View Full Version : From RTE : Limerick to go bust

08/11/2006, 10:57 AM
From RTE...........

Limerick to go bust with no lease
Wednesday, 08 November 2006 11:15

Limerick could go out of business at the end of this season unless they secure a lease on Hogan Park.

Chairman Danny Drew warned that they will fold unless the current state of uncertainty surrounding the club is resolved by 1 December 2006.

The Blues were told by Fr Joe Young, a trustee at the ground, in February of this year that he would grant them at least a 25-year lease on the ground.

Because Limerick don't have a lease, they cannot draw down over €400,000 in sports grants they have earmarked for development work at the venue.

Drew said: 'I will honour all the players contracts with the club up until the end of this season but I am giving it a December deadline and then I will step down in my present capacity unless we are granted a lease in our name.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1108/limerick.html?rss

I thought all this had been sorted out.........FAI had the lease and we were welcome tenants etc......

08/11/2006, 11:20 AM
Well it's about Fcukin time

It's over Lads

Are the Whingers happy Now??

Fcukin Priests

08/11/2006, 11:26 AM
Is it not the case that the lease is now with the FAI and they would more than likely welcome Limerickas their tenants?

Drew says he will step down but I dont see how that equates to the club folding, it is possible to find other backers.

Is it significant that none of the above statement is attributed to the FAI, and all to Drew?

08/11/2006, 11:28 AM
Is it not the case that the lease is now with the FAI and they would more than likely welcome Limerickas their tenants?

Drew says he will step down but I dont see how that equates to the club folding, it is possible to find other backers.

Is it significant that none of the above statement is attributed to the FAI, and all to Drew?

No that was more spoofing by the priest

Backers?? Where?? Clubs DEAD

This has been on the cards in the background for awhile

PinBallWizard
08/11/2006, 12:16 PM
Typical cop out from Nancy Drew. Now that she sees theres no real money to be made from EL footie, she's taking her ball and running home....unless she gets her €400,000 in grant money.

This man has been a disgrace since day one and has not got any better. I hope he goes...far far away. I know he rescued the club...I know he put out a lot of his own dosh initially...since then he has alienated, abused, insulted and generally made a laughing stock out of this club. He didn't even see that the only way to get the lease in Rathbane was by sucking up to the priest and Noel O'Connor, who would have been able to talk the priest round. But no....he had to sack him without a replacement, or a lease, or a clue about anything.

He is a parasite...he became the saviour for personal fame and possible finance. Now it seems to have backfired on him. Good riddance Nancy....stick to selling curry sauce !!

08/11/2006, 12:25 PM
Seeing as the government grants have to be spent on capital expenditure, how is securing them going to not make the club go bust? If it's got debts it can't pay, it can't use the grant to pay them anyway?

Or is it that Drew is keeping the club afloat and won't do so if they don't get the lease?

08/11/2006, 12:26 PM
Have the FAI got a lease? I don't think it was ever signed.

08/11/2006, 12:43 PM
Have the FAI got a lease? I don't think it was ever signed.

It hasn't been signed. Fr.Lucifer hasn't gotten around to it yet. :rolleyes:

08/11/2006, 1:04 PM
Seeing as the government grants have to be spent on capital expenditure, how is securing them going to not make the club go bust? If it's got debts it can't pay, it can't use the grant to pay them anyway?

Or is it that Drew is keeping the club afloat and won't do so if they don't get the lease?

My immediate reaction too was that he can't spend capital money on current expenditure so what's the problem??

But then I thought about it. He's undoubtedly spending wads of his own cash keeping the club afloat and if there's no lease and no development cash then maybe there's no future

There lies the problem :(

08/11/2006, 1:05 PM
This man has been a disgrace since day one and has not got any better. I hope he goes...far far away.

Are you going to save the club ya?? :rolleyes: :mad:

08/11/2006, 1:07 PM
It hasn't been signed. Fr.Lucifer hasn't gotten around to it yet. :rolleyes:

And if the club goes bust it will be a lot easier to get planning permission for a petrol station, gym, houses etc.

What's a few commandments when there's a few million at stake?
:mad:

08/11/2006, 1:13 PM
And if the club goes bust it will be a lot easier to get planning permission for a petrol station, gym, houses etc.

What's a few commandments when there's a few million at stake?

We all knew deep in our hearts it was going to end like this :(

I don't think there's a person in the know on this forum who thought he'd do the decent thing

I hope he never takes a clean hand from his ar$e :mad:

08/11/2006, 1:17 PM
Typical cop out from Nancy Drew. Now that she sees theres no real money to be made from EL footie, she's taking her ball and running home....unless she gets her €400,000 in grant money.

This man has been a disgrace since day one and has not got any better. I hope he goes...far far away. I know he rescued the club...I know he put out a lot of his own dosh initially...since then he has alienated, abused, insulted and generally made a laughing stock out of this club. He didn't even see that the only way to get the lease in Rathbane was by sucking up to the priest and Noel O'Connor, who would have been able to talk the priest round. But no....he had to sack him without a replacement, or a lease, or a clue about anything.

He is a parasite...he became the saviour for personal fame and possible finance. Now it seems to have backfired on him. Good riddance Nancy....stick to selling curry sauce !!Thats a bit harsh don't you think. I can see the points you're trying to make, but try and make them in a logical fashion. You say that he has 'alienated, insulted and abused' yet you've just done all three in your post. Be objective, or don't bother posting at all.

08/11/2006, 1:22 PM
We all knew deep in our hearts it was going to end like this :(

I don't think there's a person in the know on this forum who thought he'd do the decent thing

I hope he never takes a clean hand from his ar$e :mad:If we knew it, then the club knew it all along too. There's more to blame here than the priest. He's just a trustee of the ground with a say in what happens it. At the end of the day it's Peter Hogans land and Joe Young will do with it as Peter Hogan wishes. not what Joe Young wishes, or Limerick FC wishes.

08/11/2006, 1:26 PM
If we knew it, then the club knew it all along too. There's more to blame here than the priest. He's just a trustee of the ground with a say in what happens it. At the end of the day it's Peter Hogans land and Joe Young will do with it as Peter Hogan wishes. not what Joe Young wishes, or Limerick FC wishes.

Well I hope they never take a clean hand from each others ar$es then :mad:

08/11/2006, 1:26 PM
Personally if I was Drew I'd pack up and take off as well at the state that things have gotten to. Seriously lads think about it, he's ploughing his own money into a club that has no future without any ground, and a club that gets involved in ****e like last Friday. Its not just down to Drew that this club could possibly be about to fold, although I'm still hoping that Drew's press statement was an attempt to call the Priests bluff on the lease once and for all

08/11/2006, 1:29 PM
although I'm still hoping that Drew's press statement was an attempt to call the Priests bluff on the lease once and for all

I hope so too

Wouldn't hold your breath though

He's probably on a beach in Spain/Park Bench at the minute :mad:

PinBallWizard
08/11/2006, 1:33 PM
Thats a bit harsh don't you think. I can see the points you're trying to make, but try and make them in a logical fashion. You say that he has 'alienated, insulted and abused' yet you've just done all three in your post. Be objective, or don't bother posting at all.And who are you to be pontificating about abuse and insults. You do enough of that here yourself...

PinBallWizard
08/11/2006, 1:36 PM
Personally if I was Drew I'd pack up and take off as well at the state that things have gotten to. Seriously lads think about it, he's ploughing his own money into a club that has no future without any ground, and a club that gets involved in ****e like last Friday. Its not just down to Drew that this club could possibly be about to fold, although I'm still hoping that Drew's press statement was an attempt to call the Priests bluff on the lease once and for allDrew's a tool of the highest order. A greedy, spiteful arsehole. He invested with the idea of fame and riches and making a name for himself. Now its not going to happen, he's heading for the hills, leaving a bigger mess than the one he bought from that other snivelling little worm. Again I say Good Riddance.

08/11/2006, 1:38 PM
Just posted this in the Eircom forum, but I'll ask it here too, whats the media response in Limerick about this like? Have 95fm or the Leader picked up on it, or are they devoting all their energies to a Munster reserve game as usual?

08/11/2006, 1:38 PM
. He invested with the idea of fame and riches and making a name for himself. Now its not going to happen, he's heading for the hills, leaving a bigger mess than the one he bought from that other snivelling little worm. Again I say Good Riddance.

The Highlighted bit implies he's also a moron :rolleyes:

Drew goes - what's your suggestion for a replacement :rolleyes: :mad:

08/11/2006, 1:42 PM
Just posted this in the Eircom forum, but I'll ask it here too, whats the media response in Limerick about this like? Have 95fm or the Leader picked up on it, or are they devoting all their energies to a Munster reserve game as usual?

I'll give you a wild guess :mad:

the dazzler
08/11/2006, 1:43 PM
dont mind drew goin the club should go its a fcking disgrace for the last couple of mths plus lims are stuck without a ground for years even had to get a junior club with better facilities and less income to help them :mad:

08/11/2006, 1:48 PM
dont mind drew goin the club should go its a fcking disgrace for the last couple of mths plus lims are stuck without a ground for years even had to get a junior club with better facilities and less income to help them :mad:

And whats the alternative for us if Limerick FC is put out of our misery? Go and watch Cork or Waterford? Pass. Start supporting the Total Football of Junior football? Rather start making a weekly trip to Ibrox to be honest. It's our club lads and we have to put up some sort of resistance to this. I'm going to give my mate at the Echo a shout to see if he can get a piece done on this, we should also start ringing up 95fm to make sure they have the latest information, and we should also get on to the Post, Leader and Independent and make sure that all 3 of the Limerick newspapers cover this story properly. It's easier said than done I know, but I'd rather we all aren't sitting on this forum on the 2nd of December wondering when Dahamsta is going to expel us from Foot.ie

thomas72
08/11/2006, 1:56 PM
i hope the club folds limerick f.c has become the laughing stock in limerick and EL. there is clubs in 4b in limerick that are run better than limerick its a joke. fold and a couple of years down the line with the right chairman and commitee start fresh a new beginning.
lads in fairness you wont get many people up to hogan park its in the middle of a war zone at the min and last fridays show with the scum in the shed and the fighting outside people wont go near the place. i actually feel sorry for the die hards who stand behind the goal and sing there heart out at every game but this cant go on hogan park is not suitable for EL. the chairman thinks he is a manager which is embarssing to be honest.
you go out for a couple of pints and limerick comes up in a conversation people just roll there eyes or start laughing at a chairman who went mental with a bit of power who never kicked a ball in his life take over as manager.
i love to know how he trains the team set pieces tactics etc etc :(

08/11/2006, 1:59 PM
i hope the club folds limerick f.c has become the laughing stock in limerick and EL. there is clubs in 4b in limerick that are run better than limerick its a joke. fold and a couple of years down the line with the right chairman and commitee start fresh a new beginning.

I was wondering how long it would take one of the junior geniuses to stick their poorly educated oar in :rolleyes:

Clubs in 4b ya?? :rolleyes:

We'll just waltz back in in a couple of years with a billionaire owner, just like that ya?? I hope your right :rolleyes:

thomas72
08/11/2006, 2:06 PM
[QUOTE=jebus;570963]. Start supporting the Total Football of Junior football?

were do you think tommy barrett, buckly, hefo, john boyle, YOUR CAPTAIN pat purcell, robbie kell... came from JUNIOR FOOTBALL IN LIMERICK. so maybe you should start watching junior football in limerick i think you might see a better standard of football than the S*** were watching friday nights. so dont be to quick to knock juinor football in limerick since half the team was playing in it a few years ago

08/11/2006, 2:07 PM
If we knew it, then the club knew it all along too. There's more to blame here than the priest. He's just a trustee of the ground with a say in what happens it. At the end of the day it's Peter Hogans land and Joe Young will do with it as Peter Hogan wishes. not what Joe Young wishes, or Limerick FC wishes.

The trustees can trouser the cash. Same as Flower Lodge paid for by the football people of Cork and held in trust by 5 people. The 5 trousered the cash when they sold it to the GAA.

Hogan paid for the ground but it is held in trust for Limerick FC.

thomas72
08/11/2006, 2:08 PM
I was wondering how long it would take one of the junior geniuses to stick their poorly educated oar in :rolleyes:

Clubs in 4b ya?? :rolleyes:

We'll just waltz back in in a couple of years with a billionaire owner, just like that ya?? I hope your right :rolleyes:

LIM TILL I DIE
answer me honestly are limerick fc a laughing stock??????

08/11/2006, 2:08 PM

were do you think tommy barrett, buckly, hefo, john boyle, YOUR CAPTAIN pat purcell, robbie kell... came from JUNIOR FOOTBALL IN LIMERICK. so maybe you should start watching junior football in limerick i think you might see a better standard of football than the S*** were watching friday nights. so dont be to quick to knock juinor football in limerick since half the team was playing in it a few years ago

Yeah they were playing in it a few years ago, before they made the step up to the Eircom League and became better players by playing a better standard of football. Same old response from the Juniors I'm afraid:rolleyes: Anyway lets not let this thread get sidetracked into the usual Junior vs Senior debate

thomas72
08/11/2006, 2:11 PM
[QUOTE=thomas72;570987]

Yeah they were playing in it a few years ago, before they made the step up to the Eircom League and became better players by playing a better standard of football.:rolleyes:

exactly so were would limerick be only for the high stantard of junior football in limerick. Look all im saying is dont knock it limerick has done very well from juinor football in this town would you agree?

08/11/2006, 2:13 PM
LIM TILL I DIE
answer me honestly are limerick fc a laughing stock??????

No, not in my opinion

Define laughing stock?? Your question is not only stupid, but pretty irrelevant at the moment aswell

I'll tell you what is laughable - The fact that you think Junior Ball is better than the Eircom League

How about you answer me a question?? Any of the two you failed to adress above will do :rolleyes:

Btw given the circumstances and the title of this thread I've no intention on getting into the great Junior - Senior debate with you :rolleyes:

08/11/2006, 2:14 PM
[QUOTE=jebus;570994]

exactly so were would limerick be only for the high stantard of junior football in limerick. Look all im saying is dont knock it limerick has done very well from juinor football in this town would you agree?

We've gotten some good players from it I agree, all I said was I'm not going to bother watching Junior Football if Limerick go bust because I personally think it's boring as ****, sorry to be so crude about it but thats what I think and thats the last I'll say about it. This thread is supposed to be about Limerick FC going bust and what we can do about it

thomas72
08/11/2006, 2:22 PM
No, not in my opinion

Define laughing stock?? Your question is not only stupid, but pretty irrelevant at the moment aswell

I'll tell you what is laughable - The fact that you think Junior Ball is better than the Eircom League

How about you answer me a question?? Any of the two you failed to adress above will do :rolleyes:

Btw given the circumstances and the title of this thread I've no intention on getting into the great Junior - Senior debate with you :rolleyes:

Define laughing stock?? the way the club is run even you would agree with that no????

The fact that you think Junior Ball is better than the Eircom League

i never said that i was just referring to limerick

08/11/2006, 2:28 PM
Define laughing stock?? the way the club is run even you would agree with that no????

The fact that you think Junior Ball is better than the Eircom League

i never said that i was just referring to limerick

No I wouldn't

All the players are paid on time, more than can be said for a lot of clubs in this league

To close the argument on Junior v Senior ball can I say this:

I've a lot of respect for a lot of Junior clubs in this town. The LDMC is one of the better Junior Leagues in the country. But..........

Anyone who thinks any club is the LDMC are better than Limerick F.C. is at best deluded and at worst knows absolutely nothing about the game. Your not going to convince me otherwise, the evidence can be seen on Sunday morning on every green in town.

When Limerick sign Junior players it's the cream of the crop the rest are just that level below

Now, I would humour you further but bigger fish to fry mate :( :ball:

08/11/2006, 2:32 PM
i hope the club folds limerick f.c has become the laughing stock in limerick and EL. there is clubs in 4b in limerick that are run better than limerick its a joke. :(

so maybe you should start watching junior football in limerick i think you might see a better standard of football than the S*** were watching friday nights. so dont be to quick to knock juinor football in limerick since half the team was playing in it a few years ago

Thomas 72 go away please. You are contributing nothing to this thread, just trying to wind up people (and succeeding).

08/11/2006, 2:37 PM
[QUOTE=thomas72;570987]

Thomas 72 go away please. You are contributing nothing to this thread, just trying to wind up people (and succeeding).

Trust me Mr.72 is the least of my worries at the mo

Not wound up was merely trying to get him to see sense (I'm a firm believer in chasing lost causes, look at the avatar) :(

Nempton
08/11/2006, 2:38 PM
First of all everyone stop fighting with yourselves, focus on the issue and start addressing it. If all everyone is interested in fighting then you really don't deserve Limerick FC.

A public meeting should be called and organised by the Supporters Club to deal with this news ASAP. Publicity should be generated through word of mouth, local media etc. The best possible date would be next Monday.

I have spoken to a friend in the Leader and made them aware of the situation. I'm hoping they will spur the sports department as well as Live 95 into action.

Gael, you might get a phone call from that friend.

08/11/2006, 2:42 PM
First of all everyone stop fighting with yourselves, focus on the issue and start addressing it. If all everyone is interested in fighting then you really don't deserve Limerick FC.

A public meeting should be called and organised by the Supporters Club to deal with this news ASAP. Publicity should be generated through word of mouth, local media etc. The best possible date would be next Monday.

I have spoken to a friend in the Leader and made them aware of the situation. I'm hoping they will spur the sports department as well as Live 95 into action.

Was just about to pm you with regrds to your leader buddy ;)

Nempton mate you know aswell as I do a meeting would be counter-productive due to a lack of people turning up

I'm afraid the local media is the only way to go :eek: :(

08/11/2006, 3:12 PM

I've gotten on to my mate in the Echo so hopefully we can drum up a bit of interest there, even if it is a Cork paper it is still widely bought in Limerick. If we can get the Leader and the Post to do there bit and get 95fm on board we might be able to get some level of public backing. Actually I may need to get a contact number for Danny or Kieran Judge if the Echo decide to go with the story.

As for a supporters club meeting, well I could nearly tell you exactly who would be there right now so I don't know if there's much point, but I wouldn't be able to make a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday meeting anyway and I'm sure theres a few more people who would go, but can't go on certain days, so we'd probably be better off organising things through this forum and through text messaging anyway, modern times after all :)

see's it
08/11/2006, 3:43 PM
live 95 is a waste of time there only interested in rugby you'd get more from tom ryan on the local station

Nempton
08/11/2006, 4:13 PM
live 95 is a waste of time there only interested in rugby you'd get more from tom ryan on the local station

All local media outlets should be contacted because you want to raise as much profile about this as possible. Enough said!

Nempton mate you know aswell as I do a meeting would be counter-productive due to a lack of people turning up

Whats counter productive is that attitude. You have an opportunity to gather momentum behind the Supporters Club. You should be using the local media's coverage on the club to announce a meeting, not just for members but for the general public. Also the supporters club should be issuing an official letter to the local media highlighting and addressing a number of concerns that the public should be made aware of. You should not be sitting on your hands on this. I'm in London and I'm contacting people, but your in the thick of it. You and the Supporters Club should be proactive. We need to see action from you guys. Don't be afraid to ask for help either (If I can do anything just let me know) but the Supporters Club should be taking point on this.

the only 1
08/11/2006, 4:18 PM
lads face the facts limerick is goin downhill for years there are better run clubs in junior football fairview and pike for example didnt limerick not run to pike a couple of years ago plus them to clubs have better pitches can ye explain how them to clubs are better equipped financelly than limerick?:D :D

smellyfeet
08/11/2006, 4:30 PM
Just on the topic of Junior clubs v Limerick FC.
Most Junior clubs in Limerick have there own Grounds.
That alone makes them a better CLUB than Limerick FC.
Most have school boy/girl teams also something that Limerick don't.
Alot have PROPER changing rooms and some with bars.

Lets be reallistic here lads, None of Limericks players have been pred at Limerick FC and won't in the future it seems, all from Junior clubs.

Goals4fun
08/11/2006, 4:35 PM
how bad would it be if limerick fc did not exist ?

smellyfeet
08/11/2006, 4:43 PM

TBH it would be a great shame. The limerick area deff needs a team in the EL.

LFC in Exile
08/11/2006, 5:35 PM
Two things. First, can those who believe LFC is a laughing stock, would like the club to go bust, think it is a disgrace etc etc ad nauseum please p1ss off. Your opinions are noted. Thanks for them. But they contribute nothing in the context of trying to save/deal with the decline of the club. All those who said it was a matter of time - thanks, you were right, you told us so. Happy. Now get lost unless you have somethign constructive to add.

Second, some of us have very short memories. The low point of the club in the last few years was going to Bray with a keeper for striker, calling around junior clubs begging for a loan of corner flags or playing in front of 50 miserable souls in a ground borrowed from Pike. These all happened in the previous administration, and whatever about personal views of DD it is incontrovertible that without his intervention we would have no club now. We have a side that is competitive (when at full strength in the division). We dwell on what happens in our club - similar happens in other eL clubs all the time but we think we're special.

Anyway, what to do now. I think DD's position is very understandable. I think the club is not going bust in the sense that it can't pay its way but rather that without a lease we cannot develop the ground which means on-field attempts at promotion are pointless and so with two years left on a lease it is clear that the club has no future without it. The actions of the priest in all this are disgraceful - but whats new there.

I think it is as important as ever now that fans of the club get together and discuss these developments - IN A POSITIVE WAY! There may be a need for a Supporters Trust rather than a supporters club. Such a meeting should be held at a weekend so that non-Limerick based fans can attend. It also gives more scope for attendance etc. IMO there is no alternative backer - who in their right mind would go anywhere near the club without the lease? Ideas? thoughts? A 400 club like Rovers? Can we get someone from Rovers to come to our meeting to discuss how it could be set up etc?

LFC in Exile
08/11/2006, 5:38 PM
Just on the topic of Junior clubs v Limerick FC.
Most Junior clubs in Limerick have there own Grounds.
That alone makes them a better CLUB than Limerick FC.
Most have school boy/girl teams also something that Limerick don't.
Alot have PROPER changing rooms and some with bars.

Lets be reallistic here lads, None of Limericks players have been pred at Limerick FC and won't in the future it seems, all from Junior clubs.

Who cares. We wish we had a clubhouse. We wish we had a schoolboys team. We wish we had our own grounds. We don't. We have to deal with reality. Whether the junior scene is better run than LFC or whether it isn't is completely irrelevant. I have my view of junor football in the city. Others have their's - it adds nothing to the current concerns. Can we leave it there. :ball:

LFC in Exile
08/11/2006, 5:42 PM

Obviously by asking the question it means nothing to you. But the club means a lot to a small group of very dedicated fans. It also is an important aspect of the lives of a lot of fathers and sons and families who attend matches week in and week out. The potential of a club like LFC to drastically improve how the city is seen in the rest of ireland is immense. Can you imagine having the Munster rugby team and a top competitive football side in the city? We are a long long way away from that - but mark my words if the club folds the city will regret it.:ball:

PinBallWizard
08/11/2006, 5:48 PM
First, can those who believe LFC is a laughing stock, would like the club to go bust, think it is a disgrace etc etc ad nauseum please p1ss off. Your opinions are noted. Thanks for them. But they contribute nothing in the context of trying to save/deal with the decline of the club. All those who said it was a matter of time - thanks, you were right, you told us so. Happy. Now get lost unless you have somethign constructive to add.So...there is no democracy to be allowed in your world? People are entitled to their opinions and it is hard not to be critical or smug when the club has been denegrated so badly by so few. You have no right to tell people to p1ss off from remarking on this issue.

Second, some of us have very short memories. The low point of the club in the last few years was going to Bray with a keeper for striker, calling around junior clubs begging for a loan of corner flags or playing in front of 50 miserable souls in a ground borrowed from Pike. These all happened in the previous administration, and whatever about personal views of DD it is incontrovertible that without his intervention we would have no club now. Anyway, what to do now. I think DD's position is very understandable. .He's running away and getting away with it by making the whole priest issue his scapegoat. He made false promise after false promise-where did the three cars go that I paid money to have a chance of winning go?-. Yes he did save the club and deserves credit for it, but he deserves far more in the way of a good horse-whipping for the way he treated it, its supporters and the media ever since. Please, don't refer to the 'previous administration' when it is anything but....investigate a little deeper and see who is actually running the club and advising Mr Drew.