View Full Version : Credit cards

Pages : 1 [2]

12/11/2006, 7:38 AM
Laser sounds like the way to go alright then but are they as widely accepted as Visa/Mastercard credit cards?

Not sure on the World scale but I use mine here all the time.

15/01/2007, 11:27 PM
Whats the best one out there ??

16/01/2007, 6:02 AM
No real difference TBH, except for a worrying development of certain sporting events only accepting certain CCs (World Cup - mastercrd, Olympics - Visa). If you've no intention of going to something like that, no real difference

16/01/2007, 9:38 AM
Whats the best one out there ??

switch from one to the other - availing of the interest free periods you get when you sign up - never pay any interest (although anyone paying CC interest in the first place is an idiot in my view)

Drumcondra Red
17/01/2007, 12:30 PM
Steer clear of MBNA, you miss one payment and they'll blacklist you, or so I'm told, all the others seem to be fairly similar

17/01/2007, 5:37 PM
Steer clear of MBNA, you miss one payment and they'll blacklist you, or so I'm told, all the others seem to be fairly similarI work for them:p

Drumcondra Red
17/01/2007, 5:42 PM
I work for them:p

So would I be right then??? :D

17/01/2007, 5:47 PM
So would I be right then??? :DThey wont "blacklist" you. They just have fairly hefty fees for late payments/handling fees etc. compared to other banks. Hence why I'm not applying for a card there:D.

17/01/2007, 6:42 PM
would you not get some special rate?

17/01/2007, 6:45 PM
would you not get some special rate?Yes, but not exempt from fees and charges.

18/01/2007, 10:20 AM
I used to work for them steer clear, sometimes after a months missed payment they would not let you use your card again, but generally it was 3 months. It is really stupid to be honest, an aib card is far better.

30/04/2007, 9:23 PM
Went with a SonyCard in the end up. You gain points on purchases and it all goes towards buying Sony products-DVD's, PS games, dvd player etc (http://www.sonycard.ie/members/categories.asp).

citizenerased
01/05/2007, 12:26 PM
be with aib

Armando
02/05/2007, 12:08 PM
Yes, but not exempt from fees and charges.

Sligoman, I have an MBNA credit card I want to use in the US in a few weeks. Can you give me an idea of the charges, if any, for buying goods with it and withdrawing cash? I'm going for 10 weeks so wanna try my best not to get fleeced, but don't wanna be carrying around a lot of cash. I can put a few grand in my account if that will negate any charges?

02/05/2007, 1:43 PM
MBNA are bunch of ****s , i applied for a job there once , didnt even get a reply but soon after began receiving junk mail from them imploring me to get their latest card

03/05/2007, 8:26 AM
Sligoman, I have an MBNA credit card I want to use in the US in a few weeks. Can you give me an idea of the charges, if any, for buying goods with it and withdrawing cash? I'm going for 10 weeks so wanna try my best not to get fleeced, but don't wanna be carrying around a lot of cash. I can put a few grand in my account if that will negate any charges?Theirs a 2.65% handling fee on foreign currency transactions outside the Eurozone.
APR on cash withdrawal(ATM or OTC at a bank) varies depending on what rate you're on at the moment. Check your last statement and that will tell you what you're on for ATM/OTC and then add 1.5% onto whatever the rate is and that's what you'll pay on cash withdrawal(this rate is due to rise, you'll probably receive a change in terms letter soon).
I'd strongly advise against using the card for cash withdrawal as that accrues interest on a daily basis, same with writing a credit card cheque. Best option is probably to load money onto yer credit card and just spend it. MBNA will soon be charging people if they have a high credit balance too but that's not coming in for a while yet.
Also, might be an idea just to give them a call and tell them you'll be using your card abroad as sometimes if they see odd, foreign transactions they might block a/c, and then contact you, in case of fraud.
MBNA are bunch of ****s , i applied for a job there once , didnt even get a reply but soon after began receiving junk mail from them imploring me to get their latest cardHow long ago did you apply? I doubt you'd have that problem now as they really are desperate for staff, I think anyone would get an interview now:D...it's up to you to impress from there.

04/05/2007, 9:29 AM
Yeah i'd say they have had some right dead beats working for then since then:)

04/05/2007, 9:34 AM
Yeah i'd say they have had some right dead beats working for then since then:)Dam right they have...that's why I quit yesterday:p.

04/05/2007, 11:27 AM
I'd strongly advise against using the card for cash withdrawal as that accrues interest on a daily basis, same with writing a credit card cheque. Best option is probably to load money onto yer credit card and just spend it. MBNA will soon be charging people if they have a high credit balance too but that's not coming in for a while yet.
Also, might be an idea just to give them a call and tell them you'll be using your card abroad as sometimes if they see odd, foreign transactions they might block a/c, and then contact you, in case of fraud

i wouldn't use MBNA if i were going abroad, they screw ye on late charges, and after 2 months you are put on the credit refereence agency ( i used to work there also ). Also if you put in a high credit balance and you lose your card/stolen/whatever, you dont get covered i.e. you dont get the money back you put into if its used fradulently etc. so be very careful doing that.

Armando
04/05/2007, 12:41 PM
thanks for the reply lads.

Just to confirm - if i put say 3 grand in my account and then spend it in the US I will not accrue any charges? And does that also apply to withdrawing cash from an ATM, no charges?

04/05/2007, 12:47 PM
its a risky thing to put that much into your account. you will still pay cash withdrawals.