PDA

View Full Version : Selling on ebay?

Raheny Red
17/11/2006, 9:54 AM
I am new to ebay and I've only bought five or six items. I pay through paypal and I find it very easy to do and quite safe ,apart from one when an ebayer was banned from ebay but it looks like I'll get my mun back! Now I'm thinking of selling items. What I am wondering is when you start selling items what is the best way to find out on much it will cost me for P&P to the seller. Would I be better off going to my lost Post Office first and find out how much it would cost or are there any websites which can help with this?

Sorry for the silly questions :o

Cheers. :ball: :)

noby
17/11/2006, 11:22 AM
anpost.ie would be a starting point. From my experience sellers give themselves plenty of scope when adding p&p, and for small items like cds etc. it seems to be where the real monet is made.

Dodge
17/11/2006, 11:27 AM
I sold a few programmes on ebay. Charged £1 (back when it was ebay.co.uk only) for p+p to Ireland/Britain. £2 to europe. £4 to anywhere else. Luckily they were all to uk, bar one to Hong Kong. I sent them all through work for nothing...

dahamsta
17/11/2006, 11:28 AM
postage.anpost.ie (http://postage.anpost.ie) is a direct link to their calculator. Most of the calculations are pretty standard, for example a CD counts as a "flat", which is something like €1.75 within Ireland and €2.75 everwhere else.

adam

WeAreRovers
17/11/2006, 11:53 AM
A wee hint Raheny Red, most serious eBay sellers use Postage and Packaging as their profit. It's deliberately inflated but I didn't tell you that....

KOH

Raheny Red
17/11/2006, 12:47 PM
Cheers for all the help lads :cool:

osarusan
17/11/2006, 1:39 PM
A wee hint Raheny Red, most serious eBay sellers use Postage and Packaging as their profit. It's deliberately inflated but I didn't tell you that....

KOH

Yes indeed. Not all but a lot. I bought a book and was charged $6 for postage, but the stamp only had $2.50.