View Full Version : In and Out (And Shake it all about)
24/11/2006, 7:46 PM
IMO we shouldnt have just let arguably our best player (ogrady) leave because he wont go full time! bring back Raf i say and get a few more locals in aswell as non locals. im sure cawley would like the challenge....hes a good player and could become a hero in his hometown! why would ya want to stay in waterford!?
24/11/2006, 10:59 PM
are you taking the **** about Aisien?seriously
yes. a genius. with a bit of work he's a top striker.
Shedzer
25/11/2006, 1:30 AM
yes. a genius. with a bit of work he's a top striker.
oh christ..
How many goals has he scored for the under21s?
i WILL leave this forums if Choice Aisien scores 10 more goals for the roversl)
27/11/2006, 12:28 PM
oh christ..
How many goals has he scored for the under21s?
i WILL leave this forums if Choice Aisien scores 10 more goals for the roversl)
how can you judge choice on the small amount of football he's played? i really hope he stays next season
27/11/2006, 1:42 PM
If some one is going to Judge Choice on the football he has played so far,how can they not be impressed. Changed the game for us against Drogheda away, Scoring an absolute cracker against Drogs at home, and getting in a photo with a christmas tree :)
27/11/2006, 3:10 PM
he did well when he came on v derry, even though we were 5-0 down!:(
BTW, has Paul McTiernan definetly left Sligo Rovers?, says on sligorovers.com he did not wish to renew his contract
red bellied
11/12/2006, 3:17 PM
O Grady on the way to Galway?
dublinred
11/12/2006, 4:01 PM
O Grady on the way to Galway?
:mad: :mad: :mad: Its crazy if this is allowed to happen, losing one of the best midfielders in the league on a free transfer.
Someone needs to sit down with the manager and explain the demographics of the area , from what i hear training is in the morning and afternoons now instead of afternoons and evenings which obviously does not suit the part time players hence the exodus of quality players.
Most upcoming players will probably want to go to college as is quite common in Ireland so going to lose most of them as well.
Only1Rovers
11/12/2006, 4:26 PM
yea, what the difference in having training in the evening than in the afternoon?
redrov2005
11/12/2006, 5:02 PM
If its true about O'Grady then this is crazy. We finish 5th and then lose half our team and then we release 3 solid players because they can't go full time,3players who are better than some of those that are full time.
red bellied
11/12/2006, 7:25 PM
Mc Tiernan signs for Athlone. http://www.athlonetownfc.com/
11/12/2006, 7:33 PM
Great Signing for Athlone,best player in the First Division without a doubt.
Athlone are my second team for next season anyway.
11/12/2006, 8:41 PM
Good luck to him...hope he does well....wouldnt mind getting them in the cup ay home or something, give him a nice welcome back! pity we couldnt keep him!
redrov2005
11/12/2006, 10:47 PM
Good luck to him...hope he does well....wouldnt mind getting them in the cup ay home or something, give him a nice welcome back! pity we couldnt keep him!
We could have kept him, but Rob has decided to let go the player of the month for June. It's ridiculous.
11/12/2006, 11:21 PM
We could have kept him, but Rob has decided to let go the player of the month for June. It's ridiculous.
I made contact with Paul McTiernan, but he told me that he didn't wish to play with Sligo RoversAlthough I'd say at the same time, Paul prob knew Rob was looking for full time players and Paul probably said he didn't wanna.
12/12/2006, 9:07 AM
To be fair to Rob , any player worth keeping was offered a professional contract which they themselves rejected.
akearins
12/12/2006, 9:39 AM
Mc T signed for Athlone last night
red bellied
12/12/2006, 1:04 PM
Romours flying around that Dave Rogers has signed as a player/coach.
Only1Rovers
12/12/2006, 4:16 PM
Lets not start criticising Rob yet. I don't agree with losing all our local first team players but we are yet to see who he is bringing in. If Dave Rodgers does come to the club it would be a huge signing who would attract other good players to the club.
Redzer
14/12/2006, 10:59 AM
I understand the PFAI and FAI are bringing in a standard contract for all clubs that have players out of contract or who are bringing in new players. The 2007 season is the start of this process. The draft is not out yet so that is why no new players can be signed.
I think it will ensure that players will each receive a proper payslip, and clubs won't be able to take on players as 'contractors' for tax purposes and the likes. I don't know all the details but it seems a huge advancement for player’s rights and welfare.
So, I guess any announcements that have been made are pre-contract agreements, rather than official signings.
Redzer
15/12/2006, 9:42 AM
Thursday 14 December 2006
Derry City FC Online : Released Players
Derry City FC have announced today that they have released three of last season's players.
The Club this afternoon have announced that Stephen O'Flynn, Shaun Holmes and Mark McChrystal have been released by the club.
What do ye think? IMO McChrystal and O'Flynn would not be bad signings.
akearins
15/12/2006, 9:57 AM
O'Flynn would be a great acquisition could play up front or on the wing.Steve Williams is also looking for a move from Shels and has had no offers yet, he was voted Keeper of the season 2 seasons back so would also be a great signing.....
SRFCbrothelutd
15/12/2006, 11:19 AM
Heard Alan Cawley,s move to Bray is done & dusted but hasn't actually put pen to paper yet, could be a window of opportuinity for Rob if he was interested...
15/12/2006, 11:52 AM
It's done and dusted and he hasn't put pen to paper yet. Will you make up your mind.
15/12/2006, 12:30 PM
Contract has been agreed but they cant sign it yet because of the new player contract thing that has been introduced.
red_away
15/12/2006, 4:28 PM
Every manager has to be given some space to prove his worth and we will all support RMD but and its a big but! Does he really know his resources, club limits, and most importantly his audience?
After explaining the scenario in the showgrounds at present I asked my colleagues here at work (all leyton orient season ticket holders and knowledgeable about football at our level) about the SRFC scenario, letting go the spine of the team (incl. your leading goalscorer) and nearly starting from scratch again next season and a 100% said that it was a very bad situation to let happen and letting go a proven goalscorer is madness.
What i mean is we could easily be flirting with relegation with this new setup!
Normally i am optimistic when a new manager comes in but i just get a feeling a new brush can sweep toooooo clean!
15/12/2006, 4:54 PM
Unfortunately Tony Cousins has said he feels Raf may be swung by Sligo's offer to join them
He said although the offers were pretty much on a bar the fact that Raf is from Sligo and has family there may be the deciding factor.
Hopefully not....:(
15/12/2006, 5:33 PM
Every manager has to be given some space to prove his worth and we will all support RMD but and its a big but! Does he really know his resources, club limits, and most importantly his audience?
After explaining the scenario in the showgrounds at present I asked my colleagues here at work (all leyton orient season ticket holders and knowledgeable about football at our level) about the SRFC scenario, letting go the spine of the team (incl. your leading goalscorer) and nearly starting from scratch again next season and a 100% said that it was a very bad situation to let happen and letting go a proven goalscorer is madness.
Normally i am optimistic when a new manager comes in but i just get a feeling a new brush can sweep toooooo clean!
Leading Scorer?? Leading Scorer?? How many goals did he score and how many one on ones did he make a ****** of? (including the one in the last minute against Derry). And anyway, if your 'leading scorer' is out of contract and wants to leave, whaycha gonna do about it.
Cheer up. Trevor Molloy and Paul Keegan are on the verge of signing for Motherwell and if they go, Pats will prop up the table.
15/12/2006, 5:38 PM
i thought people would be gettin used of the annual clear out in the showgrounds by now. none of the players that have been let go are irreplaceable(apart from burns). i doubt rob would have taken the job if he didn't know his budget for next year. i remember ppl panicking sayin we wouldn't be able to put out a team around january last year&everything turned out alright in the end. be patient and have faith in rob
15/12/2006, 9:42 PM
'Leyton Orient season ticket holders knowledgeable about football'. Don't they go to watch Leyton orient play, then?.
16/12/2006, 12:12 PM
with the squad we have now this wud be our best XI maybe!?
brush
coleman peers mckenzie foy
hughes turner curran mccartney
faz
aisien
not really all up to premier division standard?!
16/12/2006, 2:16 PM
not really all up to premier division standard?!Oh yeah. We're in trouble:rolleyes:.
Give Rob time, the season doesn't start til March, if we still have that squad then, then criticise!
16/12/2006, 3:26 PM
Thats stilll not a bad team , add maybe 5-6 places and it wont be too bad.
Midgit
16/12/2006, 4:14 PM
Is Burns definatly gone?:confused: :confused:
16/12/2006, 4:33 PM
Hopefully Kelly will , it would be good to see some of the youth players step up to the plate. About Burns I dont think he has found another club yet but I would very much doubt if he would be still with us in March .
dublinred
16/12/2006, 4:52 PM
Going to need 5 exceptional signings to replace O'Hara, O'Grady, Burns,McNamara and McT and then we will have a similar squad than last season which wasn't good enough in the run in , then we will need a few more players to improve on last season , I think 7th will be good this year behind Derry,Cork,Shels,Drogheda,Pats, Bohs.
16/12/2006, 5:14 PM
I think 7th will be good this year behind Derry,Cork,Shels,Drogheda,Pats, Bohs.Why Pat's?:confused: They weren't that good last season and it looks like they're going to lose their two best strikers to Motherwell soon...
16/12/2006, 5:26 PM
Presumably that even if they do lose their best two strikers we still have lost our goalkeeper , two centre backs , central midfielder , left winger and three strikers.
16/12/2006, 5:28 PM
Presumably that even if they do lose their best two strikers we still have lost our goalkeeper , two centre backs , central midfielder , left winger and three strikers.Only 4 of those 8 are major losses in my opinion-O'Grady, Mansaram, Burns(if gone) and O'Hara.
16/12/2006, 5:40 PM
Major losses or not the rest of those were all still part of the squad and will need replacing.
16/12/2006, 5:42 PM
I see Conor O'Grady has added himself to the PFAI available players list:(. Although, I've heard he's still in talks with Rob in regards to a compromise.
On the up side, at least Rob has noticed Cretaro anyway:
He is quick. He needs a lot of coaching but I think he is somebody that I could work with. He is a good, positive, upbeat person. He has obviously done well at Galway United. The boy is very popular but the reason we are doing this is not to win points for the sheer fact that we are losing out on Conor because I wouldn’t be taken seriously.
17/12/2006, 8:09 AM
Heard a strong rumour last night that Raf has re joined Sligo Rovers.
If true best of luck to him.A gent and a top player.He'll be one of the few not getting abuse up in the Showgrounds.
Not confirmed.
red_away
18/12/2006, 9:22 AM
'Leyton Orient season ticket holders knowledgeable about football'. Don't they go to watch Leyton orient play, then?.
I think you have seriously missed the point here? I could have quoted a few manyoo or gunners fans but that would not have being a fair comparison would it and i would have been castigated for that as well?
PS - Leyton Orient have a redeveloped ground, no debt, promoted last season and beat nottingham forest 3 -1 at the w/e and they were all at the city ground to witness it - Forest would hammer rovers any day of the week - so i think you should not be so disparaging in your comments of other clubs just be because of a false sense of superiority born of ignorance.
Forest would hammer rovers any day of the week - .
Of course they would, we have only 6 players!!!:D
red away, I think it shows that you have been living in a different country for a while....
18/12/2006, 9:52 PM
Red Away, press the old irony button. It relieves angst.
29/12/2006, 1:17 AM
lads, was just lookning at the pfai list there and i wouldn't mind stephen grant at the showgies next season
29/12/2006, 1:23 AM
lads, was just lookning at the pfai list there and i wouldn't mind stephen grant at the showgies next seasonMe neither...Dean Delaney is a player we should be enquiring about too. I've heard of that Fennelly guy too, the Cobh player...not sure if he's good or not but sticks out in my mind for some reason...possibly Football Manager 2006 though:D
29/12/2006, 1:24 AM
did u ever look at the pfa's list sligoman?
www.givemefootball.com
click on player transfer directory
something tells me this was sean connor's favorite site.
29/12/2006, 1:31 AM
did u ever look at the pfa's list sligoman?
www.givemefootball.com
click on player transfer directoryJust looked at it their. 5 or 6 Irish men on it...may be homesick, ya never know;).