View Full Version : Alan Murphy

Gaillimh Al
17/11/2006, 3:59 PM
On the eve of our last game of the regular season, a crucial game that could shape the future of the club, I haven't seen one mention of a player who was supposed to be the saviour at the start of the season. Is he injured or had a falling out with Cousins? Or is his form that bad that he can't even make the bench? He's still our top scorer and if not injured, I would like to see him on the bench for this game. Moran and Gethins have not played together much as a partnership which may be a problem.

17/11/2006, 4:12 PM
It's a mixture of poor form and poor attitude.He also doesn't appear to see eye to eye with Cousins.Murphy has been the single biggest dissapointment of the year.He got a big chance off Cousins at home to Dundalk and he blew it.

GUISAUltra
17/11/2006, 4:27 PM
murphs has been an unbelievable disappointment this season. he's not a shadow of the player he was when he left. there is no questioning his ability so it must be in his head that somethings not right. i know he's our top scorer but he has scored a good few penalties. we need someone to get him ticking again or else he has to be shipped out. theres no point in him making our wage bill any bigger than it needs to be ecspecially if he'll just be sitting doing nothing

ShamTalk
17/11/2006, 4:31 PM
Alan Murphy was the one player who used to bring me to Galway United matches on a cold and wet night. This was prior to his departure to Derry City.

I was in Ballybofey and he was so bad it is not funny. O'Dowd was excellent (a big loss tomorrow night).

Cousins likes to play 4-4-2 yet if Murphy is part of the "2" he drops so deep that it is like playing 4-5-1 and in the event of O'Dowd getting flick-ons or crosses come in from either flank, then he is not where he is supposed to be i.e. penalty area.

It is so disappointing to see such a brilliant player not delivering. In his early days, I used to think that lack of pace was the only thing stopping him from making it in England. He was that good.

Hopefully, he can turn it around but I would be inclined to go with Gethins and Moran tomorrow night.

GUISAUltra
17/11/2006, 4:38 PM
yeah i think he has to go with barry and gethins tomorrow night. i've never liked barry and dont rate him at all but hopefully he'll prove me wrong tomorrow

Gaillimh Al
17/11/2006, 4:54 PM
He has to go with them(Moran and Gethins), but we don't have many options apart from Murphy if it doesnt go to plan. The fella has scored nearly 50 goals for Utd in the league. Form is temporary and I hope he can regain the class that he definately has.

Patrick Dunne
17/11/2006, 5:17 PM
I understand Cousins not picking him for the team based on form or other reasons, but he should really be in the panel.

GUISAUltra
17/11/2006, 7:07 PM
he should always be in the squad because even if he is out of form there is always the chance he can produce a bit of magic cos we all know hes capable of it

eamo1
17/11/2006, 11:00 PM
too both with him and for him in the dundalk game a few weeks ago.i was thinking before the game when i heard his name being called out that this was his big chance and he would turn it on on a big night like that.how wrong was i though,his movement off the ball was non-existent,his first touch brutal,as somebody already said "a shadow of his former self".his workrate is generally not that good anyway and especially not when compared to gethins and odowd,i think tony likes tireless runners like those 2.he said a few weeks ago "defending starts from the front" etc so he likes guys who make an extra effort,while alan generally isnt lazy hes also not the greatest worker on the field.
i wouldnt let him go during the offseason though(especially if we are in the p.l),id keep him for another year or at least till july and see if he can turn it around,a player like him deserves more time.

corbyeire
21/11/2006, 1:35 PM
Alan Murphy was the one player who used to bring me to Galway United matches on a cold and wet night. This was prior to his departure to Derry City.

I was in Ballybofey and he was so bad it is not funny. O'Dowd was excellent (a big loss tomorrow night).

Cousins likes to play 4-4-2 yet if Murphy is part of the "2" he drops so deep that it is like playing 4-5-1 and in the event of O'Dowd getting flick-ons or crosses come in from either flank, then he is not where he is supposed to be i.e. penalty area.

It is so disappointing to see such a brilliant player not delivering. In his early days, I used to think that lack of pace was the only thing stopping him from making it in England. He was that good.

Hopefully, he can turn it around but I would be inclined to go with Gethins and Moran tomorrow night.

too both with him and for him in the dundalk game a few weeks ago.i was thinking before the game when i heard his name being called out that this was his big chance and he would turn it on on a big night like that.how wrong was i though,his movement off the ball was non-existent,his first touch brutal,as somebody already said "a shadow of his former self".his workrate is generally not that good anyway and especially not when compared to gethins and odowd,i think tony likes tireless runners like those 2.he said a few weeks ago "defending starts from the front" etc so he likes guys who make an extra effort,while alan generally isnt lazy hes also not the greatest worker on the field.
i wouldnt let him go during the offseason though(especially if we are in the p.l),id keep him for another year or at least till july and see if he can turn it around,a player like him deserves more time.

i agree with ye both here - what about the wages weve paid him this year - and the total lack of return

im sure a new contract of sorts will be meeted out over the next few months if he is going to stay at utd - cant be paying those wages for that service

Latcheko
21/11/2006, 5:16 PM
Do ye remember what he was like when he played for us the last time? Attempting to charge down the opposing keepers' clearances, standing five yards away from opponents' free kicks with his arm over his head and making a right nuisance of himself running with the ball at his feet, oh yeah, and shooting straight from the kick-off. Come to think of it this new guy is an imposter.

inthestand99
21/11/2006, 7:20 PM
Do ye remember what he was like when he played for us the last time? Attempting to charge down the opposing keepers' clearances, standing five yards away from opponents' free kicks with his arm over his head and making a right nuisance of himself running with the ball at his feet, oh yeah, and shooting straight from the kick-off. Come to think of it this new guy is an imposter.

How Quick we forget. We cant afford to do without a player of Murphs ability and character. He will be back good as new .

Tir Oilean
21/11/2006, 10:05 PM
I and all the other posters here hope so too. but he needs to be worthy of the wages he is probably getting. there's no doubting he has the talent its just getting it out of him seems to be the problem and I don't think its a problem with Cousins.

corbyeire
22/11/2006, 10:29 AM
I and all the other posters here hope so too. but he needs to be worthy of the wages he is probably getting. there's no doubting he has the talent its just getting it out of him seems to be the problem and I don't think its a problem with Cousins.

totally agree