View Full Version : Borat
14/11/2005, 5:06 PM
Kazakhstan's Foreign Ministry threatened legal action on Monday against comedian Sacha Baron Cohen, who wins laughs by portraying the central Asian state as a country populated by drunks who enjoy cow-punching as a sport.
Baron Cohen, who portrays a spoof Kazakh television presenter Borat in his "Da Ali G Show", has won fame ridiculing Kazakhstan, the world's ninth largest country yet still little known to many in the West.
Baron Cohen appears to have drawn official Kazakh ire after he hosted the annual MTV Europe Music Awards show in Lisbon earlier this month as Borat, who arrived in an Air Kazakh propeller plane controlled by a one-eyed pilot clutching a vodka bottle.
"We do not rule out that Mr. Cohen is serving someone's political order designed to present Kazakhstan and its people in a derogatory way," Kazakh Foreign Ministry spokesman Yerzhan Ashykbayev told a news briefing.
"We reserve the right to any legal action to prevent new pranks of the kind." He declined to elaborate.
Cohen's earlier jokes about the Central Asian state include claims that the people would shoot a dog and then have a party, and that local wine was made from fermented horse urine.
"We view Mr. Cohen's behaviour at the MTV Europe Music Awards as utterly unacceptable, being a concoction of bad taste and ill manners which is completely incompatible with ethics and civilised behaviour," Ashykbayev said.
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/14112005/325/kazakhstan-threatens-borat-court.html
14/11/2005, 9:37 PM
He should do what Billy Connelly did ... make up his own country !! :p
lopez
14/11/2005, 10:26 PM
They've got a point. How would Sash like it if Channel 4 had some Irish bloke doing the old Shylock routine, complete with sweatshops and moths in the wallet, or gags about gas and Auschwitz? It would make Louis Walsh look like flavour of the month.
14/11/2005, 11:04 PM
I do think it's unfair what he is doing, he should have invented a country as A Face said. I have no idea why he chose Kaz. As the article said it is a massive country. It is full of a good few ethnic groups including around half a million German speakers (a bit of a historical oddity you might want to read about). I enjoy Borat as much as the next man but I don't know why he chose Kazakhstan.
15/11/2005, 12:43 AM
Borat was hilarious, but especially after his show in america, I don't know how he got away with some of the stuff :eek: :D
Seen a bit of thr MTV stuff & was funny enough i suppose but I wouldn't like if he did to my country so it was unfair.
15/11/2005, 4:41 PM
He picked a real country cos when he was interviewing all these people they thought it was a serious interview and that he really was a Kazakh journalist.
anto eile
15/11/2005, 7:28 PM
kazakhstan is a shambles, ruled by nursultan nazarbayev since 1991, they should sort their tin pot dictatorship out before giving out at people taking the **** out of them
05/11/2006, 1:28 PM
Any of ye see it yet? Went to it last night. I've never laughed at a film so much, it's class!:D.
05/11/2006, 1:31 PM
But you're only 14, how did you get in!!?? :eek: :D
Heh heh, it is a class film, went to see it on Thursday... High five!!
Although the hotel fight scene nearly made me vomit lol!!
05/11/2006, 1:37 PM
Although the hotel fight scene nearly made me vomit lol!!
:DThat bit was the best part of the film:D.
05/11/2006, 1:45 PM
That bit was the best part of the film:D.
Tidying up my posts thank you. Yes, it was funny in the lift!! Also the B&B where he stayed and the dinner table! heh heh. :D
05/11/2006, 1:50 PM
Tidying up my posts thank you. Yes, it was funny in the lift!!Do that to everyone that posts within minutes of each other:p.
I wondered during the film how much of it was actually staged and how much was real. The Pamela Anderson bit was obviously staged as theirs no way he'd have got out of the shop still chasing her before security got him:D.
05/11/2006, 1:56 PM
Do that to everyone that posts within minutes of each other:p.
I wondered during the film how much of it was actually staged and how much was real. The Pamela Anderson bit was obviously staged as theirs no way he'd have got out of the shop still chasing her before security got him:D.
Yeah, i think def the clip when he is with the driving instructor is staged cos it is too dangerous otherwise! Pamela Anderson def staged for security and for her to be paid for it too! I think the dinner with the 3 couples was not staged, that was hilarious.
05/11/2006, 2:53 PM
Why Borat(film)? What other Borat goes in OT atm? Who doesn't know what Borat is ffs?
Also, when making thread titles, please use correct spacing. As it was, this wouldn't have shown up in search results.
05/11/2006, 4:49 PM
Any of ye see it yet? Went to it last night. I've never laughed at a film so much, it's class!:D.
i was at it last night aswell,didnt see you there....
good film but expected more laughs as i love Borat in his own show....
05/11/2006, 4:50 PM
I can't stand Borat and find him annoying,just as annoying as Ali G and that camp character he plays but not half as annoying as Sasha Baron Cohen himself :mad:
05/11/2006, 4:54 PM
love the camp guy....Bruno....legend
05/11/2006, 5:23 PM
I think Bruno is great, he does the gay Austrian accent very well..I love Borat cos he totally rips the p1sh out of gullible yanks with no sense of humour. He got the typical Noi Yawk reaction in the tube and on the street! Class! :D
05/11/2006, 6:08 PM
i was at it last night aswell,didnt see you there....I was at the 11:30 one?
I can't stand Borat and find him annoying,just as annoying as Ali G and that camp character he plays but not half as annoying as Sasha Baron Cohen himself :mad:Loved the film did ya?:p.
06/11/2006, 9:15 AM
They've got a point. How would Sash like it if Channel 4 had some Irish bloke doing the old Shylock routine, complete with sweatshops and moths in the wallet, or gags about gas and Auschwitz? It would make Louis Walsh look like flavour of the month.
do you remember Foster and allen on top of the pops!
or Eamon Holmes!
they are enuff thick irish guys willing to make an ass of themselves on british TV..to play the stupid irish man
anto1208
06/11/2006, 10:37 AM
i loved the running of the jew !! "whats happening here ...oh the woman jew is laying a jew egg ... quick children smash the jew egg before a jew chick has time to hatch "
when he did the live news channel interveiw ( the one he stands up in the middle of ) it actually went out live on air and the producer that booked him lost her job 3 months later.
09/11/2006, 12:41 PM
father ted was on channel 4 wasn't it ??? that didn't show the irish iin a great light over all.
every cop or priest in the US is always Irish........
09/11/2006, 12:54 PM
thought it was average, honestly don't know what the hype was about, a lot of the jokes he pulled when interviewing people he had already done in ali-g.
what i really liked though and what stood out for me was how he showed how full of sh1te people are ( americans particularly ), when he went to the dinner and they were all laddi da, and being friendly and full of crap, then after some of the things he said and after bringing the black one in he shows them up for what they really are.....yet they make out they are the best and most honest and decent people, but when it comes to the crunch they are anything but.....
i felt sorry for the old jewish couple in the B&B ( assuming that wasn't an act ) they were being really nice and friendly and he was being really mean and cruel, though he didnt directly insult them which wasn't so bad.
rating 2.5 out of 5 personally. some funny original gags, but a lot of it was very predictable.
09/11/2006, 1:04 PM
thought it was average, honestly don't know what the hype was about, a lot of the jokes he pulled when interviewing people he had already done in ali-g.
what i really liked though and what stood out for me was how he showed how full of sh1te people are ( americans particularly ), when he went to the dinner and they were all laddi da, and being friendly and full of crap, then after some of the things he said and after bringing the black one in he shows them up for what they really are.....yet they make out they are the best and most honest and decent people, but when it comes to the crunch they are anything but.....
i felt sorry for the old jewish couple in the B&B ( assuming that wasn't an act ) they were being really nice and friendly and he was being really mean and cruel, though he didnt directly insult them which wasn't so bad.
rating 2.5 out of 5 personally. some funny original gags, but a lot of it was very predictable.
I dont think he got kicked out because she was black i think it had more to do with the fact that he had invited a prostitute to the dinner party.
09/11/2006, 1:45 PM
do you remember Foster and allen on top of the pops!
or Eamon Holmes!
they are enuff thick irish guys willing to make an ass of themselves on british TV..to play the stupid irish man
09/11/2006, 1:56 PM
Pretty much what Tommy Tiernan did in front of a Jewish Audience in New York.
And add Jimmy Cricket and Frank Carson. Seeing that I grew up in the place and time when the t'ick Paddy was seen not as some subtle piece of humour but actual fact, I don't need to be told about Irish stereotypes.
But at least ALL these Irish 'comedians' were insulting themselves and there own people (I don't think Father Ted can be included in that because two of the three central charachters embraced two common stereotypes of Irish people, all the others were at worst, a bit odd, or a caracature of an Irish celebrity - Terry Wogan and the wig, Clare Grogan as Sinead O'Connor etc.). SBC is doing anything but that. He not using anti-semitism to take the p*ss out of himself - bad as that would be - he's using it to take the p*ss out of Kazakhstan.
Pretty much what Tommy Tiernan did in front of a Jewish Audience in New York.What happened there?
09/11/2006, 2:31 PM
I dont think he got kicked out because she was black i think it had more to do with the fact that he had invited a prostitute to the dinner party.
she was an actress.
09/11/2006, 3:31 PM
What happened there?
A bit of nervous laughter. Tumbleweed mainly.
09/11/2006, 4:40 PM
she was an actress.
They didnt know that.
09/11/2006, 10:05 PM
after bringing the black one in he shows them up for what they really are.....yet they make out they are the best and most honest and decent people, but when it comes to the crunch they are anything but.....That had nothing to do with it. As gus said it was cos the woman was a prostitute, that's why they freaked!
10/11/2006, 10:24 AM
Reminds me of the episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm where Larry hires a prostitute to sit in the passenger seat of his car so he can use the car-pool lane. He is a rush to get to a baseball game and he takes her along where he is spotted by the two stuffy old WASPS that interviewed him for membership of their country club. As they walk past staring in disdain Larry says "If your ever looking for a good bl0w J0b, she's your girl"
10/11/2006, 10:29 AM
WASPS
White-Anglo-Saxon-Protestants? or do you mean Blackie Lawless and Dougie Blair?
BohsPartisan, you reminded me of W.A.S.P and i just booked tickets for the astoria next friday!!!! :D
10/11/2006, 10:42 AM
My brother in law is going to that and to see them in Dublin on Saturday night and in Belfast on Monday. He's obsessed. My wife is heading up with him on Monday. I can't stand that type of thing myself. I'll be going to Paul Weller that Saturday.
10/11/2006, 12:46 PM
My wife is heading up with him on Monday. I can't stand that type of thing
I have never heard the term music being refered to in the noun form, but ya its good stuff your wife and brother-in-law have good taste in music. do you know what happens to women at these concerts btw?????
check out the bottom of this page:
http://www.waspnation.com/tourdates.html
10/11/2006, 12:58 PM
I have never heard the term music being refered to in the noun form, but ya its good stuff your wife and brother-in-law have good taste in music. do you know what happens to women at these concerts btw?????
check out the bottom of this page:
http://www.waspnation.com/tourdates.html
Well that's what she usually does to me so it'll make a change! :D
swain
13/11/2006, 10:42 AM
Our politicians and RTE do a good enough job of that already.
13/11/2006, 10:36 PM
'Borat' gets thumped (http://www.rte.ie/arts/2006/1113/borat2.html) in US.
Welcome to New York buddy!:D
ali2005
16/11/2006, 6:21 PM
Went To See It! Never Laughed So Much At A Film:D
It Was Success!
Jagshemash
Jenqui
Gerrit
23/11/2006, 4:16 AM
Quite controversial, I can see why. He does portrait Kazachstan as a country full of oversexed violent -and almost primitive- people, but guess it shows the weirdness of the people he meets when they really don't see there was something not right about this man. I mean, a remotely realistic person should have known there was something not real about that character, or is the average American really that naive that they believe Kazachstan is really like that?!
I did like the film. The jokes itself are a bit cliche and sometimes very slapstick, but the astonished reactions of the filmed people are funnier than the jokes itself in fact, the whole 'candid camera' film approach is nice (must say I didn't see the Ali G one so cannot comment on the originality of this Borat concept). It does get a bit eerie when realising that gun salesman was really serious about his comments how to shoot jews...
And that hotelroom wrestling scene was beyond gross :eek:
anto1208
23/11/2006, 9:45 AM
And that hotelroom wrestling scene was beyond gross :eek:
i nearly burst at that scene !!!! then he chases him into the lift and into the bankers conference .:D
06/03/2007, 6:21 PM
the dvd is worth it just for the extras alone!
omg.. sexydrownwatch :D