View Full Version : Matchs in Croker
Paulie
28/11/2006, 11:47 AM
I haven't received my letter yet but I'm sure it's on the way. Someone said to me that the forms state that you can ask for more tickets than you were previously allocated at Lansdowne Road. Is this the case?
May be wrong, but I seem to remember the first Block Booking scheme starting for the 1990 WC Qualifying group with the game against Spain in April 1989? I have the ticket stubs somewhere, but I certainly sat in the same seat in the East Upper for the Spain, Malta, Hungary and Northern Ireland games.
My Dad started block booking in 1978 and I was still able to get in on his ticket even aged 12. Different times as you need a ticket for a babe in arms now. I thought that was the first block booking system. A friend of my Dad's in Limerick claims he had block bookings in 1956 for the Denmark and England WC qualifiers at Dalymount.
Dr. Ogba
Thats the way I read it as well. Can any other "waiting listers" confirm they have also been offered tickets ?
I would say that the FAI will send out the letters to the current block-bookers asking if they want to increase their allocation (a friend of mine got this letter yesterday) and then they will probably (hopefully!!) send out letters to those on the waiting list at a later stage Just a guess but who's to know how the FAI organise things, sure they'll probably want to sort out their extended circle of corporate mates first before any of the rest of us get a look in :rolleyes:
daithid2000
28/11/2006, 11:58 AM
Is there a reply by date on that letter. I am a full block booker but am away from home at the moment. Don't want to miss out.
SuperDave
28/11/2006, 11:58 AM
I would say that the FAI will send out the letters to the current block-bookers asking if they want to increase their allocation (a friend of mine got this letter yesterday) and then they will probably (hopefully!!) send out letters to those on the waiting list at a later stage Just a guess but who's to know how the FAI organise things, sure they'll probably want to sort out their extended circle of corporate mates first before any of the rest of us get a look in :rolleyes:
hmmm... aresholes. i must ring home later this week and ask the auld pair if I got a letter.
harps1954
29/11/2006, 9:56 AM
Is there a reply by date on that letter. I am a full block booker but am away from home at the moment. Don't want to miss out.
Must be returned to the FAI Ticket office by 12th December. I'd say once they have all these returned, the people on the block-booking waiting list will then be offered tickets.
So let's assume that there are 33,000 block-booked tickets. Block-bookers can ask for more tickets. It not unrealistic to assume that this figure will rise to about 40,000-45,000. Then those on the block-booking waiting list will be offered tickets. I think someone said there is over 5,000 people on this waiting list - lets assume that each of these people ask for two tickets. That's about 50,000-55,000 of the tickets gone so far. With the away allocation something like 7,000 that could mean 62,000 tickets will be sold before any public sale of tickets. What's the capacity of Croker for the soccer games - around 72,000??? Still leaves around 10,000 tickets for public sale.
Although there will be a mad rush for tickets for the Wales game (because of the historic nature of the game), people might think twice when they have to fork out for all four games. I think they'll be plenty of tickets available.
29/11/2006, 10:07 AM
i hope you are right harpskid!!!
29/11/2006, 10:52 AM
You have to fork out for 2 games at a time not four games at a time. I for one think the system seems quite fair to be honest.
Newryrep
29/11/2006, 11:16 AM
So let's assume that there are 33,000 block-booked tickets. Block-bookers can ask for more tickets. It not unrealistic to assume that this figure will rise to about 40,000-45,000. Then those on the block-booking waiting list will be offered tickets. I think someone said there is over 5,000 people on this waiting list - lets assume that each of these people ask for two tickets. That's about 50,000-55,000 of the tickets gone so far.
If this is the case it is a effing disgrace ,the existing waiting list will not move when we return to LR. 40-45K tickets will go to existing BB. What was the point of being on a the waiting list if effectively existing BB can decide who gets new tickets
No disrespect meant to existing BB's
This is not rocket science.
Existing BB's
Those on waiting list
remainder offered to existing BB's although anybody requiring tickets would likely be on the waiting list.
General Public
This is not an issue now as even the FAI couldnt mess up when the stadium is effecftively doubled it is when we go back to LR capacity circa 50000.
Existing BB (33,000) now 40-45K
corperate 5000 min
Those on current waiting list - Donald Ducked !!!!!!!!
29/11/2006, 11:20 AM
If this is the case it is a effing disgrace ,the existing waiting list will not move when we return to LR. 40-45K tickets will go to existing BB. What was the point of being on a the waiting list if effectively existing BB can decide who gets new ticketsRelax. Any extra tickets block bookers order for these games will not carry over to the new Lansdowne Road.
Newryrep
29/11/2006, 11:38 AM
Relax. Any extra tickets block bookers order for these games will not carry over to the new Lansdowne Road.
Schumi i hope you are right but you can picture the scene in the FAI
"Ah sure the majority of those on the waiting list will be sorted by the exisitng BB's, why go to all the hassle of wading through 5000+ applications just leave it to the existing BB's remember less postage cost as well"
RogerMilla
29/11/2006, 12:02 PM
just hope there are a few scraps for the lads on the waiting list and if so that it carries on to the new landsdowne
galwayhoop
29/11/2006, 2:02 PM
Relax. Any extra tickets block bookers order for these games will not carry over to the new Lansdowne Road.
if that is the case why weren't those on the waiting list offered tickets before asking the block bookers if they wanted more!
FARCE!
are you trying to say that they ask block bookers if they want more tickets first and then ask those on waiting list now that we are playing in croke park BUT when we go back to LR they revert to original block booking list (ignoring the extra tickets purchased) and ask those on the waiting list first!
Come off it. all they had to do was be consistent. give out same BB allocation - then go to waiting list - then ask anyone if wanted more - then general sale!
The precedent is now set - if you are on the waiting list you may aswell just ask your friends who are on BB list to get your tickets cause you ain't gettin up the que yourself!!
Milesmayhem24
29/11/2006, 3:06 PM
I'm hoping too that they leave a few for us on the block booking waiting list when we move back to Lansdowne but, to be honest, I don't think the FAI give a sh*t whether it's existing BBs or waiting listers as long as the money comes in!
Newryrep
29/11/2006, 3:48 PM
Can somebody in the know please clarify this ?
I am/was about 1600 in the waiting list and obviously naively thought i would be sorted out for the new LR.
beautifulrock
29/11/2006, 4:22 PM
Newry,
From what I can make out nobody knows what is happening to those on the waiting list. To surmise from what I have learned from this thread is that current BB's have been offered their tickets and been also given the chance to increase the their current allocation.
In regard to the waiting list I was approx 1,200ish ten months ago, bought all the friendly tickets so the only way I can have gone is up and I have not received anything from the FAI.... yet.
29/11/2006, 4:42 PM
if that is the case why weren't those on the waiting list offered tickets before asking the block bookers if they wanted more!
FARCE!
are you trying to say that they ask block bookers if they want more tickets first and then ask those on waiting list now that we are playing in croke park BUT when we go back to LR they revert to original block booking list (ignoring the extra tickets purchased) and ask those on the waiting list first! I don't know, it would make more sense to do it that way. All I know is that on the form I got, it said that the amount you ask for will only be for the Croke Park games.
galwayhoop
29/11/2006, 9:29 PM
I don't know, it would make more sense to do it that way. All I know is that on the form I got, it said that the amount you ask for will only be for the Croke Park games.
maybe so but it would stand to reason that if you're receiving x number tickets for CP then you'd be in a stronger position when new LR opens than someone on a waiting list getting none :(
Newryrep
30/11/2006, 7:32 AM
. All I know is that on the form I got, it said that the amount you ask for will only be for the Croke Park games.
I am a bit more reassured, but i will drop the ticket office an email to confirm. I agree with Galwayhoop, you could have the scenario where somebody on the waiting list gets their new tickets from an existing BB, doesnt take a BB in his own name when offered and gets struck off the list.
Return to LR no offer of BB tickets as not on the list and existing BB's revert to their old allocation
i reckon that given the new prices involved and the teams current form, most existing blockbookers will stick to their usual allocation for games.
i'd be happy if you could link tickets together. Organising a group of seats together for a bunch of mates creates much better atmosphere as opposed to being scattered throughout the ground.
30/11/2006, 8:42 AM
I work in an eight storey building on Kildare st and can see Croker from the top floor and I can see floodlights working!Looks like they are on the Hogan side. Noticeable this early in the morning.
galwayhoop
30/11/2006, 9:10 AM
I work in an eight storey building on Kildare st and can see Croker from the top floor and I can see floodlights working!Looks like they are on the Hogan side. Noticeable this early in the morning.
it's the FAI counting their new found wealth :D :D :D
Newryrep
01/12/2006, 11:20 AM
All ticket arrangements concerning Croke Park, apply solely for the
period that we are in Croke Park.
Regards,
Ticket Office
email received from ticket office today - fair play to them i only sent it yesterday
Dont get an existing BB to get you tickets if you are on the waiting list
Newryrep
01/12/2006, 11:23 AM
i'd be happy if you could link tickets together. Organising a group of seats together for a bunch of mates creates much better atmosphere as opposed to being scattered throughout the ground.
If you get offered tickets i would suggest ask them could you sit beside Joe bloogs Exisitng BB No XXXXX)
theleprechaun
09/12/2006, 2:53 PM
i was just wondering has there been any development on the bb waiting list. i have not heard anything myself but was wondering if anyone else on the list has
09/12/2006, 10:09 PM
The closing date for block bookers to return the form saying how many tickets they want is next Tuesday, I doubt you'll hear anything until the FAI have sorted through those.
10/12/2006, 5:26 PM
WTF, I never received any letter from the fai so far and I've been on the block booking for a long long time. Rang them on Friday asking when the forms for the block bookers would be sent out and she said it wouldnt be until next year. Now I read this and they are meant to be returned Tuesday? Phone call tomorrow is in order and a rollicking is in order.
WexDec
11/12/2006, 11:16 PM
7 of us on waiting list spread from just over 1,900 to >5k and none have ever recieved any form in post for friendlies which seems to get mentioned a lot ??? Just one e-mail saying we could get friendly tickets alright but we source through various sources spares, ticketmaster etc. and for the doable competitive ones (which seem to be every match now, can honestly say has never been so easy to get in for non-BBs in recent times)
I'm guessing there's a cut off figure as they're not going to poll 5k people. Didn't know getting them "offically" via FAI pushed you up list though ?
WexDec
11/12/2006, 11:22 PM
If you get offered tickets i would suggest ask them could you sit beside Joe bloogs Exisitng BB No XXXXX)
Is this not standard fare ?!!! Surely if lads on waiting list get offered they can group, depending on availability of course. Any BB spares we pick up are always grouped (although possibly usually two pairs together, each pair prob under one individual name)
Newryrep
12/12/2006, 8:05 AM
none have ever recieved any form in post for friendlies which seems to get mentioned a lot ????
I was 1600 ish and get offered friendly tickets, surprised at not being offered at 1900 ish but obviously the increase in capacity in friendly matches with the terracing is limited. Having said that you would of thought that they would of offered them to people on the waiting list before going on public sale
[/QUOTE]I'm guessing there's a cut off figure as they're not going to poll 5k people. Didn't know getting them "offically" via FAI pushed you up list though ?[/QUOTE]
I doubt it moves you up the list, it just doesnt get you removed from the list.
I would guess the majority of the waiting list would be sorted but i doubt it will be up to 4-5K when we return to LR. Delaney has said the majority in various interviews when asked a direct question but is the majority 51% or 70-80 %?
WexDec
12/12/2006, 9:46 AM
I was 1600 ish and get offered friendly tickets, surprised at not being offered at 1900 ish
I'd have been worried but there's two of us between 1900 and 2000 and neither have been offered those as haven't the other 5 evenly spread up across the next few thousand.
Having said that you would of thought that they would of offered them to people on the waiting list before going on public sale
They're not arsed mate would rather let Ticketmaster do it for 3 euro a pop rather than use a 50c rubber stamp. Its mad though cos if they did offer them them to the 5k and rejecting the offer made you slip down the list that's a few more K they'd have sorted for friendlies before going to public. I'd have no problem with that as would be going to those matches anyway as I'd presume most on waiting list would be, if fact would be less hassle for us. Weeds out any list squatters and would probably come down a more realistic "active" 3-3.5k list who would hopefully get sorted come the new LR if they recognised the loyalty ?
On that, these lists are always bigger in name than in reality. I believe Arsenal weeded their's out a few years ago as it had got massive but they asked people to confirm their wish to be on the list and charged a fee for it and it shrunk massively quick fast. That and people moving, being broke and erm dying etc. Most commonly though prob getting married and having their (foot)balls cut off :D :eek: I also know Liverpool's one is over 10k but if season tickets were offered tomorrow I couldn't see half of them taken. National team a bit different of course but friendles and unglamourous competitive matches should have a weeding out effect.
WexDec
12/12/2006, 9:49 AM
I doubt it moves you up the list, it just doesnt get you removed from the list.
But by implication then not taking friendly tickets could get you removed from the list ??? But my lot aren't offered them in the first place ??? Confused :confused:
I thought it was refusing tickets on the BB list not the BB waiting list that got you turfed off ?
I would've thought 2k was a nice round number to stop offering these tickets if didn't want to do 5k but obv Merrion Square uses a different abbacus to the rest of us :D Maybe the list is just a pile of post-its on someone's desk :rolleyes:
WexDec
12/12/2006, 10:01 AM
I would guess the majority of the waiting list would be sorted but i doubt it will be up to 4-5K when we return to LR. Delaney has said the majority in various interviews when asked a direct question but is the majority 51% or 70-80 %?
So would that likely be one per head on the list or a pair per head does anybody reckon ? If were pairs reckon could get 4 in if do first 2k or 6-8 if go more ~3k+. Otherwise its 3-4 of us.
I know the 5ks would've applied very recently and wouldn't expect them to get anything beyond Croker. Would expect it to be well gone 6k+ by next March, it could actually balloon in the run up.
..........maybe they'll just ask current BBs how many extra they want first !!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek:
BTW out of interest how many are on the non-pretend BB anyway ?
12/12/2006, 10:07 AM
7 of us on waiting list spread from just over 1,900 to >5k and none have ever recieved any form in post for friendlies which seems to get mentioned a lot ??? Just one e-mail saying we could get friendly tickets alright but we source through various sources spares, ticketmaster etc. and for the doable competitive ones (which seem to be every match now, can honestly say has never been so easy to get in for non-BBs in recent times)
my mate rang them up about this, the cut-off is 1800 for this.
Newryrep
12/12/2006, 10:29 AM
Wexdec
alot of it is speculation but i would guess looking at the existing BB figures and the waiting list figures and the increased capacity at LR (note corperate/sponsors figures also will rise) 2-3K existing waiting list would be sorted.
As you say maybe the true figure on the list less than the 5 K due to duplicates etc.
If you are on the waiting list for 2 tickets i would imagine they would only offer you 2 tickets. But iit is all speculation
WexDec
12/12/2006, 1:13 PM
my mate rang them up about this, the cut-off is 1800 for this.
That explains it so. Cheers for the clarification. Hopefully 1800 won't be the cut off for anything else ! I'd be gutted to miss out by a 100 :(
WexDec
12/12/2006, 1:39 PM
Sounds about right Newryrep. I'd be majorly surprised to not have snuck under a worse case scenario 2k cut-off although seeing that 1,800 figure with friendlies did scare me a little :eek:
Sure should get a few days out in Croker anyway (although far more hassle getting to and from) and either way there should obviously be more spares in circulation in the future if don't get me name on a seat.
..........I hear you can get 10 year tickets for a nice tidy price, tidy for the sellers that is :D
13/12/2006, 10:28 AM
Just got a reply to an email I sent ot the FAI. I asked them about the singing section as I'd heard rumours of one. The response I got was:
There is talk of a singing section being arranged but nothing has been confirmed yet.
How fcuking hard can it be? Jaysus either do it or don't do it.
co. down green
13/12/2006, 10:40 PM
Just got a reply to an email I sent ot the FAI. I asked them about the singing section as I'd heard rumours of one. The response I got was:
There is talk of a singing section being arranged but nothing has been confirmed yet.
How fcuking hard can it be? Jaysus either do it or don't do it.
Just the norm for the FAI, organise a singing section AFTER sending out forms to the 36,000 on the block booking scheme.
If it wasn't true it would be comical.
Can someone explain why it is the FAI's responsibility to creating/assign a signing section? The lack is atmosphere at Ireland games is due to the fans being rubbish and not the FAI.
Why dont the fans who come to the game just stand, sing and support the team.
Since when is singing at a game a crime/disease?
14/12/2006, 2:19 PM
Can someone explain why it is the FAI's responsibility to creating/assign a signing section? The lack is atmosphere at Ireland games is due to the fans being rubbish and not the FAI.
Why dont the fans who come to the game just stand, sing and support the team.
Since when is singing at a game a crime/disease?
well done. some people don't want to stand or sing at a match for many reasons, like if they can't stand or are embarrassed to do it. So if in the Canal end of 10k and 9k don't want to stand and sing the 1k who do are pretty much fooked. And the stewards aren't exactly ones to allow people just to stand up, in fact they're the opposite.
kingdom hoop
14/12/2006, 2:22 PM
internationals are totally different to clubs, people might go to matches once and not go again for a few years. i think it would be great to bundle all the sopranos in together and get the benefits from crokers great acoustics. if there is one section of all singers it will spur everyone else to join in, rather than the odd isolated singer who feels like a fool cos no one around him(or her??!) is signing. ideally everyone would be signing but the nature of intl football makes this impractical. all we need to do is for someone to compose a few stomping hits, and put the lyrics on the seats. at least then we'll all be singing from the same hymn sheet
21/12/2006, 9:47 AM
I'm on the waiting list and got an Application Form this morning. There's no maximum amount you can order. It says:
"Please keep your order to a realistic level as the return of unsold tickets will not be accepted"
"Completing an application form is no a guarantee that the numbers of tickets requested will be supplied".
Newryrep
21/12/2006, 10:04 AM
must keep an eye on the post. Is there ant return date on the application ?
Dotsy
21/12/2006, 10:06 AM
Eirebhoy do you know what number you were on the waiting list. I am about 350 so hopefully will get a letter.
Real ale Madrid
21/12/2006, 10:07 AM
I'm on the waiting list and got an Application Form this morning. There's no maximum amount you can order. It says:
"Please keep your order to a realistic level as the return of unsold tickets will not be accepted"
"Completing an application form is no a guarantee that the numbers of tickets requested will be supplied".
what no are you on the waiting list?
21/12/2006, 10:15 AM
must keep an eye on the post. Is there ant return date on the application ?
Friday January 12th.
Eirebhoy do you know what number you were on the waiting list. I am about 350 so hopefully will get a letter.
Around 200-300th or so. I got 2 applications to this house btw as there's someone else here on the waiting list so I assume they've been sent to everyone. I live 5 minutes from Merrion square so they were most likely only posted out yesterday.
what no are you on the waiting list?
Yeah. Rarely have any problem getting tickets but I've never been on the blocking list in my life.
Dr. Ogba
21/12/2006, 11:05 AM
Bloody hell I was around 2 or 3 thousand on the waiting list and just got the letter this morning....happy days!!!:)
highlight100
21/12/2006, 2:17 PM
I was around 4000 on the list and got a letter also this morn....
21/12/2006, 2:40 PM
Paul,
A letter went out to all those on our Waiting List yesterday, so it
should arrive this week.
Regards,
Ticket Office