View Full Version : Legal situation gets worse?

05/11/2006, 7:29 AM
Papers today seem to suggest that Shelbourne want the season extended as they think it's unreasonable to have this end of season fixture pile up. Ollie Byrne also seems to be saying that he's still persuing something over the Hargan issue saying that he was played for 3 games while the suspension issue remained ambiguous which is against the rules. Shelbourne appear to be fighting on several fronts now. Papers are presenting the league as a pure mess. Even Mark Gallagher of the Irish Mail on Sunday, who is usually fairly solid, is falling into the old "the league is on it's last chance" rubbish. As if senior football in Ireland can actually die and disappear without a trace forever. Do they ever think what it actually means when they talk about the end of senior football?:rolleyes:

05/11/2006, 8:34 AM
I think the undercurrent in all the recent events is just how desperately Shelbourne need this title. With serious financial pressure seemingly on at Tolka, the prize-money and Champions League entry are perhaps vital to Shelbourne's ability to keep the show on the road.

Never mind where Galway or Dundalk need to finish to get up- do Shels need the title to stay afloat full stop?

lofty9
05/11/2006, 8:57 AM
They probably need the title to get to Christmas, nevermind next seaon. It's obvious Ollie is in severe difficulties and is trying to do his uptmost to win the league by hook or crook. It's a disgrace that Shelbourne are carrying on like this. I for one am never setting foot in Tolka again, he's not getting one cent from me again. If they do go bust I will miss Dublin City more.

iceman
05/11/2006, 9:46 AM
Todays Irish Mail.

The Eircom League descended further into chaos last night as it emerged that Shelbourne may seek an injunction to suspend the Premier Division until the current controversy over the Jason McGuinness issue is resolved.
.....fixture congestion may now severly hamper league leaders Shels' title prospects , says Byrne. There are approximately 14 days until the end of the season and I do not believe any matches should take place until the issue is resolved as it is putting Shelbourne at a total disadvantage, added Byrne.

05/11/2006, 10:04 AM
I for one am never setting foot in Tolka again, he's not getting one cent from me again.

IT WORKED :)

Ollie you can call of the court appeals and arbitrators,he said he's not coming back :rolleyes:

05/11/2006, 10:15 AM
Derry have had to play 2 games a week for the last 10 weeks of the season and Shels came out against any season extension when it was mentioned.

Now presumably its different (because Shelbourne are involved?).

Given the rumours of wage payment difficulties again, I would have thought a season extension would mean that Shels would have even more problems?

Dr.Nightdub
05/11/2006, 10:19 AM
Honest to god, the hypocrisy of Ollie Byrne knows no limits.

In the registration season, Pats begged for it to be extended on account of our fixture congestion. Ollie was adamant that it should finish on the scheduled date and naturally enough, the League backed him up. As a result, we ended up playing 5 games in 13 days.

Now he wants the season extended to avoid Shels having fixture congestion. Didn't notice him asking for it to be extended cos of Derry's fixture congestion - in the interests of fair play.

pól-dcfc
05/11/2006, 10:57 AM
Jesus this whole thing is a shambles. If we're not careful we'll be the laughing stock of Europe. Bet Iraq's national league is better managed.

Oilly needs to seriously take a die.

Aaron
05/11/2006, 11:00 AM
Dear jesus is there any end to this misery. Does this person actually think that he is bigger than the whole league (well..he is literally!!) and can dictate wot he wants. The FAI seriously need to look at fining him for bringing the game into disrepute!! Wot an a$$hole!!

05/11/2006, 11:05 AM
I'm a bit bemused by Ollie trying to revisit the Hargangate affair and the Dublin Citygate debacle.

Shels are in prime position in the League as it is and if they were to get the 3 points for McGuinnessgate would be almost home and hosed.

By fighting all 3 decisions it simply smacks of desperation.

pól-dcfc
05/11/2006, 11:11 AM
The FAI seriously need to look at fining him for bringing the game into disrepute!!

Well said that man! The FAI should also look at the involvement of convicted criminals in football clubs. Scummy ex-cons like fatboy seriously shouldn't be involved in our league. I honestly can't wait for $h€l$ to go tits up.

Well I'll feel sorry for Gareth and a select few other decent fans, but the league will be better off.

05/11/2006, 11:34 AM
The FAI seriously need to look at fining him for bringing the game into disrepute!! Careful now, or you'll be the second Derry City fan he'll be looking to extradite in the past few days :D

He can't be allowed to get away with this kind of behaviour again.

lofty9
05/11/2006, 12:06 PM
IT WORKED :)

Ollie you can call of the court appeals and arbitrators,he said he's not coming back :rolleyes:

Better in my pocket Anto, than giving it to your esteemed leader, or your one man and his dog excuse for a football club.

05/11/2006, 12:34 PM
Cork City FC v Shelbourne
Oliver Byrne Premier Division
Friday Nov. 10th 7.30pm
Adm. €13

Come along and show your disapproval towards Shelbourne.

crc
05/11/2006, 12:42 PM
Cork City FC v Shelbourne
Oliver Byrne Premier Division
Friday Nov. 10th 7.30pm
Adm. €13

Come along and show your disapproval towards Shelbourne.
Oh you can bet your house I'll be there!

BohsFans
05/11/2006, 3:50 PM
just going slightly off topic here for a sec, but what does it mean or where did it come from putting 'gate' at the end of these situations? :confused:

sonofstan
05/11/2006, 3:52 PM
just going slightly off topic here for a sec, but what does it mean or where did it come from putting 'gate' at the end of these situations? :confused:

Watergate - google it

05/11/2006, 3:53 PM
:eek: Serious?

The Watergate Hotel.

BohsFans
05/11/2006, 4:00 PM
Watergate - google it

so why isn't it called McGuinness-Watergate?

05/11/2006, 4:05 PM
so why isn't it called McGuinness-Watergate?
For the same reason that we don't have to mention what's in a brown envelope.

BohsFans
05/11/2006, 4:13 PM
For the same reason that we don't have to mention what's in a brown envelope.

From reading this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watergate_scandal it's the name of the place and sounds ridiculous to mention gate without water!
It's like saying $hel$ are from condra instead Drumcondra.

05/11/2006, 5:57 PM
Ollie Byrne looking to have the league postponed, basically until he gets his own way, is scandalous, but no more than we've come to expect from this low life. Anyone else think the rest of the clubs should call his bluff if he tries this, and simply refuse to complete the season ? It's time people stood up to him.

lofty9
05/11/2006, 7:08 PM
Why didn't he appeal Hargangate at the time? There must be a timeframe for appeals and he must be an interested party, (which they are now).

Philo
05/11/2006, 7:20 PM
From reading this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watergate_scandal it's the name of the place and sounds ridiculous to mention gate without water!

Shels are from Ringsend.

05/11/2006, 8:30 PM
League should be extended by a minimu of 3 weeks. Cup final should be played on christmas eve

harpskid
05/11/2006, 8:49 PM
League should be extended by a minimu of 3 weeks. Cup final should be played on christmas eve

Or Christmas Day just for the craic - turkeys for all from Ollie! :cool:

sonofstan
05/11/2006, 9:38 PM

it's called metanalysis (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metanalysis)

LeixlipRed
05/11/2006, 9:47 PM

Funniest post of all time :eek:

BohsFans
05/11/2006, 9:48 PM
Shels are from Ringsend.

:D :D

Good man Philo!

Can't believe I let that slip :(

BohsFans
05/11/2006, 9:52 PM
Funniest post of all time :eek:

Look at it logically and read previous posts :rolleyes:

sniffa
05/11/2006, 10:15 PM
Shels are from Ringsend.

Shels from Ringsend must make Oilly the chief ars@hole !!!!!!

LeixlipRed
05/11/2006, 10:26 PM
Look at it logically and read previous posts :rolleyes:

Yeh, looked at it again and I'm still laughing at you. Can we call this the LeixlipRed slags BohsFans watergate?

geezer
05/11/2006, 10:51 PM
league farce

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the whole league is descending into farce now, between no refs showing up early in the season at ucd, to pat kelly runnin the referees with his 2 sons getting all the big television fixtures even despite the fact that one of them alan (a utd hater) awarded a goal kick for a clear goal in a game this season,
to now the situation where the league may not even finish because of a 3 pronged court threat that big fat ollie byrne from shels has issued. its no coincidence that 2 galway men are at the top running the eircom league that lleft massive damage at utd some years back. how limerick and athlone pass uefa standards is laughable. is the league really dead or on its last legs. and all of a sudden john delaney declares "its nothing to do with the fai" .

its time for supporters to rise up across the country

pól-dcfc
06/11/2006, 2:37 AM
its time for supporters to rise up across the country

I really believe that it's time for the clubs to rise up, rather than the fans. Our voice counts for extremely little in matters relating to the FAI or league in general. Look what the rift between the top clubs in England and the FA/Football League did for football there. The EPL is not at all what I want our league to turn into, but lessons have been learned, and there appears to be a damn sight less maladministration in England than there is here.

Even if we got a bunch of decent consultants in to help in the draft of a revised rule book it'd be a leap in the right direction. We can't have these stupid legal scenarios hanging over us forever.

The league is a joke at the minute, and it's not gonna be any better this time next year unless the clubs start flexing their collective muscle. A league needs clubs, and a FA needs a league. Long Live the Revolution! :o

pól-dcfc
06/11/2006, 2:49 AM
Eugh, just realised I advocated the use of over paid consultants.... Just shows how bad the situation has got I suppose.

Ronnie
06/11/2006, 9:26 AM
I really believe that it's time for the clubs to rise up, rather than the fans. Our voice counts for extremely little in matters relating to the FAI or league in general. Look what the rift between the top clubs in England and the FA/Football League did for football there. The EPL is not at all what I want our league to turn into, but lessons have been learned, and there appears to be a damn sight less maladministration in England than there is here.

Even if we got a bunch of decent consultants in to help in the draft of a revised rule book it'd be a leap in the right direction. We can't have these stupid legal scenarios hanging over us forever.

The league is a joke at the minute, and it's not gonna be any better this time next year unless the clubs start flexing their collective muscle. A league needs clubs, and a FA needs a league. Long Live the Revolution! :o

You mean someone like, maybe, Genesis perhaps!

geezer
06/11/2006, 11:20 AM
we could organise a centre circle protest before each of the last home games of he season in all the grounds. if we had 15 in each ground we could make a point about he mismangement of the league

06/11/2006, 12:09 PM
between no refs showing up early in the season at ucdThat was last year BTW.

06/11/2006, 2:41 PM
it's called metanalysis (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metanalysis)

I've always thought it was a stupid way to name your scandals - Watergate wasn't about Nixon's reckless abuse of water! :eek:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watergate

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_scandals_with_%22-gate%22_suffix

The Watergate scandal left such an impression on the national and international consciousness that many scandals since then have been labeled with the suffix "-gate" — such as Koreagate, Contragate, Whitewatergate, Travelgate, Rathergate, "Zippergate", Filegate in the U.S., Tunagate in Canada, Dianagate/Squidgygate and Thatchergate in the UK, and even Pemexgate and Toallagate in Mexico and Narcogate in Argentina.

My favourites are probably 'Squidgygate' and 'Nipplegate':D. And of course, 'Waitergate' (aka 'Beat-Up Waiter').

daniel
06/11/2006, 4:09 PM
Byrne is digging a massive hole for himself, and if he is as smart as he thought he was he would realise that the decision has been made about Derry's Hargan fiasco and can not now be brought up again!

06/11/2006, 4:21 PM
Byrne is digging a massive hole for himself, and if he is as smart as he thought he was he would realise that the decision has been made about Derry's Hargan fiasco and can not now be brought up again!

I suspect he's just mentioning it to try to force the FAI/league's hand on the McGuiness affair.

Threatening even further chaos if he doesn't get his way.

onceahoop
06/11/2006, 8:26 PM
Honest to god, the hypocrisy of Ollie Byrne knows no limits.

In the registration season, Pats begged for it to be extended on account of our fixture congestion. Ollie was adamant that it should finish on the scheduled date and naturally enough, the League backed him up. As a result, we ended up playing 5 games in 13 days.

Now he wants the season extended to avoid Shels having fixture congestion. Didn't notice him asking for it to be extended cos of Derry's fixture congestion - in the interests of fair play.

Oily should remember the old Chineese proverb. He who wears two faces ends up bewildered.

green-blood
07/11/2006, 8:36 AM
he doe not want the season extended, he want sthe whole thing postponed now, all games for all teams stopped until a resolution if found post arbitration

which has nothing to do with fixture congestion and everyhting to do with not having the league running on friday when Shels will fail to pay their players for a 3rd week - breaking their contrats and allowing them to walk....

Tenderloins
07/11/2006, 12:39 PM
Is there any provision for teams to be docked points for non payment of players?

Celdrog
07/11/2006, 12:52 PM
Is there any provision for teams to be docked points for non payment of players?
Not sure but there is for not having adequate security arrangements and fans firing fireworks into opposition fans. Drogs are currently putting a complaint to the league about last Friday in Tolka and in the rule book is the potential to dock points !!

07/11/2006, 12:53 PM
There's also a legal precedent for rejecting replays awarded by the FAI in lieu of games affected by the presence of a suspended player, but the FAI seem to have waived that in Shels' case as well. I'd imagine if there is such a precedent, it wouldn't apply to Shels.

Buile Shuibhne
07/11/2006, 1:15 PM
There's also a legal precedent for rejecting replays awarded by the FAI in lieu of games affected by the presence of a suspended player, but the FAI seem to have waived that in Shels' case as well. I'd imagine if there is such a precedent, it wouldn't apply to Shels.

I presume you're referring to the Fran Carter / Pat Byrne / Milo Corcoran debacle.

This was about an incorrect registration matter.

Ineligibility cases due to registration transgressions are viewed as less serious than ineligibility cases where a player breechs a disciplinary sanction.

A different matter and therefore no precedent.

Google it yourself - but here's a fairly accurate account of the Fran Carter case.
http://homepage.eircom.net/~finnharps/harpingonkil.htm

07/11/2006, 1:19 PM
Ineligibility cases due to registration transgressions are viewed as less serious than ineligibility cases where a player breechs a disciplinary sanction.
Your entire premise goes around this claim, which is surely counter-intuitive. An ineligible player is an ineligible player. Have you any basis for stating that there's a difference in treatment?

Buile Shuibhne
07/11/2006, 1:36 PM
Check the Rule Book - there's a link to it somewhere.

Rule 21.4 specifically refers to playing a player who is under suspension by the FAI or the F.A.I. National League

There is a separate Rule dealing with unregistered players

Two different rules

07/11/2006, 2:09 PM

viewed as less serious by who?

according to what rule?