View Full Version : GUFC -v- Cobh
Match preview:
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/team-news-galway-united-v-cobh-ramblers.html
A game we have to win. I think though that we will win by the odd goal even if a draw is written all over this. 2-1 United
I dont care how we win or by how much just as long as we do.I saw the incidents on video on monday night and Padraig Sutton had a clearer view than I thought of the Penalty incident at the end which is an absolute stonewaller and Dowdy was not offside when the free kick was taken and had to dive full length to head in the ball. 4 pts and €1,500 he has cost united this season and dont be surprised if Pat Kelly puts him down for tomorrow nights game!!!!!!!!
MyTown
10/11/2006, 1:19 PM
gufct:
I know you literally had to pay for your views on visiting officials and I'm as much frustrated as anyone when blatant decisions go against us. (The 2nd. leg play off in Drogheda immediately comes to mind).
However, the table doesn't lie. We'll be third, which over the course of the season is what we deserve. Refs & their assistants are not responsible when we fail to create or take chances and when we fail to put teams away in Terryland when well in control of a game.
I think the players & management have done an excellent job, particularly since Tony Cousins took over, but I believe we are where we deserve to be regardless of interference from matchday officials.
GUISAUltra
10/11/2006, 1:32 PM
i'm afraid i have to agree with ya. i know we have had some awful luck with officials and what not but we really need to stop pushing the blame onto everyone else and realise that we have made 2 many mistakes to win this league
corbyeire
10/11/2006, 5:07 PM
my town and guisa ultra - i totally agree with you there
the draw merchantry that went on this season - when we should have been taking our chances has us as a third place team
Patrick Dunne
11/11/2006, 10:14 AM
12 draws - the highest number in both divisions.
11/11/2006, 2:52 PM
Was out in Terryland around an hour ago putting up 2 of the flags......the rest weren't there so it's up to someone else now cause i ain't going back out there.
Anyway it's crazy windy out there so Tg4 will not be going up on the gantry for safety reasond.AFAIK the game will be televised on the line.Won't be as good coverage but what can ya do.
Magicme has just text me so it's off to Fox's now soon..Bring it on!
Patrick Dunne
11/11/2006, 3:31 PM
gufct is putting up the other flags later on.
exiled_gufc_fan
11/11/2006, 7:16 PM
Was out in Terryland around an hour ago putting up 2 of the flags......the rest weren't there so it's up to someone else now cause i ain't going back out there.
Anyway it's crazy windy out there so Tg4 will not be going up on the gantry for safety reasond.AFAIK the game will be televised on the line.Won't be as good coverage but what can ya do.
Magicme has just text me so it's off to Fox's now soon..Bring it on!
Flags look great lads - well done. Thanksfully TG4 ventured into the gantry.
Going well at half-time ... one-nil United thanks to Derek O'Brien. Derek O'Dowd has gone off injured.
Game being streamed online at http://www.tg4.tv/
exiled_gufc_fan
11/11/2006, 8:31 PM
Job done. Three points sets up a possibility of second place.
Billy was lucky to stay on the pitch though! He was last man when he pulled Warren (?) back.
Gough kept a vitally important clean sheet. It was good to see Ciaran Foley back in the thick of things in the centre of the park. Decent performances from Charles, O'Brien and Cooke when he came on. O'Brien apparently wasn't feeling well at half-time, but Cousins asked him to give another 15 mins.
The fans did themselves proud. The singing and drumming sounded great. Terryland looked well too! A few crowd shots featuring section A.
Ciaran Foley got the official Man of the Match.
Cousins: "I thought it was mixed (performance)." ... "You could see they kept going even though the tiredness set in".
Henderson - "I thought we should have one it to be honest" ... He was glad the camera's were here tonight" ... so people could see the "deficiencies" in the standard of match officials. He wasn't saying anything more in case he was fined!!!
GalwayFrancis
11/11/2006, 9:32 PM
gufct is putting up the other flags later on.
ahem!
Jacobean
11/11/2006, 10:28 PM
Good result tonight, but we were very lucky in injury time with the ball cleared of the line. Great coverage by TG4, they should continue this into next season. Can some one please tell me about the play off, if we finish second we play the bottom club of the premier. But is it just points thats to play for or is the winner guaranteed promotion. It seems the FAI are making things up as they go along, what a joke.
the play off is for points, it was part of the package from the very start that the FAI set out
Trainee
12/11/2006, 7:44 AM
anyone know how bad D O Dowds injury is
hopefully its not too bad and he will be back at the start of next season
The Rebel Ram
12/11/2006, 8:17 AM
Good result tonight, but we were very lucky in injury time with the ball cleared of the line. Great coverage by TG4, they should continue this into next season. Can some one please tell me about the play off, if we finish second we play the bottom club of the premier. But is it just points thats to play for or is the winner guaranteed promotion. It seems the FAI are making things up as they go along, what a joke.
Even your players don't know!
Ciaran Foley when being interviewed thought if you finish second they will be in the playoffs
The league is being dispanded and a new league is being formed with the criterea for entry to the Premiership being based on results for the past 5 years, financial status, quality of grounds etc. If you finish second you will have a lot better chance of being entered into the premiership
Rebel Ram, the play offs are on the 18th of november with the second leg on the weekend of the 24th of november. the games will be between last in the prem and second in the first. Its not a promotion/relegation play off but points allocation play off
Jacobean
12/11/2006, 11:29 AM
If they were part of the FAI plan all along they were clearly outlined in the media, i have two season preview magazines and neither mention anything about a promotion/relegation play off. It Also, has not been mentioned (from what I think) on this forum until very recently. I'd say the first leg is on the 24th of November because the killkenny match is on the 18th of November.
Jacobean
12/11/2006, 11:31 AM
Typo. Sorry thats "they were not clearly..."
12/11/2006, 12:01 PM
If they were part of the FAI plan all along they were clearly outlined in the media, i have two season preview magazines and neither mention anything about a promotion/relegation play off. It Also, has not been mentioned (from what I think) on this forum until very recently. I'd say the first leg is on the 24th of November because the killkenny match is on the 18th of November.
thats because there is no promotion/relegatiion playoff !!! its a points allocation playoff
the first date is a guess but the first playoff is midweek after the last round of games with the second the weekend following , whatever those dates are.
Jacobean
12/11/2006, 12:09 PM
Now i get ya, thanks Terry
12/11/2006, 3:54 PM
It is technically a promotion relegation playoff, the league is being disbanded after it takes place.
corbyeire
12/11/2006, 4:19 PM
does anyone know how bad dowdys injury is?
fair play to those who put up the banners - they looked well
another game where a pair of great saves from gough and some other last ditch tackles and it was another draw
how many good oppurtunities were squandered from the flanks into the keepers arms - did we have one shot on target in the second half - bar the dissallowed goal????
damoGUFC
12/11/2006, 8:24 PM
does anyone know how bad dowdys injury is?
Well, I was talking to Wes and the lads after the match and they said something went at the back of his knee but dont know the full extent yet.
I can hardly see him playing aginst kilkenny!!
Tir Oilean
12/11/2006, 9:06 PM
Was talking to Derek O Brien today he says Dowdy has a cartilege problem.
he wouldnt have been playing on saturday as he was suspended. Was talking to Fergal Murphy in foxs and he said it was not as serious as they 1st thought and he should be back for the start of next season.
Looks like we will have well over 100 travelling on saturday which would be great especially if we win and Dundalk dont.
13/11/2006, 9:24 AM
he wouldnt have been playing on saturday as he was suspended. Was talking to Fergal Murphy in foxs and he said it was not as serious as they 1st thought and he should be back for the start of next season.
Looks like we will have well over 100 travelling on saturday which would be great especially if we win and Dundalk dont.
Where you talking to alot of people who said they were travelling or something?That's a fair away support......i can't see it really.
A lot of people driving down and some making a weekend of it Conor like yourselves.
GuisaSaigon
13/11/2006, 2:08 PM
Well done to Ciaran Foley, a deserved man of the match. He has been colossal for the last few weeks.
corbyeire
13/11/2006, 3:37 PM
Well done to Ciaran Foley, a deserved man of the match. He has been colossal for the last few weeks.
yea definetly - he covered so much ground and was looking to play it rather than belt it up the line
corbyeire
13/11/2006, 3:38 PM
on a more negative note - what has happened frans form over the last five matches?
13/11/2006, 3:48 PM
on a more negative note - what has happened frans form over the last five matches?
Well i was happy with the crowd.1500 on a Saturday evening.It was around 400 last time we played on a Saturday.I know the crwods have dropped sice Dundalk but that would happen anywhere.i mean Dundalk only got 1500 for the Kilkenny match after beating us.
corbyeire
13/11/2006, 3:50 PM
frans form - would be fran carter as in your man in midfield - not the boys off it!
ha ha - sorry conor...
13/11/2006, 3:51 PM
:o
Woops!!
Thought you mis spelled it.:o
corbyeire
13/11/2006, 4:00 PM
the crowd was good enough all things considered :)
GUISAUltra
14/11/2006, 2:49 PM
yeah i was really happy with the crowd.. as we all know saturday nights in terryland can be disastrous for atmosphere.
great craic afterwards in foxes as well with a really good crowd for all the presentations. great to see goughy winning player of the year, great to hear tonys appreciation for the fans and the players and great to ssee the nightowls being presented with the cup they won earlier year. at least one Galway United team got there names on a cup