View Full Version : The Ashes

13/11/2006, 10:57 AM
Was thinking of getting in Sky Sports for this but first I've two questions....

1. What ungodly hours of the morning would play be taking place in?

2. Am I guarenteed that the Aussies will destroy them?

13/11/2006, 11:00 AM
Midnight - 6 a.m., I'd imagine.

I doubt the Aussies are potent enough to destroy them anymore. Australia will win though, probably 2-1 or 3-1.

13/11/2006, 11:04 AM
Midnight - 6 a.m., I'd imagine.

I doubt the Aussies are potent enough to destroy them anymore. Australia will win though, probably 2-1 or 3-1.

Good stuff

I thought this would be one of those zero reply threads

But what can I say - I ENJOY CRICKET :eek: :o :o

13/11/2006, 11:07 AM
No shame in that, it's the true hallmark of a discerning palate.

England not going too well in the tour matches, although they've staged something of a revival on day two against New South Wales. Pietersen and Flintoff looking ominous. Bowlers got spanked around on day one, though.

13/11/2006, 11:10 AM
No shame in that, it's the true hallmark of a discerning palate.

England not going too well in the tour matches, although they've staged something of a revival on day two against New South Wales. Pietersen and Flintoff looking ominous. Bowlers got spanked around on day one, though.

Is Glenn McGrath still knocking around for the Aussies or did he retire :confused:

As you can probably tell I'm not that regular a viewer :o

13/11/2006, 11:14 AM
Yeah, he's playing for New South Wales in the current tour match actually, 1-41 off 11 overs yesterday, good figures. He's been out of the game tending to his cancer-stricken wife more or less since the last iteration of the Ashes. Getting on a bit and lacking pace, but still as insistently accurate as ever.

13/11/2006, 11:19 AM
Yeah, he's playing for New South Wales in the current tour match actually, 1-41 off 11 overs yesterday, good figures. He's been out of the game tending to his cancer-stricken wife more or less since the last iteration of the Ashes. Getting on a bit and lacking pace, but still as insistently accurate as ever.

Good figures indeed

Between himself Warne and bugger whats the other guys name, you know blonde chap aswell, really good fast bowler they should have England in trouble.

Flintoff isn't fully fit and Pietersen is a spoofer of the highest order. Harmison is a good bowler but I don't think the likes of Panesar are up to the same standard tbh

Feel free to shoot me down with your superior knowledge :o

13/11/2006, 11:32 AM
Good figures indeed

Between himself Warne and bugger whats the other guys name, you know blonde chap aswell, really good fast bowler
Brett Lee.

Flintoff isn't fully fit and Pietersen is a spoofer of the highest order. Harmison is a good bowler but I don't think the likes of Panesar are up to the same standard tbh

Feel free to shoot me down with your superior knowledge :o
Nah, I'd agree with most of that. Flintoff has bowled economically and batted well on the tour thus far, mind. And Pietersen is the most objectionable knob-end ever to wield a bat, but he can certainly wield it to good effect. Harmison's in poor form, if the Aussies can score heavily off himself and Hoggard early in the innings they may be able to establish the platform they were missing in 2005, then consolidate against Flintoff and get stuck into Anderson, Panesar and/or Giles. Bear in mind that the ball isn't going to reverse swing quite so extravagantly under Australian conditions, and even if it did, England's best exponent of the art (Simon Jones, who was difference between the teams last time) will be watching at home.

The most crucial selection call in the Aussie line-up will be the fourth bowler. Gillespie and Kasprowicz provided England with too many opportunities for respite last time out. Stuart Clark, Shaun Tait, Mitchell Johnson and Nathan Bracken are all possibilities for the first Test, alongside or in contention with the all-rounder Shane Watson.

13/11/2006, 11:43 AM
Brett Lee.

That's the guy

Obtained near hero status with me during the last ashes due to his hilarious nastiness. You could just tell by the look of him that he was saying all sorts of mean things to the English batsmen :)

Agree that Gillespie is a cart-horse of the highest order, I can just remember him getting knocked for boundaries all over the place while looking pretty gormless

Besides I take it the conditions will be a lot more suited for batsmen than they were in England

13/11/2006, 2:22 PM
Besides I take it the conditions will be a lot more suited for batsmen than they were in England

Definitely.

Last time in England the wickets were set up for pace rather than spin (Warne vs Ashley Giles!!) but the Aussies will allow Warne every opportunity this time.
Last time the Aussie bowling was solid, just the batting collapsed. If Ponting hadnt decided to bowl on the first morning of the second test (apparently Warne had to be restrained from assaulting him when he announced the decision), they may well have won it all.

That said, if the English bowlers can get reverse swing going, they will cause havoc.

14/11/2006, 10:40 AM
Marcus Trescothick has returned to Blighty after a recurrence of his unspecified "stress-related" illness. Trinners' Ed Joyce could well replace him, in the squad if not the team.

14/11/2006, 11:38 AM
I play cricket and love watching it.

Strangely, the England cricket team is the only national English team I support. I don't like the Aussies and their arrogance and I hope England win:eek:

However, I expect the Australians to do them over with Warne and McGrath being the key players as ever.

15/11/2006, 7:16 AM
As predicted, Ed Joyce has been elevated to the Ashes squad in place of Marcus Trescothick. He may yet become Bray's first Test cricketer.

sonofstan
15/11/2006, 9:56 AM
He hasn't reckoned on the presence of his nemesis and namesake, the poster known as Wexford Bohs, now in Sydney and just waiting for the opportunity to renew their acquaintance begun so brightly in Stormont this summer; watch out for a tricolour with 'Judas' on it is all i can say.....

15/11/2006, 10:17 AM

Strangely, the England cricket team is the only national English team I support. I don't like the Aussies and their arrogance and I hope England win:eek:

However, I expect the Australians to do them over with Warne and McGrath being the key players as ever.
I used to play & enjoy watching a certain level of cricket. The last Ashes series was among the most exciting sport I've ever seen, esp the Sunday morning of the Edgbaston test with Brett Lee nearly snatching victory against all the odds. Riveting stuff.

I was up for the Aussies though & will be again but Ed Joyce's inclusion changes things! If, as I expect, England go behind early I'll probably want them to stay in touch to keep things interesting.

15/11/2006, 11:39 AM
I work in a cricket obsessed office - my workplace looks out at Trent Bridge so I've started to develop a semi interest..... even with Joyce its gonna be hard to root for em.

15/11/2006, 11:44 AM
As predicted, Ed Joyce has been elevated to the Ashes squad in place of Marcus Trescothick. He may yet become Bray's first Test cricketer.

Fair play to Joyce, hope he gets to do more than carry the drinks on. Ireland for the Ashes. :D

15/11/2006, 12:26 PM
How exactly is Joyce qualified to play..........English grandfather?

Oh how the tables have turned.

15/11/2006, 12:34 PM
He served a four-year residency period. No problem with that, should be the same in football.

15/11/2006, 12:57 PM
He served a four-year residency period. No problem with that, should be the same in football.

From a country which as a matter of course exports all its best players (cue insults from "real" EL fans who realize the El is not only the highest form of football, but also of life itself on this planet), I'm not sure I agree.

15/11/2006, 1:04 PM
From a country which as a matter of course exports all its best players (cue insults from "real" EL fans who realize the El is not only the highest form of football, but also of life itself on this planet), I'm not sure I agree.
A residency rule would correct that anomaly.

Ed Joyce contributed amply to domestic and international cricket in this country (even securing dispensation to represent the team at the ICC Trophy in 2005, when he was under no obligation to do so) and deserves his shot at Test cricket.

Likewise, the foreign-born nationals in the Irish cricket team (all contracted to Irish clubs) have also enriched the game here, helped develop its emerging talent, and earned the right to represent it internationally. They're not fly-by-night opportunists like those who proliferate in other sports.

15/11/2006, 1:19 PM
Dont get me wrong, no objections to the cricket rule, as you say, enriching the game does help earn the right to represent the country.

I was just doubting the benefits from a football point of view.

15/11/2006, 1:36 PM

Can't agree, Ireland don't play test cricket so he has no choice if he wants to play at the highest level. In general residency rules make a mockery of international competition.

15/11/2006, 1:48 PM
Can't agree, Ireland don't play test cricket so he has no choice if he wants to play at the highest level. In general residency rules make a mockery of international competition.
Not really, international competition is designed to determine the relative strength of particular sporting cultures (or, more specifically, the relevant governing association - in fact, until relatively recently, English touring parties were billed as MCC XIs.) If someone has made a genuine contribution to the sporting culture of a given nation or territory and been assimilated into it, he has every right to represent that territory.

Obviously players shouldn't be allowed to switch allegiances in a single-grade sport like football once they've played an international.

15/11/2006, 2:41 PM
Fair play to Joyce, hope he gets to do more than carry the drinks on.

A fine republican you are.... ;)

Not really, international competition is designed to determine the relative strength of particular sporting cultures (or, more specifically, the relevant governing association - in fact, until relatively recently, English touring parties were billed as MCC XIs.) If someone has made a genuine contribution to the sporting culture of a given nation or territory and been assimilated into it, he has every right to represent that territory

As happens regularly in continental Europe. Deco for Portugal being the leading example. I read a decent interview with him in 4-4-2 a while ago where they asked him why he decided to play for Portugal. He replied with something along the lines of "Portuguese football, and the country itself, has given so much to me that I thought it was my duty to give something back". Might sound bigheaded to some (the idiots who think he's not one of the best midfielders in the world probably...) but gives another angle on the nationality in sport debate.

For me, I've no issue with Carney representing GB at rugby league but the fact that Joyce can play against Ireland makes it fairly hard to support him at England. I totally understand his reasons for doing it though.

From a country which as a matter of course exports all its best players (cue insults from "real" EL fans who realize the El is not only the highest form of football, but also of life itself on this planet), I'm not sure I agree. And yet you don't see the irony in el fans HAVING to fight for every little bit of respct/attention...

15/11/2006, 3:33 PM
A fine republican you are.... ;)

Like that great republican Ernie O'Malley, I'm both an Anglophobe and an Anglophile. It ain't easy. ;)

16/11/2006, 11:29 PM
Residency rule would kill football as rich european countries would entice players from poorer regions to their country so could serve their time before playing for the country.

Seems stupid rule to allow residency in cricket as will ensure its continued status as minority sport. Similarily rugby only allows the world powers to vote on World Cup venue. For all its failings at least football is somewhat democratic.

I'm sure i'll watch a bit of the Ashes if at reasonable time slot but no way I would watch 5 days of a Test.

17/11/2006, 10:56 AM
what can I say - I ENJOY CRICKET

Is this why Lim till I die was banned:confused: :eek:

18/11/2006, 11:43 AM

Ireland have qualified for the Cricket World Cup this coming summer for the first time... we have to play against England... With Ed Judas Joyce among their ranks? I wouldn't be so p1ssed off if we had not made the World Cup but the fact remains we qualified for it, he helped us, and now plays against us. That is worse than what happens to the likes of Samoa in Rugby at the hands of the All Blacks !:mad:

Aberdonian Stu
18/11/2006, 12:56 PM
It is utterly disgraceful to call Ed Joyce a judas. The nearest test-playing nation is England, the rules state you can no longer be a one day player with one nation and test with another so he had to opt for the nation that plays test cricket in order to further his career.

18/11/2006, 7:55 PM
It is utterly disgraceful to call Ed Joyce a judas. The nearest test-playing nation is England, the rules state you can no longer be a one day player with one nation and test with another so he had to opt for the nation that plays test cricket in order to further his career.

Abandoning your country before they play in a World Cup?... hmmm reminds me of someone else.... the timing stinks to say the least!

England's cricketers are actually easy to like, because they have nothing to be arrogant about , given their relative lack of success over the past decade and a half.

onceahoop
18/11/2006, 8:59 PM
Abandoning your country before they play in a World Cup?... hmmm reminds me of someone else.... the timing stinks to say the least!

England's cricketers are actually easy to like, because they have nothing to be arrogant about , given their relative lack of success over the past decade and a half.

I've no problem with Ed declaring for England. We're a bit away from being nominated as a Test Country so he used the rules to live his dream.

I fear for us in the world cup as we're going to be playing on quick wickets and while we can cause the odd upset we're still in a learning curve at this level.

I actually have a lot of time for the English cricket team. It's amazing how many Irish people do in comparison to their views on their football team.
I can't stand the Aussies and their sledging or their general attitude when playing field games in particular.

19/11/2006, 1:30 PM
Best thing about the Ashes is the trophy (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/0f/Ashes_urn.jpg). Must be world smallest :)

19/11/2006, 9:22 PM
I can't see England being able to beat the Australia over there. Also they will be weakened without Vaughan and Trescothick.

Is Flintoff the captain? Vaughan was a good captain but I doubt Flintoff would be as good a captain.

Also what's the story with Vaughan's injury? AFAIK he has been out for a while. When will he be back in acton?

Aberdonian Stu
19/11/2006, 10:08 PM
Test cricket is far more important than the World Cup. As for 'abandoning your country just before' it that is well off the mark. His plan to declare for England was known and public for several years as he was awaiting permission to declare. In the meantime he opted to help Ireland reach the World Cup for the first time even though he knew he would be unable to play for us upon qualification.

BobtheDrog
20/11/2006, 7:23 AM
[QUOTE=CollegeTillIDie;577394]Abandoning your country before they play in a World Cup?... hmmm reminds me of someone else.... the timing stinks to say the least!QUOTE]

Ed has been involved in te england set up since september last year when e finall qualified through residency having single handedly ensured our qualification at the icc championships, starting off in the A team before last summer receiving a call up to the one day squad for the games against sri lanka, ireland and pakistan it was simply the case that he happned to make his debut against ireland. noone involved in the game in ireland has any problems about this.

as regards te ashes england realistically have little to no chance, the world cup we'll need to be at our best but i do think we wont finish last in our group

20/11/2006, 9:24 AM
Test cricket is far more important than the World Cup

To England and the Aussies maybe but Sri Lanka and India prefer the one day game and as the game gets bigger on TV, the one day game has become more and more important.

BobtheDrog
20/11/2006, 10:54 AM
going to have to disagree with you there dodge the test match form of the game is still far more important in all countries. teams are not rated by their one day form but by their test form. i was in india recently and ad this discussion a few times the world cup is important but ot as huge an event as it should be.

20/11/2006, 2:27 PM
As a nation of people we don't really care for cricket, myself included. That's no slight on the lads here interested in it. I don't see why Joyce should feel bound to represent a country that doesn't care much for the sport that play it at a lower level. I respect him as an Irish sportsman that can excel at the highest level in what is a minority sport here.

20/11/2006, 3:15 PM
The fact that cricket isn't widely popular shouldn't be relevant on the point of whether Joyce was correct to opt to play for England. Up to recently I was President of a cricket club in Dublin and by and large most of the cricketing fraternity in this country support his move, not because they are all west-Brits but because they see it as the only way he can advance his career. Personally, I would prefer if he stuck with Ireland because as a nation how will cricket ever advance if our best players opt to play for England. That said, I don't have to earn a living playing cricket.

Anyone, see the re-run yesterday on SKy of the Sth Africa vs Australia one day game. Amazing. Australia hit a world record score of 434 off 50 overs and South Africa beat it off the second last ball with one wicket left. What a game.

20/11/2006, 3:24 PM
Personally, I would prefer if he stuck with Ireland because as a nation how will cricket ever advance if our best players opt to play for England.
The game will progress because our underage and domestic club system is capable of producing Test cricketers. That's an extraordinary achievement. What he does to further his own career once he's made a contribution to Irish cricket is his own business. It's infinitely preferable to the football scenario, where kids go abroad at 14, 15, 16 and can hardly be described as "Irish footballers" in any meaningful sense. Ireland's cricketing infrastructure is a shining example of what can be achieved with investment and attention.

Anyone, see the re-run yesterday on SKy of the Sth Africa vs Australia one day game. Amazing. Australia hit a world record score of 434 off 50 overs and South Africa beat it off the second last ball with one wicket left. What a game.
Compelling spectacle, but I wouldn't call it a great game. Watching every ball disappear for four through no fault of the bowlers' is frustrating and pretty dull.

BobtheDrog
22/11/2006, 7:53 AM
criciket in ireland can only grow if the national team is doing well this can only happen if the players are playing competitive cricket both at club and country level but the level over here is not strong enough for that so to improve they need to go to england. ed's performances over there have turned the county sides attentions over here and its becoming more common for better young players to go over the likes of william porterfield (mcc young cricketers), boyd rankin (derbyshire), Ackland (northants) and probably our best young cricketer eoin morgan at middlesex. we've seen niall o'brien play regularly at kent although he was released at the end of the season i'm sure he'll find a new county over there irish cricket is getting stronger from this but we need the game to reach a point where playing for england is no longer necessary to play top level international games.

22/11/2006, 10:10 AM
That's utter b0llocks. Cricket in Ireland is growing; European champions at every level from under-13 to senior this year. Why? Because we invest time, money and effort into our domestic structures and underage game. Irish cricket is not getting stronger because we're exporting players to England, we're exporting players to England because our cricket is becoming stronger. The national team reflects the strength and health of our game, rather than leeching off another culture. Long may it continue.

22/11/2006, 3:02 PM
Ian Bell has been declared fit for the first test lads, shame as I rate him as one of England's best batsmen and am rooting for the Aussies in this one. Jesus trying to choose between England and Australia in any sporting event is as bad as having to choose who out of Dundalk and Rovers I wanted to finish top of the 1st Division this year!

22/11/2006, 9:07 PM
criciket in ireland can only grow if the national team is doing well this can only happen if the players are playing competitive cricket both at club and country level but the level over here is not strong enough for that so to improve they need to go to england. ed's performances over there have turned the county sides attentions over here and its becoming more common for better young players to go over the likes of william porterfield (mcc young cricketers), boyd rankin (derbyshire), Ackland (northants) and probably our best young cricketer eoin morgan at middlesex. we've seen niall o'brien play regularly at kent although he was released at the end of the season i'm sure he'll find a new county over there irish cricket is getting stronger from this but we need the game to reach a point where playing for england is no longer necessary to play top level international games.
Playing county cricket in England I have no problem with. It's professional "club" level or it's equivalent in the sport.The game over there, like the Premiershi* is full of players from all over the World. But the other nations are not losing their star players to England. I don't see Sri Lankans or Bangladeshi's going to play for England or even that many New Zealanders. Ireland in Cricket is worse off than Samoa is at rugby.
How can Ireland progress at international level at cricket, if the decent players end up being obtained by the giant on the next Island?
In the meantime...Can we sign up another corrupt South African to play for us in time for the World Cup? :D

BobtheDrog
23/11/2006, 1:19 AM
they can't play in england unless they qualify for england unless they come from one of the european countries, denmark, scotland, netherlands and ourselves. they are only allowed have one overseas player from a test nation, it was two but they've brought it back down to one althouigh i'm not sure if that applies to this season.

sheridan underage champions at every level, why? because england don't compete. we regularly have won these tournaments over the last few years but if you look at our performances against english sides its less impressive. I agree that we are exporting players because the game is stronger but we cannot play at the highest level unless our players are playing at a level equivalent to county cricket.

23/11/2006, 9:17 AM
Ricky Ponting's 32nd Test century helped Australia dominate England on day one of the first Ashes Test at the Gabba.

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, the hosts' skipper led from the front, ending on 137 not out as his side reached 346-3 at the close.

Michael Hussey provided admirable support with an unbeaten 63 after Justin Langer's quick-fire 82 had got the Australians off to a flying start.

Andrew Flintoff was the leading light on a dark day for England, picking up 2-48 through 16 overs of work.

Ashley Giles claimed the other wicket to fall, his first in Test cricket in 2006, but there was little else to cheer about for the tourists, particularly in the opening session.

In 2005 England set the tone for the summer with an excellent first hour in the Lord's Test. Things couldn't have been any more different in Brisbane in 2006 as they got off to such a woeful start that they were playing catch up for the rest of the day.

Steve Harmison's opening delivery ended up in the hands of second slip although he was not the only bowler to struggle, particularly against Langer.

The diminutive left-hander - who's last Test appearance, his 100th, ended after one ball when he was struck on the head by a Makhaya Ntini bouncer - dominated a stand of 79 with fellow opener Matthew Hayden.

A plethora of short balls resulted in 37 runs from the first six overs and an out-of-sorts Harmison bowled just 12 deliveries before being taken off.

It came as something of a surprise when a wicket did fall, Flintoff getting the breakthrough when he had Hayden caught at second slip for 21.

The all-rounder also ended Langer's 98-ball stay at the crease when a wide delivery that was slapped straight to Kevin Pietersen at cover.

However, the double strike, which came either side of lunch, did little to slow Australia's march towards a substantial total.

After suggesting he was struggling for form before the match, Ponting looked in sublime touch from the moment he came to the middle.

He shared a 57-run stand with Damien Martyn, who became the final wicket to fall in the day when he cut Giles - picked in preference to Monty Panesar - straight to slip Paul Collingwood.

That wicket fell in the 48th over. By the end of the 90th Australia were still only three down as an unbroken stand of 148 left England already facing a tough task to stay on level terms in the series.

Ponting's celebrations at reaching three figures - his sixth in Ashes battles - showed just how much it meant to him as helped Australia get off to the perfect start they so desperately desired.

Australia 1st Innings Runs Balls 4s 6s

J Langer c Pietersen b Flintoff 82 98 13
M Hayden c Collingwood b Flintoff 21 47 2
R Ponting not out 137 206 16
D Martyn c Collingwood b Giles 29 62 2
M Hussey not out 63 133 5

Extras 3W 5LB 6NB 14
Total for 3 Wickets (90.0 Overs) 346

Bowling Overs Maidens Runs Wickets econ

S Harmison 12 2 52 0 4.33
M Hoggard 16 2 62 0 3.88
J Anderson 18 4 88 0 4.89
A Flintoff 16 2 48 2 3.00
A Giles 18 2 51 1 2.83
I Bell 1 0 12 0 12.00
K Pietersen 9 1 28 0 3.11

Fall of Wickets 1-79 (Hayden) , 2-141 (Langer) , 3-198 (Martyn)

23/11/2006, 10:52 AM
I don't see Sri Lankans or Bangladeshi's going to play for England or even that many New Zealanders. Ireland in Cricket is worse off than Samoa is at rugby.

Kevin Pieterson, Graeme Hick, Andy Caddick, etc etc the list is huge.

23/11/2006, 11:38 AM
Cricket may be improving in Ireland but will soon reach the height of its potential. I view it a bit like Rugby where taking players off developing countries ensures there will always be an elite top level & no chance of anyone else joing that list. Sure its the way they like it.

I presume height of Englands ambition in Test 1 now is a draw.

endabob1
23/11/2006, 12:24 PM
Kevin Pieterson, Graeme Hick, Andy Caddick, etc etc the list is huge.

Of the current side apart from Pietersen & Joyce
Andrew Strauss is also South African
Geraint Jones was born in Paupa New Guniea to Welsh Parents