View Full Version : Roy Curtis....how does he get away with it?

Pages : 1 [2]

Billsthoughts
01/12/2006, 11:21 AM
Declan lynch is brilliant. they dont use him half as much as they should. he should be the main football writer.

01/12/2006, 11:37 AM
Fanning is a joke. Wonder how he got the job?:rolleyes:

lionelhutz
01/12/2006, 12:07 PM
An incredible ****. Fanning "supports" liverpool so right there is a clue of his knowlege of the game. Muppets like him hope the national team loses so he can slag off the players and managers. And he calls himself Irish?:rolleyes:

As someone else says dont buy the tabloids.

Ok, firstly the sunday indo is not a tabloid - its a broadsheet. Secondly, I support Liverpool so you're calling me and thousands of other Irishmen muppets? My bet is you probably support Celtic due to their inherent ''Irishness'' even though theyre Scottish and don't have one Irish born player in their squad or in the management team rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

And finally, fannings articles are always honest and straight up - he gives credit where credit is due. And whenever he criticises a team/ manager I think he always has a fair point

01/12/2006, 12:25 PM
My bet is you probably support Celtic due to their inherent ''Irishness'' even though theyre Scottish and don't have one Irish born player in their squad or in the management team rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Hate to be pedantic, but Dublin's Darren O'Dea has been a regular in the match day squad for the last few weeks, even was on the bench against United

01/12/2006, 1:13 PM
Don't read the Sunday "Worst" so I don't see Curtis articles. Cathal Dervan and Paul Hyland get my vote as the two worst football journalists. They both write absolute muck (although Hyland did a good article about the Rovers ground in Tallaght the other week:eek: - imagine my surprise)

Mento
01/12/2006, 6:34 PM
If you want to read news buy a newspaper, for sport buy a tabloid.

slate them all you want, but tabloids, although may be full of **** at times and do sometimes make up headlines for the back pages as someone said, still are the ones with breaking sports stories.

On a Thursday after a Wednesday international the star has a 12-page supplement on the match, which is damn good coverage. The sun and mirror will also have more than the BS.

Features are obviously better in broadsheets but for hardcore day to day stuff, where would we be without a tabloid to read while having an early morning Barry White?

Donal81
02/12/2006, 3:50 PM
If you want to read news buy a newspaper, for sport buy a tabloid.

slate them all you want, but tabloids, although may be full of **** at times and do sometimes make up headlines for the back pages as someone said, still are the ones with breaking sports stories.

On a Thursday after a Wednesday international the star has a 12-page supplement on the match, which is damn good coverage. The sun and mirror will also have more than the BS.

Features are obviously better in broadsheets but for hardcore day to day stuff, where would we be without a tabloid to read while having an early morning Barry White?

Although disagreeing on this is like disagreeing on what bands or films you like or dislike, heck I'll disagree with you anyway. :)

I find that a few pages in the Irish Times or Sunday Times on an international gives much much more info than any supplement in a tabloid. And I've worked for two tabloids (including one sports section), so I'm not just ranting here without having read the tabloids. There's some very good analysis in the Star but - overall - there's just too much sensationalist rubbish, not enough substance.

Good point on the Barry White though:D

04/12/2006, 3:32 PM
For general sports writing the broadsheets win hands down in my opinion. I've relished reading about the Ashes and the post-autumn rugby internationals recently, especially the fallout in the English RFU. :) Great reading. Writers like Martin Samuel, James Lawton and most of the Guardian's football writers are always worth a read in the UK press.

I think football is among the sports written about worst however, due to the inordinate hype around the game & probably also due to the tribal instincts of much of its readership.

04/12/2006, 3:33 PM
Hate to be pedanticNo you don't, you love it!!

04/12/2006, 5:18 PM
No you don't, you love it!!

Yeah, i guess i do!

Den Perry
04/12/2006, 7:49 PM
Declan lynch is brilliant. they dont use him half as much as they should. he should be the main football writer.

I remember him writing an article in hot press in the nineties and he was criticising an Irish performance and he came up with what one of his funniest lines ever (think it could have been liechenstein or Macedonia at home - can't remember). While commenting on the performance of a few Irish players eg "Cascarino was terrible, Mcateer was woeful, sheridan asleep and Kernaghan? well Kernaghan was just busy being Kernaghan"

05/12/2006, 1:24 PM
Ok, firstly the sunday indo is not a tabloid - its a broadsheet. Secondly, I support Liverpool so you're calling me and thousands of other Irishmen muppets? My bet is you probably support Celtic due to their inherent ''Irishness'' even though theyre Scottish and don't have one Irish born player in their squad or in the management team rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

And finally, fannings articles are always honest and straight up - he gives credit where credit is due. And whenever he criticises a team/ manager I think he always has a fair point

Get away. It physically is a broadsheet but reads like a tabloid. Secondly the answer is an absolute yes.

You lose the bet as I dont "support" celtic cos I'm not from glasgow.

The ethos in the indo is to slag off anything Irish. Look at their coverage of the domestic league here. Fanning is crap. End of.

Billsthoughts
05/12/2006, 3:50 PM
You lose the bet as I dont "support" celtic cos I'm not from glasgow.

Are you from Tallaght so cause you support rovers or do the rules change if its a franchise?

05/12/2006, 3:58 PM
Are you from Tallaght so cause you support rovers or do the rules change if its a franchise?

I'll make it simple for you. You support a club from the city or town you are from.

Billsthoughts
05/12/2006, 4:09 PM
Very conveniant....

05/12/2006, 4:15 PM
If you do a spot of travelling you will see that that is what fans all around the world do. Very obvious.

Billsthoughts
05/12/2006, 4:22 PM
Juventus? Man utd? Real Madrid?
All their fanbase from the cities themselves?
I'd question whether that was the case...
People can support who they want.

Donal81
05/12/2006, 5:08 PM
I'll make it simple for you. You support a club from the city or town you are from.

And if there's no club from anywhere near you? Or if you grow up with another team?

Less of the supporting fascism, please, it doesn't do anyone any good and it's been "debated" to bits.

Soper
05/12/2006, 6:00 PM
All I have to say is, in Wales, people from 40 miles away support Cardiff.

05/12/2006, 10:49 PM

That's not always true though, for instance a lot of people support Rovers who weren't even born in Shamrock. :eek:

06/12/2006, 7:25 AM
That's not always true though, for instance a lot of people support Rovers who weren't even born in Shamrock. :eek:

Rovers were my local team (or at least the nearest team being 2 miles away) so I supported them and then they sold Milltown to property developers supported by that wonderful human being, Dunphy.

As a kid I also followed a team in every division in England (Sheff Wed, Preston, Reading and Wrexham), Scotland (Raith Rovers and East Fife - only two divisions then) and Norn Iron (Ards). Only Wednesday has stuck from that lot but it was a great interest at the time.

Can't be described as a glory hunter and Rovers I also put a curse on but at least I had the pleasure of seeing many of their FAI Cup wins and some league titles under Jim McLaughlin.

Billsthoughts
06/12/2006, 11:47 AM

You cant be serious? There is no place called shamrock. They were formed by a group of celtic supporters so they adopted the shamrock as their crest in honour of the Celtic badge.

hoops1
06/12/2006, 12:05 PM
:eek: :confused: :rolleyes:

endabob1
06/12/2006, 12:17 PM

POTM :D

On topic Tabloids are 90% headlines 10% substance Broadsheets are the opposite. If you want a quick fix get a tabloid, if you want to read something for more than 5 minutes read a broadsheet.

As someone else pointed out the Guardian in the UK have good sports reports as does the Telegraph. I read the indo online because it's free and you have to pay for the times

06/12/2006, 1:38 PM
You cant be serious? There is no place called shamrock. They were formed by a group of celtic supporters so they adopted the shamrock as their crest in honour of the Celtic badge.

:eek: Christ man that is pathetic.

Billsthoughts
06/12/2006, 4:03 PM
pathetic? in what way?
no shame in being a subsidary club of one of the biggest brands in football...

hoops1
06/12/2006, 8:58 PM

Saddest post ever in the history of foot.ie

northsiderkid
06/12/2006, 10:42 PM
Roy Curtis has been getting away with it a very long time! He played on the pitch beside us in ST Annes Park on a sunday morning at have time I overheard him giving a pep talk at at half time I had never heard such rubbish in my life it was patethic so I burst out laughing everyone looked and stared at me they were not happy. Just before the game resumed one of their players came over to me with a big angry head on him and started to rant and rave "Do you know who he is?" I replied "An overgrown lump that talks rubbish to make up for his lack of a first touch?" It was so funny the guy ran off and told Curtis what I said and he came over and told me that he was a football writer for the sunday world I told him waht to do with himself and he left with steam coming out of his ears. That evening I read his rubbish for the first time and I have never bought the paper since that was about 8 or 10 years ago. Every now and again if im in a house and the rag is there I have a quick look at his excuse for an article about football it has never changed he spends all his time trying to asasinate the charachter of whoever is his flavour of the month eg Steve Staunton at the moment. He is a p**** who im sure will get pleasure knowing all of these comments here are about him. The only way to get rid of him is to stop buying the rag and write a little note to the editor about him.

07/12/2006, 10:48 AM

Saddest poster in the history of the net. Suppose pats were founded by Saint Patrick himself going by his rationale.

hoops1
07/12/2006, 10:51 AM
Suppose pats were founded by Saint Patrick himself going by his rationale.

:D :D

07/12/2006, 10:57 AM
Bohemians were formed by a load of lads from the Czech Republic too.

Billsthoughts
07/12/2006, 11:29 AM
sadder than taking everything you read at face value?

Saddest poster in the history of the net. Suppose pats were founded by Saint Patrick himself going by his rationale.
again...not very bright are you?

Bohemians were formed by a load of lads from the Czech Republic too.
brilliant Neil...

07/12/2006, 11:33 AM
Not very bright coming from you?:D :D

Originally Posted by Billsthoughts

You could hear the ocean if one stood next to you.

Billsthoughts
07/12/2006, 11:36 AM
Not very bright coming from you?:D :D

Originally Posted by Billsthoughts

You could hear the ocean if one stood next to you.

read it again it was an obvious joke....went over your head like most things.

hoops1
07/12/2006, 11:39 AM
Billsthoughts
I really cant tell if your just not funny or havent a clue what your talking about, both I Suspect.
Sad! Who are you following next week?

07/12/2006, 11:43 AM
The thread should be billsthoughts.......how does he get away with it?

You make a stupid statement and now its a joke. Whatever you say. If you think Rovers were founded by celtic fans so be it.

You should write for a tabloid.

Billsthoughts
07/12/2006, 11:56 AM
Lads it was a joke. you didnt get it. get over it.

Den Perry
17/12/2006, 8:57 PM
Lads it was a joke. you didnt get it. get over it.

My interpretation is that it was a joke.....

Billsthoughts
18/12/2006, 7:58 AM
doint worry they dont do humour.....:)

18/12/2006, 3:17 PM

Not as tongue in cheek as might appear for weren't Rovers formed in Ringsend and named after Shamrock Terrace there?

Wolfie
18/12/2006, 3:41 PM
Shamrock Rovers - I suppose its the decent thing to do - think of the homeless at Christmas.

19/12/2006, 11:18 AM
Not as tongue in cheek as might appear for weren't Rovers formed in Ringsend and named after Shamrock Terrace there?
On that topic. Here's an article from a free seasonal magazine that is given to residents of the Pearse Street area and some of Ringsend.

http://www.imagehosting.us/index.php?action=show&ident=1834240

No Graham Kavanagh there so I'm sure he missed a few.

danonion
19/12/2006, 11:34 PM
Stylistically, the majority of writing in Irish newspapers is shocking :eek: . In any Irish Independent you can find loads if incorrect uses of a/an - thats just basic stuff. Every feckin article tries to be really clever and full of hyperbolic nonsense. Rant finished.