View Full Version : Bohs have officially appointed Sean Connor
McSligo
17/11/2006, 2:47 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1117/connors.html
Bohemians have officially appointed Sean Connor as their new manager.
The former Sligo Rovers boss has signed a 3-year deal with the Gypsies, and starts his tenure with the club at the start of the new season.
Connor will attend tonight's match against Shelbourne at Tolka Park, but not in his official capacity.
He succeeds Gareth Farrelly, who left the club following the cup defeat to Shamrock Rovers in late August.
Speaking at a press conference at Dalymount Park today, he said: 'I took a big risk by leaving the job at Sligo, but it was something I was prepared to do if it meant that I would have a shot at the Bohs job.
'I hadn't had any contact from Bohs while I was in the Sligo job. It wasn't until afterwards that the opportunity arose. And now, having been given the opportunity, I'm delighted to be part of such a prestigious club.'
He must think that we are all f#*king eejits, he had that Job sown weeks ago, and the sh1t he came out with in the Star about him being disappointed not to be mentioned in connection with the Bohs job was just a smoke screen He should have done the decent thing and packed it in before the cup semi final, because his heart certainly wasn’t in it at that time.....WA*#ER!
McSligo
17/11/2006, 3:06 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/premier/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=25408
Bohs set to unveil Connor
November 17, 2006
Bohemians will receive a boost ahead of Friday night’s eircom League finale against Dublin rivals Shelbourne when former Sligo Rovers chief Sean Connor is unveiled as the new manager of the Gypsies.
Connor spent time as a coach at Birmingham City before landing the job as Sligo boss, and helped foster links between Birmingham and the Showgrounds side during his time in charge in the north-west.
A successful two-year spell in Sligo, during which he led the club to promotion to the top flight, a steady top-half placing in their first season in the Premier and an FAI Carlsberg Cup semi-final, came to an end when he stepped down after the defeat to UCD two weeks ago.
And the worst-kept secret in Irish soccer was finally uncovered on Thursday when it was revealed that the 39-year-old Belfast native will be unveiled as new Bohs boss today (Friday), having signed a three-year deal at Dalymount Park.
Connor’s former north-west nemesis, Derry City, will hope he can have an immediate impact at Bohs by inspiring them to a performance against Shelbourne at Tolka Park this evening – Derry require a favour from the Phibsboro side if they are to lift the League of Ireland crown for the first time in eight years tonight.
[B]Coach at Birmingham City, now there's a laugh, the only thing he did at Birmingham City was answer the phone!! and as for the foster links between Birmingham and the Showgrounds!!! what fu#*ing links??[B]
Midgit
17/11/2006, 3:24 PM
I can't wait until we get Bohs at home next season!!!!
17/11/2006, 3:31 PM
Sean do you really think we're all deluded fools?
1 9 2 8
17/11/2006, 6:55 PM
The Showgrounds will be a the stadium of hate when Bohs come to town next year
Did Sligo get any compensation?
17/11/2006, 9:55 PM
Did Sligo get any compensation?
i'd say its unlikely we'll get any because we have appointed a new manager....
red bellied
17/11/2006, 10:00 PM
Apparently he is in for the long haul at Bohs, Champions League or Uefa Cup group stage. No mention of the stepping stones. http://www.bohemian-fc.com/home/club_news/exclusive_video_interview_with_sean_connor/
Fivesilver
17/11/2006, 10:00 PM
i'd say its unlikely we'll get any because we have appointed a new manager....
I'd imagine that's irrelevant. He resigned with over a year left on his contract.
18/11/2006, 2:44 PM
I can't wait until we get Bohs at home next season!!!!
i will definitely make an appearance at that game! brings back memories of stephen kenny going to bohs!
Only1Rovers
18/11/2006, 2:59 PM
We're gonna be sick of hearing Connor, his mug will be in every paper for the next coupla seasons, media whore!
18/11/2006, 5:03 PM
http://www.bohemians.ie/CONNOR%20FIRST%20INTERVIEW-WEB%20FILE.wmv
video interview with sean
18/11/2006, 6:12 PM
saw sean in town today, i was wearing a rovers jacket, i said 'howya sean', he stared at me and said nothin, ignorant ****in pr!ck!!!
18/11/2006, 6:16 PM
saw sean in town today, i was wearing a rovers jacket, i said 'howya sean', he stared at me and said nothin, ignorant ****in pr!ck!!!"ignorant ****in *****" that's what you should have said to him first, never mind "howya sean"
Hope you've learned yer lesson;)
18/11/2006, 6:25 PM
The hypocracy of the man is galling . He says he left because he felt he could take us as far as he could this coming after his grand pronouncements about making us as big as Cork and Derry . Also he says that he will only be bringing over from English Leagues for Bohs , to them it wont make any differnce what club in Ireland they are going to as long as they are getting paid so he wont be able to attract a better class of player from that avenue. If he had just been truthful and said he left because he knew he would be on to a big pay day with Bohs I would have been a lot happier.
Midgit
18/11/2006, 9:26 PM
If he had just been truthful and said he left because he knew he would be on to a big pay day with Bohs I would have been a lot happier.
You may have been but i reckon there would have been huge contraversy! If you were a Bohs fan and you found out that the manager is only coming in for a bigger payday then your attitude to him would be a hell of a lot different!
18/11/2006, 9:58 PM
You may have been but i reckon there would have been huge contraversy! If you were a Bohs fan and you found out that the manager is only coming in for a bigger payday then your attitude to him would be a hell of a lot different!
Bohs fans arent thick...everyone can see what he's doing, and the sad reality is that in these days, there is little or no loyalty left...money rules all...
Soper
18/11/2006, 10:46 PM
I've heard about some of the players he plans on bringing over from England...nothing to worry about.
20/11/2006, 11:02 PM
ragin bout flash nd singh tho!
22/11/2006, 4:37 PM
are they definatly joining bohs?
22/11/2006, 9:43 PM
More than likely...they were at the Bohs Shels match so would assume so
22/11/2006, 11:41 PM
More than likely...they were at the Bohs Shels match so would assume soDid you see them there?:confused: :p
23/11/2006, 10:02 AM
Did you see them there?:confused: :p
ya i did
dublinred
23/11/2006, 10:34 AM
They defo were not in Bray, would find it hard to believe as paid employees of rovers that they were at the bohs match.
Guts&Glory
23/11/2006, 10:56 AM
ya i did
Were they shown on TV in the stands?
If so the Club need to have a few words.
23/11/2006, 11:14 AM
rob said he knows they were at the shels bohs game
BohsFans
23/11/2006, 12:23 PM
http://www.bohemians.ie/CONNOR%20FIRST%20INTERVIEW-WEB%20FILE.wmv
video interview with sean
little dig at Sligo in that interview.
23/11/2006, 12:37 PM
little dig at Sligo in that interview.
he can say what he wants now
the "dig" at us was walking out for a bull**** reason ,lies that he had no contact with bohemians before he left,an interview with a local paper about how he was never accepted in sligo:rolleyes: just being plain dishonest and not respecting the club in his final days as manager
if manseram and singh want to go thats fine...its their choice....singh gave 100% every time he played for us and if he wants to follow connor as i said its his choice...manseram did a good job for us too and as fans we supported him since day 1.
once they do go[maybe turner too?] we can move on completly....we have a new manager who in his first 10 days as manager seems hardworking,determind and a lot of other characteristics that sean connor has....they are characteristics that good managers have..sean connor is a good manager and heres hoping rob mc donald will be a good manager for us...he seems very honest and respectful too and i think he will be well accepted by the fans...maybe thats why sean connor "was never accepted in sligo"
23/11/2006, 9:16 PM
sean connor is a good manager and heres hoping rob mc donald will be a good manager for us...he seems very honest and respectful too and i think he will be well accepted by the fans...maybe thats why sean connor "was never accepted in sligo"Sean Connor was not a good manager. He was a good PR man with good contacts with which to sign players. His players were good, he was clueless.
roversforever
25/11/2006, 5:34 PM
Sean Connor was not a good manager. He was a good PR man with good contacts with which to sign players. His players were good, he was clueless.
that's ******!he was a complete ***** and the way he left was disgraceful but to say he wasn't a good manager is unfair.look at where we are now compared to where we were when he took over.i hate the man too but he done a good job.
25/11/2006, 7:52 PM
i hate the man too but he done a good job.His players did.
25/11/2006, 8:21 PM
To say that Sean Connor was a bad manager is nothing but sour grapes , say what you want about the undignified way he left the club , but to not give him any credit for our position is ignorant ,I agree he mightnt be tactically brilliant but he does have many other managerial qualities.
25/11/2006, 8:25 PM
he does have many other managerial qualities.Can you name them then please gustavo? It's definitely not tactical awareness & man management skills(Cretaro, O'Donnell, Carr, Tosh to name a few) anyway. One good thing I can think of is that he's good with the media, makes the club look more professional with the way he talks about players etc. but as I said before, that was his previous job so he was good with that.
red bellied
25/11/2006, 11:26 PM
Can you name them then please gustavo? It's definitely not tactical awareness & man management skills(Cretaro, O'Donnell, Carr, Tosh to name a few) anyway. One good thing I can think of is that he's good with the media, makes the club look more professional with the way he talks about players etc. but as I said before, that was his previous job so he was good with that.
Ha ha Sligoman, were you not his greatest fan
26/11/2006, 9:07 AM
Bohs fans arent thick...everyone can see what he's doing, and the sad reality is that in these days, there is little or no loyalty left...money rules all...
perhaps he also wants to win things?
26/11/2006, 11:09 AM
perhaps he also wants to win things?
i doubt it...he moved to Bohs you see:rolleyes:
26/11/2006, 2:19 PM
i doubt it...he moved to Bohs you see:rolleyes:
if the deal comes through, they'll sweep everyone else aside.
26/11/2006, 7:54 PM
suuuurrrreeee they will
you really think they wont :eek:
26/11/2006, 8:49 PM
not with connor in charge.
There's only so much they'll be able to with the money straight away, i.e. have a bigger squad on English League 1 wages.