View Full Version : Rumours
16/11/2006, 11:31 AM
We should pay you for taking him.
mr.untitled
16/11/2006, 11:38 AM
Galway United (if we get promoted):
In: David Forde (Derry), Faz Kuduzovic & Adam Hughes (Sligo), Mark Leech & Simon Webb (Drogheda)
Out: Derek O'Brien (back to Sligo) Alan Gough (retired) Alan Murphy (Longford, so they'll have 2)
Cant see Webb leaving us.....no way
JC_GUFC
16/11/2006, 12:09 PM
Don't forget where our manager came from and where Webb himself is from...
mr.untitled
16/11/2006, 12:19 PM
all well and good but i just cant see that hapening, pure speculation
sher isnt Ndo definately coming to us, too early for silly season!
16/11/2006, 1:16 PM
Alan Murphy (Longford, so they'll have 2)
**** take?:confused:
GuisaSaigon
16/11/2006, 1:31 PM
Alan Murphy to Mayo League, if admitted to delaneyship tier 2
pól-dcfc
16/11/2006, 1:37 PM
Has he played badly this year? Great player for us. Was dissappointed to see him go last season.
Drogheda
In: Jason Byrne,Joe Ndo
Out:not sure......i would like to see Keddy,Grant and Sullivan boys go.Havent played many games and are eating away at the wages at the club.
Has he played badly this year? Great player for us. Was dissappointed to see him go last season.
Doesnt even get on the bench nowadays
pól-dcfc
16/11/2006, 3:13 PM
Total shame. Hope he can find his form and a new club.
GuisaSaigon
16/11/2006, 3:51 PM
Yeah I dont know why he has been so bad, he doesnt seem interested. Could be an attitude problem.I reckon he thinks he's better than everyone so he doesnt have to pass the ball.He definitely wont be going to any team in the Delaneyship tier 1 they would have to be mad to sign him.
I hope he can sort himself out because he was one of the most exciting players in the league a few years ago.
Alan Murphy does not make the Bench at Galway Jesus no offense but he has fallen a long way from grace he was a fine player in his younger days. By the way i heard one eplayer that Bohs had talks with today and i amazed that they are moving for this player and i would seriously doubt that many of them would have heard of him, he could turn out to be very good but it is a risk.
Spill the beans....
16/11/2006, 9:31 PM
Why would he want to go see his wife if she is newly wed?? Are they Mormons?Is that a joke?:confused: :rolleyes:
In: Faz Kuduzovic & Adam Hughes (Sligo)
Out: Derek O'Brien (back to Sligo)O'Brien? hahaha:D. As for Faz, ye can have him!!
16/11/2006, 10:40 PM
Derek is a legend and as sound a guy you'll meet.He's a friend and gives it 100% for UTD.He says going to Sligo was the biggest mistake he ever made especially with him been so passionate about Galway.aI know the Sligo lads don't like him but he is a top lad.
Murphy won't join any other club IMO.He's too good of a job in Galway which was got by GUFC.At the moment he has a poor attitude and himself and Cousins don't see eye to eye but hopefully that can be sorted cause on his day he's the best player we have(maybe Raf).
From what i've heard and think.
IN- David Forde,Colin Hawkins,Conor Gethins,Bobby Ryan,Adam Hughes.Have also heard one or two other big names but won't be saying them.Cousins has a list of 6-8 players to be signed should we be promoted.
OUT-Ronan Frawley(Athlone) Alan Murphy(unattached) Dave Golbey(mervue UTD) Ryan O Donnell ,Alan Gough,Barry Moran.
Mixie Harty will definitely not be joining Athlone.
16/11/2006, 10:46 PM
Derek is a legend and as sound a guy you'll meet.He's a friend and gives it 100% for UTD.He says going to Sligo was the biggest mistake he ever made especially with him been so passionate about Galway.aI know the Sligo lads don't like him but he is a top lad.And us signing the guy was one of our biggest mistakes. We're not likely to repeat that again, unlike ye did;).
He may be a sound guy, in your opinion, but it's good performances on the pitch that's needed from a football player and he rarely, if ever, gave them.
16/11/2006, 10:49 PM
And us signing the guy was one of our biggest mistakes. We're not likely to repeat that again, unlike ye did;).
He may be a sound guy, in your opinion, but it's good performances on the pitch that's needed from a football player and he rarely, if ever, gave them.
He's improved alot though seriously.Many UTD fans often criticised but he's come on leaps and bounds this season and chipped in with some vital goals.In fact he scored the winner against Rovers and Cobh recently.
He is also the best player i've ever seen at winning penalties.:)
16/11/2006, 10:51 PM
He is also the best player i've ever seen at winning penalties.:)Are you saying he's great at diving or just that refs feel sorry for him when he falls?:confused: :D.
16/11/2006, 10:55 PM
Are you saying he's great at diving or just that refs feel sorry for him when he falls?:confused: :D.
I wouldn't call it diving really.He's very quick and good at the oul shimmies so players often commit and Derek goes down when he's fouled. therefore Penalty.;)
Redzer
17/11/2006, 9:45 AM
From what i've heard and think.
IN- David Forde,Colin Hawkins,Conor Gethins,Bobby Ryan,Adam Hughes.Have also heard one or two other big names but won't be saying them.Cousins has a list of 6-8 players to be signed should we be promoted.
I know ye have been saying since the new league was announced, that Galway are as much as guaranteed a top spot.
I dont want to sound negative towards ye, but as it stands I can not see Galway making the grade.
If ye make the play offs and defeat Waterford, you may have some chance. I hope I'm wrong, cos I would love to see both our clubs in the top tier.
At the moment, we would probably just about scrape in.
17/11/2006, 10:35 AM
I know ye have been saying since the new league was announced, that Galway are as much as guaranteed a top spot.
I dont want to sound negative towards ye, but as it stands I can not see Galway making the grade.
If ye make the play offs and defeat Waterford, you may have some chance. I hope I'm wrong, cos I would love to see both our clubs in the top tier.
At the moment, we would probably just about scrape in.
No Sligo will definitely be in it.IMO if we get to the playoff's we'll be in it.3rd and i dount it.But nobody really knows i suppose.Also we are far from confident of a place in the Elite...believe me.
18/11/2006, 2:15 PM
there are very strong rumours that kirbs(Alan kirby) is definitely leaving us to go to Bohs. these rumours were flyin around the flansiro faithful last night. It is well known that he is out of contract.
KIrbs if you are readin this please DONT GO!
kirbs will tear u apart again!:eek:
there are very strong rumours that kirbs(Alan kirby) is definitely leaving us to go to Bohs.
Heard a rumour he's going to pats. Wouldn't be ecstatic with that...
18/11/2006, 5:45 PM
Heard a rumour he's going to pats. Wouldn't be ecstatic with that...
Heard both Pats and Bohs mentioned in rumours alright. A former Town player has been making regular phone calls to him seemingly. Doubt he will be with us next year to be honest, he's already our most expensive player apparently and I can't see us stretching to an increased contract. Very talented player on his day but he can go missing too, especially if the game turns physical
19/11/2006, 10:40 AM
What's Alan Matthews future at Longford looking like?
Soper
21/11/2006, 12:07 PM
I overheard, at the Cardiff match last Friday, a few people saying Thomas Butler was leaving Swansea for 'some team in Eyeland that has loads of money'.I however doubt this.Anyone else heard this?
21/11/2006, 3:06 PM
Just heard on RTÉ radio that Roy O'Donovan was wanted by a host of English clubs.
Back of the Echo say City refused to let Wolves speak to him
21/11/2006, 4:12 PM
Back of the Echo say City refused to let Wolves speak to him
Why is that? He'll leave for free in a couple of seasons.
Irish Fan
23/11/2006, 8:30 AM
Ive herd Glen Fitzpatrick is out of contract and has been released. Can any Drogs fans confirm this?
24/11/2006, 10:33 AM
Derek Swan been looked at Drogheda U-21 or move to Kilkenny City from what I hear.
lofty9
24/11/2006, 11:02 AM
Rumours:
Derry out:
Delaney: Bohs
Brennan: Drogheda are interested
Higgins: Bohs/ Cork;) (hasn't signed a deal that's been offered nearly a year ago)
Jennings: wants to leave
O'Flynn: Hasn't been offered a new contract as yet
Derry In:
A new manager.
24/11/2006, 11:06 AM
Rumours:
Derry out:
Jennings: wants to leave.
wont mind him coming to The Showgrounds....as back of for Dick Brush of course:)
mr.untitled
24/11/2006, 1:48 PM
Don't forget where our manager came from and where Webb himself is from...
Webb is assisting Ristilla coaching the u21s next season
Celdrog
25/11/2006, 6:46 PM
Ive herd Glen Fitzpatrick is out of contract and has been released. Can any Drogs fans confirm this?
Don't think so. We released Charlie Treacy and Derek Tyrrell the other day but no mention of Fitzpatrick. He played well in the last few games of the season so I'd be surprised if he was let go.
26/11/2006, 2:37 PM
our club does not exist for the sake of existing
Philly
26/11/2006, 3:14 PM
our club does not exist for the sake of existing
UCD fans just seem to have trouble with the concept of not selling off your best players and instead building a strong successful team.
They wanted to take him on trial....training. Rico and BL thought that was an insult to Roy. Rico said Roy is a soecial talent and if is going nowhere. If people want him they can put in a bid or wait until he is free to speak to others.
His contract is up at the end of 2007 afaik.
Right decision IMO. Roy is gonna be huge for us next season. Id prefer to keep him and win the league than seel him for the sake of it.
Of course if a really good offer came in it'd change thing.
It howed the typical condescending attitude of english clubs. Ah sure wel do him a favour and take him on trial for a while. Screw that, our players are better than that
Mental Man
26/11/2006, 4:57 PM
Gareth Cronin was on local radio today and said that he has 10 premiere players already ear-marked for the 2007 season and 3 has already signed, the club has money now to spend for next year and said that the Blues will be very strong next year and going for a least a mid-table finish and a good run in the cups.
I have the names of 3 already but i will post them up when everything is confirmed locally here, cheers.
26/11/2006, 5:05 PM
Gareth Cronin was on local radio today and said that he has 10 premiere players already ear-marked for the 2007 season and 3 has already signed, the club has money now to spend for next year and said that the Blues will be very strong next year and going for a least a mid-table finish and a good run in the cups.
I have the names of 3 already but i will post them up when everything is confirmed locally here, cheers.
bloody proof. WUFC had no intention of competing this year. tbh they were more of a disgrace to the league than dublin city - at least rocky seery bloody tried.
They wanted to take him on trial....training. Rico and BL thought that was an insult to Roy. Rico said Roy is a soecial talent and if is going nowhere. If people want him they can put in a bid or wait until he is free to speak to others...........It showed the typical condescending attitude of english clubs. Ah sure wel do him a favour and take him on trial for a while. Screw that, our players are better than that
Absolutely. Cork were dead right. It's about time clubs and players here got wise, and showed some self respect. English clubs have plenty of opportunity to see player in competitive games for their clubs, in O'Donovans case they could also see him playing international football.
soccerc
26/11/2006, 6:52 PM
Sean Francis, former Rovers and Longford striker is on his way to Waterford United as assistant manager to Gareth Cronin.
26/11/2006, 6:59 PM
UCD fans just seem to have trouble with the concept of not selling off your best players and instead building a strong successful team.
What a stupid comment. If your player is out of contract and wants to leave, you can't stop him. If you can get a good bit of money to plough back into the team, then him leaving isn't carrying the team back. And when you have a replacement ready in waiting, it's hardly harming the squad either.
What part of this is causing you confusion?
What a stupid comment. If your player is out of contract and wants to leave, you can't stop him. If you can get a good bit of money to plough back into the team, then him leaving isn't carrying the team back. And when you have a replacement ready in waiting, it's hardly harming the squad either.
What part of this is causing you confusion?
Well firstly the player we were talking about isnt out of contract, him leaving when we've lost so many players already will be detremental and we have no replacement so it would hugely harm the squad.
Philly
26/11/2006, 8:01 PM
Well firstly the player we were talking about isnt out of contract, him leaving when we've lost so many players already will be detremental and we have no replacement so it would hugely harm the squad.
Ditto. He is already signed up until next season and is a class player - why sell him unless a proper, unrejectable bid is put in? Letting your most talented player go to England to train for a few weeks isn't all that great a prospect yaknow. Nice to see Cork reject this, erm, "bid"...
Flawless
26/11/2006, 8:24 PM
Just reading over this, how many Teams Can Philly Hughes Be signing for?
So Far its: Bohs, Rovers, Waterford, Pats, Shels, Drogheda(No Chance at al),and hes also supposedly staying with Dundalk if they go up?
Doubt he would play for Drogs if he Leaves, he really does love Dundalk, From what ive heard, Bohs is the Most Likely Destination.
Dundalk
In: Crawley(Shels), Whelehan(ex-Dub City), Perth(Rovers), Ronaldinho(Barcelona-**** thats not supposed to be getting out!)
Out: Philly Hughes(Take Your Pick, nah Bohs!), Cathal O'Connor, Shane Grimes, Séamus McCabe, Derek Griffin, and a few more!
26/11/2006, 9:31 PM
Darren Quigley to West Ham.
27/11/2006, 8:54 AM
Philly Hughes just loves himself not any club. His loyalty to teams is evident in his journeymanship.
27/11/2006, 12:54 PM
Roy O'Donovan? That's fair enough. But Philly's comment was about UCD fans being happy to sell our best players, referring to Gary Dicker and Pat Kavanagh - a thread he started earlier. That's what I was referring to.
Philly
27/11/2006, 2:07 PM
Roy O'Donovan? That's fair enough. But Philly's comment was about UCD fans being happy to sell our best players, referring to Gary Dicker and Pat Kavanagh - a thread he started earlier. That's what I was referring to.
No it wasn't. It was about a UCD fans being bemused at why Cork would not want to let go of their finest asset.
The thread I started re. the two UCD players was about the eL in general, not specifically focused on UCD, as I pointed out in the thread.
However, it is my opinion that UCD are a "selling club" and I have yet to hear of them actually fight to keep their good players by offering them a contract or looking for a better fee. I know the two players mentioned were out of contract. Its a problem with the league in general.
27/11/2006, 5:23 PM
Touché. I see the post you're referring to now. My apologies.
However, your comments about UCD continued to be utterly ill-informed. The three (now) players on trial at English clubs have been offered new contracts. We've offered what we can, and if they get better elsewhere, there's nothing we can do. UCD cannot compete with clubs from the English Second, First and Premier divisions - end of story.
We're one of the few clubs who live in a land of financial reality. the players concerned are all out of contract, so transfer fees, if any, will be decided by arbitration. We've stood up to other clubs - notably Shels and Drogheda - with regards transfer fees before and won, so I don't know where you get your idea that we don't look for "better" fees. And I don't see it as a problem with the league in general. Most clubs around the world are selling clubs. In A Season With Verona, for example, we see a team who can only compete in Serie A by recouping £8m from selling players every year. We're showing that your career can progress either by coming back home to Ireland for a while or by staying in Ireland in the first place. By doing so, we're going to be able to attract better calibre players in the future.
Keeping your best players every single time is a nice idea, but it doesn't work in the real world.