. Herag hates us and this story is timely given our High Court appearance friday.

Anyone who believes that we had a Crocodile Dundee figure with a 6 inch blade in his pocket in Cobh should go back to drinking glue.

In fairness most decent EL fans here know what they print is fiction. A prime example is that we started the love ulster riots.:rolleyes:

From todays star: "Reports that Shamrock Rovers fans chanted about child killer Wayne O'Donoghue were branded "outrageous rubbish" by club officials last night. A downmarket evening paper reported that the club's supporters chanted that "Wayne O'Donoghue is a Hoop" because he killed "Corkies" during a game against Cobh Ramblers. It was alleged that "a small group of supporters" used the death of Robert Holohan to taunt home fans at a game".

Anyone who thinks the herag is a responsible paper only needs to take a look at todays front cover.

22/11/2006, 3:44 PM
LOL at the Star calling another paper down market. They're fully entitled to but still...

LukeO
22/11/2006, 3:47 PM
Anyone who thinks the herag is a responsible paper only needs to take a look at todays front cover.

What was on it?

22/11/2006, 3:51 PM
I am not for one minute saying that what the herald printed is true and I really really hope it's not. If it is then its the most disgusting thing I have heard in 17 years supporting LOI and I hope to god that something is being done about what I'm sure must have been a minority of Scumbags who where singing these sick disgusting retarded chants.*

*this is not just another bohs fan having a go at rovers I would be equally appalled and disgusted to hear these chants coming from any set of supporters bohs inluded

BohsFans
22/11/2006, 5:51 PM
The irony of that coming from a club that condones a hooligan group. Herag hates us and this story is timely given our High Court appearance friday.

Anyone who believes that we had a Crocodile Dundee figure with a 6 inch blade in his pocket in Cobh should go back to drinking glue.

In fairness most decent EL fans here know what they print is fiction. A prime example is that we started the love ulster riots.:rolleyes:

From todays star: "Reports that Shamrock Rovers fans chanted about child killer Wayne O'Donoghue were branded "outrageous rubbish" by club officials last night. A downmarket evening paper reported that the club's supporters chanted that "Wayne O'Donoghue is a Hoop" because he killed "Corkies" during a game against Cobh Ramblers. It was alleged that "a small group of supporters" used the death of Robert Holohan to taunt home fans at a game".

you have some knack of not answering a thing I post, but yet still quote it. Unbelievable, but no more than I expected really. :rolleyes:

22/11/2006, 6:03 PM
Abbeylara is directed at the incompetence of the guards and not poor aul' Johnny Carthy.

fbtn
22/11/2006, 6:30 PM
It is blatantly obvious that the paper does have an agenda against Rovers.

Anyone with a shred of sense would see that if this chanting did happen, it would have been plastered all over this forum that very night and would be a 20 pager by now.

On a side issue - Rovers do have a bad reputation. But going by experience and not over-sensationalised crap from tabloids and the net - Bohs, Dundalk, Sligo and Shels are all of muchness if not worse. Have witnessed trouble in all their grounds and each set of fans have caused problems in Finn Park.

Shels and Bohs fans went at it on the pitch at Tolka after the game on Friday night.... read their respective forums. Yet I haven't seen or heard a word of it anywhere else.

All I'm saying is, before people come over all self-righteous over something that in all reality is not even true and move on to Shamrock Rovers list of crimes against humanity - quite a few clubs have their own selection of idiots. I've heard one or two racist outbursts by individuals in Finn Park over the years but it hardly makes us the Northern Branch of Combat 18.

Try and keep things in perspective lads instead of looking for cheap-shots at other clubs.

LukeO
22/11/2006, 6:35 PM
Abbeylara is directed at the incompetence of the guards and not poor aul' Johnny Carthy.

You've just defended the indefensible. It's a disgusting chant. I'll remember this the next time you come on our message board lecturing us on our fans behaviour. If you had any credibility, you've just lost it...

"is this the way to abbeylara
he only wanted 20 marlboro
and to see his sister tara
but they shot him anyway
Sha la la la la la la la BANG BANG"

Sick.

22/11/2006, 8:19 PM
You've just defended the indefensible. It's a disgusting chant. I'll remember this the next time you come on our message board lecturing us on our fans behaviour. If you had any credibility, you've just lost it...

"is this the way to abbeylara
he only wanted 20 marlboro
and to see his sister tara
but they shot him anyway
Sha la la la la la la la BANG BANG"

Sick.

I'm just stating it's directed at the guards as I'm sure many people on here would have thought it was gloryfing the killing of Mr. Carthy. :rolleyes:

I see you are learning the words already, good lad ;)

Comic Book Guy
22/11/2006, 8:27 PM
To get back to the original part of this thread I was at the game in Cobh last Saturday night and I did not hear any of the chanting that is alleged to have come from the Rovers fans. I guess if other Cobh fans had heard it then it probably would have been a topic of conversation around the town. The first I heard of it was on this thread.

22/11/2006, 8:27 PM
I'm just stating it's directed at the guards as I'm sure many people on here would have thought it was gloryfing the killing

Surely you dont think that justifies chanting about a mans death....regardless of who its aimed at its ick and not something to be singing about at football matches ffs

exiled_gufc_fan
22/11/2006, 10:21 PM
LOL at the Star calling another paper down market. They're fully entitled to but still...

And one of the same stable of Independent News & Media papers too! (Although the Star is a joint venture I believe)

exiled_gufc_fan
22/11/2006, 10:23 PM
All I'm saying is, before people come over all self-righteous over something that in all reality is not even true and move on to Shamrock Rovers list of crimes against humanity - quite a few clubs have their own selection of idiots. I've heard one or two racist outbursts by individuals in Finn Park over the years but it hardly makes us the Northern Branch of Combat 18.

Try and keep things in perspective lads instead of looking for cheap-shots at other clubs.

Hear, hear.

Frankfurt Hoop
22/11/2006, 11:19 PM
Let's get a grip here. Two or three mongs out of a crowd of nearly two thousand think up a chant that they think is clever and witty. Every time they rehearse it they're told to STF Up. Result - 99% of the attendance are totally unaware of this chant until it's published days later in the evening herald in a story that appallingly resurrects a terrible tragedy for a family in Midleton.

That it merits five pages on this forum shows that for the most part this place is fast becoming redundant.

One of the great things about football, and by that I mean supporting your club as opposed to a TV programme, is that it brings together (though not always in harmony) people of all classes, creeds, tastes, educational attainments, etc. We are united in a common passion. It is one of the few levellers in our society. No wonder that the O'Reillys hate it! Rovers aren't the only club to have been tarred by the herald this year, we're just the flagship.

Dr.Nightdub
23/11/2006, 12:05 AM
Next Wednesday's Herald could have the headline "Rovers fans kidnap ballboy for use in human sacrifice" and some people here would STILL go "Typical Rovers". The problem is that it'd never even occur to those people to go "Typical Herald".

The National Enquirer must shift more units than we thought if Tony O'Reilly is trying to steal their turf.

swano
23/11/2006, 1:04 AM
Obviously the Herag don't even think for a second about the hurt an article like this can cause the families involved in the death yet they bring it up anyway, without evidence.

Rovers fans have been involved in plenty of trouble at games over the years but I don't think it's substantially more than many other clubs.

It's hard enough to attract new fans to games without clubs being attacked in the papers over nothing incidents.

DvB
23/11/2006, 8:39 AM

Anyone with a shred of sense would see that if this chanting did happen, it would have been plastered all over this forum that very night and would be a 20 pager by now.

On a side issue - Rovers do have a bad reputation. But going by experience and not over-sensationalised crap from tabloids and the net - Bohs, Dundalk, Sligo and Shels are all of muchness if not worse. Have witnessed trouble in all their grounds and each set of fans have caused problems in Finn Park.

Shels and Bohs fans went at it on the pitch at Tolka after the game on Friday night.... read their respective forums. Yet I haven't seen or heard a word of it anywhere else.

Excellent post!

Koh

Louth4sam
23/11/2006, 9:06 AM

Just out of interest what trouble have you ever witnessed inside oriel park and when have our fans ever caused trouble in finn park???

23/11/2006, 9:43 AM
Next Wednesday's Herald could have the headline "Rovers fans kidnap ballboy for use in human sacrifice"

I don't think even the Herald would print such a blatant lie (it wasn't a ballboy, it was a mascot).

passerrby
23/11/2006, 10:20 AM
Next Wednesday's Herald could have the headline "Rovers fans kidnap ballboy for use in human sacrifice" and some people here would STILL go "Typical Rovers". The problem is that it'd never even occur to those people to go "Typical Herald".

bloody typical rovers leave the ballboys alone

23/11/2006, 10:36 AM

Typical bloody Rovers sympathiser. ;)

23/11/2006, 11:20 AM
I'm just stating it's directed at the guards
Sure that's okay then :rolleyes:

fbtn
23/11/2006, 12:03 PM
Just out of interest what trouble have you ever witnessed inside oriel park and when have our fans ever caused trouble in finn park???

Ah come on. If you have been following Dundalk any length of time you would know there has been trouble in both grounds over the years....

fbtn
23/11/2006, 12:57 PM
Typical bloody Rovers sympathiser. ;)

GFYF :D

forza
23/11/2006, 1:32 PM

Pats/Dundalk twice in Oriel last time you were up :rolleyes:

Dundalk UCD first divsion game I was at a few years ago

Dundalk Bohs not the cup game

Theres more im sure :confused:

LukeO
23/11/2006, 4:21 PM
Sure that's okay then :rolleyes:

Exactly what I was thinking. It's one of the most moronic chants I've ever heard of. I wonder if Raheny Red would find it so fcukin funny if he were a member of the Carthy family. :rolleyes:

23/11/2006, 4:40 PM
I wonder if Raheny Red would find it so fcukin funny if he were a member of the Carthy family. :rolleyes:

Now, now Luke, where did I say what happened was funny :confused: :rolleyes:

Louth4sam
23/11/2006, 4:52 PM
Ah come on. If you have been following Dundalk any length of time you would know there has been trouble in both grounds over the years....

That didnt really answer the question. You said YOU witnessed trouble in oriel and Dundalk fans causing trouble in Finn park. I'm asking you when. You made the statment im asking you to back up what you stated or retract it

fbtn
23/11/2006, 5:11 PM
That didnt really answer the question. You said YOU witnessed trouble in oriel and Dundalk fans causing trouble in Finn park. I'm asking you when. You made the statment im asking you to back up what you stated or retract it

Sweet fcuk! I said I didn't want to get into a row but seeing as you're intent. And only going on personal experiences..

Fireworks, stones and bottles thrown at us in Oriel on different occassions.

Fist fight in the Shed when Dundalk fans waded into us as we celebrated a goal in a cup game.

Dundalk fans fighting among themselves in Finn Park and when Harps officials and stewards tried to break it up, they attacked them.

Oriel is one of the nastiest grounds in the league for bother. Always has been. From racist chanting to attacking away fans. I'd say most clubs that have any reasonable size of travelling support have had problems there over the years.

Happy now?

23/11/2006, 5:13 PM
Dundalk UCD first divsion game I was at a few years agoDon't remember any trouble at that. A steward asked us to hide our cans or he'd have to take them off us but that was just doing his job I suppose. :D

forza
23/11/2006, 5:17 PM
Don't remember any trouble at that. A steward asked us to hide our cans or he'd have to take them off us but that was just doing his job I suppose. :D

I remember bins on fire and flying through the air some lad from Muir Hevnna Mor was making his debut hence all the head balls so my college mate at the time said :D

23/11/2006, 5:22 PM
I remember bins on fire and flying through the air some lad from Muir Hevnna Mor was making his debut hence all the head balls so my college mate at the time said :DOh yeah, I'd forgotten about the bins being ****ed onto the pitch with the stewards just standing looking at them. A few locals climbed into the press box too and had to be asked to get out over the PA. Great craic altogether.:D

23/11/2006, 6:03 PM
Oh yeah, I'd forgotten about the bins being ****ed onto the pitch with the stewards just standing looking at them. A few locals climbed into the press box too and had to be asked to get out over the PA. Great craic altogether.:D

Was the PA announcer in the press box

:D :p

forza
23/11/2006, 6:24 PM
Was the PA announcer in the press box

:D :p

Its Dundalk.... Club bar me thinks :D

Tir Oilean
23/11/2006, 6:54 PM
See how this insidious stuff works? Make allegation a), back it up with rumour b), add in exaggerations c), d) and f) and it all becomes part of a perceived reality.

This is the formula for tabloid journalism!

Rovers came to Galway this season with around 400 fans we met most in the pub beforehand for pints and an impromptu kick around(with a football ye smartarses) There was no hassle at any time other than abusing officials which is acceptable we've all been doing for years! I think maybe the reputation of a number of clingons leads to rags seeking to fill space with "stories" of violence/vulgar chants.....sad to say its what sells papers in this country and the UK. People like to read this **** its chewing gum for lower intellects. You can guarantee there would've outrage on Ramblers page if this was sung en masse.

However it is quite possible that some tosser did make up the chant but as someone else has said it hardly deserves the space in the herald or here. No one has shown any respect to either of the families involved in this tragic case so park this thread and move on to the next subject please.

23/11/2006, 7:46 PM
So you still wont admit that your "fans" have ever done anything wrong?

I won't admit to trouble we haven't caused.

If the chants were not sung by your fans who sung it??

I repeat; :rolleyes:

There were no chants about the crime committed by WOD, sung by our fans in Cobh.

I was at the game, heard all our chants/songs, and the first I heard of any WOD chants was on here. Quelle surprise!!