View Full Version : Ireland B v Scotland B
15/11/2006, 10:12 AM
Not sure how Foley got man of the match though.
For me, that was Joe Gamble.
Report on the radio last night gave it to Gamble; "one of the few brightspots"
15/11/2006, 10:21 AM
Bloody hell would you calm down man - I'm giving my honest opinion on the game which has nothing to do with whether a player played for the Eircom League or not (funny you didn't notice that I said that Gamble did alright)...
It's all too easy to knock players that play in Ireland but your claim isn't backed up by any fact, since O'Donovan was as active as any forward who featured in the game. I hope you don't mind if I ignore your opinion in future.
Oh yeah just because a player play in England they are a mercenary???? Tell that to McCarthy, Foley, Stokes, Keogh and the rest....Get off yer bloody high-horse will ye...
Only the ones that chase the Ruple. (I can spell that out for you if needs be)
15/11/2006, 10:25 AM
Didn't see it but listened to first half on Radio Scotland. They said Alan O'Brien was the best player by a mile! Que cynical response ''does Devlin have mates in BBC radio Scotland?'' :)
Press reports say O'Donovan did well to get into good positions but snatched at his chances. McCarthy was good by all accounts.
Dr. Ogba
15/11/2006, 10:26 AM
It's all too easy to knock players that play in Ireland but your claim isn't backed up by any fact, since O'Donovan was as active as any forward who featured in the game. I hope you don't mind if I ignore your opinion in future.
gutted...
15/11/2006, 10:30 AM
The crowd was poor ok. I reckon about 3,000. It was badly advertised. They obviously didn't trust anybody to take cash at the stiles. A lot of people saw the queue at 7.15 and headed home. Their was only 4 people in the caravan selling tickets. Like I said earlier, the tickets arrived 40 minutes late, people who came along on their way home from work, hung around for a few minutes and then decided to go home.
livehead1
15/11/2006, 10:58 AM
Staunton, McGeady, Morrisson, Duff, O'Shea, Miller, Elliott, Henderson made the effort to attend the game.
I've said it before, but I really think Morrisson's attitute is refreshing. Yes, I don't think we were the first choices of who he wanted to play for but ever since he has pulled on that green shirt he has given more than most, this is just another small sign of it.
15/11/2006, 11:31 AM
Ah Clint is a good auld soul. He always wants to score when takes to the pitch for Ireland and seems to enjoy his football.
15/11/2006, 1:10 PM
One thing I noticed last night. There were a few Rangers chaps involved but I didn't hear any "booing" from the crowd. Is that carry on exclusive to Lansdowne?
Probably happens a little at Celtic park and Easter Road. Maybe Pittodrie and Tannadice too.
dr_peepee
15/11/2006, 2:08 PM
I've said it before, but I really think Morrisson's attitute is refreshing. Yes, I don't think we were the first choices of who he wanted to play for but ever since he has pulled on that green shirt he has given more than most, this is just another small sign of it.
Coming overe here, watching our matches.:mad:
15/11/2006, 2:10 PM
There was booing of Boyd by a about 20 lads behind me. They were just sitting near the Burdocks chipper van. OF course they did not boo Charlie Adam.
I thought the game was rubbish, very poor crowd and very little invention by either side. The lack of a final ball by both teams was the one thing that struck me about the game, hence the lack of chances. Although Stokes did create a sitter for Keogh.
Mc Carthy looked very comfortable and def worth a call up to the senior side as he is a lot slimmer than last time I saw him also. O Brien is all pace and does not offer much else. I thought Hunt was much better when he came on. Stokes looked very lively for someone who played the night before and his touches were that bit above the rest on show. Mc Phail was dissappointing for someone of his calibre. The two full backs for us were steady but not spectacular. Gamble was def in the running for man of the match in my view but to be honest it was mostly 6s all round if you were marking players out of ten
All the changes in the second disrupted the flow of the game but I was impressed by the guy from Arsenal who came on at centre back. Looked like he had lots of pace and composure on the ball.
Atmosphere in Doyles before and after the game was great craic. Very little singing from the Irish at the game and the Scots showed us up in that regard.
15/11/2006, 2:27 PM
From the Indo:
"While the Scottish support was boisterous enough, there was little for the home supporters to cheer about aside from the handful of morons who decided to boo every touch from Rangers forward Kris Boyd. They lacked the football knowledge to twig that left full Steven Smith also plays for the Glasgow giants."
I think it goes to show that you can't actually class these people as Celtic fans. If they had any clue about Scottish football they'd have also booed when Smith got replaced by his Rangers teammate, Charlie Adam.
15/11/2006, 2:35 PM
Sound doesn't travel well up the Jodie. It appears that these guys were in the blocks F/G.
As for atmosphere, the biggest cheer of the night from the Irish, was of the ironic kind and came in response to the brief celebrations from the Scots, when they thought they'd scored. They had infact, hit the side netting. Fair play to them for making the effort to travel over and support their side.
15/11/2006, 2:42 PM
I like the idea of the B game but a Tuesday night, the night before an A game was a disaster. I definitely am not in the position of going to games on successive nights in Dublin, thats a no go and I'm sure there people like me. That probably had an effect on the crowd size, also making it all-ticket, which, unless instructed to do so by UEFA, was a stupid thing to do. Was there ever going to be the demand that would necessitate the need for tickets. Plus the fact that the actual tickets arrived late and people turned away as aresult compounds the issue.
15/11/2006, 2:42 PM
I heard some booing in the first half when a Scottish striker was making a run forward. I assume it was Boyd. I was in Block A and only heard it once.
15/11/2006, 2:45 PM
I think it goes to show that you can't actually class these people as Celtic fans.
I think it goes to show that you can't class them as fans never mind Celtic fans.
15/11/2006, 3:20 PM
I was right beside them and they were just about 20 lads of the baseball cap wearing variety. About 70 of the Scottish support were members of the Dublin Tartan Army.
endabob1
15/11/2006, 3:32 PM
3,000 is a Pi$$ poor crowd, I was at a 1st round cup game here at the weekend between a Conference North Side and a league 2 side and there was more people at it than that!
15/11/2006, 3:38 PM
Yeah I dont understand why most of the people who are going tonight and who are living in Dublin did not go last night.
15/11/2006, 3:46 PM
I wish I didn't bother going last night, waste of 90 minutes.
Ratings from last night:
Randolh 7/10, Not too troubled but confident in everything he had to do.
Foley 7/10 Also confident, bit surprised he MOTM
McCarthy 7/10 Few dodgy moments but got better as game went on.
Bruce 5/10. Did not impress. Got away with blatant penalty when tugged forwards jersey.
Emanual 5/10 Unfit, poor decisions, not good enough.
O'Brien 5.5/10 Tried, lots of effort but too inexperienced & final ball poor.
McPhail 4/10 Did very little. expected him to control midfield.
Gibson 5/10 Did nothing of note.
Gamble 7/10 Playing out of usual central role but got forward with purpose & tidied up many loose balls.
O'Donovan 6.5/10 Made a couple of opportunities out of little, probbaly should have scored with 1 but at least forced keeper to make saves.
Keogh 7/10 Good first half but faded badly in 2nd. Should have been subbed 15 mins earlier.
Subs on long enough to rate.
Hunt 7.5/10 Busy & made good choices. Showed experience of higher level football.
Stokes 6.5/10 Hard to judge him as played 90 minutes night before. Some of his decisions were poor.
Potter 4.5/10 Did nothing much. Gave ball away.
Billsthoughts
15/11/2006, 3:58 PM
Yeah I dont understand why most of the people who are going tonight and who are living in Dublin did not go last night.
playing football myself and am sure its the same for a lot of people who would have training on a tuesday nite. even leaving that aside who cares too much about a b game?
15/11/2006, 4:01 PM
About 3,000 people is the answer to that question which sadly is not that much.
endabob1
15/11/2006, 4:14 PM
I think it's a shame so few came along because it shold be a valuable experience for the players and management but if there arae only 3,000 turning up how many games will they play taking costs into a/c?
adamcarr
15/11/2006, 4:54 PM
I think it's a shame so few came along because it shold be a valuable experience for the players and management but if there arae only 3,000 turning up how many games will they play taking costs into a/c?
If the game was at Turners Cross we'd bring out a minimum of 7000.
It only holds 5500 though :) next season it would be filled alright if there were city players in the team-dunno how it would fare without city players in it
soylent green
15/11/2006, 5:10 PM
Poor enough game and its a pity the crowd was relatively small.
Thanks to the thief who robbed my Tricolour from the Shopping Centre end. If anybody sees an SRFC tricolour on bebo or ebay they might let me know!
If anybody sees an SRFC tricolour on bebo or ebay they might let me know!
Given the history of eL flags have you checked with the Bohs casuals?
soylent green
16/11/2006, 10:59 AM
Given the history of eL flags have you checked with the Bohs casuals?
I could ring them on the emergency red phone!
Don't know who was to blame and I'm not pointing any fingers. The flag ain't much use to someone unless they are a SRFC Fan (might be a sligo or shannon rugby fan!).
Merc67
16/11/2006, 5:37 PM
From the Indo:
"While the Scottish support was boisterous enough, there was little for the home supporters to cheer about aside from the handful of morons who decided to boo every touch from Rangers forward Kris Boyd. They lacked the football knowledge to twig that left full Steven Smith also plays for the Glasgow giants."
I think it goes to show that you can't actually class these people as Celtic fans. If they had any clue about Scottish football they'd have also booed when Smith got replaced by his Rangers teammate, Charlie Adam.
i think that shows you the writer had a team sheet with numbers and the crowd didnt. the writer wouldnt knwo Steve Smith or Adam from ...eh...Adam:)
Boyd is a well known rangers striker, scotland striker while adam was on loan with st mirren all last season and smith is a kid. Should Celtic fans know every Rangers squad member?
or are you saying that if they booed all the rangers players they would be fine and dandy as that would illustrate they are season ticket holders?
can they not be armchair celts, who know Boyd and wanted to have a laugh!? its not exactly death threats now is it!
anyhow, thats from the indo..come on now....
16/11/2006, 6:42 PM
i think that shows you the writer had a team sheet with numbers and the crowd didnt. the writer wouldnt knwo Steve Smith or Adam from ...eh...Adam:)
Boyd is a well known rangers striker, scotland striker while adam was on loan with st mirren all last season and smith is a kid. Should Celtic fans know every Rangers squad member?
or are you saying that if they booed all the rangers players they would be fine and dandy as that would illustrate they are season ticket holders?
can they not be armchair celts, who know Boyd and wanted to have a laugh!? its not exactly death threats now is it!
anyhow, thats from the indo..come on now....
The booing of Rangers players at Ireland matches is frowned upon and I'm just saying these weren't actual Celtic fans booing. 50% of the Irish population would claim to be Celtic fans but I certainly wouldn't class the majority as so.
As for your other point, of course Celtic fans should know who Adam and Smith are. They're 2 of Rangers' better players this season. I'd find it strange if a Man U fan didn't know who, say, Micah Richards was. I only have a passing interest in the premiership and there isn't a player that is playing regularly for their club that I wouldn't know of. Surely a Celtic fan would know of a regular starter in the Rangers team?
17/11/2006, 5:22 PM
I was in Block C and never heard a thing. I was actually discussing the matter beforehand and commented near the end that it was great that there was no booing. Shame on the morons. There was hardly a peep out of anybody in the Jodi all night. It made Wednesday's crowd look passionate.
So....
Gamble should be in the next Ireland squad yes?
Obviously i am biased IMO B international proved top eL players the match & possibly better than their more illustrious UK based professionals. It surprising how some Championship players cannot control or pass ther ball.
Staunton is also calling up very average greatgranny qualified players just because they UK based.
Potter, Emanuel & Bruce would not make any top eL side yet they play for Championship teams. McPhail plasy for Championship leading team & was rubbish.
19/11/2006, 1:19 AM
Potter, Emanuel & Bruce would not make any top eL side yet they play for Championship teams. McPhail plasy for Championship leading team & was rubbish.
I actually thought Emanuel was decent, didn't look out of place.
Bruce was woeful and made McCarthy look worse because he had to cover for Bruce all the time.
From where I was sitting, I couldn't really see central midfield well, so I can't comment on Potter or McPhail
I thought Emanuel had poor technical ability & lacked pace.
Were you sitting outside the ground that you could not see the centre of the pitch? :D
20/11/2006, 9:26 AM
I thought Emanuel had poor technical ability & lacked pace.
Were you sitting outside the ground that you could not see the centre of the pitch? :D
no, I was fairly low down in the Jodi stand, next to the player's tunnel. Both teams had a few players in central midfield, and it was hard to pick anyone out, the lighting didn't help either.
republicofwhite
20/11/2006, 9:39 AM
Obviously i am biased IMO B international proved top eL players the match & possibly better than their more illustrious UK based professionals. It surprising how some Championship players cannot control or pass ther ball.
Staunton is also calling up very average greatgranny qualified players just because they UK based.
Would to have agree. Thought it was a joke that Random Punters like Frecklington and Emanuel and were playing and not the likes of Shane Long(only just turned 19 and starting as a striker against Arsenal in The Prem) and more Eircom Leaguesters. Gamble and O'Donovan showed their quality, and after the success of Doyloe and Long, it beggars belief that decent clubs haven't come in for the likes of them. Thought UCD's Gary Dicker should have been involved as well. He's quality. Surely Jason Gavin and Graham Gartland are streets ahead of Bruce, I heard he's useless. And he's Steve Bruce's son for God's sake! As Un-Irish as you can get! And regarding McPhail, Saw QPR-Cardiff the other night, and he was absolutely appalling. If Rowlands had been playing he would have played him off the park, hands down.
cavan_fan
20/11/2006, 10:19 AM
Would to have agree. Thought it was a joke that Random Punters like Frecklington and Emanuel and were playing and not the likes of Shane Long(only just turned 19 and starting as a striker against Arsenal in The Prem) and more Eircom Leaguesters.
Emanuel is a left back, (a position that is probably the weakest in our squad). Long is a forward.
I'm nto going to criticise Stan for trying to unearth some new players in a position of weakness
As I've asked before, who is the best LB in the eircom league? It's much more likely that they would get into the senior team than a forward where we have have strength in depth.
21/11/2006, 9:08 AM
You've a few decent full-backs in the league but I'm going to show shameless bias and tell you that with 15 goals conceded in 30 league games, Cork City FC have the best defence in the league. Our full-backs, Danny Murphy and Neal Horgan are ever present. Hoggy is good defensively but would only get forward as much as Finnan, which isn't enough at international level, in my opinion.
Danny Murphy plays at left-full and would wipe the floor with John O'Shea, in that position.
republicofwhite
21/11/2006, 4:17 PM
Not a Cork fan by any stretch of the imagination but do agree, their defenders are very underrated. Especially Murphy and Horgan. And Dan Murray as well. Harry Redknapp and Sam Allardyce came over to watch some hotshot beanpole Serbian Striker play against Cork in Europe, and went home disgusted because Murray(I think) absolutely played him off the park.
...and went home disgusted because Murray(I think) absolutely played him off the park.
I believe he was talking about Alan Bennet but the rest is correct.
I wonder how an eL squad would fare if run like the irish senior rugby squad i.e. taken away from clubs for training sessions at various stages of the season so almost play like club team so familiar with each others play...
republicofwhite
21/11/2006, 5:25 PM
Thanks for the correction. Had a feeling I'd mixed someone up... Must sharpen my Cork City knowledge