View Full Version : Bernard Dunne fight
onenilgameover
12/11/2006, 12:36 AM
Anyone else find it toe-curling cringy stuff. Dunne is a good boxer and comes across as a nice guy so really glad he did well but man am i sick of ole ole at non-football events...
12/11/2006, 12:42 AM
It was a good fight. Fair play to Dunne, great to watch and great career ahead of him hopefully.
12/11/2006, 12:54 AM
Really entertaining fight. The Ole Ole is a bit played out though.
Anyone else find it toe-curling cringy stuff. Dunne is a good boxer and comes across as a nice guy so really glad he did well but man am i sick of ole ole at non-football events...
Its not even acceptable at football. That and Fields of Athenry should be banned
beautifulrock
12/11/2006, 1:04 PM
great boxer, lets try to keep it positvie for a change lads.
13/11/2006, 10:12 AM
I'm very much a boxing bar-stooler (Oh the shame of it all :rolleyes: ) so any experts on here feel free to contradict me but here's my two cents on the fight.....
Dunne combination work and body shots are excellent but does anyone else think he's lacking that killer instinct?? A more clinical fighter would have knocked Pickering out in the second or third when he had the chance.
Maybe it will ultimately help Bernard going the full distance against a tough, tough cookie like Pickering but I would have worried for him if that fight had been on in London. Too early for a world title shot??
13/11/2006, 10:15 AM
Agree with you there Lim. I've been watching Bernard for a few years now as I know both his family and Harry Hawkins family well. I think he gets a bit cocky and starts to let his guard down when a fight is going his way he's prone to a bit of showboating with his arms in the air etc. He's a model to get suckerpunched if he keeps it up
13/11/2006, 10:49 AM
Agree with you there Lim. I've been watching Bernard for a few years now as I know both his family and Harry Hawkins family well. I think he gets a bit cocky and starts to let his guard down when a fight is going his way he's prone to a bit of showboating with his arms in the air etc. He's a model to get suckerpunched if he keeps it up
I thought that was just his stance, I've noticed it with a lot of fighters recently :confused: I don't like it as you've already said it's an invitation to get your clock cleaned
Hopefully he'll learn from the other night and tighten up his game. He would have lost that fight in England. Despite having been beaten to a bloody pulp in the second and third when Pickering started switching to southpaw and back around the seventh he had him in all sorts of bother
Fairplay to Pickering though, genuinely a tough, tough fighter
13/11/2006, 11:10 AM
Dunne combination work and body shots are excellent but does anyone else think he's lacking that killer instinct?? A more clinical fighter would have knocked Pickering out in the second or third when he had the chance.
agree with the last two posts, he is too cocky and will get caught out in a bigger match, also he reminds me of hamed, who we all know when it came to the big fights and making a name across the pond, he got caught out. think to be really world class fighter he needs to have the killer instinct and he doesnt seem strong enough for that. also leaving his guard down too often, he will get caught in a bigger fight doing that....
think the crowd played a huge part in it for him. thought he would have lost it in england. did anyone notice the jeers for god save the queen? and did ye notice bryan mcfadden in front and when they picked out graeme geraghty? i didnt notice them but thats what the women with me seemed more interested in.....spotitng people in the crowd....
13/11/2006, 11:14 AM
did anyone notice the jeers for god save the queen?
In fairness man 7000 boxing fans in Dublin at half ten on a Saturday night, playing it might not have been the brightest idea :eek: :p
Aberdonian Stu
13/11/2006, 11:45 AM
It's been done before a Dunne fights but I think it's actually madatory for European title fights to have the anthems played.
As for the fight, Dunne looked impressive early but there are problems still to be addressed, not least his cockiness.
His lack of experience over the distance, the unfortunate downside of having a good kayo record in fights scheduled for 10 or 12 rounds, needs to be addressed. He has the ability to have the stamina, he just needs to develop it through experience.
I saw Molitor's fight against Hunter. Dunne could take him but it would be tough, though nowhere near as tough as say Israel Vasquez or Jhonny Gonzalez. And yes he does spell it that way!
13/11/2006, 11:49 AM
Israel Vasquez or Jhonny Gonzalez. And yes he does spell it that way!
What he actually spells it Israel :eek:
He should be ashamed of himself given their human rights record :mad: :p
I only saw the last few rounds but fair dues to Dunne. I doubt he making big money so 7,000 fans in the Point should boost his bank account a little.
I was having a look & seems he was ranked between 9-12th in the various belts click (http://www.fightnews.com/rankings2.htm) before this fight. Would be good to see him get a few more European belt paydays before having a World title opportunity.
13/11/2006, 2:19 PM
good for the sport....good to see how it sold out so quickly and with relative or no advertisement.
hoops1
13/11/2006, 9:39 PM
Bernard already got his wake up call for showboating, after
pummeling the Ukranian Vornin for 9 rounds he dropped his guard and got
tagged que 2 minutes 30 seconds of stumbling around the ring like
a drunk while he was within one punch of being knocked out.
I think/hope that the more he moves up and the closer the fights the less
he will act the maggot. It was more down to the fact that he was so far
ahead of previous opponents. I hope he wins the world title as hes
a class act
13/11/2006, 10:11 PM
RTE television are a shambles .... the first fight they show of Dunne is when he picks up the title, nothing ..... not even a mention beforehand (maybe on Radio, but thats the decent part of the organisation, the TV section is filth) yet they will go a show him with the belt winning in their "let pat ourselves on the back" adverts "surely we can call ourselves a sports mad nation" hypocritical fookers, makes me want to puke.
If they cared, they would have show a few fights so he wouldn't have to beg, borrow and steal to stay full time to actually get to the title fight, sports mad my ársé. Makes my blood boil !! :mad: :( :o
soccerc
13/11/2006, 10:45 PM
RTE television are a shambles .... the first fight they show of Dunne is when he picks up the title, nothing ..... Makes my blood boil !! :mad: :( :o
Incorrect there A Face, RTE have been firmly behind Dunne since his return from the USofA. They have featured a number of his fights an and Saturdays was the second live event.
14/11/2006, 12:03 AM
good for the sport....good to see how it sold out so quickly and with relative or no advertisement.
NewsTalk promoted it heavily, and featured numerous interviews with him (mainly on Off The Ball) over the last few months
Incorrect there A Face, RTE have been firmly behind Dunne since his return from the USofA. They have featured a number of his fights an and Saturdays was the second live event.
Its been way more than two. They even showed his foght in Italy live on the web. Showed the one in Germany too.
14/11/2006, 8:56 AM
saw 2 fights on the web on rte. think it could possibly be 3 that they have shown on the web though....
Aberdonian Stu
14/11/2006, 9:02 AM
They've covered all his fights in Dublin live and they had a couple online as well. RTE have given heavy coverage to him since he returned from the States.
14/11/2006, 11:10 AM
RTE television are a shambles .... the first fight they show of Dunne is when he picks up the title, nothing ..... not even a mention beforehand (maybe on Radio, but thats the decent part of the organisation, the TV section is filth) yet they will go a show him with the belt winning in their "let pat ourselves on the back" adverts "surely we can call ourselves a sports mad nation" hypocritical fookers, makes me want to puke.
If they cared, they would have show a few fights so he wouldn't have to beg, borrow and steal to stay full time to actually get to the title fight, sports mad my ársé. Makes my blood boil !!
This is so wrong it's hilarious. The anti-RTÉ rubbish on here is something to behold. RTÉ Television have been 100% behind Bernard from day one. Which is why both Bernard and Brian Peters thanked RTÉ after the fight.
RTÉ's first ever live sports webcast was Bernard's fight in Italy in April - http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1108/dunneb.html
A Face, at least try and get your facts right before sharing your opinions with the rest of the world. :rolleyes:
A Face, at least try and get your facts right before sharing your opinions with the rest of the world.
Yeah I think A face jumped in too quickly with the anti-RTE stuff this time. As others have mentioned they have given Dunne a lot of live coverage since he returned to Ireland.
14/11/2006, 11:39 AM
RTÉ Television have been 100% behind Bernard from day one.
Think it was fight 17 actually. And it was the first pro boxing shown live in roughly 20 years so wouldn't start throwing parties for RTÉ yet, despite the massive improvement. Tells us more about Brian Peters than it does RTÉ...
14/11/2006, 11:44 AM
Tells us more about Brian Peters than it does RTÉ...
Wouldn't disagree with that, he's a very impressive bloke.
What gets me is the knee-jerk anti-RTÉ stuff like A Face's post. By all means criticise when it's warranted but going off half **** says more about A Face than RTÉ. :)
14/11/2006, 11:45 AM
That's 'half cóck' BTW. :rolleyes:
14/11/2006, 12:05 PM
In fairness Dunne fought a good fight Pickering was very tough Dunne could have wasted a lot more energy going all out for an early knock out and failed, then he'd have been really screwed when Pickering came on strong later in the fight. Dunne looked much more solid defensively in this fight and I can't remember him really dropping his guard or showboating at all. No doubt he's improved massively as a boxer recently and really seems to be learning fast. This was a huge step up in class and many top English pundits had Pickering down as favourite. Dunne certainly has the class to be a world champion and fights like the Pickering one will do him the world of good.
Aberdonian Stu
14/11/2006, 1:09 PM
It wasn't the first pro-boxing shown live for 20 years. Wayne McCullough had at least two fights live, when he won the WBC title and his second defence. He also had a fair few shown on delayed transmission.
While I wouldn't sing the praises of RTE's overall support for boxing they have done a great job backing Dunne.
Forgot about the McCullough fights. Fair play.
15/11/2006, 11:42 AM
well done to Dunne, I'd keep him away from Molitor just yet (the guy from Canada who destroyed Hunter last weekend) but the future is promising.
15/11/2006, 2:00 PM
On the RTE issue (and I'm not a lover of our national broadcaster in any sense of the word) they have covered Bernard very well and also the first Live feed on there website ever was a Bernard Dunne Fight
15/11/2006, 3:37 PM
the first Live feed on there website ever was a Bernard Dunne Fight
Oi gypo, if you're going to copy me and least give me some credit. ;)
See my post above - "RTÉ's first ever live sports webcast was Bernard's fight in Italy in April - http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1108/dunneb.html"
Aberdonian Stu
16/11/2006, 10:28 PM
That webcast was technically woeful. Poor picture quality, horrible download, just really bad streaming. I have a very good broadband connection here and watch a lot of streamed media with no difficulty so I can assure you that it was on their end where the fault lay.
That said it was great to see them move into that arena, already do a good job with current affairs shows being available online (not streamed, but available for viewing afterwards).
18/11/2006, 7:50 PM
In defence of A face, as a fan of real football, rather than overhyped millionaires poncing about, you get to be anti-RTETV very easily because of their persistent ignoring of EL football down through the years, including failure to cover several European ties in the mid 1990's.
Dunne has been on before, however , the fights that were shown on the Web, the TV rights may have been too expensive to get or may have been acquired by others first.
25/08/2007, 10:28 PM
See it tonight...****ing hell!:eek:
Delighted he got a hammering, cocky little pup
If I'd have known that Spanish lad was that big, I'd have joined his buddies in backing him. Not at that 66/1 for the first round but still. No more Bernard Dunne and his merry band of drunken bandwagoners. Great stuff
25/08/2007, 11:17 PM
Delighted he got a hammering, cocky little pup
All boxers are cocky. They have to be
All boxers are confident, more are cocky. Dunne is not cocky to the point of being offensive, he just thinks he's far better than he actually is. He got shown up tonight for his attitude and deserved his pummeling
25/08/2007, 11:49 PM
EVERY boxer thinks they're better than they are. Even the truely great ones, of which Dunne is most certainly not.
If you are going to argue over semantics, knock yourself out. Bernard Dunne certainly couldn't haahaa
26/08/2007, 12:48 AM
I just don't understand why you think he deserved to be pummelled when he's acted no worse than any other boxer.
I could certainly take Dunne... now ;)
26/08/2007, 8:46 AM
i dont know why people here are so dead against Dunne, he is an honest pro, seems like a nice fella, and isnt cocky at all and we should be proud of him (unlike say our showjumpers)
i think Jimmy magee was right......we should support him when he wins and also when he loses
(and not jump on the bandwagon all the time)
i thought the crowd were excellent when they cheered him in the end
lofty9
26/08/2007, 10:09 AM
At my local last night watching it, there was a group of about 10 men jumping like maniacs when Dunne hit the deck. They all had big money on Dunne to get dropped in the first. Everybody in the pub got a free drink off them! It was a serious pummelling Dunne got. I can't stand all that bloody sh ite that comes before a fight. I know it adds to the atmosphere but it's embarrassing for fighters IMO.
26/08/2007, 10:36 AM
Definitely the biggest test of his credentials now. He got totally caught out by a much more powerful opponent. If he learns his lesson he can still come back and be a world champion. He might even realise he has to keep his hands up now.
66/1 to put him his ass in the first, that was some bet. Fair play to anybody who spotted that who was not connected to the Spanish guy
I think the criticism of Bernard Dunne is a bit unfair. He seems to be fairly down to earth fella. He was in the Porterhouse a few days after his previous fight & he certainly wasn't acting on cocky or stuck up manner...
geezer
26/08/2007, 8:03 PM
sorry for him in end, You have to be cocky in that game but I thing BD had got a little even his accent was beginning to change. What is nauseating is the celtic shirt wearing,tricolour waving,ole ole paddywhackery brigade. I wouldnt mind they disappeared as quick as BD went down ,some supporters. I hope we who follow LOI manage to keep that crowd away from following the league
26/08/2007, 10:50 PM
What is nauseating is the celtic shirt wearing,tricolour waving,ole ole paddywhackery brigade. I wouldnt mind they disappeared as quick as BD went down ,some supporters. I hope we who follow LOI manage to keep that crowd away from following the league
i disagree:)
i would imagine any crowd at a sporting event are meant to create an atmosphere, or am i wrong!
the crowds at the boxing always seem to be up for it (ok maybe the oleing is a bit corny and the anthems), but it looks like great craic from the box
TheBoss
26/08/2007, 11:15 PM
Looking at the fight, the 86 seconds of it, he was not expecting that beginning from Martinez, he stated slowly and never got into gear but a top fighter would be overcoming that. At 26, winning the European Title does not say for me he will get a World Title shot, but Martinez, at 21, winning the European Title that shows he is able to compete, I think that Dunne is too old to get a title shot considering his career.
26/08/2007, 11:31 PM
Looking at the fight, the 86 seconds of it, he was not expecting that beginning from Martinez
Nonsense
How could you not expect that start to a fight from a boxer of Martinez's physique??
I've said it time and again about Dunne, he needs to learn how to defend properly and use his head in the ring
Either he has a very poor trainer or absolutely no common sense
He had a nice couple of inches on Martinez
Now anyone with the slightest modicum of boxing knowledge would have told him that the thing to do was to keep Martinez on the end of his jab and try and survive the inevitable (how anyone could think otherwise is beyond me) first few rounds onslaught
If Martinez managed to get past the jab and land one through his cover, grab a hold of him and hang on for dear life until the ref says otherwise
Then, having gotten to the fourth or fifth unscathed, come out and box him
What does Dunne do instead?? Run out and go toe to toe in a brawl with an absolute monster. :rolleyes:
IMO he should maybe have a think about moving up a few weight divisions. He is far, far too scrawny at the moment. Read somewhere he's doing three days a week on weights. I can't for the life of me see it.