View Full Version : Ireland 5 San Marino 0

Fergie's Son
15/11/2006, 8:43 PM
Not a great performance but we did what we needed to.

I was impressed with Andy Reid. He looked the part though I can see Staunton dropping him for the "tricky" away fixture against San Marino.

McGeady looked solid when he came on and no major problems with the defense other than O'Shea's woeful crossing.

Thoughts?

Fubar
15/11/2006, 8:48 PM
yeah i was happy for Doyle... felt sorry for mcshane though he looked gutted when he missed the header.

15/11/2006, 8:57 PM
Andy Reid wasn't too hot he looked off it half the time.
Worst player had to be John O'Shea bad at everything

cheifo
15/11/2006, 9:00 PM
O'shea awful again.Thought Douglas also had a bad game when he came on.
Fair play to McGeady, gave us some entertainment.

Paddy Garcia
15/11/2006, 9:02 PM
Staunton goes 4-5-1, against San Marino, at home!!!!!!!!!!

Possibly thought we were away to Brazil!

Paddy Garcia
15/11/2006, 9:04 PM
Andy Reid wasn't too hot he looked off it half the time.

Thought Andy Reid was good - should have had another 4 goals from his crosses, excellent passing in the main.

Also thought Finnan was excellent.

DeNiro
15/11/2006, 9:09 PM
Doyle should have been kept on a little longer. He has the makings of a very useful player for us. In hindsight it would have been interesting to see Stokes out there tonight! Alan Lee offers us very little. He's just not up to simply. O'Shea - well what more can be said about him? It was useful to get McShane and Dunne together for the first time. Why did he decide to move Duff up front, when he said before the game width was important. On the basis of that decision he seems to think Kilbane was doing a better job on the left than Duff could do?:rolleyes:

Paddy Garcia
15/11/2006, 9:23 PM
I thought Duff looked very low on confidence, and had a very poor first half. Improved in the second, but worringly for us looked a pale shadow of the Duff at Blackburn.

Delbertt
15/11/2006, 9:30 PM
altho we won but wat was Staunton thinkin when he plays o'shea right back and Finnan left back? surely it suda been the other way about and if this happens against the stronger teams and we get beat! all i say is god bless staunton. surely he's not gona b in a job long if he continues to play players out of there natural position!

15/11/2006, 10:14 PM
Let's not forget the witnessing of the unique experience of a Robbie Keane headed goal.

15/11/2006, 10:48 PM
Doyle first goal for Ireland was a header too, he seems to be a very good header of the ball.

Qwerty
15/11/2006, 11:05 PM
altho we won but wat was Staunton thinkin when he plays o'shea right back and Finnan left back? surely it suda been the other way about and if this happens against the stronger teams and we get beat! all i say is god bless staunton. surely he's not gona b in a job long if he continues to play players out of there natural position!

No this was sensible from Stan, we all know O'Shea is sh1te, so lets see what other options we have at LB. Our best full backs are Finnan and Carr. Maybury and Harte are the only other options, if Finnan can adjust to LB then Carr and Finnan it is. O'Shea may offer a bit more in midfield. Or not.

Soko
15/11/2006, 11:50 PM
No this was sensible from Stan, we all know O'Shea is sh1te, so lets see what other options we have at LB. Our best full backs are Finnan and Carr. Maybury and Harte are the only other options, if Finnan can adjust to LB then Carr and Finnan it is. O'Shea may offer a bit more in midfield. Or not.

Stop it please, O' Shea has never offered anything anywhere. His main contributions in an Irish shirt have been missing a sitter in Paris and conceding a vital penalty at home to Israel. If he had a blue jersye on tongight no one would have noticed. Its time put him out of our misery

Staunton is still a clown. Take off an in form striker, who just scored his first international goal, and bring on a winger? Embarrassing

cheifo
16/11/2006, 2:23 AM
Anybody else notice the way Dunne kept heading the ball towards goal when a better option would have been to put it back across the box.Taking Doyle off was insanity, we should have went three at the back.

theworm2345
16/11/2006, 5:12 AM
This really only proves that were 8 goals worse than Germany (who did draw with Cyprus...at least they got that). In my opinion, this really means nothing, we should do the same in February, but if we lost this, it would all be over. Unfortunately, Germany isnt really the team we needed that result to happen to as much as we needed the Czechs. 5-0 is fine though, even if San Marino is the worst team in Europe (have only one professional player)

alkev
16/11/2006, 6:54 AM
I cannot believe that substitution he made in the second half, when McGeady came on the obvious change was to take off Kilbane, who despite a few crosses in the first half was terrible, put McGeady on the right Duff on the left and leave the strikers on. After all our first aim should have been to better the Czechs seven if we have any ambition of finishing second.
My overall view is that we were very poor against dreadful opposition, no tempo, lots of possession, no penetration, reminded me of Shels when Joey Ndo is not playing

Billsthoughts
16/11/2006, 7:23 AM
Think people are reading too much into insignicant events of this game. It was a lose lose situation for the Irish. The opposition didnt really want to play. O Shea made about 3 mistakes. People just have it in for him at this stage. Kilbane looked "rusty" I suppose would be the kindest thing you could say about his performance. 5-0 would have been taken before the game.Biggest winners were people who chose to stay at home on the night. Second half had to be the most boring 45 minutes in memory. Nearly fell asleep.

endabob1
16/11/2006, 7:46 AM
Think people are reading too much into insignicant events of this game. It was a lose lose situation for the Irish. The opposition didnt really want to play. O Shea made about 3 mistakes. People just have it in for him at this stage. Kilbane looked "rusty" I suppose would be the kindest thing you could say about his performance. 5-0 would have been taken before the game.Biggest winners were people who chose to stay at home on the night. Second half had to be the most boring 45 minutes in memory. Nearly fell asleep.

What worrys me about O'Shea is he seems to have lost it completely I counted 4 or 5 really bad first touches, I know it was a crap night but no one else (even the San Marino Boys) seemed to have problems controlling the ball.
Kilbane is an honest pro whose best days are behind him, I would have preferred to see Doyle & Keane get the 90 together to start building on the partnership, also McGeady should have come on for Kilbane taking Doyle off meant we had no aerial threat (ironic that the last goal was a header I know).
I thought Andy Reid showed the benefit of regular football at Charlton, should have been MOM last night IMO.

Gerrit
16/11/2006, 7:52 AM
Is it really needed to bash the San Marinese people? I for one greatly respect teams like San Marino (or Luxembourg, or Malta, ...). These people go for it every single game despite all the losses (and despite the fact they have to sacrifice their holidays for it and don't get paid) purely out of love for the game. Big respect to that. I highly doubt the big players of this planet would even bother if they didn't get paid. Seriously, to me teams like San Marino are much more respectful than the majority of professional teams who turned sports into business. OK, they were weak, but that's no reason to ridiculise them.

And before the game most people I spoke with were hoping for something like 5-0 or 6-0. Mission accomplished, no? Although the second half was bad indeed, mission accomplished. With Germany and Czech Rep dropping points, Ireland even had a very good night.

McGeady10
16/11/2006, 7:58 AM
Decent result but why not try and entertain the public and play with a team with a lot of flair in it.

McGeady should have started and we should have went for this mobs throat and tried to get double figures.

desaintsno.12
16/11/2006, 8:13 AM
o'shea is the worst player i have ever watched in the green . really annoys me that he's getting away with it.he's a fraud :mad:

16/11/2006, 8:44 AM
Is it really needed to bash the San Marinese people?
Who bashed the San Marinese people? :confused: Obviously you're biased towards countries like this but I think you're going a bit too far with that post. :)

Anyway, they're getting free holidays every couple of months. Who'd turn that down? :)

16/11/2006, 9:49 AM
Overall, job done. As Reid said after the game, you can't really win these games, if you get 5, the fans want 6. You get 6, they want 7, etc.
Why was O'Shea left on the pitch? Surely this was a good time to give Kelly a run? Finnan was good at left full, but I think this was because he was given the time to transfer the ball to his preferred right foot, against a higher class of opposition he wouldn't be given the same time.
Dunne and McShane played well together and will probably be the centre half pairing of choice for the next few games, you'd have to imagine McCarthy is ahead of O'Brien now - he wasn't even on the bench.
Duff was ok on the right, anonymous in the centre when moved there when McGeady came on and did well on the left when Kilbane went off. Badly needs a goal though.
Carsley did what was expected of him, mopped up and let Reid get about the job of making passes. possibly should have been left on to finish the game, but no harm in giving Douglas a run.
Similar to Finnan, Reid won't be given this amount of time against better opposition but against teams like this he shows what he can do - pick passes and create chances.
Kilbane was decent in the first half (2 assists) but woeful in the second when his control (or lack thereof) let him down on more than one occasion. Should have been taken off far earlier, and for McGeady, not Lee.
Keane notched his first hat trick at international level and possibly could have had 2 more, hard to criticise that really isn't it??
Doyle should never have been taken off, was full of movement, looking to make space and drag defenders with him. Took his first international goal well and could well turn out to be a decent target man.
McGeady should have come on waay earlier, drove at the San Marino defence in a way Duff never really did from the right.
Lee possibly should have come on earlier in the second half - did we really need 3 at the back - and give the midfielders a recognised target man to aim at.

Usual assortment of pics here: http://picasaweb.google.com/tetsujin1979/IrelandSanMarino/
Nice one of Reid's free kick and Keane's goal

dr_peepee
16/11/2006, 10:16 AM
Hard to assess really, given the opposition. Some times the opposition drag you down a level or two.

Thought Finnan played some lovely passes inside, although with his right foot. I'd only play him at left full again if Duff was in front of him.

Lovely header from Doyle.

McGeady impressed. I also though Kilbane should have been sacrificed here.

Reid done O.K. Don't think him and Carsley would do well against a better side. I'd play him on the right in front of Carr for the next big game.

Lee really should have squared it with his first touch. Strikers are supposed to be selfish I know but that was shockin.

Conclusions though are that O'Shea and Kilbane, subject to availibility, shouldn't start against Wales.

Wouldn't read too much into the comparitive scores. All minows are notorious for ridiculous hammerings early on, only to "Tighten Up" as the group progresses. Really think the like of San Marino, Faroes, Andorra etc should be in their own "Preliminary" group of some sort. As all the bottom seeds are also kept appart the never really get to compete at a relative level. Just a side thought

16/11/2006, 10:22 AM
I only had South toouchline seats so it's impossible to asess the game too well from there but a lot of the passing looked sloppy from where I was sitting. There's still room for a lot of improvement. That said, we scored 5 goals and another round against San Marino can give us more time to build up a degree of confidence and get our act together.

Sideline
16/11/2006, 10:48 AM
I cant complain too much a few goals and players seem to have a bit of discipline about them.

Given. I thought there wasnt much need of him coming back so soon. Need to blood other keepers as much as we can
O Shea.Got a chance on the right side... ye know the rest..
Finnan. Looked the part and played in some good ball
Dunne.Great presence in the centre went through a few players at the start they didnt want to know again.
McShane. Still need to see more. Good confidence driving on for the penalty.
Duff. Worked hard had the defender tormented done ok
Kilbane.Ok first half but should have been replaced in the second.
Carsley. Its a pity hes the best we have there at the minute. One bad game and the negative boys here will be on his back.
Reid. My man of the match.Always available and thrived on getting so much room.Why did they not put somone on him?
Keane. hat trick so cant criticise to much.Crowded out at times.
Doyle. Took his goal well and should have stayed on if not injured. Needs to get as much time on the pitch as possible.
Mcgeady. Excellent and a good man to have on the bench to liven things up.Looks a promising player and hopefully will be established at the end of this campaign.
Douglas. Slow getting into the box, game seemed to pass him by.
Lee. probably me but I cant see what he brings to the team. I cant recall anything out of the ordinary he has done for us.

San Marino packed the box making it difficult for us to pick out players but I thought our mid fielders were slow getting into the box onto the end of crosses. Players coming from deep are harder picked up.
I expected 3 0 so I came away happy enough.

citizenerased
16/11/2006, 10:55 AM
poor unconvincing performance....half hearted...They showed little urgency, and were very un imaginative and uninspiring up front...How many foockin times did they pass the ball from wing to wing just outside the box, both afraid to shoot or lob a ball in, only to end up in o'shea or kilbane giving the ball away....Players of san marinos standard take longer to control a ball, this should have been exploited better if there was more closing down,,

They will struggle to score goals against wales, and slovakia in croker

16/11/2006, 1:22 PM
IDuff. Worked hard had the defender tormented done ok

That sums it up for me. Depressing considering the hopes we had for the player Duffer would grow into.

Gerrit
17/11/2006, 10:06 PM
Who bashed the San Marinese people? :confused: Obviously you're biased towards countries like this but I think you're going a bit too far with that post. :)

Anyway, they're getting free holidays every couple of months. Who'd turn that down?

They need to take time off at work and don't get paid, so they sacrifice their holidays for it. Some of these minnows even don't pay all travel costs. These teams show great enthousiasm despite the many losses and do it purely out of love for the game. I do respect teams like San Marino a lot and prefer them over most big teams yes, but on many forums and occasions people ridiculize them. As one heavily sympathising with the likes of Luxembourg, Faroe Islands and San Marino, I can't let that happening without defending them ;)

Anyway, Ireland did what they had to do and didn't pick up any suspensions or injuries along the way. Job done, so why complaining?

Soko
18/11/2006, 1:14 AM
They need to take time off at work and don't get paid, so they sacrifice their holidays for it. Some of these minnows even don't pay all travel costs. These teams show great enthousiasm despite the many losses and do it purely out of love for the game. I do respect teams like San Marino a lot and prefer them over most big teams yes, but on many forums and occasions people ridiculize them. As one heavily sympathising with the likes of Luxembourg, Faroe Islands and San Marino, I can't let that happening without defending them ;)

Anyway, Ireland did what they had to do and didn't pick up any suspensions or injuries along the way. Job done, so why complaining?

Thats great but it doesn't hide the fact that they are brutal and not international class. I don't see any disrespect towards them, just people pointing out that they bring nothing to the table bar muck football. I wouldn't mind a chance myself to play in some of the best stadiums and against the best players in Europe. They had a grand old time of it any way Wednesday after the game.

cavan_fan
18/11/2006, 9:06 AM
I wouldn't mind a chance myself to play in some of the best stadiums and against the best players in Europe.

sometimes youd have to play at Landsdowne though

Gerrit
18/11/2006, 5:58 PM
Thats great but it doesn't hide the fact that they are brutal and not international class. I don't see any disrespect towards them, just people pointing out that they bring nothing to the table bar muck football. I wouldn't mind a chance myself to play in some of the best stadiums and against the best players in Europe. They had a grand old time of it any way Wednesday after the game.

Sure, they're no international class. There's nothing wrong in admitting that. But I hate it when people ridiculise/insult teams like that, while those players show as much dedication and love for the game as any professional player.

Fergie's Son
18/11/2006, 7:26 PM
I'm getting real tired of seeing Finnan played out of position.

O'Shea should be dropped as should Kilbane.

I agree that we need to see more of McShane. Anyone follow him for WBA?

Team for Wales should be (assuming all fit):

Given

Finnan Dunne McShane Kelly

McGeady Carlsley Reid Duff

Keane Doyle

We need to win and win big at home.

19/11/2006, 1:22 AM
I'm getting real tired of seeing Finnan played out of position.
Finnan Dunne McShane Kelly

You don't want to see Finnan played out of position, but you would play Stephen Kelly, who has far less experience at left full not to mention international football, out of position?

Fergie's Son
19/11/2006, 1:48 AM
You don't want to see Finnan played out of position, but you would play Stephen Kelly, who has far less experience at left full not to mention international football, out of position?

I thought Kelly played on the left?

I'd actually put Harte on the left ahead of O'Shea or Finnan being played out of position.

citizenerased
19/11/2006, 2:48 PM
I agree i am sick of finnan being put on the left, but i would rather finnan play out of position on the left than kelly play out of position on the left!! anyone know whats the craic with joey o'brien, is he still injured or what,,,he had a class debut against sweden

Irish_Praha
19/11/2006, 6:21 PM
anyone know whats the craic with joey o'brien, is he still injured or what,,,he had a class debut against sweden

Latest news on him here:
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=25340