View Full Version : Arbitration Verdict - No Replay
14/11/2006, 12:12 PM
Do you really think motivation will be a problem? In a disastrous season, this is the only thing we have left to play for.
We have to be realistic that we have half a first team left, if that, and with no striker. But this is still a cup game. What could be sweeter than the oh-so-slim possibility of denying Shels the title?
I agree that the fans would love to see Shels miss-out on the title, but will the players really care that much ?? Most weren't originally Bohs fans themselves, Shels aren't a traditional 'rival' for them in the way Rovers are, and they'll be knackered and demoralised at the end of a difficult season, so may well just go through the motions.
The one positive might be if they knew Connors was your new manager and was there for the game, as they might look to make an early bid to impress him in that situation. But fans and players have different motivations a lot of the time.
ffs man
he was just making it up as went along - one submission from john '12 more years' delaney
BohsFans
14/11/2006, 12:19 PM
I agree that the fans would love to see Shels miss-out on the title, but will the players really care that much ?? Most weren't originally Bohs fans themselves, Shels aren't a traditional 'rival' for them in the way Rovers are, and they'll be knackered and demoralised at the end of a difficult season, so may well just go through the motions.
The one positive might be if they knew Connors was your new manager and was there for the game, as they might look to make an early bid to impress him in that situation. But fans and players have different motivations a lot of the time.
Not enough of our players hate $hels to deny them of the league!
Hunty and Caffo definitely do, but the rest; Ferguson, O'Brien, O'Reilly, Powell, Joxer, Dunphy etc don't care enough to treat this game differently than any other.:(
14/11/2006, 12:22 PM
shels lost a league title to Dundalk (already relegated) - and went into the game on greater goal difference than today
ive no doubt bohs could beat shels if tehy tried
If Derry beat Cork (It's at the Randywell, isn't it ? Corks record not good there) Bohs won't even have to beat shels, a draw will do. Come on Bohs, you can do it, give us all a laugh. Derry for the league, Pats for the Cup :D
chippie0001
14/11/2006, 12:40 PM
Look we are not good enough to beat/draw with Shels but nor were we food enough to draw with Derry in the Brandywell and we managed that a few weeks back. Our fans have no expectations for this game other than to laugh at Shels while its level. After that who knows, its football thats why we all go to the games.
I've read reports that your fans will boycott Tolka and watch the match in the bar in Dalyer instead?
Looks already like Bohs fans have been boycotting Dalymount all season. :eek:
BTW Roy O'Donovan played centre forward last year & earlier this year but didn't do that well. Its now standard CCFC coaching that we play our full centre forwards on the wing for a season. :cool:
floatinghoop
14/11/2006, 12:57 PM
On a positive note, thanks to Shels who are letting the lads from my boys' football club into the game for free. There are only a few of the kids who show up to training in Irish jerseys, if it is a good game maybe there will be some converts. I'm looking forward to the evening as a neutral myself.
chippie0001
14/11/2006, 12:59 PM
Looks already like Bohs fans have been boycotting Dalymount all season. :eek:
BTW Roy O'Donovan played centre forward last year & earlier this year but didn't do that well. Its now standard CCFC coaching that we play our full centre forwards on the wing for a season. :cool:
Actually just looking at the attendance thread and I think we have the highest average attendance for the Dublin teams. Not too bad considering how bad we are :eek: Says a lot for other teams, although I am sure on the final figures we may slip behind Shels given they have a big home game on Friday.
Vitruvian Man
14/11/2006, 1:10 PM
Not to mention that Cork fans are staying away from the Cross in their droves too. And Cork are doing a whole lot better than Bohs are.
14/11/2006, 1:10 PM
I think Bohs will be up for this match. They're playing the campions electish and have a chance to upset the apple cart on the last day I don't think it matters if it was shels or derry or whoever we were playing in that situation they'd love to have a say in the destination of the title. Plus shels have given the players enough reason to hate them over the last few weeks anyway
BohsFans
14/11/2006, 1:21 PM
I think Bohs will be up for this match. They're playing the campions electish and have a chance to upset the apple cart on the last day I don't think it matters if it was shels or derry or whoever we were playing in that situation they'd love to have a say in the destination of the title. Plus shels have given the players enough reason to hate them over the last few weeks anyway
Why do you think this?
I'll quote someone from our mb:
Lads, forget about it. These ****s have let us down time and time again this season. Why would this game be more important to them than beating Rovers in the cup or Shels in the League Cup?? If they couldn't raise their games when the result actually ****in' mattered to Bohs, why do people suddenly expect them to pretend to give a **** now??
We have the worst back 5 in living memory, a midfield barely going through the motions and no strikers. Why does anyone have even the slightest hint of confidence in these shower of dicks??
The Sheliban
14/11/2006, 5:21 PM
A victory for commnn sense and, more importantly, the rule book ! A defeat for incompetence, making rules up, and bullying your way in football.
Unfortunately I don't think it'll make any difference to the destination of the title, but at least a decent decision has been made for a change. Makes Friday all the more exciting for everyone as well.
Have you been following this saga at all? How is it a victory for the rulebook, when this whole mess was caused by there being no specific penalty in the rulebook for fielding players while suspended? Deducting three points is every bit as much "making rules up" as having the game replayed.
Incidentally, this rubbish Bohs team is the same one that beat us 2-1 earlier in the season? Our recent form is none too clever and I can see Bohs doing to us what they did to Derry in the Brandywell.
14/11/2006, 5:26 PM
Have you been following this saga at all? How is it a victory for the rulebook, when this whole mess was caused by there being no specific penalty in the rulebook for fielding players while suspended? Deducting three points is every bit as much "making rules up" as having the game replayed.
I'll re-phrase what Steve says, its a victory for the rulebook all the clubs signed up to, not a notional rulebook Ollie decided he would like to have when a particular set of circumstances went against him.
Anyway, you've two more potential legal cases up your sleeves in case things get hairy on Friday night.
15/11/2006, 12:40 PM
Have I got this wrong ? Is the penalty in the rulebook for fielding a suspended player not that the offending club gets deducted 3 points ? And is that not also the precedent established for similar cases ? Thats what I've gleaned from following the saga.
BohsFans
15/11/2006, 5:54 PM
The full text from the Arbitration:
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1437
Dr.Nightdub
15/11/2006, 6:44 PM
Interesting that Ollie represented Shels himself, whereas the League, the FAI and Derry had all appointed barristers. Or rather, could all afford to appoint and pay barristers. ;)
16/11/2006, 7:06 AM
In 1995/96 Cork City travelled to play UCD at Belfield and beat us 1-0 . They fielded not 1 not 2 but 3 unregistered players. Cork City were deducted three points. UCD got nothing. This latest decision is consistent with that precedent!
Interesting that Ollie represented Shels himself, whereas the League, the FAI and Derry had all appointed barristers. Or rather, could all afford to appoint and pay barristers. ;)
Believe it or not but Ollies father was a prominent drafter of the original rule book - and nobody knows it better than Ollie -why would he waste money on solicitors? He was probably the most knowledgeable person at the meeting
16/11/2006, 6:41 PM
In 1995/96 Cork City travelled to play UCD at Belfield and beat us 1-0 . They fielded not 1 not 2 but 3 unregistered players. Cork City were deducted three points. UCD got nothing. This latest decision is consistent with that precedent!
Were either side Albanian?
Oily was citing the weakest precedent since Jimmy Carter
Is it a relevant precedent though?
i.e: Are registered players who are rendered illegible due to suspensions earned whilst playing for the club not treated differently to players who actually are not officially part of the clubs squad?
For the record, having read the arbitrators report, I agree with the decision due to the explanations given. I do, however, think there is need for change in the rules for next season.
chippie0001
16/11/2006, 7:58 PM
For the record, having read the arbitrators report, I agree with the decision due to the explanations given. I do, however, think there is need for change in the rules for next season.
Most definately a rule change needed, probably a whole new rule book. Just take a copy of someone like the premiership or the scottish league etc as they generally have watertight decisions.